Compiled by Roger Steeb, New Mexico State University Library
Updated 11/29/1999
This bibliography is arranged by location of the study, specifically by county. There is a similar list is grouped by the type of mammal. Below is a list of New Mexican counties and the geographic features found within that county, for example to locate studies of mammals in the Organ Mountains look under Dona Ana County. Studies that cross many county boundaries are listed under “New Mexico in General.” To include the entire author’s abstracts would make the bibliography too lengthy for this site. The quotes chosen are from the paper’s conclusions and illustrate interesting points of the article, but does not attempt to describe the methodology or full scope of the paper.
CATRON county contains part of the Gila National
Forest.
CHAVES county has the middle part of the Pecos
River.
CURRY county has part of the eastern plains of NM.
DE BACA county has the northern part of the Pecos River.
DONA ANA has the Organ, Dona Ana, San Andres,
and part of the middle Rio Grande.
EDDY county has Carlsbad Caverns and the southern
stretch of the Pecos River.
GRANT county contains part of the Gila National
Forest and part of the Gila River
HIDALGO county has the Peloncillo, Animas Mountains
LEA county contains much of the shinnery oak plains
and playa lakes of NM
LINCOLN county has the northern part of the
Sacramento Mountains.
LUNA county has the Florida Mountains.
OTERO contains the southern section of the Sacramento
Mountains, the Guadalupe
Mountains, and White Sands.
ROOSEVELT county is on the eastern plains
of NM.
SIERRA county contains the eastern portion of
the Gila National Forest
SOCORRO has the San Mateo, Magdalena Mountains,
and the Bosque del Apache.
SOUTHERN NEW MEXICO IN GENERAL
Aday, B. J., and A. L. Gennaro. 1973. Mammals (excluding bats) of the New Mexican Llano Estacado and its adjacent river valleys. Studies in Natural Sciences 1(5): 1-56. Zuhl Library J87 N6 F251.41
Ames, N. 1982. New Mexico's squirrels. New Mexico Wildlife 27(6): 1-16. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.92
________. 1982. Wolves in our woods. New Mexico Wildlife 27(1): 6-12. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.92
Anderson, S., and R. Barlow. 1978. Taxonomic status of Cervus elaphus merriami (Cervidae). Southwestern Naturalist 23(1): 63-70. Branson QH1 So89n [Merriam's elk]
Arritt, S. 1999. Born to be wild? The Mexican wolf returns. New Mexico partners conserving endangered species 4(1-2): 10-22. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.99 N53
Bermudez, F. C., J. N. Stuart, J. K. Frey, and R. Valdez. 1995. Distribution and status of the Virginia opossum (Didelphis virginiana) in New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 40(3): 336-340. Branson QH1 So89n
Bogan, M. A. 1975. Geographic variation in Myotis californicus in the southwestern United States and Mexico. Wildlife Research Reports 3. Fish and Wildlife Service. Gov Docs I49.47/4:3
Brown, D.E. (ed.). 1983. Wolf in the Southwest: Making of an Endangered Species. Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona. Branson QL737 C22 W645 1983
Burbank, J.C. 1990. Vanishing lobo: the Mexican wolf and the Southwest. Boulder: Johnson Books. Branson QL737 C22 B84 1990
Carson, J. 1998. Reintroducing the Mexican wolf; will the public
share the costs, or will the burden be borne by a few. Natural Resources
Journal 38(2): 297-326. New Library J87 N6 F131.92
“A lengthy, complex procedure for compensating
livestock owners subverts the purpose of having a procedure in place at
all. Unless a livestock owner loses a large number of animals to
the reintroduced wolves, the amount of money involved does not justify
a form judicial hearing.”
Clark, D.R., and A.J. Krynitsky. 1988. DDT: recent contamination in New Mexico and Arizona? Environment 25(5): 27-31. Branson QH540 E593 microfiche (Bats)
Cockrum, E. L., and Y. Petryszyn. 1992. Mammals of the southwestern
United States and northwestern Mexico: selected examples and related species.
Tucson: Treasure Chest. Branson Ref Ql719 S85 C68 1992
Conley, W, J. D. Nichols, and A. R. Tipton. 1974. Reproductive
strategies in desert rodents. Pages 193-215 in Transaction of the
Symposium on the Biological Resources of the Chihuahuan Desert Region
United States and Mexico, Sul Ross State University, Alpine Texas,
17-18 October 1974 (R. H. Wauer and D. H. Riskind editors.). U.S.
Department of the Interior. Branson (Gov Doc) I29.91: 3
Reproductive characteristics of 28 Chihuahuan Desert
rodents shows that at least some are temporally dynamic, being relative
r-strategists at certain times and K-strategists at others.
Davis, R., and J.R. Callahan. 1992. Post-Pleistocene dispersal in the Mexican vole (Microtus mexicanus): and example of an apparent trend in the distribution of southwestern mammals. Great Basin Naturalist 52(3): 262-268. Branson QH1 G7
Doumitt, T. A. 1992. Evaluation of harvest survey proceedures
for New Mexico furbearers. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 D68
1992
“Telephone survey is recommended as the most appliable
technique because of its more thorough representation of harvest, high
response rate (60%), cost effectiveness, increased interaction with licensees,
and resulting increase in reliability.”
Endangered and threatened species of Arizona and New Mexico. 1988. Albuquerque: Office of U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Branson Ref QL84.22 .A6 .B57 1988
Evans, W. 1983. Cougar in New Mexico: biology, status, depredation of livestock, and management recommendations. Santa Fe: NM Department of Fish and Game. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.81 C85
Findley, J.S., and G.L. Traut. 1970. Geographic variation in Pipistrellus hesperus. Journal of Mammalogy 51(4): 741-765. Branson QL700 J6 [Western pipistrelle]
Findley, J. S. 1975. Mammals of New Mexico. Albuquerque, NM: University of New Mexico. Branson QL719 N6 M35
________. 1987. Natural history of New Mexican mammals.
Albuquerque: University of New Mexico. Branson QL719 N6 F56 1987
Fisher, A. S. 1992. Status of desert bighorn sheep in New Mexico,
1991. Desert Bighorn Sheep Council Transactions 36: 80. Branson
QL737 .U5 .D457a 36th 1992
________. S. 1993. Status of desert bighorn sheep in New Mexico,
1992. Desert Bighorn Sheep Council Transactions 36: 80. Branon
QL737 .U5 .D457a 37th 1993
23 bighorn were transplanted to the Ladron Mountains
and provided water catchments. 11 desert bighron ranges in NM were
evaluated for suitability as transplant sites. Public opposition
cancelled a proposed transplant to the Caballo Mountains.
Frey, J. K., and C. T. LaRue. 1993. Notes on the distribution of the Mogollon vole (Microtus mogollonesis) in New Mexico and Arizona. Southwestern Naturalist 38(2): 176-178. Branson QH1 .So89n
Frey, J. K. and T. L. Yates. 1996. Mammalian diversity in New Mexico. New Mexico Academy of Science 36(Nov.): 4-37. Branson Q11 N485
Gallardo, M. H. 1983. Non-Robersonian chromosomal polymorphism
in Thomomys bottae (Rodentia: Geomyidae) in southwestern New Mexico. Thesis
(Ph.D) NMSU.
Branson QH998 G27 1983 [Valley pocket gopher]
Garcia-Morengo, J. M.D. Matocq, M. S. Roy, E. Geffen, and R. K.
Wayne. 1996. Relationships and genetic purity of the
endangered Mexican wolf based on analysis of microsatellite loci.
Conservation Biology 10(2): 376-389. Branson QH75 .A1 .C65
Mexican wolves of uncertain ancestry were compared
at 10 hypervariable microsatellite loci with 42 domestic dogs, 151 northern
gray wolves and 142 coyotes. They shared alles that were rare in other
canids and should be combined with the certified lineages to augment the
genetic diversity.
Geluso, K. N. 1978. Urine concentrating ability and renal structure of insectivorous bats. Journal of Mammalogy 59(2): 312-323. Branson QL700 J6
Grooms, Steve. 1993. Return of the wolf. Minocqua:
North Word. QL737 C22 G76
The chapter “The Lobo” deals with the Mexican gray wolf.
Hafner, D. J., and K. N. Geluso. 1983. Systematic relationships and historical zoogeography of the desert pocket gopher, Geomys arenarius. Journal of Mammalogy 64(3): 405-412. Branson QL700 J6
Howard V. W. 1983. Kangaroo rats: damage prevention and control methods. Pages B-89-B-93 in Prevention and control of wildlife damage (R. M. Timm, editor). Lincoln: Great Plains Agricultural Council. Branson SF84.4 .P74 1983
Hubbard, J. P., M. D. Conway, H. Campbell, C. Schmitt, and M. D. Hatch. 1979. Handbook of species endangered in New Mexico. Santa Fe: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.61 S74 1988
Huey, W.S. 1973. Old World perspective on New World introductions. New Mexico Wildlife 18(2): 18-21. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.92 [Exotic animals]
________. 1981. The new New Mexicans. New Mexico Wildlife 26(6): 25-29. New Library J87 N6 X251.92 [Exotic animals]
Hung-Macoubrey, A. L. 1996. Grassland bats and land management
in the Southwest. Pages 54-63 in Ecosystem disturbance and wildlife
conservation in western grasslands. Fort Collins: Rocky Mountain
Forest and Range Experiment Station, General Technical Report RM-GTR-285.
Gov Doc A13.88: RM-GTR-285
“Up to 17 bat species may be found regularly or
occasionally in southwestern grasslands or short-grass prairie.”
Nine of those are considered species of concern. Abandoned
mines and associated structures are important roosts. Fire suppression
affects the composition of insects that bats prey on.
Lamb, T., T. R. Jones, and P. J. Wettstein. 1997. Evolutionary
genetics and phylogeography of tassel-eared squirrels (Sciurus aberti).
Journal of Mammalogy 78(1): 117-133. Branson QL700 J6
Tassel-eared squirrels have a fragmented distribution
in the SW. “Genetic distance and maximum parismony analyses revealed
three distinct lineages of mtDNA, which in turn form two major phylogeographic
assemblages; eastern ( Mexico; New Mexico-Colorado-Utah) and Western (Arizona-southwestern
New Mexico).”
Lee, T. E., and M. D. Engstrom. 1991. Genetic variation
in the silky pocket mouse (Perognathus flavus) in Texas and New Mexico.
Journal of Mammalogy 72(2): 273-285.
Branson QL700 J6
“In western Texas and eastern New Mexico, P. flavus
and P. merriami appear to interact as distinct biological species.” Pronounced
frequency differences between eastern and western allelic groups was maintained
throughout this region. Carlsbad was the only locality at which intergradation
was apparent.
Lomolino, M. V., J. H. Brown, and R. Davis. 1989. Island
biogeography of montane forest mammals in the American Southwest.
Ecology 70(1): 180-194. Branson QH540 Ec731
Miller, D. F. 1992. A synthesis of demographic data and
estimation of sustainable use levels for New Mexico furbearers. Thesis
(M.S.) NMSU. S2999 .M55 1992
Seventeen ecozones were identified based on vegetation
community classification developed by W. Dick-Peddie. Sufficient
information only exists at this point for bobcat and red fox. Initial
information was gathered for 21 other furbearers.
New Mexico Game and Fish BISON-M Animal Data. New Mexico Game
and Fish Department web site. [Online] Available: http:nmnhp.unm.edu/bisonm/
This extensive database can be located with the
URL or by looking up New Mexico Game and Fish, then clicking on species
accounts.
