Skip navigation.
New Mexico State University
NMSU Library News

Jeanette Smith Named Distinguished Achievement Professor

New Mexico State University Library Grants/University Relations Officer Jeanette C. Smith is one of 53 faculty members recognized in 2012 by NMSU’s Distinguished Achievement Professorship Award program.  The award recognizes tenured faculty at the rank of Professor who have served at least seven years at that rank and have achieved an exceptionally outstanding record and who demonstrate a record of continued extraordinary contribution.

Smith has raised more than $1,175,000 for the Library in grants and gifts.  Her work with the naming ceremony for Zuhl Library in 2000 garnered a John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award for the Library from the American Library Association in 2001.  Her book The Laughing Librarian: A History of American Library Humor, published by the McFarland Publishing Company in 2012, has sold internationally. 

Smith received a Bachelor of Science degree in English in 1968, a Master of Arts degree in English in 1970 and a Master of Arts degree in in Library Science in 1973, all from the University of Minnesota.  She worked in libraries in Minnesota before moving to Las Cruces in 1983.  She has been a member of the NMSU Library faculty for 29 years. 

For more information, contact Library Dean Elizabeth A. Titus at (575) 646-1508.

November 7, 2012 Categories: News Jeanette Smith Named Distinguished Achievement Professor