Sources of Information: Environmental Issues
Fall 1998
Tim McKimmie, Compiler
General Environmental Material
Resources and Economics
Environmental Policy and Law
Biology and Conservation
Chemistry, Toxicology, and Waste Management
Air, Water, and Global Change
Databases, Indexes, Web Sites
Selected List of Journals
Conducting research on environmental issues requires the use of a wide
variety of materials found in many areas of the library. Material on
environmental policy or laws will be found in the H and K call number's.
Biological information will be found in the Q's or R's and engineering
materials in the T's. Some of the subject headings for environmental
science are given below. Ask at the reference desk whenever you need
assistance.
SUBJECT HEADINGS
Biology -- Philosophy
Biological Diversity
Drinking water
Economic development -- Environmental aspects
Endangered species
Environmental engineering
Environmental health
Environmental impact analysis
Environmental policy
Environmental protection
Forest conservation
Global warming
Green movement
Greenhouse effect, Atmospheric
Hazardous wastes -- Environmental aspects
Human ecology
Man -- Influence on nature
Nature conservation
Natural history
Oil spills
Pollutants
Population
Reclamation of land
Recycling
Refuse and refuse disposal
Renewable energy sources
Restoration ecology
Risk assessment
Solar energy
Sustainable agriculture
Synthetic fuels
Urban ecology
Water -- Law and legislation
Water -- Pollution
Water-supply -- Government policy
Water conservation
Water reuse
Wildlife conservation
General Environmental Material
Atlas of the Environment
New York: Prentice, 1990. Branson (Atlas Case) G1046 G3 L421 1990
Environmental encyclopedia.
Detroit: Gale. NewLib (Ref) GE10 E59 1998
Boundaries of home: mapping for local empowerment
Aberley, D. Gabriola Island, B.C. : New Society Publishers,
c1993. NewLib GF23 C35 B68 1993
Living in the Environment: An Introduction to Environmental Science.
Miller, G. Tyler, Jr. Belmont: Wadsworth Publishing, 1990.
NewLib GF41 M54 1990
Tomorrow by design : a regional design process for sustainability
Lewis,P.H.New York : J. Wiley NewLib HT392 L49 1996
The Environmental Dictionary and Regulatory Cross Reference
King, J.J. Wiley Interscience. NewLib (Ref) KF3775 A68 K57 1995
Public Interest Profiles.
Foundation for public affairs. Washington: Cong. Quarterly, 1977 - .
NewLib (Ref) JK1118 P79
Describes many types of citizens groups, including environmental
groups.
Ecophilosophy: A Field Guide to the Literature.
Davis, Donald E.San Pedro: Miles, 1989. Branson QH540.5 D38 1989
Environmental Engineers' Handbook
Liu, D. Lewis Publishers. Branson (Ref) TD145 E574 1997
Environmental Contact List for New Mexico.
Albuquerque: Rodey. Environmental Law Section, 1992.
Branson (Ref) TD169.6 E58 1992
Gale Environmental Sourcebook:Guide to Organizations and Publications
Hill, K. Gale Research Inc. BranRef TD169.6 G3 1992
Environmental Careers: A Practical Guide to Opportunities in the 90s
Warner, D. Lewis Publishers. Branson(RefIndex) TD170 W37 1992
Your Resource Guide to Environmental Organizations.
Seredich, John. Irvine: Smiling Dolphins, 1991.
Branson (Ref) TD171.3 Y57 1991
The Global Ecology Handbook: What You Can Do About the Environmental Crisis.
Corson, Walter H. Boston: Beacon, 1990. Branson TD171.7 G56 1990
Pollution Prevention Handbook
Higgins, T.E. CRC-Lewis. Branson(Ref) TD897 H53 1995
Resources and Economics
State of the Earth Atlas
Seager, J. New York: Touchstone, 1995. NewLib(Ref) G1046 G3 S4 1995
Atlas of United States Environmental Issues.
Mason, Robert J. New York: Macmillan, 1990.