Olin, G. 1982. Mammals of the Southwest Deserts. Globe: Southwest Parks and Monuments Association. Branson QL719 S85 O36 1982
Parsons, D. 1996. Case study: the Mexican wolf. New Mexico Academy of Science 36(Nov.): 101-123. Branson Q11 N485
Patterson, B. D. 1980. Montane mammalian biogeography in New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 25(1): 33-40. Branson QH1 So89n
________. 1981. Morphological shifts of some isolated populations of Eutamias (Rodentia: Sciuridae) in different congeneric assemblages. Evolution 35(1): 53-66. Branson QH301 Ev64 Chipmunks
________. 1982. Pleistocene vicariance, montane islands, and the evolutionary divergence of some chipmunks (Genus Eutamias). Journal of Mammalogy 63(3): 387-398. Branson QL700 J6
Patton, D. R. 1977. Managing Southwestern ponderosa pine forests for Abert squirrels. Journal of Forestry 75(5): 264-267. Branson SD1 J826f
Patton, J. L. 1972. Patterns of geographic variation in karyotype in the pocket gopher, Thomomy bottae (Eydoux and Gervais). Evolution 26(4): 574-586. Branson QH301 Ev64
Patton, J. L., and S.Y. Yang. 1977. Genetic variation in Thomomys
bottae pocket gophers: macrogeographic patterns. Evolution 31(4):
697-720. Branson QH301 Ev64
Populations from California, Nevada, Utah, Arizona and
New Mexico show extreme inter and intrapopulation variability. “The
geographic pattern is one of storng regionally delineated units which,
while somewhat internally uniform, abut and interbreed with adjacent regional
units.”
Patton, J. L. and M. F. Smith. 1981. Molecular evolution
in Thomomys: phyletic systematics, paraphyly, and rates of evolution.
Journal of Mammalogy 62(3):
Branson QL700 J6
“The phyletic position of the four bottae-group species
is such that bottae and townsendii form a sister-group relative to umbrinus
and this triad forms a sister group relative to bulbivorus.”
Rangewide plan for managing habitat of desert bighorn sheep on public lands. U.S. Department of the Interior. Gov Doc I53.2: B48
Rogers, D. S., and D. J. Schmidly. 1981. Geographic variation
in the white-throated woodrat (Neotoma albigula) from New Mexico, Texas,
and northern Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 26(2): 167-181. Branson
QH1 SO89n
Two melanistic races from NM & Transpecos
are synonomized with Neotoma albigula albigula. The remaining subspecies
are found in south Texas.
Sandoval, A.V. 1988. Status of desert bighorn sheep in New Mexico, 1987. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 32d: 23-24. Branson QL737 U5 D457a 32nd 1988
Schmitt, G. 1982. Black-footed ferrets. New Mexico Wildlife 27(3): 16-17. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Short, H.L. 1979. Deer in Arizona and New Mexico: their ecology and a theory explaining recent population decreases. General Technical Report, Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station. Fort Collins: the Station (70). Branson Gov Doc A13.88: RM-70.
Steinhart, Peter. 1995. In the company of wolves.
NY: Alfred A. Knopf. Branson QL737 .C22 1995.
Chapter 9: “The Right Wolf”pages 191-215 covers the status of the Mexican
gray wolf in Arizona and New Mexico.
Sterling, B. A. 1982. Morphological characteristics of southwestern
New Mexico coyotes in relation to age. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson
S2999 .S847
From the Plains of San Augustin to the Mexican border, data was obtained
from 493 coyotes.
Turbak, G. and L. Ormsby. 1993. Survivors in the shadows: threatened and endangered mammals of the American West. Flagstaff: Northland. Branson QL719 W47 T87 1993
Whitford, W. G. 1997. Desertification and animal biodiversity
in the desert grasslands of North America. Journal of Arid
Environments 37(4): 709-720. New Library GB611 J68
“Most grassland species of birds and mammals persist
inthe desertified habitats and species that are characteristic of shrublands
colonize desertified desert grasslands. This accounts for the incrases
in species richness.” Keystone species, such as the banner-tailed
kangaroo rat, may be a better measure of the impact of desertification.
Welcome to the Mexican wolf recovery program. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 1999. Albuquersque: Southwest Regional Ecological Services Regional Office. [Online] Available: ifw2es.fws.gov/mexicanwolf/
Wolf Links. Mexican Wolf. [Online] Available: http://www.greenscence.org /wolflink.html
Wright, B. D. 1997. Comparisons between New Mexico fee hunting
enterprises on public and private ranches. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson
S2999 .W75 1997
“Elk enterprises were the most common form of fee
hunting enterprised followed by pronghorn, deer and bear. Elk were
the most profitable species for fe hunting succeeded by deer, pronghorn,
and bear.” “Seventy three percent of the fee hunting in this survey
took place on ranches that are 75% or more private land.”
Gannon, W. L. 1998. Syntopy between two species of long-eared
bats (Myotis evotis and Myotis auriculus. Southwestern Naturalist
43(3): 394-396. Branson QH1 So89n
Four localities reported are in the San Mateo Mountains,
Gila National Forest, Jemez Mountains of northern NM, and White Mts of
Arizona.
Hayes, J.A. 1979. Rocky Mountain bighorn in desert habitat. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 23d: 62-63. Branson QL737 U5 D457a
Jones, C., and R.D. Suttkus. 1972. Notes on netting bats for eleven years in western New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 16(3&4): 261-266. Branson QH1 So89n
Treadaway, M. L. 1998. Elk vs. livestock: a forage utilization
study in portions of the Gila National Forest. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.
Branson S2999 T772 1998
“The data indicate that if either elk or livestock
are present on riparian areas after a winter with very low precipitation,
utilization standards will probably be exceeded, even with sufficient summer
precipitation.” On some study sites elk avoided livestock.
Beasom, S. L. 1982. Fecal pH of pronghorn and sheep as related to diet.
Journal of Wildlife Management 46(4): 1101-1104. Branson SK351 J826wm
There was a significant difference in food use between
the 2 species between seasons. Composition of the pronghorn diet averaged
about 75% forbs in both seasons. Pronghorn use of browse increased (10
to 18%) and use of grass decreased (10 to1%) from autumn to winter. Conversely,
sheep used similar amounts of browse (8%) in both seasons, and their respective
use of forbs decreased (57 to 36%) and grasss increased (30 to 54%) from
autumn to winter.
Bradybaugh, J. S. 1981. Summer behavior and activity patterns
of pronghorn antelope in southeastern New Mexico. Branson S2999 B73
In heavily grazed, western Chaves County, net-wire fencing
can result in overgrazing and the build-up of populations where males are
not able to defend a territory and a harem from subdominant males.
Constructing passes would allow more movement.
Clark, T.W., T.M. Campbell, D.G. Socha, and D.E. Casey. 1982. Prairie dog colony attributes and associated vertebrate species. Great Basin Naturalist 42(4): 572-582. Branson QH1 G7
Frey, J. K. and M. L. Campbell. 1997. Introduced populations of fox squirrel (Sciurus niger) in the Trans-Pecos and Llano Estacado regions of New Mexico and Texas. Southwestern Naturalist 42(3): 356-358. Branson QH1 So89n
Howard, V.W., and J.S. Bradybaough. 1983. Social organization and summer behavior and activity pattern of pronghorn antelope in southeastern New Mexico. Research Report, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment Station (497). Zuhl Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 497
Howard, V.W, J. L. Holechek, R. D. Pieper, K. Green-Hammond, M. Cardenas,
and S. L. Beasom. 1990. Habitat requirements for pronghorn
on rangeland impacted by livestock and net wire in eastcentral New Mexico.
Bulletin, Agricultural Experiment Station (750).
Zuhl Library J87 N6 X309.45 no. 750
During periods of drought, pronghorns did not switch
from forbs which become increasingly scarce and are adversely affected.
“Overlap averaged 39% with sheep and only 16% with cattle diets.”
Safford, M. 1991. Bats lure BLM researchers underground. New Mexico Wildlife 36(1): 22-24. New Library J87 N6 X251.92 [Mexican Free-Tail Bats; Western Big-Eared Bats; Bat Hole Cave]
Strait, D. H. 1991. Mule deer and elk use of pinyon-juniper
woodlands in the Gila National Forest, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.)
NMSU. Branson S2999 .S868 1991
In Catron and Grant Counties, where pinyon-juniper
was controlled by bulldozer, Elk preferred the treated sites while mule
deer generally prefered the treated sites.
Wiggers, E.P., and S.L. Beasom. 1986. Characterization of sympatric
or adjacent habitats of 2 deer species in West Texas. Journal of
Wildlife Management 50(1): 129-134.
Branson SK351 J826wm [Mescalero Sands; Desert Mule Deer;
White-tailed Deer]
Andersen, M. C. and F. R. Kay. 1999. Banner-tailed kangaroo rat burrow
mounds and desert grassland habitats. Journal of Arid Environments
41(2): 147-160. New Library GB611 J68
“Mounds influenced vegetation and soil characteristics
by altering plant cover, and this effect varied between sites. Mound density,
and soil and vegetation characteristics varied substantially between sites,
but the two types of variation were not strongly related. Soil particles
> 2 mm diameter tended to correlate positively with mound density.”
Augsburger, J. G. 1990. Behavior of Mexican bighorn sheep in the San
Andres Mountains, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999
A88 1990.
Desert bighorn display postures, such as atttentive and
alarm postures as well as horning of shrubs, were observed to be the same
as those of Rocky Mountain bighorns.
Clark, R. K., and D. A. Jessup. 1992. Health of mountain
sheep in the San Andres Mountains, New Mexico. Desert Bighorn Council
Transactions 36: 30-35. Branson QL737 U5 D457a 36th 1992
A history of the psoroptic scabies outbreak from
1978 to 1991 is given. Damage from the mites to the ear, ear canal,
and ear drum suggest that many scabies infested sheep in the San Andres
have moderate to severe auditory impairment. This population now
suffers high mortality from falls and mountain lion mortality which are
probably secondary effects. An effective serologic test for Psoroptes
spp. mite was developed and an a 1-time field treatment was shown to be
practical.
Clemente, F. 1993. Influences of range condition, cattle and watering held distribution on a pronghorn population in southcentral New Mexico. Thesis (Ph.D.) NMSU. SF1998 S17 1993a
Clemente, F. R., R. Valdez, J. L. Holechek, P. J. Zwank, and M. Cardenas.
1995. Pronghorn home range relative to permanent water in southern
New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 40(1): 38-41. Branson QH1 So890n
On the Jornada, the average distance ranged from
water was 2.7 km. Home range varied from 938 to 3773 hectares.
Mesquite dominated areas were used less than grassland or grass-mesquite-yucca
complex.
Conley, W, J. D. Nichols, and A. R. Tipton. 1974. Reproductive
strategies in desert rodents. Pages 193-215 in Transaction of the
Symposium on the Biological Resources of the Chihuahuan Desert Region
United States and Mexico, Sul Ross State University, Alpine Texas,
17-18 October 1974 (R. H. Wauer and D. H. Riskind editors.). U.S.
Department of the Interior. Branson (Gov Doc) I29.91: 3
Reproductive characteristics of 28 Chihuahuan Desert
rodents shows that at least some are temporally dynamic, being relative
r-strategists at certain times and K-strategists at others.
Dabo, S. M. 1980. Botanical composition of diets of blacktailed jackrabbits on semidesert rangeland. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson SF1999 D23
Dabo, S. M., R. D. Pieper, R. F. Beck, and G. M. Southward. 1982. Summer and fall diets of blacktailed jackrabbits on semidesert rangeland. Research Report, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment Station (476). Zuhl Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 476
Daniel, A. D. 1991. Influence of range condition density and diet of black-tailed jackrabbits and diet of cattle in Southcentral New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) SF1998 D352 1991
Daniel, A. D., J. L. Holecheck, R. Valdez, A. Tembo, L. Saiwana, M. Rusco, and M. Cardenas. 1993. Range condition influences on Chihuahuan Desert cattle and jackrabbit diets. Journal of Range Management 46: 296-301. Branson SF85 J68
Dubach, J. M. 1982. Characterization of three genotypic forms of the cytoplasmic enzyme, aspartate aminotransferase in the deer mouse (Peromyscus maniculatus). Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU. Branson QH998 D832 1982
Elder, F. 1977. Ecological distribution of the rock pocket mouse Perognathus intermedius in the Afton lava flows. Studies in Natural Science 2(3): 1-23. Zuhl Library J87 N6 F251.41 v.2 no. 3
Evaluation and introduction of exotic mammals, final report project no. W-111-R-11. 1977. Santa Fe: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.81 M15/2 1976-77. [Oryx]
Fatehi, M. 1986. Comparative seasonal food habits of black-tailed jackrabbits and cattle on semi-desert rangeland. Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU. Branson SF1998 F3
Fatehi, M., Pieper, R.D., and R.F. Beck. 1988. Seasonal food habits
of blacktailed jackrabbits (Lepus californicus) in southern New Mexico.
