---------New Mexico State University Library (last revised 6/16/94)--------- Southwestern Women's Collective Lives Books in the NMSU Library Compiled by Donnelyn Curtis dcurtis@lib.nmsu.edu March 1994 For the purpose of this bibliography, the Southwest is defined as New Mexico, Arizona, western Texas, and the area of Mexico that borders those states. Books about individual women are listed in companion bibliographies: Southwestern Women's Lives: Biography and Southwestern Women's Lives: Autobiography and Memoirs. The annotations come from several sources, indicated by initials: LAP Laurie Porter SNM STORIED NEW MEXICO: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF NOVELS WITH NEW MEXICO SETTINGS. Tom Lewis SIROW NEWSLETTER OF THE SOUTHWEST INSTITUTE FOR THE RESEARCH ON WOMEN (University of Arizona) AM Ann Macbeth (compiled from reviews) (SpC) before the call number means the book is in Special Collections * before the call number indicates that there is also a copy in Special Collections >Branson (SpC) HD9433 U5 A7 Accomazzo, Betty. ARIZONA COWBELLES: THIS IS YOUR LIFE. Arizona Cowbelles, 1974. >NewLib *F596 A385 1987 Allen, Martha Mitten. TRAVELING WEST: 19TH CENTURY WOMAN ON THE OVERLAND ROUTES. El Paso: Texas Western, 1987. Accounts of women travelers from 1836-1890's including those from all walks of life and occupations. Some of these women even masqueraded as men on their journeys to Arizona, New Mexico, California, and Texas. LAP. >NewLib *E98 W8 A439 1991 Allen, Paula Gunn. GRANDMOTHERS OF THE LIGHT: A MEDICINE WOMAN'S SOURCEBOOK. Boston: Beacon, 1991. >NewLib *E98 W8 A44 1986 Allen, Paula Gunn. The Sacred Hoop: RECOVERING THE FEMININE IN AMERICAN INDIAN TRADITIONS. Boston: Beacon, 1986. An in-depth account of life as Native American women taken from their literature, oral traditions, and ceremonies. LAP. >Branson HD6073 C62 M63 1991 Alonso Herrera, Jose Antonio. MUJERES MAQUILADORAS Y MICROINDUSTRIA DOMESTICA. Mexico: Distribuciones Fontamara, 1991. >NewLib *BX4220 S7 U58 1989 Arenal, Electra and Stacy Schlau, eds. UNTOLD SISTERS: HISPANIC NUNS IN THEIR OWN WORKS. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1989. Writings of Old and New World Hispanic nuns from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries which were mainly unpublished until now. Provides informative background descriptions and feminist literary analysis. AM. >NewLib *E78 S7 B15 1988 Babcock, Barbara A., and Nancy J. Parezo. DAUGHTERS OF THE DESERT: WOMEN ANTHROPOLOGISTS AND THE NATIVE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST, 1880-1980. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1988. The illustrated catalogue highlights the careers of 40 women anthropologists who influenced the development of American anthropological theory and government policies toward Southwest Native Americans. AM. >NewLib BX8641 S56 1987 Beecher, Maureen Ursenback, and Lavina Fielding Anderson, eds. SISTERS IN SPIRIT: MORMON WOMEN IN HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL PERSPECTIVE. Urbana: U of Illinois P, 1987. Analyzes the changing status of Mormon women. Touches on Mormon women and priesthood, polygamy, dependence, and liberation. AM. >NewLib *E99 A6 B85 Boyer, Ruth McDonald and Narcissus Duffy Gayton. APACHE MOTHERS AND DAUGHTERS. Tulsa: U of Oklahoma P, 1992. An illustrated family history of the Chiricahua Apache women from 1848 to present, collected over the course of 35 years. AM. >NewLib *E99 A6 B83 1986 Buchanan, Kimberly Moore. APACHE WOMEN WARRIORS. El Paso: Texas Western, 1986. >NewLib *HQ1438 T4 B87 1990 Burnett, Georgellen K. WE JUST TOUGHED IT OUT: WOMEN IN THE LLANO ESTACADO. El Paso: Texas Western, 1990. The author is a native of Hobbs, NM and now resides in Roswell. Her story is about the women who lived on the Llano Estacado area of west Texas and eastern New Mexico. This area is bordered by the Pecos River on the south and the Canadian River on the north. LAP. >NewLib *CT3260 C45 Chegin, Rita K. Survivors: WOMEN OF THE SOUTHWEST. Las Cruces: Yucca Tree, 1991. A collection of oral histories from pioneer women living in Las Cruces who were ordinary, yet exemplary, wives, mothers and daughters. LAP. >Branson (SpC) F810 P56 1969 Clayton, Roberta Flake, ed. PIONEER WOMEN OF ARIZONA, 1969. >Branson *TT835 C66 Cooper, Patricia and Norma Bradley Buferd. THE QUILTERS: WOMEN AND DOMESTIC ART. New York: Doubleday, 1977. >NewLib *HQ1031 C7 Craver, Rebecca McDowell. THE IMPACT OF INTIMACY: MEXICAN-ANGLO INTERMARRIAGE IN NEW MEXICO, 1821-1846. El Paso: Texas Western, 1982. >NewLib E184 M5 B48 1990 Del Castillo, Adelaida R., ed. BETWEEN BORDERS: ESSAYS ON MEXICANA/CHICANA HISTORY. Encino: Floricanto, 1990. An extensive anthology of research, interpretive articles, and essays on the theory, content, and method of Mexicana/Chicana history. It includes contributions from U.S. and Mexican scholars on a wide range of topics and suggests new directions for future research. Some of the entries are in Spanish with English abstracts. AM. >NewLib Reserve *F785 M5 D48 1987 Deutsch, Sarah. NO SEPARATE REFUGE: CULTURE, CLASS AND GENDER ON AN ANGLO-HISPANIC FRONTIER IN THE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST, 1880-1940. New York: Oxford UP, 1987. >NewLib J87 N6 F111.81, W83 Devejian, Pat, and Jacqueline J. Etulain, comps. WOMEN AND FAMILY IN THE TWENTIETH-CENTURY AMERICAN WEST: A BIBLIOGRAPHY. Albuquerque: Center for theAmerican West, Dept. of History, UNM, 1990. More than 800 works are included in this extensive bibliography sorted into seven major subdivisions such as women, work & the economy; families, households & intimacy; and women and politics. LAP. >NewLib Reserve *F805 S75 E45 Elsasser, Nan Kyle MacKenzie, and Yvonne Tixier y Vigil. LAS MUJERES: CONVERSATIONS FROM A HISPANIC COMMUNITY. Old Westbury: Feminist, 1980. This collection of interviews with 21 New Mexican women is divided into age groups, revealing the common themes and customs within each generation, as well as reflecting the diversity of Hispana experience. AM. >NewLib *GT617 N6 E8 Espinoza, Carmen. Shawls, Crinolines, Filigree: THE DRESS AND ADORNMENT OF THE WOMEN OF NEW MEXICO. El Paso: Texas Western, 1970. An interesting book about the dress and adornment of women in Santa Fe, NM, between the years 1739-1900. Many photos add to the reader's appreciation for the handiwork of the dresses and accessories. LAP. >Branson HD6073 T42 M63 1983 Fernandez-Kelly, Maria Patricia. FOR WE ARE SOLD, I AND MY PEOPLE: WOMEN AND INDUSTRY IN MEXICO'S FRONTIER. Albany: State U of New York P, 1983. Explores characteristics of the female labor force in third world production plants as well as the circumstances that have led to the dispersal of these low skill production jobs to undeveloped areas. AM. >NewLib F801 F56 1990 Foote, Cheryl J. WOMEN OF THE NEW MEXICO FRONTIER, 1846-1912. Niwot: U of Colorado P, 1990. >NewLib E99 N3 F84 Frisbie, Charlotte Johnson. KINAALDA: A STUDY OF THE NAVAHO GIRL'S PUBERTY Ceremony. Salt Lake City: U of Utah P, 1993. Field notes from two summers (1963, 1964) on the Navajo Indian Reservation in Arizona. Studies, specifically, the Girl's Puberty Ceremony. LAP. >NewLib *F805 M5 A28 1992 Garcia, Nesario, ed. ABUELITOS: STORIES OF THE RIO PUERCO VALLEY. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1992. Includes oral histories of women and their work as providers of food and clothing. SIROW. >NewLib *F386 G68 1991 Gould, Florence C., and Patricia N. Pando. CLAIMING THEIR LAND: WOMEN HOMESTEADERS IN TEXAS. El Paso: Texas Western, 1991. This is the story of women homesteaders in Texas between 1845 and 1898. Included are appendices with names of the women, counties, parcel sizes, and dates of acquisition. LAP. >NewLib PQ7180 H4 1990 Herrera-Sobek, Maria. THE MEXICAN CORRIDO: A FEMINIST ANALYSIS. Bloomington: Duquesne UP, 1990. This landmark study examines the portrayal of Mexican women and by extension, Chicana women in over 3,000 Mexican corridos (ballads). LAP. >NewLib *HQ1438 N55 J46 1986 Jensen, Joan, and Darlis Miller. NEW MEXICO WOMEN: INTERCULTURAL PERSPECTIVES. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1986. >Branson *HQ1410 J46 1991 Jensen, Joan M. PROMISE TO THE LAND: ESSAYS ON RURAL WOMEN. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1991. Includes essays on pueblo and Hispanic women in the Southwest. SIROW. >NewLib F795 K34 1982 Kalloch, Eunice, and Ruth Hall. THE FIRST LADIES OF NEW MEXICO. Santa Fe: Lightning Tree, 1982. The histories of 22 first ladies of New Mexico from 1912- 1978. Includes photographs. LAP. >NewLib E98 W8 I2 1977 Katz, Jane B., ed. I AM THE FIRE OF TIME: VOICES OF NATIVE AMERICAN WOMEN. New York: Dutton, 1977. A collection of prayers, short oral histories, and poetry by American Indian women. LAP. >NewLib *E184 M5 K43 1987 Keefe, Susan E., and Amado M. Padilla. CHICANO ETHNICITY. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1987. Contains two chapters on family and ethnicity which examine the roles of women in the Chicano family; and the cultural assimilation taking place within kinship networks. AM. >NewLib E99 Y3 K44 Kelley, Jane Holden. YAQUI WOMEN: CONTEMPORARY LIFE HISTORIES. Lincoln: U of Nebraska P, 1978. >Branson HD 5325 M73 1989 Kingsolver, Barbara. HOLDING THE LINE: WOMEN IN THE GREAT ARIZONA MINE STRIKE OF 1983. Ithaca: ILR, 1989. The 18-month miner's strike against the Phelps Dodge Copper Corporation, which took place around Clifton, Arizona, between 1983 and 1985, has become famous not only in the local history of the area but also in national labor history. Kingsolver discusses the event as part of women's history. For many, the change from traditional roles as caretakers and providers for husbands and children to full participants in the strike as protesters, bargainers, and decision makers represented "a new level of economic consciousness." AM. >NewLib HQ759.48 L37 1993 Lamphere, Louis, Patricia Zavella, and Felipe Gonzales. SUNBELT WORKING MOTHERS: RECONCILING FAMILY AND FACTORY. Cornell: Cornell University Press, 1993. Documents the diversity and flexibility of working families today. SIROW. >NewLib *F386 M24 1983 Malone, Ann Patton. WOMEN ON THE TEXAS FRONTIER: A CROSS-CULTURAL PERSPECTIVE. El Paso: Texas Western, 1983. >NewLib *F819 T99 M55 Martin, Patricia Preciado. IMAGES AND CONVERSATIONS: MEXICAN AMERICANS RECALL A