Sources of Information in Agriculture
Tim McKimmie
Fall 2001
This publication is intended to provide a general introduction to the use of agriculture literature including print and electronic sources. Many of the sources are specific to the NMSU Library. Call numbers are included to facilitate browsing the library shelves in periodicals, reference, and main stacks.
Agricultural Economics (HD1400-2199, S560-579)
Agricultural Engineering (S670-799)
Animal Sciences, Range Science, and Veterinary (SF1-999)
Forestry (SD1-699)
Plant Protection: Including Entomology(QL460-599, SB820-933), Plant Pathology, and Weed Science(SB590-SB999)
General Agriculture
Agriculture Extension and Education (S530-559)
Family and Consumer Sciences Including Home Economics, Food Science, and Nutrition
Plant Sciences Including Agronomy(SB114-279), Horticulture, Gardening, and Landscaping (SB1-109, SB290-489), Soil Science (S590-669), Botany and Plant Physiology (QK1-899)
The NMSU Library Agriculture Page ( http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/ag.html ) provides information links in all areas of agriculture. Other useful internet tools not included in the subject specific areas above are:
- AGRICOLA, AGNIC
, and the National Agricultural Library (NAL)
http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/nal.html
Guides to Internet Resources in Agriculture
http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/agguides.html
NMSU Sources of Agriculture Information
http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/nmsuag.html
USDA, Extension, and other Government Sites
http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/usdaext.html
The following subject categories are a sample of the materials that are available in the NMSU Library or on the internet.
Agricultural Economics
(HD1400-2199, S560-579)
- Agricultural Statistics
. Washington: USDA, 1936 - (annual). (Docs) A1.47: http://www.usda.gov/nass/pubs/agstats.htm
Agricultural Outlook. Washington: USDA, 1975 - (monthly). (Docs) A93.10/2:
Census of Agriculture. Washington. Dept. of Commerce. (Docs) C3.31/4:992/v.1/pt.31
New Mexico Agricultural Statistics. Las Cruces: New Mexico Crop and Livestock Reporting Service, 1972 - (annual). NewLib/Branson (Ref) J87 N6 X301.1 A27
NMSU Library Agricultural Economics Page http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/agecon2.html
Agricultural Engineering
- ASAE Standards
: Standards, Engineering Practices, and Data Adopted by the American Society of Agricultural Engineers. St. Joseph: The Society, 1984 - (annual). (Ref) S671 A32
ASAE Home Page http://asae.org/
Animal Sciences, Range Science, and Veterinary
(SF1-999)
- Feed Additive Compendium
. Minneapolis: Miller, 1966 - (annual). (Ref) SF95 F319
The Merck Veterinary Manual. Rahway: Merck, 1991. (Ref) SF748 M47
North American Range Plants. Stubbendieck, J.L. 5th ed. Lincoln: U of Nebraska P. 1997. (Ref) SB193.3 N67 S88
Range Science Page from University of Arizona/AGNIC http://ag.arizona.edu/OALS/agnic/
Forestry
(SD1-699)
- U.S. Forest Service Documents
(Docs) A13:
U.S. Bureau of Land Management Documents (Docs) I53:
General Agriculture
- Encyclopedia of agricultural science
/ edited by Charles J.Arntzen, Ellen M. Ritter. San Diego: Academic Press, c1994. (Ref) S411 E713 1994
Agricultural Research Centres. Detroit: Longman. (Ref) S530.5 A33 1995
NMSU Library Agriculture Page http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/ag.html
Plant Protection:
Entomology (QL460-599, SB820-933), Plant Pathology, and Weed Science (SB590-SB999)
- The Torrey-Bueno Glossary of Entomology
. New York: New York Entomological Soc., 1989. (Ref) QL462.3 T67
Agricultural entomology / by Dennis S. Hill, Portland, Or. Timber P. (Ref) SB931 H448 1994
Farm chemicals handbook. Willoughby, Ohio: Meister Pub. Co. 1999. (Ref) S583 F229h
Weeds of the west / Tom D. Whitson, editor. The Western Society of Weed Science. (Ref) SB612 W4 W4 1991