Branson (Atlas Case) G1201 G3 M3 1990
Worldwatch Paper.
Washington: Worldwatch Institute, Annual.
Issue papers that look at social, economic, political, and
environmental issues. NewLib GF1 W67
World Resources.
New York: World Resources Institute 1986 - . Annual.
Branson (Ref) HC10 W68
Covers population, food, forests, and energy.
State of the World: A Worldwatch Institute Report on Progress Toward a
Sustainable Society.
New York: Norton, 1984 - . Annual. Branson HC59 S7333
The Gaia Atlas of Green Economics.
Ekins, P. New York: Doubleday. 1992. Branson HC79 E5 E363
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics
Tietenberg, T. 1992. HarperCollins. Branson HC79 E5 T525 1992
Energy, the Environment, and Public Policy: Issues for the 1990's.
McKee, David, L. New York: Praeger, 1990. Branson HC110 E5 E47 1990
Farms of tomorrow : community supported farms farm supported communities
Groh, T. Kimberton, PA : Bio-dynamic Farming and Gardening Assoc.
Branson S589.7 G76 1990
Environmental Data Report: United Nations Environment Programme
Pollution, Natural Resources, Energy Data. Blackwell Reference.
Branson TD174 E576 1991
Recycling Sourcebook: Guide to Recyclable Materials, Case Studies,
Organizations
Cichonski, T.J. Gale Research Inc. Branson(Ref) TD794.5 R443 1993
The Efficient House Sourcebook.
Snowmass: Rocky Mountain Institute, 1992.
Branson (Ref) TJ163.5 D86 S27 1992
Where to get information regarding energy efficiency in housing.
Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment
Bisio, A. John Wiley. Branson(Ref) TJ163.235 W55 1997
Alternative Transportation Fuels: An Environmental and Energy Solution.
Sperling, Daniel. New York: Quorum, 1989. Branson TP 360 A47 1989
Recycled Papers: the Essential Guide
Thompson, C.G. MIT Press. Branson TS1120.5 T46 1992
Environmental Policy and Law
Code of Federal Regulations. Title 40 Protection of environment.
Washington: GPO. Branson (DocRef) AE2.106/3:40
Thinking ecologically : the next generation of environmental policy
Chertow, M. New Haven : Yale University Press,
Branson HC79 E5 T47 1997
Environmental Politics and Policy.
Rosenbaum, W. A. Washington: Congress. Quarterly, 1991.
Branson HC110 E5 R665 1991
The Earth Summit at Rio: Politics, Economics, and the Environment
Panjabi, R. 1997. Northeastern University Press.
Branson HD75.6 P36 1997
Environmental Statutes.
Rockville: Government Institutes, 1979 - .Annual.
NewLib (Ref) KF3775 A29 E59
Text of 14 laws from the Clean Air Act to Safe Drinking Water Act.
New Mexico Environmental Law Handbook.
Rockville: Government Institutes, 1996.
NewLib (Ref) KFN3954 N48 1996
Land Planners Environmental Handbook.
Honachevsky, William B. Park Ridge: Noyes, 1991.
Branson (Ref) TD170.2 H63 1991
Covers landfill, incineration, soil, water, wastewater, solid waste.
Environmental Decision Making for Engineering and Business Managers
Seldner, B. McGraw-Hill. Branson TD194 S45 1994
Environmental Impact Statements.
Bregman, Jacob I. Chelsea: Lewis, 1992. Branson TD194.55 B74 1992
Hazardous Waste & Toxic Substances: Laws and Regulations
Young. S.S. Cahmers Publishing. Branson(Ref) TD1030 Y68 1994
Hazardous Waste Compliance Handbook
Karnofsky, B. Van Nostrand Reinhold. Branson(Ref) TD1040 H373 1997
Biology and Conservation
Handbook of Species Endangered in New Mexico.
Santa Fe: New Mexico Dept. of Game and Fish, 1988.