Southwestern Naturalist 33(3): 367-370. Branson QH1 So89n
At College Ranch black grama was the major component
of diet, followed by dropseed, spiderling, mesquite, wooly paperflower,
croton, and fluffgrass. Mesquite consumption was important in the
fall.
Fisher, A. S. 1992. Status of Desert Bighorn Sheep in New Mexico,
1991. Desert Bighorn Sheep Council Transactions 36: 80. Branson QL737
U5 D457a 36th 1992
Herds in the Hatchet and Peloncillo mountains
are increasing, those in the Alamo Hueco are decreasing, and other populations
stable.
_______. 1993. Status of Desert Bighorn Sheep in New Mexico, 1993.
Desert Bighorn Sheep Council Transactions 38th: 33-34. Branson QL737 U5
D457a 36th 1992
In the San Andres population, 30 bighorn were counted
in an aerial survey. 11 were captured with a helicopter net-gun and all
but one continued to be severely infected with scabies. Three had
improved from the previous capture, five were worse. In the Peloncillos
Mountains a water catchment was installed. The Alamo Hueco herd continues
to decline.
Hafner, D. J., and K. N. Geluso. 1983. Systematic relationships and historical zoogeography of the desert pocket gopher, Geomys arenarius. Journal of Mammalogy 64(3): 405-412. Branson QL700 J6
Kay, F. R. 1998. Influence of habitat vegetative condition
on trap response of rodents associated with burrow mounds of Dipodomys
spectabilis in a desert grassland. Southwestern Naturalist 43(2):
269-273. Branson QH1 So89n
Kangaroo rats appeared less interested in novel
food sources in strange sturctures when abundant natural food was present.
Open mesh traps were more effective.
Gaby, R. 1972. Comparative niche utilization by two species of kangaroo rats (genus Dipodomys). Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU. Branson Branson QH998 G265
Ghaly, M. Y. 1980. Pronghorn antelope studies on the Jornada Del
Muerto. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU Branson Branson S2999 G455
“The [small] size of the grassland complex and low annual
rainfall are the main factors for the slow increase in pronghorn numbers.”
Fences did not seem to be a problem.
Guide del Frate, G. 1990. Home range, movements, and characteristics
of a coyote population in the northern Chihuahuan Desert. Thesis
(M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 D354 1990
On the Jornada, resident coyotes had estimated annual
home ranges of 17.9 square kilometers, plus or minus 7.5 kilometers.
Hallett, J. G. 1982. Habitat selection and the community matrix of a desert small-mammal fauna. Ecology 63(5): 1400-1410. Branson QH540 Ec731
Hoffman, M. T., C. D. James, G. I. H. Kerley, and W. G. Whitford.
1993. Rabbit herbivory and its effect on cladode, flower and fruit
production of Opuntia violacea var macrocentra (Cactaceae) in the northern
Chihuahuan Desert, New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 38(4): 309-315.
Branson QH1 So89n
During dry seasons, black-tailed jackrabbits and
desert cottontails graze prickly-pear pads. The amount of spines
did not affect the grazing intensity, but the rabbits tended to avoid new
cladodes.
Hoover, K. D. 1973. Some ecological factors influencing the distribution of two species of pocket mice (Genus Perognathus). Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU. Branson QH998 H666 [desert pocket mouse; rock pocket mouse]
Hoover, K. D., W. G. Whitford, and P. Flavill. 1977. Factors influencing
the distributions of two species of Perognathus. Ecology 58(4): 877-884.
Branson QH540 Ec731
Howard, V. W., C.T. Engelking, E. D. Glidewell, and J. E. Wood. 1973.
Factors restricting pronghorn increase on the Jornada Experimental Range.
Research Report, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment
Station (245). Zuhl Library
J87 N6 X309.57 no. 245
Kay, F. R. 1974. Influence of the burrow environment on body temperature, oxygen consumption and water loss of the banner-tailed kangaroo rat, Dipodomys spectabilis. Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU. Branson QH998 K394
________. 1975. Environmental physiology of the banner-tailed kangaroo rat - I. influences of ambient temperature, humidity and carbon dioxide on body temperature. Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology 50A(3A): 483-488. Branson QP1 C738b
________. 1977. Environmental physiology of the banner-tailed kangaroo rat - II. influences of the burrow environment on metabolism and water loss. Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology 57A(4A): 471-477. Branson QP1 C738b
Kay, F.R., and W.G. Whitford. 1978. Burrow environment of the banner-tailed kangaroo rat, Dipodomys spectabilis, in southcentral New Mexico. American Midland Naturalist 99(2): 270-279. Branson QH1 Am35mn
Kerley, G. I. H., W. G. Whitford, F. R. Kay. 1997. Mechanisms
for the keystone status of kangaroo rats: graminivory rather than granivory.
Oecologia 111(3): 422-428. Branson QH540 .034
Of the 13 species of Chihuahuan Desert perennial,
tussock-forming grasses measured, only one, Muhlenbergia porteri, had no
tillers grazed by medium sized kangaroo rats (Dipodomys ordii and D. merriami).
Consuming a significant proportion of green foliage may be a potential
mechanism for the keystone role of these rodents in the dynamics of desert
grasslands.
Kiger, J.H. 1970. Helicopter observations of bighorn sheep on the San Andres National Wildlife Refuge. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 14th: 23-27. Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 14th 1970
Knight, J. E., C. L Foster, V. W. Howard, and J G. Schickedanz.
1986. Pilot test of ultralight aircraft for control of coyotes.
Wildlife Society Bulletin 14(2): 174-177. Branson SK351 .W66
“The ultralight was more economical than the helicopter
on a cost-per-coyote basis.” At present the FAA defines ultralights
as simply recreational aircraft.
Larsen, P.A. 1971. Bighorn sheep management in New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 15th: 1-6. . Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 15th 1971
Lemen, C., and P.W. Freeman. 1983. Quantification of competition
among coexisting heteromyids in the Southwest. Southwestern Naturalist
28(1): 41-46. Branson QH1 So89n
When kangaroo rats were removed, pocket mice population
increased 2.56-fold, while removal of pocket mice had no effect on kangaroo
rat numbers. These results are consistent with interference competititon
through aggressive interactions.
Lessa, E.P. 1987. Functional morphology and allometry of the digging apparatus in pocket gophers of the genera Thomomys, Geomys, and Cratogeomys (Rodentia: Geomyidae). Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU. Branson QH998 L39 1987
Logan, K. A. and L. L. Sweanor. 1997. Cougars of New Mexico:
balancing the needs of cougars and people. New Mexico Wildlife 42(3):
4-7. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
A ten year study was performed in the San Andres
Mountains recommended that one protected area or no-hunting zone
be eastablished in the north and one in south, each having an area of 1,000
square miles.
Logan, K. A., L. L. Sweanor, T. K. Ruth, and M G. Hornocker.
1996. Cougars of the San Andres Mountains, New Mexico.
Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Project W-128-R for NM Department of
Game & Fish. Santa Fe: NM Department of Game & Fish.
New Library J87 n6 X251.81 C85/2
Cougars need not be controlled because the density of
adult cougars was inconsequential to desert bighorn sheep mortality rates
and rate of cougar predation on sheep. Desert mule deer were the principle
prey in the San Andres.
Martin, R. E. 1977. Species preferences of allopatric and sympatric populations of silky pocket mice, genus Perognathus (Rodentia: Heteromyidae). American Midland Naturalist 98(1): 124-136. Branson QH1 Am35mn
Matheys, D. G. 1985. Implications of rodent and rabbit grazing in the Chihuhuan Desert. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .M3 1985
Miller, M. M. 1983. An analysis of activity patterns in
the grasshopper mouse (Onychomys leugaster): abiotic factors as predictive
variables. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .M566 1983
On the Jornada, regression analysis of trapping
data revealed that there was significantly more activity during a new moon
and with lower night temperature, but the variability shows that activity
patterns are generally independent of abiotic influences.
Moroka, N., R.F. Beck, and R.D. Pieper. 1982. Impact of burrowing activity of the banner-tail kangaroo rat on southern New Mexico desert rangelands. Journal of Range Management 35(6): 707-710. Branson SF85 J67
Munoz, R. 1981. Movements and mortalities of desert bighorn of the San Andres Mountains New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 25th: 64-65. Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 25th 1981
________. 1982. Movements and mortalities of desert bighorn of the San Andres Mountains New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 26th: 107-108. . Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 26th 1982
Nelson, T, J.L. Holechek, R. Valdez, and M. Cardenas. 1997. Wildlife
numbers on late and mid seral Chihuahuan Desert Rangelands. Journal
of Range Management 50(6): 593-599. Branson SF85 J67
Total wildlife sightings were higher on the mid compared
to late seral rangelands. Total wildlife sighting dropped 42% during
the 1994 drought.
Patterson, B.D. 1980. New subspecies of Eutamias quadrivittatus (Rodentia:
Sciuridae) from the Organ Mountains, New Mexico. Journal of Mammalogy
61(3): 455-464. Branson QL700 J6
Bacular and karyotypic evidence showed that the
Colorado chipmunk of the Organ Mountains should be assigned as the subspecies
E. q. quadrivittatus, rather than E. cinereus.
Pederson, J. 1984. Mission: desert bighorn. New Mexico Wildlife 29(2): 2-5, 20-21. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Pieper, R. D. 1981. Consumption rates of desert grassland herbivores.
Pages 465-467 in Proceedings of the XIV International Grassland Congress,
held at Lexington, Kentucky, U.S.A., June 15-24, 1981 (A. J. Smith and
V.W. Hays, editors). Boulder: Westview. Branson S401 In85p 14th 1981.
Consumption by all herbivores averaged <5% of the
aboveground net primary productivity for the 3 yr of the study. Consumption
by rodents was fairly high during the 1st yr of the study when rodent densities
were high but declined during the 2nd and 3rd yr in response to declines
in rodent densities. Consumption rates of pronghorn antelope, rabbits and
birds were relatively small. Density of breeding bird populations was fairly
low, although large buildups of migrant bird populations occurred late
in the 3rd year. Large herbivores, including pronghorn antelope and cattle,
contributed most of the energy transferred during herbivory, followed by
small mammals, invertebrates, birds and rabbits.
Rebar, C. 1980. Interactions in microhabitat use between Dipodomys
ordii and Onychomys leucogaster. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999
.R322
In a experimental enclosure, the kangaroo rat shifts microhabitat
use when co-occurring with the grasshopper mouse while the reverse does
not occur. The kangaroo rat was displaced into the microhabitat with
less ground cover.
Rebar, C., and W. Conley. 1983. Interactions in microhabitat use between Dipodomys ordii and Onychomys leucogaster. Ecology 64(5): 984-988. Branson QH540 Ec731
Reintroduction of the Mexican wolf within its historic range in the southwestern United States: final environmental impact statement. 1996. U.S. Department of the Interior. Gov Doc I1.98:W83/2
Ruth, T. K., K. A. Logan, L. L. Sweanor, M. G. Hornocker and L.
J. Temple. 1998. Evaluating cougar translocation in New Mexico.
Journal of Wildlife Management 62(4): 1264-1275. SK351 J826wm
Eight female and 5 male cougars were translocated
from the San Andres Mountains to northeastern NM. More than half moved
south ending an average of 80 km toward their source populations.
Two males however, crossed I-40 and returned to their original home ranges
about 480 km away. Survival rates were lower than non-translocated
cougars. Except under the most favorable circumstances, translocation
is unreliable and potentially expensive.