Plant diseases of international importance. U.S. Singh. Englewood Cliffs, N.J. Prentice Hall, c1992. (Ref) SB731 P67
CRC Handbook of Pest Management in Agriculture. Boca Raton: CRC, 1991. Branson SB950 C7
Crop Protection Reference. New York: Chemical and Pharmaceutical, 1985 - (irregular). (Ref) SB950.9 C76
Biological control of weeds : a world catalogue of agents and their target weeds. M.H. Julien and M.W. Griffiths. 4th ed. New York : CABI Pub., c1998. (Ref) SB611.5 B55
Complete guide to pest control : with and without chemicals. Ware, G.W. 3rd ed. Fresno, CA: Thomson Publications, c1996. (Ref) SB950 W37
NMSU Library Entomology, Plant Pathology, Weed Science Page http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/entomology.html
Agriculture Extension and Education
(S530-559)
- Journal of Extension
http://joe.org/joe/
Cooperative Extension Service:USDA http://www.reeusda.gov/new/csrees.htm
ERIC via Firstsearch http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/dbfs.html
Family and Consumer Sciences
Including Home Economics, Food Science, and Nutrition
- NMSU Library FCS Page
http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/homeec.html
Plant Sciences:
Including Agronomy(SB114-279); Horticulture, Gardening, and Landscaping (SB1-109, SB290-)
- The Reference Manual of Woody Plant Propagation
. Athens: Varsity, 1987. (Ref) SB119 D57
The New York Botanical Garden Illustrated Encyclopedia of Horticulture. Everett, Thomas H.. New York: Garland, 1980-1982. (Ref) SB317.58 E94
Knott's Handbook for Vegetable Growers. Knott, James Edward. New York: Wiley, 1997. (Ref) SB321 K49
Native trees, shrubs, and vines for urban and rural America: a planting design manual for environmental designers. Gary L. Hightshoe New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1988. SB435.5 H54
The vegetable book: a Texan's guide to gardening / by Sam Cotner. Waco, Tex. : TG Press, c1985. (Ref) SB321.5 C68
Ball redbook / Vic Ball, editor. 16th ed. Batavia, Ill. : Ball Pub., c1998. (Ref) SB405 B254
The RHS Encyclopedia of House Plants: Including Greenhouse Plants. Beckett, Kenneth A. Topsfield: Salem, 1987. (Ref) SB419 B334
Pictoral Library of Landscape Plants. Helmer, M. Jane Coleman. Kalamazoo: Merchants, 1979. (Ref) SB 435.5 H44
Time-saver standards for landscape architecture: design and construction data / Charles W. Harris, Nicholas T. Dines 2nd ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1998. (Ref) SB475.9 S72 T55
NMSU Library Plant Sciences Page http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/plant.html
Soil Science (S590-669)
- Soil Survey Reports
. Washington: USDA, 1954 - (irregular). (Docs) A57.38:
Official Methods of Analysis of the Association of Official Agricultural Chemists. Washington: The Association. (Ref) S587 As78o 1998
Botany and Plant Physiology (QK1-899)
- The Facts on File Dictionary of Botany
. New York: Facts on File, 1984. (Ref) QK9 F33 1984
Flora of North America: north of Mexico. New York: Oxford U. P. 1993- (Ref) QK110 F55
NMSU Library Botany Page http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/botany.html
FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES
- Electronic Indexes for Agriculture
- ERIC (agriculture education) 1966 - Via Firstsearch http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/dbfs.html
- AGRICOLA
(all fields of agriculture) 1970 - Via Library Ag Page http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/nal.html
- GPO
on CD-ROM (government documents) 1976 - Via Firstsearch http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/dbfs.html
- CAB
(all fields of agriculture 1976- Via Library Ag Page http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/ag.html
- Science Citation Index
Via Library http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/dbsci.html
- Biosis
(Biological Abstracts) Available in Branson Library Reference area
Selected List of Current Agriculture Journals found in the NMSU library.