NewLib J87 N6 X251.61 S74
Biodiversity II : understanding and protecting our biological resources
Reaka, M.L. Joseph Henry Press. Branson QH75 B5228 1997
Saving nature's legacy : protecting and restoring biodiversity
Noss, R.F. Island Press. Branson QH76 N67 1994
Nature Reserves: Island Theory and Conservation Practice.
Shafer, Craig L. Washington: Smithsonian, 1990. Branson QH75 S474 1990.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology
Nierenberg, W. Academic Press. Branson (Ref) QH540.4 E52 1995
Handbook of Environmental and Ecological Modeling
Jorgensen S. CRC Lewis. Branson (Ref) QH541.15 H36 1996
Endangered and Threatened Species of Arizona and New Mexico.
Albuquerque: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 1988.
Branson (Ref) QL84.22 A6 E52 1988
The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to Endangered Species of North America
Washington: Beacham, 1990. Branson (Ref) QL84.2 O35 1990
Conservation Directory.
New York: National Wildlife Federation, Annual. 1956 - .
Branson (Ref) S920 C64
Encyclopedia of American Forest and Conservation History.
Davis, Richard C. New York: Macmillan, 1983.
Branson (Ref) SD 143 E53 1983
Articles on forest products, industry, management, conservation,
and forestry history.
Grazing Management: An Ecological Perspective.
Heitschmidt, Rodney K, Portland: Timber, 1991.Branson SF85 G73 1991
Chemistry, Toxicology, and Waste Management
RCRA Regulations and Keyword Index.
Lakewood: McCoy Engineering, 1991. NewLib (Ref) KF3946 A3697 R37 1991
A comprehensive review of federal hazardous waste regulations.
Environmental Chemistry.
Manahan, Stanley E. Chelsea: Lewis, 1990. Branson QD31.2 M35 1990
College-level textbook.
The Dose Makes the Poison: A Plain-Language Guide to Toxicology
Ottoboni, Alice M. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991.
Branson RA1213 O88 1991
Rapid Guide to Hazardous Chemicals in the Environment
Pohanish, R. Van Nostrand Reinhold. Branson(Ref) RA1226 P64 1997
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference.
Lewis R.J. New York: Van Nostrand. Branson (Ref) T55.3 H3 L49 1993
International Directory of Testing Laboratories.
Philadelphia: ASTM, Annual. 1987 - . Branson (Ref) TA416.5 U6 D58
Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation
Meyers, R. John Wiley. Branson(Ref) TD9 E49 1998
Where Did That Chemical Go?
Ney, Ronald E. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1990.
Branson (Ref) TD174 N45 1990
Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals
Verschueren, K. Van NOstrand. Branson(Ref) TD196 O73 H35 1996
Environmental Hazards: Toxic Waste and Hazardous Material.
Miller, W.E., and R. Miller. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1991.
Branson (Ref) TD1030 M56 1991
Chemical Hazard Communication Guidebook: OSHA, EPA, and DOT Requirements
Waldo, A.B. McGraw-Hill. Branson(Ref) TD1040 W35 1993
Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste: Physical/Chemical Methods
Washington. EPA. Doc EP1.17:846
Air, Water, and Global Change
Water Quality and Water Pollution Control in New Mexico.
Santa Fe: NM Water Quality Control Commission, 1994.
NewLib J87 N6 H600.12 W32 1994
State Groundwater Regulation: Guide to Laws, Standards, and Risk Assessment
Benjamin, S. Bureau of National Affairs. New(Ref) KF3790 Z95 B45 1994
Clean Air Handbook
Government Institutes, Inc. New(Ref) KF3812 B769 1993
Climate Process and Change
Bryant E. Cambridge U. Press. Branson QC981.8 C5 B76 1997
Groundwater Chemicals Field Guide.
Montgomery, John H. Chelsea: Lewis, 1991.
Branson (Ref) RA591.5 M66 1991
The Science of Global Change: The Impact of Human Activities on the Environment.
Dunnette, David A. Washington: American Chemical Society, 1992.