Sandoval, A.V. 1980. Desert bighorn under siege. I. The sheep of the San Andres. II. the scabies mite. New Mexico Wildlife 25(1): 2-12. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.92
Schneberger, A. 1990. Botanical diets and dietary overlap of black-tailed jackrabbits and cattle on black grama grassland. Thesis(M.S.) NMSU. Branson SF1999 S36 1990
Smartt, R.A. 1977. Ecology of late pleistocene and recent Microtus
from south-central and southwestern New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist
22(1): 1-19. Branson QH1 So89n [Voles]
Smith, G., J.L. Holechek, and M. Cardenas. 1996. Wildlife
numbers on excellent and good condition Chihuahuan Desert rangelands: an
observation. Journal of Range Management 49(6): 489-493. Branson
Microfiche SF85 J67
“Sighting of important game species (scaled quail, mourning doves,
pronghorn, desert cottontails) were higher on good compared to excellent
condition range. Grazing intensities that remove on average 1/3 of
current growth of key forage species such as black grama are recommended.
Sipos, M.P. 1998. Graminivory by Dipodomys ordii and D. merrriami
on four species of perennial grasses. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson
S2999 S543 1998
“D. merriami appear to select more Bouteloua eriopoda
and D. ordii appear to select more Sporobolus flexuosus. There is an indication
that water content per tiller of grass may be a variable for which D. ordii
selects.”
Steece, R., and J.S. Altenbach. 1989. Prevalence of rabies specific antibodies in the Mexican free-tailed bat (Tadarida-brasiliensis-mexicana) at Lava Cave, New Mexico. Journal of Wildlife Diseases 25(4): 490-496. Branson SF997 W646b
Steinberger, Y., and W.G. Whitford. 1983. Contribution of shrub
pruning by jackrabbits to litter input in a Chihuahuan Desert ecosystem.
Journal of Arid Environments 6(2): 183-187. Zuhl Library GB611 J68
“Jackrabbits preferentially prined stems of shrubs
with higher tisue moisture contente. Rabbits tended to prune stems from
the same shrubs in successive years.”
________. 1983. Contribution of rodents to decomposition processes
in a desert ecosystem. Journal of Arid Environments 2: 177-181.
Zuhl Library GB611 J68
“Rodent excavatating activity increased rates of decompositon
and organic turnover and may effect the dispersal of ephemeral plants in
warm desert ecosystems.”
Sweanor, L. L., and K. A. Logan. 1992. Life among desert cougars. New Mexico Wildlife 37(1): 2-6. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.92
Synder, W.A. 1977. New Mexico's bighorn sheep reintroduction program. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 21st: 3. . Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 21st 1977
Wansi, T., R. D. Pieper, R.F. Beck, and L. W. Murray. 1992.
Botanical content of black-tailed jackrabbit diets on semidesert rangeland.
Great Basin Naturalist 52(4): 300-308. Branson QH1 G7
Grasses, particularly dropseed and black grama, were
important during the summer, while leatherweed crton and silverlef nightshade
were the most important forbs.
Whitford, W.G. 1976. Temporal fluctuations in density and diversity
of desert rodent populations. Journal of Mammalogy 57(2): 351-369.
Branson QL700 J6
“Differences in species composition and animal
densities between playa and bajada resulted from the interactions of
’resident’ species, that is, those species which inhabit the area even
under the most severe environmental condition with the immigrants form
a ‘source area,’ in this case, the probably more mesic Mt. Summerford.”
Resident species have lower reproduction and recruitment rates during favorable
periods.
Whitford, W. G., S. Dick-Peddie, D. Walters, and J. A Ludwig. 1978.
Effects of shrub defoliation on grass cover and rodent species in a Chihuhuan
desert ecosystem. Journal of Arid Environments 1(3): 237-242. Zuhl Library
GB611 J68
Treatment by the herbicide dicamba resulted in reduction
of the live canopy of creosotebush and an increase in coverage of bush
muhly. After treatment, Dipodomys merriami was replaced by Dipodomys ordii
as the dominant species.
Whitford, W. G. 1997. Desertification and animal biodiversity
in the desert grasslands of North America. Journal of Arid
Environments 37(4): 709-720. New Library GB611 J68
“Most grassland species of birds and mammals persist
in the desertified habitats and species that are characteristic of shrublands
colonize desertified desert grasslands. This accounts for the incrases
in species richness.” Keystone species, such as the banner-tailed
kangaroo rat, may be a better measure of the impact of desertification.
Whitford, W. G. and F. R. Kay. 1999. Biopedturbation by
mammals in deserts: a review. Journal of Arid Environments 41(2):
203-230. Branson GB611 J67
“Distubrance-casued patchiness is imporant for development and maintenance
of spatial and temporal heterogeneity in ecosystems.”
Williams, S.L. and H.H. Genoways. 1978. Review of the desert pocket gopher, Geomys arenarius (Mammalia: Rodentia). Annals of the Carnegie Museum 47(23): 541-570. New Library AS36 P7
Windberg, L. A., F. K. Knowlton, S. M. Ebbert, and B. T. Kelly.
1997. Aspects of coyote predation on Angora goats. Journal
of Range Management 50(3): 226-230. Branson SF85 J67
Predation tended to be directed at small disassociated
groups rather than flocks larger than ten, and predominately on kids.
Windberg, L. A., S. M Ebbert, and B. T. Kelly. 1997. Population
characteristics of coyotes (Canis latrans) in the northern Chihuahuan Desert
of New Mexico. American Midland Naturalist 138(1): 197-207.
Branson QH1 Am35mn
“Low recruitment in the population during 1991
may have resulted from the combined effect of relatively low rainfall and
high coyote abundance in the preceding 2-3 years.” The best indicator
of social stress was the high percentage (40%) of transients.
Wright, M.E. 1973. Habitats of two woodrats in southern New Mexico.
Journal of Mammalogy 54(2): 529-535. Branson QL700 J6
Altenbach, J. S., and K. N. Geluso. 1979. Population size of Tadarida brasiliensis at Carlsbad Caverns in 1973. Pages 341-348 in Biological Investigations in the Guadalupe Mountains National Park, Texas (H. H. Genoways and R.J. Baker editors) National Park Service Gov Doc I29.91: 4 [Mexican free-tailed bat]
Best, T. L., M. P. Skupski, and R. A. Smartt. 1993. Food
habits of sympatric rodents in the shinnery oak-mesquite grasslands of
southeastern New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 38(3): 224-235.
Branson QH1 So89n
At the Los Medano Waste Isolation Pilot Plant, Dipodomys
ordii primarily consumed Triplasis purpurea, P. glandulosa, Euphorbia and
arthropods; Onychomys leucogaster predominantly consumed arthropods; Neotoma
micropus consumed plant fibres, new growth of dicots, Q. havardii and P.
glandulosa; and Spermophilus spilosoma primarily consumed arthropods, new
growth of dicots, and grasses.
Cothran, E.G. 1983. Morphologic relationships of the hybridizing ground squirrels Spermophilus mexicanus and S. tridecemlineatus. Journal of Mammalogy 591-602. Branson QL700 J6
Doughton, S. 1979. Carlsbad's bats. New Mexico Wildlife 24(3): 7-9. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.92 [DDT]
Frey, J. K. and M. L. Campbell. 1997. Introduced populations of fox squirrel (Sciurus niger) in the Trans-Pecos and Llano Estacado regions of New Mexico and Texas. Southwestern Naturalist 42(3): 356-358. Branson QH1 So89n
Geluso, K.N., J. S. Altenbach and D. E. Wilson. 1976. Bat mortality: pesticide poisoning and migratory stress. Science 194(4261 Oct 8): 184-186. Branson microfiche Q1 Sci27 [Carlsbad Caverns]
Griffing, J. P. 1974. Body measurements of black-tailed jackrabbits of southeastern New Mexico with implications of Allen's Rule. Journal of Mammalogy 55(3): 674-678. Branson QL700 J6
Judd, F. w. 1970. Geographic variation in the deer mouse, Peromyscus maniculatus on the Llano Estacado. Southwestern Naturalist 14(3): 261-282. Branson QH1 So89n
Kittams, W. H., S. L. Evans, and D. C. Cooke. 1979. Food habits of mule deer on the foothills of Carlsbad Caverns National Park. Pages 403-426 in Biological Investigations in the Guadalupe Mountains National Park, Texas (H. H. Genoways and R. J. Baker editors). National Park Service Gov Doc I29.91: 4
Owen, R.D. 1986. Second record of Cryptotis parva (Soricidae:
Insectivora) in New Mexico, with review of its status on the Llano Estacado.
Southwestern Naturalist 31(3): 403-405. Branson QH1 So89n
The least shrew was located in Grulla National Wildlife
Refuge. Others are likely to be found around permanent playas.
Simpson, C.D. 1981. Status and distribution of Barbary sheep in the southwest United States. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 25d: 9-15. Eddy County; Otero County; Lea County Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 25th 1981
Smith, Thomas E. et al. 1986. Mountain lions (Felis concolor) in the vicinity of Carlsbad Caverns National Park, N.M. and Guadalupe Mountains National Park, TX: an ecological study, final report. USDI, National Park Service, File No. 150-03.
Boeker, E.L., V.E. Scott, H.G. Reynolds, and B.A. Donaldson. 1972.
Seasonal food habits of mule deer in southwestern New Mexico. Journal
of Wildlife Management 36(1): 56-63. Branson SK351 J826wm
Rumen contents were studied at the Ft. Bayard Administrative
Site. “Woody browse was about 75% of the total diet, forbs 16% and grasses.
2.2%. The most important species, comprising 56%, were oaks (Quercus grisea,
Q. undulata, and Q. emoryi) and birchleaf mountain mahogany. Forbs
were important when available. Nutritional analyses of the main forage
species showed adequate protein during all seasons. Generally, food supplies
and nutritional quality seemed adequate.”
Casady, D. S. 1995. Elk and mule deer use of mechanically
disturbed pinyon-juniper habitat in the Gila National Forest, New Mexico.
Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 C286 1995
Greatest use of disturbed over undisturbed pinyon-juniper
habitat reached a maximum at 23 years and ended 34 years post-disturbance
for elk. For mule deer it was a little earlier at 18 years, ending
at 35 years post-disturbance.
Cosper, L. D. 1989. Use by deer and elk of modified pinyon-juniper habitation in the Gila National Forest, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S1999 C825 1989.
Fowler, J. A. 1979. Some reporductive characteristics of Canis latrans populations in southwestern New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 F6
Hayes, J.A. 1979. Rocky Mountain bighorn in desert habitat.
Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 23d: 62-63. Branson QL737 U5 D457a
“Factors which have no doubt contributed to the success of the
sheep along the San Francisco River canyon are the excellent forage available
in the area, the escape terrain provided by the steep river canyon and
side canyons, the perennial water source provided by the river and the
fairly intensive predator control practiced by the livestock operations
in the area.”
Howard, V. W. and D. G. DeLorenzo. 1975. Vegetation and food habits
of Mexican bighorn sheep in the Game-Coin Enclosure near Red Rock.
Research Report 303, Agricultural Experiment Station, New Mexico State
University. 1975. New Library J87 N6 X309.59 no. 303
“Ground cover for the enclosure was 35.5 and 29.5%, respectively.
The vegetation was composed of 35.5 and 41.2% shrubs, 34.2 and 23.7% grasses,
18.2 and 11.8% forbs, 10.6 and 21.0% half-shrubs, and 1.6 and 2.3% trees.
Bighorn sheep fed primarily on forbs and shrubs during spring and summer,
forbs constituting 44.4%, trees and shrubs 38.8% of plant material eaten.”
Howard, V.W., B.A. Sterling, and M. Ortiz. 1987. Morphological
characteristics of southwestern New Mexico coyotes in relation to sex and
age. Bulletin (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment
Station (730). New Library J87 N6 X309.45 no. 730
Coyotes in Grant, Hidalgo, and Luna Counties weighed
less than eastern coyotes, but more than California ones. Regression
analyses of boy measurements to estimate age, sex, and weight did not provide
a usable corelation.