HD1401 J826a Journal of Agricultural Economics
QK711.2 T35 Plant Physiology
QL461 G293e Journal of Entomological Science
QL461 S65 Southwestern Entomologist
S1 W558n Crops and Soils Magazine
S3 J826ag Journal of Agriculture and Food Chemistry
S22 Ag86j Agronomy Journal http://link.springer-ny.com/
S93 N48 New Mexico Farm and Ranch
S530 A43 Journal of Agricultural Education
S544 J826c Journal of Extension http://joe.org/joe/
S590 So399 Soil Science
S671 J826a Journal of Agricultural Engineering Research
SB1 H788 HortScience
SB183 C8835 Crop Science
SB197 J68 Grass and Forage Science
SB401 P4 P433 Pecan South including Pecan Quarterly
SB469 L239 Landscape Architecture
SB559 E44 Environmental Entomology
SB599 P694p Plant Pathology
SB611 W417 Weed Science
SD1 J826 Journal of Forestry
SF1 J826ag Journal of Animal Science
SF85 J67 Journal of Range Management
SF95 A557 Animal Feed Science and Technology
SF601 Am35rr American Journal of Veterinary Research
SF871 C84 Theriogenology
SF997 W64b Journal of Wildlife Disease
SK351 J826wm Journal of Wildlife Management
STATE AGRICULTURAL DOCUMENTS
State publications are found in the catalog by title, author (e.g., New Mexico State University. Cooperative Extension Service), call number, and subject.
- New Mexico State Documents
The call number range for most New Mexico agricultural documents is J87 N6 X301 to J87 N6 X499. The following four series of documents from NMSU contain information on agriculture and home economics. All items are available in print and many are also available on microfilm. The College of Agriculture also offers full text access as well as an index to videos and other publications at http://www.cahe.nmsu.edu/resources/welcome.html
Guide Series. Las Cruces: New Mexico State University, Cooperative
Extension Service, 1965 - (irregular). NewLib J87 N6 X313.61 F19/3 Guides provide
practical information on agricultural and home economics topics. There are more
than 650 guides. An index to the Guides as well as Circulars (below) can be found
on the Library Agriculture Web Page at http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/ag/aggietext.html
Circular. Las Cruces: New Mexico State University, Cooperative Extension Service, 1915 - (irregular). NewLib J87 N6 X311.42. A list of titles accompanies the circular volumes (on the shelves) for easy browsing. Circulars provide practical information similar to guides but are often more comprehensive.
Bulletin. Las Cruces. New Mexico State University. Agricultural Experiment Station, 1890 - (irregular). NewLib J87 N6 X309.45. Bulletins are the results of major completed research projects. They can be individually searched by author, title, or subject. An "index" exists and is on the shelves at the same call number but it is really a listing of the titles only.
Research Report. Las Cruces: New Mexico State University, Agricultural Experiment Station, 1955 - (irregular). NewLib J87 N6 X309.57
Research reports are the result of ongoing research. They are somewhat less complete than bulletins, though both are scholarly publications. These too can be individually searched by author, title, subject, or call number.
Agricultural Documents from Other States
- Many documents are available from other states. When searching for a citation
to a state document from AGRICOLA, for example, the first step will be to search
the NMSU library catalog. There are microfilm collections from 43 states but most
of these documents are pre-1980. The microfilm can be searched under the title "State"
agricultural publications, for example, Alabama agricultural publications.
Documents can also be searched by call number, for example, S31 will find
Alabama agricultural documents. While some New Mexico agricultural documents are
found under the call number S93 in Branson Hall, most are found at J87 N6 X...
in Zuhl Library. The following numbers are used for the various states.
S31 Alabama S33 Alaska S35 Arizona S37 Arkansas S39 California S41 Colorado S45 Delaware S47 District of Columbia S49 Florida S51 Georgia S52 Hawaii S53 Idaho S55 Illinois S59 Indiana S61 Iowa S63 Kansas S65 Kentucky S67 Louisiana S69 Maine S71 Maryland S73 Massachusetts S75 Michigan S77 Minnesota S79 Mississippi
S81 Missouri S83 Montana S85 Nebraska S87 Nevada S89 New Hampshire S91 New Jersey S93 New Mexico S97 North Carolina S99 North Dakota S101 Ohio S103 Oklahoma S105 Oregon S107 Pennsylvania S109 Rhode Island S111 South Carolina S113 South Dakota S115 Tennessee S117 Texas S119 Utah S121 Vermont S123 Virginia S125 Washington S127 West Virginia S129 Wisconsin S131 Wyoming