SOUTHWESTERN PAST. Tucson: U of Arizona P, 1983. The author is a historian/folklore collector as well as a native Arizonan. She writes of the Mexican-American presence in the 20th century Southwest. LAP. >NewLib GR111 M49 M37 Martin, Patricia Preciado. SONGS MY MOTHER SANG TO ME: AN ORAL HISTORY OF MEXICAN-AMERICAN WOMEN. Tucson: U of Arizona P, 1992. Recalls the lives of ten remarkable women in southern Arizona and allows them to tell their stories with grace and dignity. SIROW. >NewLib J87 N6 V341.81 B85 Mock, Charlotte K. Bridges, NEW MEXICO BLACK WOMEN, 1900-1950. Albuquerque: New Mexico Commission on the Status of Women, 1985. Fifty years of contributions by black women in New Mexico are examined. LAP. >NewLib *F596 S68 1990 Moynihan, Ruth B., Susan Armitage, and Christiane Fischer Dichamp, eds. SO MUCH TO BE DONE: WOMEN SETTLERS ON THE MINING AND RANCHING FRONTIER. Lincoln: U of Nebraska P, 1990. Around 1850, the frontier of the Southwest began to be settled. In this narrative, 19 women are highlighted for their contributions to and involvement in the settlement. LAP. >NewLib F395 M5 N38 1991 Nathan, Debbie. WOMEN AND OTHER ALIENS: ESSAYS FROM THE U.S.- MEXICO BORDER. El Paso: Cinco Puntos, 1991. A collection of 14 essays that focuses on lives, incidents, and events along the Mexican-American border with emphasis on El Paso. Firsthand accounts of women who have immigrated to the U.S., details of the deportation trial of leftist/activist Margaret Randall, and reports on day-care sex-abuse trials of the early 1980's are included. AM. >NewLib *HQ1438 A165 N53 1988 Niederman, Sharon. A QUILT OF WORDS: WOMEN'S DIARIES, LETTERS & ORIGINAL ACCOUNTS OF LIFE IN THE SOUTHWEST, 1860-1960. Boulder: Johnson, 1988. A collection of the words and biographical sketches of 15 significant women who shaped life in the Southwest. The previously unpublished accounts range across social, ethnic, racial and economic lines. AM. >Branson (SpC) GN20 H53 1993 Parezo, Nancy J. ed. HIDDEN SCHOLARS: WOMEN ANTHROPOLOGISTS AND THE NATIVE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1993. These essays are drawn from a conference, Daughters of the Desert. A number of essays are biographical or intellectual histories, others provide an overview of women archaeologists, philanthropists, and popular writers, while some assess the contributions of women to a particular subfield. SIROW. >NewLib *E99 P9 P34 1991 Parsons, Elsie Worthington Clews. PUEBLO MOTHERS AND CHILDREN: ESSAYS. Santa Fe: Ancient City, 1991. Written 1915-1924. >Branson *R692 P47 1989 Perrone, Bobette H., Henrietta Stockel, and Victoria Krueger. MEDICINE WOMEN, CURANDERAS, AND WOMEN DOCTORS. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 1989. Details the journeys of ten Native American, Southwestern, and Hispanic women into traditional cultural healing methods. AM. >NewLib *F787 P84 1989 Poling-Kempes, Lesley. THE HARVEY GIRLS: WOMEN WHO OPENED THE WEST. New York: Paragon, 1989. >NewLib J87 N6 F101.50, no. 119 Ponce, Mary Helen. THE LIVES AND WORKS OF FIVE HISPANIC NEW MEXICAN WOMEN WRITERS, 1878-1991. Albuquerque: Southwest Hispanic Research Institute, 1992. The writers are Fabiola Cabeza de Baca, Carmen Espinosa, Cleofas Jaramilla, Aurora Lucero-White Lea, and Nina Otero- Warren. >NewLib *E184 S75 N83 1992 Rebolledo, Tey Diana. NUESTRAS MUJERES: HISPANAS OF NEW MEXICO: THEIR IMAGES AND THEIR LIVES. Albuquerque: El Norte, 1992. >NewLib *E99 N3 R644 1981 Roessel, Ruth. WOMEN IN NAVAJO SOCIETY. Rough Rock: Navajo Resource Center, Rough Rock Demonstration School, 1981. >Branson HD6072.2 U5 R675 1992 Romero, Mary. MAID IN THE U.S.A. New York: Routledge, 1992. Analyzes the daily activities of 25 Chicana private household workers and offers a unique exploration of their working conditions, employer relationships, and the social constraints which shape their personal lives. SIROW. >NewLib F790 M5 W66 1987 Ruiz, Vicki L., and Susan Tiano, eds. WOMEN ON THE U.S.- MEXICO BORDER: RESPONSES TO CHANGE. Boston: Allen, 1987. This collection of essays is the first systematic exploration of women's experiences on both sides of the border. Contributions include examinations of women's work and migration, organization and consciousness, and productive and reproductive roles. This volume treats the borderlands as a distinct cultural area that creates common experience for women on both sides. AM. >NewLib *HQ1058.5 U5 O5 1988 Scanlon, Arlene, ed. ON THEIR OWN: WIDOWS AND WIDOWHOOD IN THE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST, 1848-1939. Urbana: U of Illinois P, 1988. This collaborative effort among historians, sociologists, anthropologists, and a lawyer draws upon primary sources of diaries, letters, wills and probate records, oral histories, and demographic data to explore selected aspects of the dimensions of widowhood in the American Southwest. AM. >NewLib HQ1438 N55 S33 Schackel, Sandra. SOCIAL HOUSEKEEPERS: WOMEN SHAPING PUBLIC POLICY IN NEW MEXICO, 1920-1940. Irvine: U of California P, 1992. An examination of women's political participation during the Depression and New Deal eras. LAP. >NewLib *HQ1438 A17 W45 1988 Schlissel, Lillian, Vicki Ruiz, and Janice Monk, eds. WESTERN WOMEN: THEIR LAND, THEIR LIVES. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1988. Nine essays by noted historians of western women followed by commentaries by other scholars. The book presents the West in multicultural perspective--Indian, Mexican American, and Anglo (with attention to Mormon women). Issues of domestic ideology, work, landscapes, Indian women's legal rights, and comparative frontier history are addressed with introductions and an epilogue. AM. >NewLib *E99 A6 S76 1991 Stockel, H. Henrietta. WOMEN OF THE APACHE NATION: VOICES OF TRUTH. Reno: U of Nevada P, 1991. Explores the lives and rituals of Apache warriors and medicine women by weaving Apache mythology, religion and history together. SIROW. >NewLib (Ref) HQ1460.5 S76 1989 Stoner, Lynn. LATINAS OF THE AMERICAS: A SOURCE BOOK. New York: Garland, 1989. Bibliography and indexes included. >Branson HD 6073 O332 M487 1989 Tanori Villa, Cruz Arcelia. LA MUJER MIGRANTE Y EL EMPLEO. Mexico, D.F.: Instituto Nacional de Anthropologia e Historia, 1989. >Branson HD6068.2 M62 M48 1984 Tiano, Susan. MAQUILADORAS, WOMEN'S WORK AND UNEMPLOYMENT IN NORTHERN MEXICO. East Lansing: Michigan State UP, 1984. >Branson (SpC) QC773 A1 S82 1988 Wilson, Jane S., and Charlotte Serber, eds. STANDING BY AND MAKING DO: WOMEN OF WARTIME LOS ALAMOS. Los Alamos: Los Alamos Historical Soc., 1988. A collection of memoirs by the wives of the scientists and other participants on the Manhattan Project. AM. >NewLib NK9112 Y32 1984 Yabsley, Suzanne. TEXAS QUILTS, TEXAS WOMEN. College Station: Texas A&M UP, 1984. A tribute to the Texas women who expressed their lives through their hand-fashioned quilts, covering the years 1819 through the present. LAP.