Howard, V.W, L. D. Cosper, and G. M. Southward. 1994. Season deer and elk use of treated versus untreated pinyon-juniper habitat in the western New Mexico. Research Report 691, Las Cruces: NM Agricultural Experiment Station. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 691
Langenwalter, P.E. 1979. Prehistoric record of muskrat (Ondatra zibethicus) in the Mimbres River drainage, New Mexico. Journal of Mammalogy 60(4): 857-858. Branson QL700 J6
Littauer, G. A. 1980. Age structure and reproductive status
of coyotes in southwestern New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.
Branson S2999 .L583
“The estimated mean litter size was 4.7 pups per breeding
female…The age and reproductive data suggested a population that is lightly
exploited.”
Mangold, L. K. 1997. Elk food habits in the mechanically disturbed
pinon-juniper woodlands of the Gila National Forest, New Mexico.
Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .M214 1997
On North Star Mesa and Fort Bayard, diets did not
differ greatly between undisturbed and disturbed sites, or between seasons
or years.
Merz, N. M. 1994. Deer and elk use of manipulated pinyon-juniper woodland in the Gila National Forest, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson SF1999 M47 1994
Severson, K.E. and B. J. Hayward. 1988. Rodent weights in modified pinyon-juniper
woodlands of southwestern New Mexico. Great Basin Naturalist 48 (4):
554-557. Branson QH1 G7
“Thinning to a spacing of 6.1 m and leaving slash for
13-18 years after treatment resulted in the greatest biomass of trapped
rodents. The total biomass was significantly lower when trees were pushed
by a bulldozer and left in place because the larger rodents, particularly
wood rats were less abundant. Smaller species, e.g. white-footed
mouse, southern grasshopper mouse, and Ord's kangaroo rat were relatively
more abundant in when trees were cut and burned. Untreated areas
produced the lowest total weight and the fewest animals. “
Short, H.L., W. Evans, and E.L. Boeker. 1977. Use of natural and
modified pinyon pine-juniper woodlands by deer and elk. Journal of
Wildlife Management 41(3): 543-559. Branson SK351 J826wm
Near Fort Bayard small clearings within the woodlands
were readily used by both mule deer and elk. “Extensive clearing of pinyon
pines and junipers increased production of herbage but may have been sufficiently
detrimental to wildlife to negate any additional grazing value for range
cattle. Although small patch cuttings within woodlands increased usefulness
for deer and elk, large cuttings in themselves and those that isolated
undisturbed woodland from contiguous protective cover were unacceptable
as wildlife habitats.”
Strait, D. H. 1991. Mule deer and elk use of pinyon-juniper
woodlands in the Gila National Forest, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.
Branson S2999 .S868 1991
In Catron and Grant Counties, where pinyon-juniper
was controlled by bulldozer, elk preferred the untreated sites while mule
deer generally prefered the treated sites.
Treadaway, M. L. 1998. Elk vs. livestock: a forage utilization
study in portions of the Gila National Forest. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.
Branson S2999 T772 1998
“The data indicate that if either elk or livestock
are present on riparian areas after a winter with very low precipitation,
utilization standards will probably be exceeded, even with sufficient summer
precipitation.” On some study sites elk avoided livestock.
Turkowski, F.J. and R.K. Watkins. 1976. White-throated woodrat
(Neotoma albigula) habitat relations in modified pinyon-juniper woodland
of southwestern New Mexico. Journal of Mammalogy 57(3): 586-591.
Branson QL700 J6
Ahl, A. 1982. Evidence of use of vibrissae in swimming in Sigmodon
fulviventer. Animal Behaviour 30(4): 1203-1206. Branson QL750 .B777
Yellow-bellied cotton rats use long, stiff, tactile hairs on the muzzle
to assist in swimming, perhaps maintaining body position as well as in
keeping the head above water.
Axtell, J. D. 1988. Post-release movements of desert bighorn sheep in
the Alamo Hueco Mountains, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson
S2999 A98 1988
A year post-release, 8 of the 10 newly released ewes and 4 of
the 11 rams were still alive and remaining in the Alamo Huecos. Four
missing rams were resident in the Big Hatchets nearby.
Bartlett, M. 1991. Pygmy mouse. New Mexico Wildlife 36(4): 13. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Bavin, B. 1980. Post release study of desert bighorn sheep in the Big Hatchet Mountains, New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 24th: 12-14. Branson QL737 U5 D457a 24th 1980
Bednarz, J.C., and J.A. Cook. 1984. Distribution and numbers of
the white-sided jackrabbit (Lepus callotis Gaillardi) in New Mexico.
Southwestern Naturalist 29(3): 358-360. Branson QH1 So89n
This jackrabbit can only by found in the U.S. in
the Animas & Playas Valleys. It avoids hilly areas, preferring
level grassy plains with miniumal shrub cover. Its population has
decreased since the previous census five years earlier.
Brown, D.E. 1983. On the status of the jaguar in the Southeast.
Southwestern Naturalist 28(4): 459-460. Branson QH1 So89n
The historic range of the jaguar in the southwest has
sometimes been described as simply drifters crossing from Mexico.
However, the widespread occurrence plus females with young, & the even
decade by decade decline of numbers support the idea of a thinly scattered,
reproducing native population until the last jaguar was taken by in 1971.
Chavez, N. E. 1992. Feral hog home range and habitat use
on the Gray Ranch, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999
C29 1992
The amount of disturbance was minor and did not negatively
impact regeneration of vegetation.
Davis, R., and C. Dunford. 1987. An example of contemporary colonization
of montane islands by small, nonflying mammals in the American Southwest.
American Naturalist 129(3): 398-406. Branson QH1 Am35
The yellow -nosed cotton rat occurs in oak-pinyon-juniper
and montane vegetation of the Southwest. Collection records indicate that
in the last 50 years it has crossed grassland gaps from isolated mountains
to others with simlar habitat.
Elenowitz, A. 1982. Preliminary results of a desert bighorn transplant in the Peloncillo Mountains New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 26th: 8-11. . Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 26th 1982
__________. 1982. Recovery is slow, but our Peloncillo sheep are thriving. New Mexico Wildlife 27(6): 26-29. Zuhl Library J87 N6 X251.92
__________. 1983. Habitat use and population dynamics of
transplanted desert bighorn sheep in the Peloncilo Mountains, New Mexico.
Thesis (M.S.) NMSU Branson S2999 D6E5 1983
“The Peloncillo bighorn made optimal use of their new
environment, but the transplant was only partially successful due to low
lamb survival.”
__________. 1984. Group dynamics and habitat use of transplanted desert bighorn sheep in the Peloncillo Mountains, New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 28th: 1-8. Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 28th 1984
__________. 1988. Bighorn sheep of the Alamo Huecos. New Mexico Wildlife 33(2): 26-29. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Hayward, B., E. J. Heske, and C. W. Painter. 1997. Effects
of livestock grazing on small mammals at a desert cienaga. Journal
of Wildlife Mangement 61(1): 123-129. Branson SK351 J826wm
On the San Simon Cienaga, 27 km north of Rodeo, small
mammals were 50% more abundant on plots from which livestock were excluded.
Only hispid cotton rats and western harvest mice showed statistically significant
interactions between treatment and census. Livestock exclosures as small
as one hectare could have beneficial effects for wildlife in desert wetlands.
Hinesley, L.L., and C.S. Thaeler. 1977. Karyotype and distribution of the southern pocket gopher, Thomomys umbrinus emotus Goldman. Journal of Mammalogy 58(2): 235-237. Branson QL700 J6 [Endangered species]
________. 1979. Species integrity in natural populations of Onychomys. Journal of Mammalogy 60(4): 850-851. Branson QL700 J6 [Grasshopper mice]
Hinesley, L.L. 1979. Systematics and distribution of two chromosome forms in the southern grasshopper mouse, genus Onychomys. Journal of Mammalogy 60(1): 117-128. Branson QL700 J6
Hubbard, J.P. 1987. Vegetative communities and vertebrate fauna of the Gray Ranch, Hidalgo County, New Mexico. Santa Fe: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. New Library J87 N6 X251.81 V44
Jacobsen, R.D., and L.O. Wilson. 1972. Habitat of the Mexican
bighorn sheep in the Big Hatchet Mountains of New Mexico. Transactions
- Desert Bighorn Council. 16th: 36-46.
Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 16th 1972
Jaguar: gone but remembered. 1989. New Mexico Wildlife 34(3): 11. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Lenarz, M. S. 1978. Intra-specific variation in the social
structure of Ovis canadensis.
Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .L300
1977. Population status of the desert bighorn, Big Hatchet Mountains, New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 21st: 29-30. . Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 21st 1977
______. 1979. Social structure and reproductive strategy in desert
bighorn sheep (Ovis canadensis mexicana). Journal of Mammalogy 60(4):
671-678. Branson QL700 J6
In the Big Hatchet Mountains, the social structure of
this population differed from that reported for alpine populations of Ovis
canadensis; however, these differences reflected the reproductive strategy
possibly due to low population density to rather than temporal variation
in forage availability.
Littauer, G. A. 1980. Age structure and reproductive status
of coyotes in southwestern New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson
S2999 .L583
“The estimated mean litter size was 4.7 pups per breeding
female…The age and reproductive data susggested a population that is lightly
exploited.”
Lockard, R.B., and D.H. Owings. 1974. Seasonal variation in moonlight avoidance by bannertail kangaroo rats. Journal of Mammalogy 55(1): 189-193. Branson QL700 J6
Lockard, R.B. 1978. Seasonal change in the activity pattern of Dipodomys spectabilis. Journal of Mammalogy 59(3): 563-568. Branson QL700 J6 [Banner-tail kangaroo rat]
Ole-Seno, S. K. 1987. Habiat requirements and population
status of javelina in southwestern New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.
Branson S2999 .o44 1987
“Dense shrubs and caves were important in providing thermal
& escape cover. Apart from hunting, road accidents account for the
most deaths in adult javalina (30%) in this study.”
Rabinowitz, A. R. 1999. Present status of jaguars (Panthera onca)
in the southwestern United States. Southwestern Naturalist 44(1):
96-100. Branson QH1 So89n
“The more open, dry habitat of the southwest, although
apparently suitable for the puma is marginal for the jaguar in terms of
water, cover, and prey densitities.” There have no additional reports
of jaguars or their sign in the areas of the most recent confirmed
sightings on the Arizona-New Mexico border.
Red Rock airlift: bighorn rams go to Peloncillos. New Mexico Wildlife
36(2): 3-4.
New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Stock, A.D. 1974. Chromosome evolution in the genus Dipodomys
and its taxonomic and phylogenetic implications. Journal of Mammalogy
55(3): 505-526. Branson QL700 J6
[Kangaroo rats]
Sullivan, R.M., D.J. Hafner, and T.L. Yates. 1986. Genetics of a contact zone between three chromosomal forms of the grasshopper mouse (Genus Onychomys): a reassessment. Journal of Mammalogy 67(4): 640-659. Branson QL700 J6
Watts, T.J. 1979. Detrimental movement patterns in a remnant population
of bighorn sheep (Ovis canadensis mexicana). Thesis (M.S.)
NMSU. Branson S2999 .W377
A high rate of lamb mortality was attributed to
sheep movements outside the Big Hatchets to Cairn Hills, 4 km south.
Mineral cravings, particularly for sodium was the main problem.
________. 1979. Status of the Big Hatchet desert sheep population, New Mexico. Transactions - Bighorn Desert Sheep Council. 23rd: 92-94. . Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 23rd 1979
Watts, T.J., and W. Conley. 1981. Extinction probabilities in
a remnant population Ovis canadensis mexicana. Acta Theriologica
26(26): 393-405. Branson QL700 Ac81 [Desert bighorn sheep Big Hatchet Mountains]
Watts, T.J., and S.D. Schemnitz. 1985. Mineral lick use and movement
in a remnant desert bighorn population. Journal of Wildlife Mangement
49(4): 994-996. Branson SK351 J826wm
A sharp decline in the Big Hatchet Mountains population
was due to lamb mortalities associated with tran-desert trips to natural
salt licks.
Clark, T.W., T.M. Campbell, D.G. Socha, and D.E. Casey. 1982. Prairie dog colony attributes and associated vertebrate species. Great Basin Naturalist 42(4): 572-582. Branson QH1 G7
Cothran, E.G. 1983. Morphologic relationships of the hybridizing ground squirrels Spermophilus mexicanus and S. tridecemlineatus. Journal of Mammalogy 591-602. Branson QL700 J6
Davis, C. A., J. A. Medlin, and J. P. Griffing. 1975. Abundance of black-tailed jackrabbits, desert cottontail rabbits, and coyotes in southeastern New Mexico. Research Report, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment Station (293). Zuhl Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 293
Dowler, R.C., and H.H. Genoways. 1979. Variation in Pappogeomys
castanops (Geomyidae) on the Llano Estacado of Texas and New Mexico.
Southwestern Naturalist 24(4): 577-602. Branson QH1 So89n
The yellow-cheeked pocket gopher is found in eastern
NM, including Eddy County; Roosevelt County. “Our analyses of geographic
variation reveal that those specimens previously assigned to the subspecies
P.c. simulans are not sufficiently distinct to warrent subspecific designation.”
Judd, F.W. 1970. Geographic variation in the deer mouse, Peromyscus maniculatus on the Llano Estacado. Southwestern Naturalist 14(3): 261-282. Branson QH1 So89n
Larsen, P. 1970. A six year study of antelope productivity and survival in southern New Mexico. Pages 97-103 in Proceedings of the Fourth Antelope States Workshop, Jan 27-28, 1970, Scottsbluff, Nebraska. Branson QL737 A52 A57 1970
Simpson, C.D. 1981. Status and distribution of Barbary sheep
in the southwest United States. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council
25d: 9-15. Eddy County; Otero County; Lea County Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a
25th 1981
Anderson, B. L., R. D Pieper, and V. W. Howard. 1974. Growth
response and deer utilization of fertilized browse. Journal of Wildlife
Management 38(3): 525-530. Branson SK351 J826wm
Significant growth responses were found only in mountain
mahogany and only in the first year after treatment. Crude protein content
of leaves was significantly greater in treated than in untreated wavy leaf
oak and these were browsed more by mule deer. However, treatment
with ammonium sulfate did not attract the deer.
Barnitz, J, A., V. W. Howard, and G. M. Southward. 1990.
Mule deer and rabbit use on areas of pinyon-juniper woodland treated by
two-way cabling. Bulletin, (NMSU) Agricultural Experiment Station (752).
New Library J87 .N6 X309.45 no. 752
Mule deer had higher use of 10-year-old cabling than
of the 31-year-old cabling treatment or of uncabled. Rabbits preferred
the cabled areas at first, but showed no difference after ten years.
At 31 years skunkbush sumac (Rhus trilobata) was important cover to rabbits
and use of old cabled areas increased.
Bellows, T.S., J.C. Owens, and E.W. Huddleston. 1982. Predation
of range caterpillar, Hemileuca oliviae (Lepidoptera: Saturniidae) at various
stages of development by different species of rodents in New Mexico during
1980. Environmental Entomology 11(6): 1211-1215. Branon SB599 E44
Cheap, K. M. 1983. Effects of two-way cabling on seasonal
use of pinyon-juniper woodlands by mule deer and rabbits in southcentral
New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 C3 1983
”Mule deer use of cabled habitat was higher during spring/summer
months than during fall/winter, while non-cabled habitat showed no seasonality.
Rabbits exhibited a preference for cabled over non-cabled during all seasons
except winter.”
Conley, W.H. 1970. Geographic variation in the least chipmunk, Eutamia minimus, in New Mexico and eastern Arizona. Journal of Mammalogy 51(4): 695-702. Branson QL700 J6
Davis, R. and D.E. Brown. 1988. Documentation of the transplanting of Abert's squirrels. Southwestern Naturalist 33(4): 490-492. Branson QH1 So89n
Diamas, J. A. 1981. Ecological response to mechanical treatment
of the pinyon juniper ecosystem of southcentral New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.)
NMSU. Branson S2999 D5632
“It was projected that 80-100 years would be required
to attain the cover and structural ratings present before cabling.”
“Mule deer showed no response, overall, to the treatments. Rabbits
responded positively and the 2 most common bird species showed no response
to treatments.
Eicher, T.A. 1978. Some life history characteristics and
habitat use of mule deer in the Sacramento Mountains. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.
Branson S2999 D68 1992
“The Sacramento Mountains mule deer herd is a healthy, relatively stable
population. Winter range is an important limiting factor.
Habibi, K. 1982. Some aspects of population dynamics of aoudad in the Hondo Valley, New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 26th: 12-15. . Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 26th 1982 [Barbary sheep]
________. 1986. African aoudad thrives in New Mexico. New Mexico Wildlife 31(5): 22-25. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
________. 1987. Mother-young interactions in aoudads, Ammotragus lervia. Southwestern Naturalist 32(1): 111-116. Branson QH1 So89n
________. 1987. Overt sexual behavior among female aoudads. Southwestern Naturalist 32(1): 148-149. Branson QH1 So89n
Hafner, D. J., K. E. Petersen, and T. L Yates. 1981. Evolutionary
relationships of jumping mice (genus Zapus) of the southwestern United
States. Journal of Mammalogy 62(3): 501-511. Branson QL700
J6
The subspecie Zapus princeps luteus contains a
group of relict isolated populations in the Sacramento Mountains, the Rio
Grande Valley, and the White Mountains of southeastern Arizona. These
are isolates of Z. hudsonius so the name should be changed to Zapus hudsonius
luteus.
Hickman, G.C. 1977. Swimming behavior in representative species of three genera of North American geomyids. Southwestern Naturalist 21(4): 531-538. Branson QH1 So89n [Pocket Gophers]
Howard, V. W., and C. T. Engelking. 1974. Methods of trapping mule deer. Research Report, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment Station (292). New Library J 87 N6 X309.57 no. 292
Howard, V.W., K.M. Cheap, R.H. Hier, T.G. Thompson, and J.A. Dimas.
1987. Effects of cabling pinyon-juniper on mule deer and lagomorph
use. General Technical Report, Intermountain Forest and Range Research
Station. Ogden: the Station (215): 552-556.
Gov Doc A13.88:INT-215
Howard, V.W., K.M. Cheap, R.H. Hier, T.G. Thompson, and J.A. Dimas.
1987. Effects of cabling pinyon-juniper on mule deer and lagomorph
use. Wildlife Society Bulletin 15(2): 242-247. Branson S351 .W66
“Mule deer use of cabled and untreated pinyon-juniper
habitat was similar in all season, except spring when use of the areas
cabled in 1975 was more than twice that of untreated areas.”
Howard, V. W. 1991. Effects of electric predator-excluding
fences on movements of mule deer in pinyon/juniper woodlands. Wildlife
Society Bulletin 19(3): 331-334. Branson SK351 W66
Electric fences designed to deter coyotes from
entering sheep pastures do form a major barrier to mule deer movements
or migration. If the maximum height does not exceed 1.2 m it would
be acceptable.
Howard, V. W., W. S. Rosier, and M. Cardenas. 1992. Vegetational
changes associated with mule deer habitat on Fort Stanton in south-central
New Mexico. Bulletin, (NMSU) Agricultural Experiment Station
(763). New Library J87 N6 X309.45 no.763
Fort Stanton is an important winter range for mule
deer. The western section had more available water and a larger population
than the eastern section. In both sections, the proportions of forbs and
half-shrubs was highly variable over the years.
Mahgoub, E.F. 1984. Seasonal food habits of mule deer in the foothills of the Sacramento Mountains, New Mexico. Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU. Branson SF1998 M354 1984
Mahgoub, E.F., R.D. Pieper, J. Holecheck, J.D. Wright, and V.W. Howard.
1987. Botanical content of mule deer diets in south-central New Mexico.
New Mexico Journal of Science 27(1): 21-28. Branson Q11 N485
Wavy leaf oak, one-seed juniper and shunkbush were
the most important components of the diet, while grasses amounted to less
than 2% of the diet.
Morrison, B.L. 1984. Status of aoudad in North America. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 28d: 37-38. Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 28nd 1984
Patton, J.L., J.C. Hafner, M.S. Hafner, and M.F. Smith. 1979. Hybrid zones in Thomomys bottae pocket gophers: genetic, phenetic, and ecological concordance patterns. Evolution 33(3): 860-876. Branson QH301 Ev64
Rosier, W. S. 1987. Trends in percent cover and botanical
composition of mule deer habitat at Fort Stanton, New Mexico. Thesis
(M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .R67 1987
Fort Stanton serves primarily as winter range for
mule deer. Fewer deer were found in the east due to limited availability
of water since forage was not strikingly different. Forage, particularly
forbs and half-shrubs, was highly variable over time.
Severson, K. 1986. Small mammals in modified pinon-juniper woodlands in New Mexico. Journal of Range Management 39(1): 31-34. Branson SK351 J826wm
Simpson, C.D., L.J. Krysl, D.B. Hamply, and G.G. Gray. 1978. Barbary sheep: a threat to desert bighorn survival. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 22d: 26-31. Branson . QL737 .U5 .D457a 22nd 1978
Simpson, C.D. 1981. Status and distribution of Barbary sheep in the southwest United States. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 25d: 9-15. Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 25th 1981
Smallidge, S. T. 1997. Corona Range and Livestock Research
Ranch mule deer study. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .S57 1997
The population in the area seems to be in decline
with mule deer migrating in winter from neighboring ranches to the CRLRR.
The deer seek the greater cover and winter forage among the pinyon-juniper
woodlands.
Sullivan, R.M. 1985. Phletic, biogeographic, and ecologic relationships among montane populations of least chipmunks (Eutamias minimus) in the Southwest. Systematic Zoology 34(4): 419-448. Branson QL351 Sy87z
Sullivan, R. M. 1996. Genetics, ecology, and conservation of montane
populations of Colorado chipmunks (Tamias-quadrivittatus). Journal
of Mammalogy 77(4): 951-975. Branson QL700 J6
“Most relict-montane populations of T quadrivittaus
in NM are small and patchy in distribution because of a close affinity
with specific ecological parameters.” A new subspecies of the Colorado
chipmunk from the Oscura Mountains is described.
Thompson, T. and R. Hier. 1981. A preliminary checklist of birds and mammals, Fort Stanton Experimental Ranch. Research Report, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment Station (445). New Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 445
Thompson, T. G. 1979. Wildlife use of cabled and natural
pinyon-juniper woodland at Fort Stanton, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.
Branson S2999 .T71 1979
“Deer utilized the old cable treatments most heavily
during the spring-summer period and the new cable treatments during the
fall-winter period.” Rabbits used the cabled treatment, prefering
the older units.
Thompson, T.G., and W.Conley. 1983. Discrimination of coexisting
species of Peromyscus in south-central New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist
28(2): 199-209. Branson QH1 So89n
Six external and 26 cranial measurements of deer mice
were evaluated using stepwise discriminant analysis. “A classification
functin with 8 variables enables correct identification of over 90% of
the specimens studied.”
Weckerly, F.W., and T.L. Best. 1985. Morphologic variation among
rock pocket mice (Chaetodipus intermedius) from New Mexico lava fields.
Southwestern Naturalist 30(4): 491-501. Branson QH1 S089n
These pocket mice are closely associated with rocky habitats
separated by sandy areas. The Afton Lava Flows in Otero County and
the Carrizozo Malpais in Lincoln County are genetically more isolated than
the Pedro Armendariz Lava Field in Sierra County which is only separated
by 5 km from the Fra Cristobal Range.
Wood, J.E., T.S. Bickle, W. Evans, J.C. Germany, and V.W. Howard. 1970.
The Fort Stanton mule deer herd: some ecological and life history characteristics
with special emphasis on the use of water. Bulletin, (New Mexico
State University) Agricultural Experiment Station (567). Zuhl Library J87
N6 X309.45 no. 567
Bavin, R. 1974. New Mexio's glamorous goat. New Mexico Wildlife
19(5): 12-15. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Persian Ibex were introduced into the Florida Mountains.
Exotic Animal Investigations, Final Report No. W-111-R-11. 1977. Santa
Fe, NM: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. New Library J87 N6 X251.81
M15/2
Persian ibex located in the Florida Mountains were studied.
Huey, W.S. 1973. Old World perspective on New World introductions. New Mexico Wildlife 18(2): 18-21. New Library J87 N6 X251.92 [Persian Ibex]
MacCarter, J. S. 1996. Creature of Controversy: the Persian Ibex, Spring Canyon, Site 76. New Mexico Wildlife 41(1): 19-21. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Morrow, P. C. 1988. Habiat evaluation of the Florida Mountains,
New Mexico for the Persian wild goat and mule deer. Thesis (M.S.)
NMSU. S2999 .M67 1988
“From comparative use and compostion information,
mountain mahogany seems to the critical key species for ungulate maintenance
in the Florida Mountains. Numbers of wild goats have increased at a rate
of 33% annually over eight years.”
Stuart, J. N., and N. J. Scott. 1992. Range extension of the northern pygmy mouse, Baiomys taylori, in New Mexico. Texas Journal of Science 44(4): 487-489. Branson Q1 T313j
Sutcliffe, D. H. 1972. Post release investigations of Iranian
Ibex in New Mexico and evaluation of a proposed release site. Thesis (M.S.)
NMSU. Branson S2999 .S972 1972
The 15 Iranian ibex relased in the Florida Mountains
occupied the three main canyons and foraged on oak, juniper, mountain mahogany,
ocotillo and grasses. The Ladron Mountains were evaluated as a release
site for siberian ibex where less precipitation than their homeland would
be the limiting factor.
White, R. J. 1967. Preliminary investigation of the factors
involved in stocking greater kudu and gemsbok in New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.)
NMSU. Branson S2999 .W44 1967
“Ecological aspects of the animals native habitats were
compared with those of New Mexico by comparing the conditions reported
in the literature with conditions found in an experimental study pasture
near Redrock, New Mexico.”
Woodroof, W. O. 1979. Ecology and behavior of the Persian
wild goat (Capra aegagrus) in New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson
S2999 .W66
Persian ibex were first released in 1970 in the
Florida Mountains. The population increased at a rate estimated at
14 to 17% annually. Carrying capacity was estimated at 272.
Their diet heavily overlapped that of deer.
Anderson, A. E., W. A. Snyder, and G. W. Brown. 1970. Indices
of reproduction and survival in female mule deer, Guadalupe Mountains,
New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 15(1): 29-36. Branson QH1 So89n
“Based on 3,879 female mule deer sampled at check stations
(1959-1959), the number of yearlings per 100 adults ranged from 29 to 62.”
Barnitz, J. A., V. W. Howard, and G. M. Southward. 1990.
Mule deer and rabbit use on areas of pinyon-juniper woodland treated by
two-way cabling. Bulletin, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural
Experiment Station (752). New Library J87 N6 X309.45 no. 752
Bowers, J.H. 1974. Genetic compatibility of Peromyscus maniculatus
and Peromyscus melanotis, as indicated by breeding studies and morphometrics.
Journal of Mammalogy 55(4): 720-737. Branson QL700 J6
Burkett, D. W. 1992. Evaluation of relative wildlife use
associated with water units on White Sands Missile Range. Thesis
(M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 B87 1992.
“Data gathered in this study suggest that overall species
richness is not enhanced by the addition of water.” No differences
in ungulates (mule deer, oryx, pronghorn, horses, cows) at water sources
versus comparison sites were found.
Burkett, D. W. 1994. Wildlife association with human-altered water
sources in semiarid vegetation communities. Conservation Biology
8(3): 682-690. Branson QH75 A1 C65
“If wildlife management goals are directed toward
increasing species richness or increasing wildlife populations in general,
our data sugest that watering units may not produce the desired effects.”
Conley, W.H. 1970. Geographic variation in the least chipmunk, Eutamia minimus, in New Mexico and eastern Arizona. Journal of Mammalogy 51(4): 695-702. Branson QL700 J6
Conley, W. 1976. Competition betwen Microtus: a behavioral hypothesis. Ecology 57(2): 224-237. Branson QH540 Ec731 [Longtail vole & Mexican vole]
________. 1984. Reproductive potential and theoretical rates of increase for feral goat populations. Journal of Wildlife Management 48(3): 814-822. Branson SK351 J826wm
Cothran, E.G. 1983. Morphologic relationships of the hybridizing ground squirrels Spermophilus mexicanus and S. tridecemlineatus. Journal of Mammalogy 591-602. Branson QL700 J6
Davis, R. and D.E. Brown. 1988. Documentation of the transplanting of Abert's squirrels. Southwestern Naturalist 33(4): 490-492. Branson QH1 So89n
Del Divine, D. 1992. Vegetational and ungulate utilization
analysis of artificial wildlife watering units on White Sands Missile Range,
New Mexico. . Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 D58 1992
“One season of data failed to reveal any differences
in plant abundance or structure in areas surrounding water developments.
Poisonous plant species were not more abundant at watering units.”
Dye, J. L. 1998. Gemsbok and mule deer diets in southern
New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .D94 1998.
“Gemsbok on WSMR were grazers with diets consisting
of 60% grasses, 17% forbs and 23% shrubs. Mule deer were primarly browsers
with diets of 65% shrubs, 20% forbs, and 15% grasses.”
Hafner, D. J., and K. N. Geluso. 1983. Systematic relationships and historical zoogeography of the desert pocket gopher, Geomys arenarius. Journal of Mammalogy 64(3): 405-412. Branson QL700 J6
Hansen, R.M. 1976. Foods of free-roaming horses in southern New
Mexico. Journal of Range Management 29(4): 347. Branson SF85 J67
White Sands Missle Range had 150-200 wild horses
in 1974. At this level of population they did not appear to be causing
range deterioration.
________. 1978. Use of dung pH to differentiate herbivore species.
Journal of Wildlife Management 42(2): 441-444. Branson SK351 J826wm
At White Sands, Oryx dung could be distinguished from deer or horse.
Hickman, G. C. 1977. Swimming behavior in representative species of the three general of North American geomyids. Southwestern Naturalist 21(4): 531-538. Branson QH1 So89n [Pocket Gophers]
Huey, W.S. 1973. Old World perspective on New World introductions. New Mexico Wildlife 18(2): 18-21. New Library J87 N6 X251.92 [Oryx]
Jorgensen E. E, S. Demarais, and S. Neff. 1994. Rodent use
of microhabitat patches in desert arroyos. American Midland Naturalist
134(1): 193-199. Branson QH1 Am35mn
“Rodents were rarely captured in wash zones. They
were captured on shoulders half as much as terraces…We confirmed past observations
that crictines tend to move farther than heteromyids.”
Jorgensen E. E, S. S Demarais, and W. R. Whitworth. 1994.
Effect of box-trap design on rodent captures. Southwestern Naturalist
39(3): 291-294. Branson QH1 So89n
Side by side comparisons of wire-mesh and Sherman
traps were made at Ft. Bliss and in Lubbock. Sherman traps were more
effective, which may be due to the more sensitive treadle.
Jorgensen E. E, S. S Demarais, S.M. Sell, and S.P.Lerich. 1998.
Modeling habitat suitability for small mammals in Chihuahuan Desert foothills
of New-Mexico. Journal of Wildlife Management 62(3): 989-996. Branson
SK351 J826wm
Habitat associations of 18 species of small
mammals in 6 habitats associated with desert foothills in the Sacramento
Mountains remained relatively consistent through time, although community
abundance decreased 34% from spring 1993 to fall 1994. The
proceedure successfully classified 80-93% of habitats as supporting ''high,''
''moderate”, or ''low'' abundance of 13 species of heteromyid and murid
rodents. Murid rodents (Peromyscus, Reithrodontomys, Neotoma, and Sigmodon)
were found primarily within arroyos where shrub diversity, canopy cover,
and height were greatest compared to surrounding habitats.
Jorgensen E.E. and S. Demarais. 1999. A comparison of modelling techniques
for small mammal diversity. Ecological Modelling 120(1): 1-8. Branson
QH541.15 M3 E27
“We compared three methods for modelling site-specific
small mammal diversity using data collected from six habitat types associated
with the foothills of the Sacramento Mountains. We found that models could
discriminate areas of high local richness from areas of low local richness
much better than models could predict actual richness (i.e., the number
of species). Of equal importance, we determined that the mean errors for
models predicting actual richness were greater than the spatial and temporal
variability known to
to define the system.”
Mahgoub, E. F. 1984. Seasonal food habits of mule deer in the
foothills of the Sacramento Mountains, New
Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson SF1998 M354
The most important browse species for mule deer were wavy-leaf
oak, single
seed juniper, and pinon. "Analysis of deer faecal pellets from June 1981 to
September 1983 indicated that browse formed nearly 80% of the diet, forbs 20% and
grasses only 2%." "Topography, cover and water supplies were more critical than
food resources in determining suitable deer habitat for this area."
Meneely, S.C. and S.D. Schemnitz. 1981. Chemical composition and in vitro
digestibility of deer browse three years after a wildfire. Southwestern
Naturalist 26 (4): 365-374. Branson QH1 So89n
Highly
significant interactions indicate fire effects vary with
the species or plant part and season. Ash, calcium and ether extract percentages
were lower in those plants from the burned area and acid-detergent fiber
was greater. It is doubtful, though, that at the time of sampling, the
differences found were of nutritional significance to the local mule deer
population.
Morrison, B.L. 1981. History and status of bighorn sheep in the Guadalupe Mountains, New Mexico. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council. 25th: 52-54. Branson QL737 U5 D457a 25th 1981. Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a
Reid, W.H., and G.R. Patrick. 1983. Gemsbok (Oryx gazella) in
White Sands National Monument. Southwestern Naturalist 28(1): 97-99.
Branson QH1 So89n
Oryx consumed globemallow and russian thistle.
Rodrick P.J. and N.E. Mathews. 1999. Characteristics of natal and non-natal
kit fox dens in the northern Chihuahuan Desert. Great Basin Naturalist
59(3): 253-258.
Twenty radio-collared kit foxes on the McGregor Range
of Fort Bliss Military Reservation, used 132 different dens, including
16 natal dens. “Kit fox dens were located primarily in creosote-dominated
habitat found in relatively flat, well-drained terrain. Natal dens were
virtually indistinguishable from non-natal dens; however, natal den entrances
were taller than non-natal den entrances. Kit foxes used more new dens
during the breeding (January-February) and pup-rearing season (May-July)
than during gestation.”
Root, J. J., E. E. Jorgensen, and S Demarais. 1999. Effects
of a habitat boundary on small mammals associated with the White Sands
dune complex. Southwestern Naturalist 44(2): 193-198. Branson
QH1 So89n
“A behavioral barrier is apparent between habitats along
the edge of the White Sands dune boundary. There was no evidence of an
edge effect at the spatial scale of our sampling plots. Characteristics
of diversity and abundance normally asssociated with edge effect mayh not
be highly expressed in arid ecosystems.”
Sacramento Mountain mule deer investigations: population studies July 1, 1975 through June 30, 1978. Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. New Library J 87 N6 X251.81 S21
Saiz, R. 1974. White Sands' mysterious stranger. New Mexico Wildlife 19(5): 8-11. New Library J87 N6 X251.92 [Oryx]
Simpson, C.D. 1981. Status and distribution of Barbary sheep in the southwest United States. Transactions - Desert Bighorn Council 25d: 9-15. Branson QL737 .U5 .D457a 25th 1981
Smith, J. C. 1994. Microhistological analysis of diets of
exotic and native ungulates in southcentral New Mexico. Thesis (Masters’).
NMSU. Branson S2999 S58 1994
At White Sands
Missile Range diets of pronghorn, gemsbok (Oryx gazella), and feral horses
were determined. Gemsbok were grazers consuming 83% grasses and 16%
shrubs. However, there was no significant overlap in diet.
Stratton, J. A. 1989. Morphological comparisons, weight
estimation, and annuli deposition of Oryx on White Sands Missle range,
New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .S873 1989
Oryx were released in 1973. Subadults can
be distinguished by their lack of permanent incisors or cementum annuli
in the incisor teeth.
Weckerly, F.W., and T.L. Best. 1985. Morphologic variation among
rock pocket mice (Chaetodipus intermedius) from New Mexico lava fields.
Southwestern Naturalist 30(4): 491-501. Branson QH1 S089n
These pocket mice are closely associated with rocky habitats
separated by sandy areas. The Afton Lava Flows in Otero County and
the Carrizozo Malpais in Lincoln County are genetically more isolated than
the Pedro Armendariz Lava Field.
Best, T.L. 1972. Mound development by a pioneer population the the banner-tailed kangaroo rat, Dipodomys spectabilis baileyi Goldman, in Eastern New Mexico. American Midland Naturalist 87(1): 201-206. Branson QH1 Am35mn
Bradley, R. D., S. K Davis, S. F. Lockwood, J. W. Bickham, and R. J. Baker. 1991. Hybrid breakdown and cellular-DNA content in a contact zone between two species of pocket gophers (Geomys). Journal of Mammalology. Branson QL700 J6
Clark, T.W., T.M. Campbell, D.G. Socha, and D.E. Casey. 1982. Prairie dog colony attributes and associated vertebrate species. Great Basin Naturalist 42(4): 572-582. Branson QH1 G7
Hartman, S.E. 1980. Geographic variation analysis of Dipodomys
ordii using nonmetric cranial traits. Journal of Mammalogy 61(3):
436-448. Branson QL700 J6
Ord Kangaroo Rat
Judd, F.W. 1970. Geographic variation in the deer mouse, Peromyscus maniculatus on the Llano Estacado. Southwestern Naturalist 14(3): 261-282. Branson QH1 So89n
Pembleton, E.F., and R.J. Baker. 1978. Studies of a contact zone
between chromosomally characterized populations of Geomys bursarius.
Journal of Mammalogy 59(2): 233-242. Branson QL700 J6 [Plains pocket
gopher]
Pfaffenberger, G.S. 1986. Male pseudohermaphroditism in a population
of kangaroo rats, Dipodomys ordii. Southwestern Naturalist 31(1):
124-126. Branson QH1 So89n
Stock, A.D. 1974. Chromosome evolution in the genus Dipodomys
and its taxonomic and phylogenetic implications. Journal of Mammalogy
55(3): 505-526. Branson QL700 J6
[Kangaroo rats]
Chung-MacCoubrey, A. 1996. Bat species using water sources in
pinyon-juniper woodlands. Pages 168-170 in Desired future conditions
for southwestern riparian ecosystems, September 18-22, 1995, Albuquerque.
Ft. Collins: USDA Forest Service. Gov Doc A13.88:RM-GTR-272
The Magdalena mountains had larger numbers of bats
captured than the Sandias, Manzanos, Gallinas or San Mateos. Sixteen
bat species were compared.
Jones, C., and R.D. Suttkus. 1972. Notes on netting bats for eleven years in western New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 16(3&4): 261-266. Branson QH1 So89n
Reith, C.C. 1982. Insectivorous bats fly in shadows to avoid moonlight. Journal of Mammalogy 63(4): 685-688. Branson QL700 J6
Sullivan, R. M. 1996. Genetics, ecology, and conservation of montane
populations of Colorado chipmunks (Tamias-quadrivittatus). Journal
of Mammalogy 77(4): 951-975. Branson QL700 J6
Barros, M.A., and J.L. Patton. 1985. Genome evolution in pocket gophers (Genus Thomomys): III. Fluorochrome-revealed heterochromatin heterogeneity. Chromosoma 92(5): 337-343. Branson QH573 C468
Black, H.L. 1974. A North American temperate bat community: structure and prey populations. Journal of Mammalogy 55(1): 138-157. Branson QL700 J6
Chung-MacCoubrey, A. 1999. Maternity roosts of bats at the Bosque
del Apache National Wildlife Refuge: a preliminary report. Pages
216-221 in Rio Grande ecosystems: linking land, water and people.
Rocky Mountain Research Station, Proceedings RMRS-P-7. Gov Doc A13.151/5:RMRS-P-7
“Individuals and colonies of little brown and Yuma
myotis used under-bark crevices and snags rather than more permanent types
of roosts.”
Ellis, L.M., .S. Crawford, and M.C. Molles. 1997. Rodent
communities in native and exotic riparian vegetation in the middle Rio
Grande Valley of Central New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 42(1): 13-19.
Branson QH1 So89n
At Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge,
species richness was greater in saltcedar than in cottonwood, due to addition
of some species typically associated with dry upland or grassland.
“Peromyscus leucopus was the most common species at all sites, while Reithrodontomys
megalotis occurred at low densities at all sites.” Dipodomys ordii,
Peromyscus maniculatus, Onychomys leucogaster, Sigmodon hispidus moved
in from the surrounding uplands.
Ellis, L. M., M. C. Molles, C. S. Crawford. 1997. Short-term
effects of annual flooding on a population of Peromyscus leucopus in a
Rio Grande riparian forest of central New Mexico. American Midland
Naturalist 138(2): 260-267.
Branson QH1 Am35mn
At the Bosque del Apache, there has been no flooding
in over 50 years. A three year series of experimental floods mid-May
to mid-June, had little effect on the white-footed mouse, the most common
rodent of the cottonwood forests. “Large quantitites of fallen branches,
toppled trees and various shrubs, in addition to standing large trees,
provided ample refugia.” The mice were good climbers and swimmers.
Fisher, A. 1993. Operation Borrego: desert bighorns to the Ladron Mountains. New Mexico Wildlife 38(1): 23-29. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
Gannon, W. L. 1998. Syntopy between two species of long-eared
bats (Myotis evotis and Myotis auriculus. Southwestern Naturalist
43(3): 394-396. Branson QH1 So89n
Four localities reported are in the San Mateo Mountains,
Gila NF Catron, Jemez Mt of northern NM, and White Mts of AZ.
Gustafson-Ropski, M., S.J. Ropski, and P.B. Stacey. 1989. Genetic differenciation in a population of rock squirrels (Spermophilus variegatus, Sciuridae) in central New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 34(3): 424-427. Branson QH1 So89n
Hafner, D.J., and K.N. Geluso. 1983. Systematic relationships and historical zoogeography of the desert pocket gopher, Geomys arenarius. Journal of Mammalogy 64(3): 405-413. Branson QL700 J6
Hafner, M. S., J. W. Demastes, D. J. Hafner, T. A. Spradling,
P. D. Sudman, and S. A.
Nadler. 1998. Age and movement of a hybrid zone: implications
for dispersal distance in pocket gophers and their chewing lice.
Evolution. 1998. 52(1): 278-282. Branson QH301 Ev64
“Historical flood records for the Rio Grande Valley of
New Mexico, USA, suggest that a pocket gopher (Thomomys bottae) hybrid
zone previously thought to be 10 000 years old may actually be closer to
50 years old.” Two highly differentiated subspecies meet near San
Acacia.
Howard, V. W. and D. H. Sutcliffe. 1972. The Ladron Mountains as a release
site for Siberian ibex. Research Report, Agricultural Experiment
Station, New Mexico State University (236). New Library J87 N6 X309.57
no. 236
Blue grama was the most abundant of the 5 grass
species and formed 40% of the vegetation cover. There were major
differences in the time and amount of rainfall compared to Alma-Ata, Russia,
which might limit the amount of succulent vegetation available to the Siberian
ibex. “Drinking water and the livestock already present in the area
would not be limiting factors.”
Husar, S.L. 1976. Behavioral character displacement: evidence of food partitioning in insectivorous bats. Journal of Mammalogy 57(2): 331-338. Branson QL700 J6
Lemen, C.A., and M.L. Rosenzweig. 1978. Microhabitat selection in two species of heteromyid rodents. Oecologia 33(2): 127-135. Branson QH540 O34 [Ord kangaroo rat & silky pocket mouse
Lemen, C.A. 1978. Seed size selection in heteromyids. Oecologia
35(1): 13-19. QH540 O34
Preferences of Ord’s kangaro rat, the silky pocket mouse and Merriam’s
kangaroo rat were compared.
Najera, S. R. 1994. Meadow jumping mice habitat affinitiies
and capture success in two trap types at Bosque del Apache National Wildlife
Refuge. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 .N34 1994
Most captures ocurred in wetland areas during the spring and
along canal banks during summer and were not affected by flooding.
Pederson, J. 1996. New bighorn sheep of the Fra Cristobal
Range. New Mexico Wildlife 41(1): 14-17. New Library J87 N6 X251.92
37 bighorn were released on Armendaris Ranch forming the sixth
herd in NM. Another site in the Caballo Mountains was rejected by
citizens of T or C. Suitable ranges still exist in the Magdalena
Mountains, El Malpais, and Animas Mountains.
Rapski, M.G., S.J. Rapski, and P.B. Stacey. 1989. Genetic differentiation in a population of rock squirrels (Spermophilus variegatus, Sciuridae) in central New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 34(3): 424-427. Branson QH1 So89n [Magdalena Mountains]
Schroder, G.D., and M.L Rosenzweig. 1975. Perturbation analysis of competition and overlap in habitat utilization between Dipodomy ordii and Dipodomys merriami. Oecologia 19(1): 9-28. Branson QH540 O34 [Ord kangaroo rat; Merriam kangaroo rat]
Schroder, G.D., and K.N. Geluso. 1975. Spatial distribution of
Dipodomys spectabilis mounds. Journal of Mammalogy 56(2): 363-367.
Branson Branson QL700 J6 [Bannertail kangaroo rat]
Schroder, G.D. 1979. Foraging behavior and home range utilization of
the bannertail kangaroo rat (Dipodomys spectabilis). Ecology 60(4):
657-665. Branson QH540 Ec731
______. 1987. Mechanisms for coexitence among three species of Dipodomys: habitat selection and an alternative. Ecology 68(4): 1071-1083. Branson QH540 Ec731 [Ord kangaroo rat; Merriam kangaroo rat; bannertail kangaroo rat]
Stephenson, T.E., J.L. Holecheck, and C.B. Kuykendall. 1985. Drought effect on pronghorn and other ungulate diets. Journal of Wildlife Management 49(1): 146-151. Branson SK351 J826wm
________. 1985. Diets of four wild ungulates on winter range in northcentral New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 30(3): 337-441. Branson QH1 So89n [San Antonio Mountain; wild horses; mule deer; elk; pronghorn]
Sullivan, R. M. 1996. Genetics, ecology, and conservation of montane
populations of Colorado chipmunks (Tamias-quadrivittatus). Journal
of Mammalogy 77(4): 951-975. Branson QL700 J6
“Most relict-montane populations of T quadrivittaus
in NM are small and patchy in distribution because of a close affinity
with specific ecological parameters.” A new subspecies of the Colorado
chipmunk from the Oscura Mountains is described.
Valdez, E. W., J. N. Stuart, and M. A. Bogan. 1999. Additional records of bats from the middle Rio Grande Valley New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 44(3): 398-400. Branson QH1 So89n
Zwank, P. J., S. R. Najera, and Manual Cardenas. 1997. Life
history and habitat affinities of the meadow jumping mice (Zapus hudsonius)
in the middle Rio Grande Valley of New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist
42(3): 318-322.
Branson QH1 So89n
At the Bosque del Apache, they were consistently
trapped in greatest numbers in areas with a high percentage of understory
and midstory vegetation and high soil moisture. Wooded sloughs may provide
the best nesting and hibernating sites.