Branson TD196 C45 S37 1992
Water Quality and Availability: A Reference Handbook
Miller. E.W. ABC-CLIO. Branson(Ref) TD223 M53 1992
Water Resources Handbook
Mays L.W. McGraw-Hill. Branson(Ref) TD345 W38 1996
Handbook of Drinking Water Quality: Standards and Controls.
De Zuane, John. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1990.
Branson TD365 D49 1997
Water Quality Indicators Guide: Surface Waters
Terrell, C.R. Kendall/Hunt Publishing. Branson(Ref) TD428 A37 T47 1996
The Indoor Air Quality Directory
IAQ Publications. Branson(Ref) TD882 I53 1993
Rapid Guide to Hazardous Air Pollutants
Beim, H.J. Van Nostrand Reinhold. Branson(Ref) TD883.1 B37 1998
FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES
Printed Indexes and Abstracts
Pollution Abstracts Branson (Ref) Index Table 2
Applied Science and Technology Index Branson (Ref) Index Table 3
Biological & Agricultural Index Branson (Ref) Index Table 4
Biological Abstracts Branson (Ref) QH301 B521a
Electronic Indexes and Databases
Proquest Direct is a database useful for general searches. Many articles
are full text.
Available from the library web page:
http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/dbpqd.html
Firstsearch is a web based service with many databases available from the
library's home page:
http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/dbfs.html
Firstsearch databases include:
ERIC (education)
Also available on the web at
http://ericae.net/scripts/ewiz/amain2.asp
AGRICOLA (agriculture)
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
GPO (government information)
PAIS (Worldwide Public Affairs)
Georef (Earth Sciences)
BasicBiosis (Biology)
Other Electronic Databases
Biosis (Biological Abstracts):
Available on one PC in the Branson Reference workstation area
COMPENDEX: (engineering literature)
Available from the library's home page:
http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/dbeiv.html
Toxic Release Inventory
CD-ROM available for checkout: Branson(Docs) EP5.22/2:987-95
Water Resources Abstracts
Available on one PC in the Branson Reference workstation area
SciSearch (Science Citation Index)
Available from the libary home page:
http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/dbsci.html
Wildlife and Fish Worldwide
Available on the CDROM Network in the Reference workstation area
SELECTED LIST OF CURRENT JOURNALS
New Lib AG500 W67 Workbook
New Lib AP2 M7919 Mother Earth News
New Lib F868 S5 Sierra
New Lib GE1 E55 Environmental Reviews
Branson HC79 E5 E12 E: The Environment Magazine
Branson HC79 P55 J68 J.of Env. Economics and Management
New Lib HM206 E5 Environment and Behavior
New Lib J87 N6 F131.92 E52Natural Resources Journal
New Lib K14 A37 Natural Resources and Environment
Branson Q1 N52 New Scientist
Branson QH75 A1 C65 Conservation Biology
Branson QH301 A277 Bioscience
Branson QH540 A52 Ambio: A Journal of the Human Environment
Branson QH540 E593 Environment
Branson QL671 A82 Audubon
Branson QR1 Ap58 Applied and Environmental Microbiology
Branson S1 J78 Journal of Environmental Quality
Branson S622 J826s Journal of Soil and Water Conservation
Branson S661 C6 Biocycle: Journal of Waste Recycling
Branson S900 B53 Biological Conservation
Branson SD1 Am35f American Forests
Branson TC401 W37 Water and Environmental Management
Branson TD1 A32 Journal of Environmental Engineering
Branson TD1 J826ac Journal of Environmental Health
Branson TD169 E58 Environmental Conservation
Branson TD172 C5 Critical Reviews in Environmental Science
Branson TD180 En89s Environmental Science and Technology
Branson TD201 W23 Water Environment and Technology
Branson TD511 SE85 Water Environment Research
Branson TD811.5 H396 Hazardous Waste Consultant
Branson TJ810 So42e Solar Energy
Branson TK9145 B875a Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists