Birds of Southern New Mexico:

  a bibliography arranged by location

 

Compiled by Roger Steeb, New Mexico State University Library

 

Last updated November 29, 1999.

 

This bibliography is arranged by location of the study, specifically by county.  There is a similar list is grouped by the type of bird. Below is a list of New Mexican counties and the geographic features found within that county, for example to locate studies of birds in the Organ Mountains look under Dona Ana County.  Studies that cross many county boundaries are listed under “New Mexico in General.”  To include the entire author’s abstracts would make the bibliography too lengthy for this site.  The quotes chosen are from the paper’s conclusions and illustrate interesting points of the article, but does not attempt to describe the methodology or full scope of the paper. 

 

CATRON county contains part of the Gila National Forest.

CHAVES county has the middle part of the Pecos River.

DONA ANA has the Organ, Dona Ana, San Andres, and part of the middle Rio Grande.

EDDY county has Carlsbad Caverns and the southern stretch of the Pecos River.

GRANT county contains part of the Gila National Forest and part of the Gila River

HIDALGO county has the Peloncillo, Animas Mountains

LEA county contains much of the shinnery oak plains and playa lakes of NM

LINCOLN county has the northern part of the Sacramento Mountains.

LUNA county has the Florida Mountains.

OTERO contains the southern section of the Sacramento Mountains, the Guadalupe

Mountains, and White Sands.

ROOSEVELT county is on the eastern plains of NM.

SIERRA county contains the eastern portion of the Gila National Forest

SOCORRO has the San Mateo, Magdalena Mountains, and the Bosque del Apache.

 

Links to bibliographies of studies  listed under “New Mexico in General.”

 

Aldrich             Jenks

Campbell          Kimsey

Davis                MacCarter

Grubb              Schemnitz

Hubbard           White  

 

 

SOUTHERN NEW MEXICO IN GENERAL

 

Aldrich, J. W., and K. P. Baer.  1970.  Status and speciation in the Mexican duck (Anas diazi).  Wilson Bulletin 82(1): 63-73.  Branson QL671 W7

 

Campbell, H.  1976.  Foreign game birds in New Mexico.  Bulletin, New Mexico Department of Game and Fish (15).   New Library J87 N6 X251.41 no. 15

            Only the ring-necked pheasant, Turkish chukar, and white-winged pheasant occurred in numbers sufficient to assume that they would establish themselves as game birds.  Other attempted introductions by the NM Fish & Game Department included the Indian chukar, masked bobwhite, Benson’s & mountain quail, and black & gray francolins

 

Clark, D. R., and A. J. Krynitsky.  1983.  DDT: recent contamination in New Mexico.  Environment 25(5): 27-31.  Branson QH540 E593

 

Davis, B. L. 1997.  Field guide to the birds of the desert Southwest.  Houston: Gulf.  Branson QL683 .S75 .D38 1997

 

Economic analysis of critical habitat designation for the Mexican spotted owl.  1995. Albuquerque: NM State Ecological Services.  Gov Doc I49.2 OW 4

 

Grubb, T. G., and C. E. Kennedy.  1982.  Bald eagle winter habitat on southwestern national forests.  Rearch Paper, Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station.  Fort Collins: The Station (237).  Branson (Gov Doc) A13.78 RM-237

            “The Gila National Forest and the Cocoino N. F. have higher wintering eagle populations than any other national forest in the region.” “American coots and other waterfowl were the major prey used in 1978, followed by large ungulate carrion and small mammalian prey.”  Communal roosts are the most critical component of winter habitat.

 

Handbook of species endangered in New Mexico.  1992 Santa Fe: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish.  New Library or Branson Info Desk  J87 N6 X251.61 S74 1992

 

Hector, D.  1987.  Decline of the aplomado falcon in the U.S.  American Birds 41(3): 381-389.  Branson QL671 Au295

            The last documented U.S. nest site was located near Deming in 1952, but sightings continued with a possible breeding pair in Lea County (1962), and individuals seen near Sunland Park (1975), and Rodeo (1977).  “Aplomado Falcons may not reoccupy their former range until pesticide use abates in Latin America or some effort is made to artificially reestablish the species.”

 

Hoffman, R. W. et al. 1993.  Management guidelines for Merriam's wild turkeys.  Division Report No. 18, Colorado Division of Wildlife. Ft. Collins.  QL696 G254 M36 1992

            “Created openings should be located in mesic or alluvial sites because theese sites are more productive. Long, narrow opening with an irregular edge and not exceeding 240 ft in width are recommended.”  10-25% of forested areas should be openings.  Turkeys prefer nesting & roosting on slopes greater than 30%.  “Uneven-aged management is recommended.”  Ponderosa pine stringers extending into pinyon juniper should not be harvested.

 

Hubbard, J. P., and A. L. Gennaro.  1975.  Status of the cattle egret in New Mexico.  Southwestern Naturalist 20(2): 282-283.  Branson QH1 So89n

            This visiting bird was first sighted in New Mexico in 1963 at Bosque del Apache.

 

Hubbard, J. P.  1977.  Biological and taxonomic status of the Mexican duck.  Bulletin,  New Mexico Department of  Game and Fish (16).  New Library J87 N6 X251.41 no.16

Variation in mallard-like ducks of arid regions were analyzed population by population

 

Hubbard, J. P.  1977.  Importance of riparian ecosystems: biotic considerations.  Pages 14-18 in Importance, preservation and management of riparian habitat: a symposium.  Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station, General Technical Report RM-43.  Gov Doc A13.88: RM-43

            Arizona and New Mexico have disproportionate portions of the terrestrial vertebrates of temperate North America, with figures ranging from about one-third to almost two-thirds among mammals, birds, reptiles.

 

________.  1977.  Southwestern songbirds.  Pages 79-96 in Symposium on rare and endangered  wildlife of the southwestern United States, September 22-23, 1972 Albuquerque.  Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish.  New Library J87 N6 X251.81 R22

 

________.  1977.  Status of Cassin’s sparrow in New Mexico and adjacent states. American Birds 31(5): 941-941.  Branson QL671 Au295

            Cassin’s sparrow returns to New Mexico by April and begins singing, but nesting has been difficult to observe in southern New Mexico.

 

________.  1978.  Revised check-list of the birds of New Mexico.  New Mexico Ornithological Society Publication (6).  Branson QL684 N6 N463 no. 6

 

Hubbard, J. P., and C. L. Hubbard.  1979.  Birds of New Mexico’s national park lands.  Glenwood, NM: Tecolote Press.  Branson (Special Collections) QL684 N6 H8

            The national park lands highlighted in southern New Mexico include Grand Quivera, Gila Cliff Dwellings, White Sands, and Carlsbad Caverns.

 

Hubbard, J. P.  1984.  Roadside raptor counts as an indicator of the status of the turkey vulture in New Mexico.  Pages 375-384 in Vulture Biology and Management (S. R. Wilbur and J. A. Jackson, editors).   Berkeley, CA: University of California Press.  Branson QL696 F32 V84 1983

            In southeastern NM, there were both spring and fall surges in numbers, with a decline in July through August. In southwestern NM, numbers tended to peak in the fall.

 

________.  1996.  Recent avifauna of New Mexico.  New Mexico Journal of Science 36: 38-59.  Branson Q11 N485

Using reports dating from 1820 to the present, there are 478 species (plus 474 subpecies) of native birds in NM.  86 speces are known or suspected of having bred. 33 species are endangered or threatened.

 

Hughes, M. A.  1997.  Comparative effects of differentially including breeeding and nonbreeding bird distribution in projections of species richness for New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 H84 1997

For the state of NM, breeding distribution does not reliably predict areas used by nonbreeding birds and shouldn’t be used exclusively to identify potential gaps in conservation.  Short grass steppe, graminoid wetlands, playa lakes, and waters in eastern NM would be given higher species richness estimates if nonbreeding birds were included.

 

Huntington, D. and S. Huntington.  1983.  Rare and unusual birds of New Mexico: a compilation of 20 years of NMSOS field notes (1960-1980).  New Mexico Ornithogical Society Publication (7).  Branson QL684 N6 N463 no.7

 

Jenks, R. S. 1983.  Distribution, abundance and habitat of white-winged doves in New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 J4 1983

            In southwestern New Mexico white-winged doves of the subspecies Z. a mearnsi occur in mountain canyons dominated mainly by oak or juniper and in riparian areas. White wings of the Rio Grande are Z a. monticola at its northern limit at Soccoro. The 10-mile stretch along the Rio Grande north of Radium Springs is particularly important for nesting.

 

Kennedy P. L.  1997.  Northern goshawk (Accipiter gentilis atricapillus): is there evidence of a population decline.  Journal of Raptor Research 31(2): 95-106.  Branson

QL696 F3 F682

            There is no strong evidence of declines in demographic data collected for goshawk populations in Utah and NM.  “Evidence of a decline would include range contractions, temporal decreases in density, fecundity and/or survival and /or a negative rate of population change.”  A meta-analysis needs to be conducted on all existing published and unpublished data sets.

 

Kimsey, B.  1989.  Ferruginous hawk is a bird of paradoxes.  New Mexico Wildlife 34(6): 18-19.  New Library J87 N6 X251.92 

            “Though considered a candidate for federal endangered species listing the hawk is readily seen in NM, especially in winter, and nests in suitable habitat here.” Ferruginous hawk prefers stunted junipers in grassy plains.  Artificial nests have been successful.

 

Leal, D. A.  1994.  Comparative avian communty composition and habitat importance in the Rio Grande Corridor of New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 L22 1994.

        The flood plain extends 480 km from north of Velarde to Mesquite.  Comparison to historical literature indicated that 12 species appear to be declining while 14 appear to be increasing.  Of the 259 species detected, 147 were neotropical migrants.

 

Leal, D. A., R. A. Meyer, and B. C. Thompson.  1996.  Avian community composition and habitat importance in the Rio Grande corridor of New Mexico.  Pages 62-67 in Desired future conditions for Southwestern riparian ecosystems: Bringing interests and concerns together.  USDA Forest Service General Technical Report RM-GTR-272.  Gov Doc A13.88: RM-GTR-272.

            “Generally, the higher ranking community types had cottonwood and other native woody species as dominants and the lower ranking communities were those types that are highly manipulated and/or monotypic, such as mowed river edge, pecan orchards and relatively pure stands of saltcedar.  Bird occfurrence and distribution in the Rio Grande Corridor is not so neatly related to composition of native vegetation as is sometimes characterized.”

 

MacCarter, Jane.  1994.  New Mexico wildlife viewing guide. Helena:  Falcon.  New Library J87 N6 X251.81 W67/6

 

New Mexico Game and Fish BISON-M Animal Data.  New Mexico Game and Fish Department Web Site.  [Online]  Available:  http:nmnhp.unm.edu/bisonm/

            This extensive database can be located with the URL or by looking up New Mexico Game and Fish, then clicking on species accounts.

 

New Mexico Ornithological Society Field Notes.  Branson QL684 N6 N42f

 

Potter, T. D. 1984.  Status and ecology of Gould’s turkey in New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.)

NMSU.  Branson S2999 P6 1984.

            “The main habitat of Gould’s turkey is the Madrean Evergreen Woodland community, characterized by gray and Emory oaks, alligatorbark juniper, pinyon pine, and Chihuahua pine in the bottoms.  Beargrass, manzanita, and grama grasses were key understory components.”

 

Recovery plan for the Mexican spotted owl (Strix occidentalis lucida): plan de recuperacion del tecolote moteado Mexicano.  1995.  U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.  Gov Doc Microfiche I49.2:Sp6/7

            Conservation plans by the state and also the Mescalero & Jicarilla Apache tribes are describedas of 1995. As a general recommendation, there should be uneven aged trees with multple canopy levels plus small openings that favor seedlings.

 

Schemnitz, S. D., J. L. Dye, and M. Cardenas.  1997.  Fall and winter foods of scaled and Gambel’s quail in southwestern New Mexico.  Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin 777.  New Library J87 N6 X309.45 no. 777

            “Russian thistle seed was the first ranked food seed for Gambel’s quail and ranked second for scaled quail.  Snakeweed seed was the first ranked food for scaled quail and the sixth for Gambel’s quail.”  Scaled and Gambel’s quail had a dietary overlap of 50%.

 

Schweitzer, S. H., D. M. Finch, and D. M. Leslie.  1998.  Brown-headed cowbird and its riparian-dependent hosts in New Mexico.  Fort Collins: Rocky Moutain Research Station, General Technical Report RMRS-GTR-1.  Gov Doc A13.88:RMRS-GTR-1

            Breeding Bird Survey data indicate a significant increase in the numbers of cowbirds, but other studies do not give comparable results.  “The least Bell’s vireo and southwestern willow flycatcher, both endangered, are riparian-dependent, long-distance migratory songbirds and frequent hosts for brown-headed cowbird throughout the Southwest.”  Studies on rates of parasitism are urgently needed.

 

Scott, V. E., and D. R. Patton.  1975.   Cavity-nesting birds of Arizona and New Mexico. Fort Collins: Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station, General Technical  Report (10).  (Gov Doc) A13.88 RM-10

            Together with illustrations of the 40 species listed for NM, the type of nest-tree and prefered foods are listed.  Copper-tailed trogons are listed as rare in the Peloncillo and Animas Mountains.  They use abandoned woodpecker holes in cottonwood and sycamore snags.

 

White, D. H., and A. J. Krynitsky.  1986.  Wildlife in some areas of New Mexico and Texas accumulate elevated DDE residues, 1983.  Archives of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology 15(2): 149-157.  Branson QH545 P4 A7

 

Whitford, W. G. 1997.  Desertification and animal biodiversity in the desert grasslands of  North America.  Journal of Arid Environments 37(4): 709-720.  New Library G

“Most grassland species of birds and mammals persist inthe desertified habitats and species that are characteristic of shrublands colonize desertified desert grasslands.  This accounts for the incrases in species richness.”  Keystone species may be a better measure of the impact of desertification.

 

Zwank, P. J.  1996.  Case Study: the Mexican spotted owl. New Mexico Journal of Science 124-140.  Branson Q11 N485

“A Recovery Plan has been developed that recommends protection measures for occupied and unoccupied but potential habitat.”

 

 

CATRON COUNTY

 

Edwards, T. C.  1986.  Ecological distribution of the gray-breasted jay: the role of habitat.  Condor 88(4): 456-460.  Branson QL671 C74

            An abrupt range termination occurs at the Mogollon rim of southwestern New Mexico and central Arizona.  Scrub jays use many of the same resources as the gray-breasted jay, however scrub jays are subordinate.  “Strong correlations with high densities of mast-producing tree species suggest habitat change rather than competition is the primary factor determining the northern limit of the range of gray-breasted jays.”

 

Schorger, A. W.  1970.  A new subspecies of Meleagris gallopavo.  Auk 87(1): 168-170. Branson QL671 Au49

            In Tularosa Cave, near Reserve, a desiccated domesticated turkey was found which is different from the indigenous Merriam’s turkey.

 

Seamans, M.E. and R.J. Gutierrez.  1995.  Breeding habitat of the Mexican spotted owl in the Tularosa Mountains, New Mexico.  Condor 97(4): 944-952

            Near Reserve, 75% of the nests were in Douglas-fir and trees averaged 164 years in age. Clumps of limbs caused by dwarf mistletoe were very commonly used as nest sites.

 

 

CHAVES COUNTY

 

Bolen, E. G., G. A. Baldassarre, and F. S. Guthery.  1989.  Playa lakes.  Pages 341-365 in Habitat management for migrating and wintering waterfowl in North America (L. M. Smith, editor).  Lubbock, TX: Texas Tech. Branson QL696 A52 H32 1989

 

Bolen, E. G., L. M. Smith, and H. L. Schramm.  1989.  Playa lakes: prairie wetlands of the southern high plains.  Bioscience 39(9): 615-623.  Branson QH301 A277 microfiche

 

Brock, L.  1993.  Prairie chickens: springtime spectacle.  New Mexico Wildlife 38(2): 28-29.  New Library J 87 N6 X251.92

 

Candelaria, M. A.  1979.  Movements and habitat-use by lesser prairie chickens in eastern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 C28

 Prenesting & postnesting movements appear dependent on availability of tallgrass cover in the shinnery-oak grasslands of southeastern NM.

 

Fleming, W. J., and B. W. Cain.  1985.  Areas of localized organochlorine contamination in Arizona and New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 30(2): 269-277.

Branson QH1 So89n

            Relatively high levels of DDE, a metabolite of DDT, were found in mallard wings in Dona Ana and Sierra counties. 

 

Flickinger, E. L., and A. J. Krynitsky.  1987.  Organochlorine residues on ducks on playa lakes of the Texas Panhandle and eastern  New Mexico.  Journal of Wildlife Diseases 23: 165-168.   Branson SF997 W646b 

 

Hollenbeck, J. P.  1998.  Effects of habitat patach characteristics on migrant passerine use along the Pecos River, eastern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 . H645 1998

           

Hunter, W. C., R. D. Ohmart, and B. W. Anderson.  1988.  Use of exotic saltcedar (Tamarix chinensis) by birds in a riparian system.  Condor 90(1): 113-123.  Branson QL671 C74

 

Mollhagen, T. R., R. W. Wiley, and R. L. Packard.  1972.  Prey  remains in golden eagle nest: Texas and New Mexico. Journal of Wildlife Management 36(3): 784-792. Branson SK351 J826wm

 

Riley, T. Z.  1978.  Nesting and brood-rearing habitat of lesser prairie chickens in southeastern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999 .R400

 

Riley, T. Z., C. A. Davis, et al.  1992.  Vegetative characteristcs of successful and unsuccessful nests of lesser prairie chickens.  Journal of Range Management 56(2): 383-388.  SF85 .J87

           

Riley, T. Z., C. A. Davis, and R. A. Smith.  1993.  Autumn and winter foods of the lesser prairie-chicken (Tympanuchus pallidicinctus) (Galliformes: Tetraonidae).  Great Basin Naturalist 53(2): 186-189.  QH1 G7

 

Schranck, B. W., and G. R. Dollahon.  1975.  Lead shot incidence on a New Mexico public hunting area. Wildlife Society Bulletin 3(4): 157-161. Branson SK351 W66

            At the Bitter Lake Wildlife Refuge “…lead shot density was 9.9 shot per square m (0,9 per square foot) or 98,985 shot per ha (40,075 per acre).”  An estimated 2,000 ducks were taken by hunters the previous season.  Mallards and pintails are the most susceptible to lead poisoning.

 

Smith, R. A.  1979.  Fall and winter habitat of lesser prairie chickens in southeastern  New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999 .S59

“Major food items in the fall diet were shinnery oak acorns, short-horned grasshoppers, insect galls form shinnery oak, and broom groundsel.”  Roosting sites tended to be in more grassy sites.

 

Taylor, M. A., and F. S. Guthery.  1980.  Status, ecology, management of the lesser prairie chicken.  General Technical  Report, Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station.  Fort Collins: The Station (77).  Branson (Gov Doc) A13.88 RM-77

 

Wisdom, M. J.  1980.  Nesting habitat of lesser prairie chickens in eastern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999 .W58 1980

“Females nested only in the shinnery oak-tallgrass vegetation type, under or beside plants that were taller than vegetation surrounding (9m) nest sites.”  Bluestem tallgrasses were preferred cover.

 

 

DONA ANA COUNTY

 

Botelho E.S. and P. C.  Arrowood. 1995.  A novel, simple, safe and effective trap for burrowing owls and other fossorial animals.  Journal of Field Ornithology 66(3): 380-384.

Branson QL679.5 B532

            Advantages are its effectiveness in even the most inaccessible burrows, protection of the trapped animal, its cryptiveness (tamper proof), ease of removal, and low cost.  The trap was used on the NMSU campus.

 

Botelho, E. S., 1996.  Behavioral ecology and parental care of breeding western burrowing owls (Speotyto cunicularia hypugaea) in Southern New Mexico, USA.  Dissertation (Ph.D) NMSU.  Branson QH998 B67 1996.                       

“Pairs in natural burrows in or at the base of cliffs produced more nestlings than those pairs which nested on flat ground or in above ground man-made structures.  Resident males chose burrows associated with cliffs more often than did migrants.  The number of nestlings produced by pairs in artificial burrows was not significantly different from that produced by pairs in natural burrows.”

 

Davis, C. A., D. E. Babb, and W. B. Ballard.  1971.  Foods of mourning doves in the Mesilla Valley of south-central New Mexico. Reserch Report, (New Mexico State University Agricultural  Experiment Station (201).  New Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 201

 

Davis, C. A., and M. W. Anderson.  1973.  Seasonal food use by mourning doves in the Mesilla Valley, south-central New Mexico. Bulletin, New Mexico State University Agricultural Experiment Station (612).  New Library J87 N6 X309.45 no. 612

 

Davis, C. A. 1974.  Mourning dove foods in semi-desert, south-central New Mexico.

Journal of Wildlife Management. 38(4): 941-944. Branson Sk351 .J826wm

In summer seeds of caltrop (Kallstroemia sp) provided about half the diet. About half the doves ate some pigweed and panic grass seed. In autumn and winter the caltrop seeds increased to 90% and pigweed and horsepurslane (Trianthema portulacastrum) amounted to about 7%.

 

Davis, C. A., M. C. Conway, and A. H. Starkey.  1974.  Nesting season of the mourning dove in the Mesilla Valley of south-central New Mexico. Research Report, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment Station (271).  New Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 271

 

Evans, D. A.  1997.  Reproductive biology of scaled quail (Callipepla squamata) in southern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU Branson S2999 E92 1997.

On the Jornada, 90% of nests were in high mesquite dunes and the remainder in soaptree yuccas.  Half the nests in the dunes were in active pack rat nests.  In drought years scaled quail are closely associated with permanent water from March to October.  Here gallinaceaeous guzzlers were useful.

 

Freeman, L. C.  1994.  Role of coordinated male and female displays and duetting in the territorial behavior of northern cactus wrens, Campylorhynchus brunneicapillus. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  QH999 F85 1994

            Cactus wrens studied at the base of the Organ Mountains apear to perform a simple, non-ritualized duet characterized by wing-lift displays.

 

Griffing, J. P., and C. A. Davis.  1978.  Feeding diversity and specific search image of mourning doves in southern New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 23(4): 702-704. Branson QH1 So89n

 

Hubbard, J. P.  1977.  Biological and taxonomic status of the Mexican duck.  Bulletin,  New Mexico Department of  Game and Fish (16).  New Library J87 N6 X251.41 no.16

Variation in mallard-like ducks of arid regions were analyzed population by population.

 

Hudson, D. M.  1978.  Power input, ventilation, and thermoregulation during steady-state flight in the white-necked raven, Corvus cryptoleucus.  Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU.  Branson QH998 H830

            Tests in a wind tunnel showed that large increases in respiratory water losses and rate of ventilation.  Shallow, high frequency ventilation is superimposed upon a deeper ventilating, low frequency component.

 

Hudson, D. M., and M. H. Bernstein.  1983.  Temperature regulation and heat balance in flying white-necked ravens, Corvus cryptoleucus.  Journal of Experimental Biology 103: 121-130.  Branson QH301 J826

 

_______.  Gas exchange and energy cost of flight in the white-necked raven, Corvus cryptoleucus.  Journal of Experimental Biology 90: 267-282.  Branson QH301 J826

 “Power input was closely similar to allometric predictions based on data from other species of smaller birds. It increased significantly with air speed and flight angle above horizontal and decreased with increasing angles below the horizontal” 

 

Macias, L.C. 1998.  Seasonal wildlife numbers on early and late seral condition rangelands in the northern chihuahuan desert.  Thesis (Masters’) NMSU.  S2999 M13 1998.

            Late seral pastures of black grama, dropseed, and threeawn had similar total sighting/km2 of mammals, raptors, passerines and other birds as the early seral pastures dominated by forbs, snakeweed and mesquite.  Barn swallow, Scott’s oriole and hummingbirds were significantly higher on late seral pastures.

 

Marr, F. G., and R. J. Raitt.  1983.  Annual variations in patterns of reproduction of the cactus wren (Campylorhychus brunneicapillus).  Southwestern Naturalist 28(2): 149-156.  Branson QH1 So89n

            Band-wing grasshoppers are the principle food of nestlings.  Grasshopper numbers are dependent on the amount of spring annuals, which in turn vary due to precipitation and spring temperatures.  Cactus wrens begin egg-laying in response to a sharp increase in temperature over a 3 to 4 day period.

 

Medina, A. L.  1977.  Nesting of mourning doves in the Mesilla Valley. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 M450

            Mourning doves preferred saltcedar, screwbean, and cottonwood.  “Maintenance, planting, and propagation of bosques in a successional stage to maintain a medium-density cover with abundance of tree and/or shrub crotches 6-10 ft. above ground is recommended.”

 

Meents, J. K. 1979.  Avian community structure in a Chihauhuan Desert grassland.  Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU.  Branson QH998 M371

 

Meyer, R. A.  1995.  Avian communtiy of an agricultural environment in the Rio Grande Valley of southern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 M4f99 1995.

            “Riparian vegetation adjoining agricultural lands is important to birds as evidenced by the high species richness and abundances of birds in narrow, disturbed drainage channels.”  Pecan orchards had less species richness than woodlands, but more than agricultural fields.  Use of integrated pest management may increase bird use also.

 

Mishaga, R. J. 1977.  Development and heat balance in juvenile white-necked ravens (Corvus cryptoleucus).  Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU.  Branson QH998 M380

“During development, white-necked ravens are exposed to large environmental energy fluxes.”  “The changing facility with which nestlings are able to dissipate heat by convection, as indicated by these experiments, suggests a substancial potential for covective cooling under natural conditions.”

 

Mishaga, R. J., and W. G. Whitford.  1983.  Temperature regulation and metabolism in developing white-necked ravens.  Comparative Biochemistry and Physicology 74(3A): 605-613.  Branson QP1 C738b

 

Naranjo, L., and R. J. Raitt.  1993.  Breeding bird distribution in Chihuahuan Desert habitats.  Southwestern Naturalist 38(1): 43-51. QH1 So89n

            On the bajada near the Dona Ana Mountains, there was a positive relationship between grassland birds and an increase in plant cover in open areas and between scrub birds and the increase in diversity of plant life forms.

 

Nelson, T, J.L. Holechek, R. Valdez, and M. Cardenas.  Wildlife numbers on late and mid seral Chihuahuan Desert Rangelands.  Journal of Range Management 50(6): 593-599.  Branson SF85 J67

Total wildlife sightings were higher on the mid compared to late seral rangelands.  Total wildlife sighting dropped 42% during the 1994 drought.

 

Pilz, W. R. 1983.  Nesting ecology and diet of Swainson’s hawk in the Chihuahuan Desert, south-central New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  QH999 P559 1983

 

Pilz, W. R., and L. K. Seibert.  1978.  Fratricide and cannibalism in Swainson's hawk. Auk 95(3): 584-585.  Branson QL671 Au49

            Due to their considerable difference in size, the oldest of four nestlings was able to kill and eat the youngest.

 

Pimm, S. L.  1974.  Community Process and Structure.  Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU.  Branson QH998 P566

 

Raitt, R. J. and R. L. Maze.  1968.  Densities and species compositon of breeding birds of a creosotebush community in southern New Mexico.  Condor 70: 193-205. Branson QL671 C74

 

Raitt, R. J., and S. L. Pimm.  1974.  Temporal changes in northern Chihuahuan Desert bird communities.  Pages 579-589 in Transactions of the symposium on the biological resources of the Chihuahuan Desert Region, United States and Mexico, Alpine Texas 17-18 October 1974 (R. H. Wauer and D. H. Riskind, editors).  U.S. Department of the Interior.  Branson (Gov Doc) I29.91:3

            The Bajada dominated by creosotebush was somewhat poorer in species and exhibited less seasonal turnover.  “In contrast, the breeding species of the Playa and Grassland plots were replaced in the nonbreeding season by avifaunas rich in species that breed primarily in true grasslands to the north and east. “The Jornada and areas like it are very important wintering grounds for grassland birds such as mourning doves, horned larks, lark buntings, Brewer’s sparrows, and longspurs.

 

________.  1976.  Dynamics of bird communities in the Chihuahuan Desert, New Mexico. Condor  78(4): 427-442.  Branson QL671 C74

 

Reid, W. H.  1981.  Impaled prey of the loggerhead shrike.  Southwestern Naturalist 26(2): 204-205.   Branson QH1 So89n

            At Aden Crater and north of the Franklin Mountains almost all the prey were found on Torrey yucca.  Round-tailed horned lizards were by far the most common prey.

 

Reitzel, J. A. 1982.  Effects of brush control on bird populations in a mesquite community.

Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 R357

            Application of 2,4,5-T herbicide on the Jornada had a detrimental effect on 8 species and may have benefited 6 species.

 

Saiwana, L. L.  1990.  Range condition effects on scaled quail in southcentral New Mexico.  Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU.  Branson SF1998 S16 1990

 

Saiwana, L., J.L. Holechek, A. Tembo, R. Valdez, and M. Cardenas.  1998. Scaled quail use of different seral stages in the Chihuahuan Desert.  Journal of Wildlife Management 62(2): 550-556.

            “Availability of food sources and protective cover were apparently primary determinants of habitat use by scaled quail. Data from our study indicate that areas with a mixture of late and mid-seral plant communities will provide the best available habitat for   scaled quail in the Chihuahuan Desert.”

 

Schemnitz, S. D., J. L. Dye, and M. Cardenas.  1997.  Fall and winter foods of scaled and Gambel’s quail in southwestern New Mexico.  Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin no.777.  New J87 N6 X309.45 no. 777

            “Moderate livestock grazing may be beneficial to desert quail by enhancing the variety and abundance of forb plants.”

 

Smith, G., J.L. Holechek, and M. Cardenas.  1996.  Wildlife numbers on excellent and good condition Chihuahuan Desert rangelands: an observation.  Journal of Range Management 49(6): 489-493.  Branson SF85 J67 Microfiche

“Sighting of important game species (scaled quail, mourning doves, pronghorn, desert cottontails) were higher on good compared to excellent condition range.  Grazing intensities that remove on an average of 1/3 of current growth of key forage species such as black grama are recommended.”

 

Starkey, A. H.  1971.  A nesting study of mourning dove population in southcentral New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999 .S727

            “Nest site selection was influenced by distribution and abundance of mature sumacs, cottonwooods, and saltcedars, growth attained by individual woody plants selected for nest sites within the bosque.”

 

Suzuki, M.  1995.  Foraging ecology of three species of owls, Bubo virginianus, Tyto alba, and Asio otus, in southern New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  QH999 S89 1995

            “Barn owls and Long-eared owls ate mainly kangaroo rats (Dipodomy spp.) and woodrats (Neotoma spp.), whereas Great Horned owls ate mainly adult desert cottontails (Sylvilagus audubonii).” ”Diet also varied seasonally and geographically”

 

Thompson, B. C.  1993.  A successful, elevated Gambels's quail nest in a suburban area.  Southwestern Naturalist 38(2): 174-175.  QH1 So89n

 

Whitford, W. G. 1997.  Desertification and animal biodiversity in the desert grasslands of  North America.  Journal of Arid Environments 37(4): 709-720

“Most grassland species of birds and mammals persist in the desertified habitats and species that are characteristic of shrublands colonize desertified desert grasslands.  This accounts for the increases in species richness.”  Keystone species may be a better measure of the impact of desertification.

 

Zwimmer, K. J. 1993.  Spatial and temporal variation in the breeding and foraging ecology of black-throated sparrows. Thesis (Ph.D) NMSU.  QH998 Z56.

They regulated their clutch sizes in response to prey availablity, primarily grasshoppers and caterpillars.  Grasshopper numbers tracked yearly variations in rainfall.

 

 

EDDY COUNTY

 

Bednarz, J. C.  1987.  A comparative study of the breeding ecology of Harris' and Swainson’s hawks in southeastern New Mexico.  Condor 90(2): 311-323.  Branson QL671 C74

 

________.  1987.  Pair and group reproductive success, polyandry, and cooperative breeding in Harris’ hawks. Auk 104 (7): 393-404.  Branson QL671 Au49

 

________.  1987.  Successive nesting and autumnal breeding in Harris' hawks.  Auk 104(1): 85-96.  Branson QL671 Au49

 

________.  1988.  A study of the ecological basis of cooperative breeding the Harris hawk.  Ecology 69(4): 1176-1187.  Branson QH540 Ec731

 

________.  1988.   Cooperative hunting in Harris’ hawk (Parabuteo uncinctus).  Science 239(4847 March 25): 1527-1528.  Branson Q1 Sci27, microfiche

 

________.  1990.  Hunters of Los Medanos: some Harris’ hawks share the killing and the kill.  Natural History 99(10): 56-60.  Branson QH1 N219h

 

Bednarz, J. C., and T. J. Hayden.  1991.  Skewed brood sex ratio and sex-biased hatching sequence in Harris’s hawks.  American Naturalist 137(1): 116-132.  Branson QH1 Am35

 

Best, T. L., and R. A. Smartt.  1985.  Foods of scaled quail (Callipedpla squamata) in southeastern New Mexico.  Texas Journal of Science 37(2/3): 155-162. Branson Q1 T313j

 

________.  1986.  Feeding Ecology of mourning doves (Zenaida macroura) in

southeastern New Mexico. Southwestern Naturalist 31(1): 33-38.  Branson QH1 So89n

            East of Carlsbad, prairie sunflower (Helianthus petiolaris) made up 78% of the volume of food consumed.  Croton and, Paspalum setaceum and euphorbia seeds were also important.

 

Best, T. L., T. E.  Garrison, and C. G. Schmitt.  1992.  Ingestion of lead pellets by scaled quail  (Callipepla squamata) and northern bobwhite (Colinus virginianus) in southeastern New Mexico.  Texas Journal of Science 44(1): 99-107.  [Lea County]

 

Davis, C. A., and J. P. Griffing.  1972.  Nesting of the white-necked raven in southeastern New Mexico. Reserch Report, (New Mexico State University Agricultural Experiment Station (231).  New Library J87 X309.57 no. 231

 

Davis, C. A., and R. L. Banks.  1973.  Some food habits of scaled quail in southeastern New Mexico. Reserch Report, (New Mexico State University Agricultural  Experiment Station (270).  New Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 270

 

Davis, C. A., P. E. Sawyer, J. P. Griffing, and B. D. Borden.  1974.  Bird populations in a shrub-grassland area, southeastern New Mexico. Bulletin (New Mexico State University Agricultural Experiment Station (619).  New Library J87 N6 X309.45 no. 619

            “Any removal of woody vegetation from grazing lands in southeastern New Mexico be done in swaths, so that strips of woody plants are left for use by birds.”  Of the 46 species of terrestrial birds observed, 32 are adapted to habitats with woody vegetation.

 

Davis, C. A., R. C. Barkley, and W. C. Haussamen.  1975.  Scaled quail foods in southeastern New Mexico. Journal of Wildlife Management 39(3): 496-502.  Branson SK351 J826wm 

 

Griffin, J. P., and C. A. Davis.  1974.  Mourning dove foods in an uncultivated area of New Mexico. Journal of Wildlife Management 38(2): 375-376. Branson SK351 J826wm

 

________.  1976.  Comparative foods of sympatric scaled quail and mourning doves.  Southwestern Naturalist 21(2): 248-249.     Branson QH1 So89n

            There is little overlap in the diets.  “Thus there is no reson to suspect that large infuxes of doves will reduce food supplies for quail or that large populations of resident quail will reduce the suitability, food-wise, of an area for migrating doves.”

 

Haydock J., and J. D. Ligon.  1986.  Brood reduction in the Chihuahuan raven: an experimental study.  Ecology 67(5): 1194-1205.   Branson QH540 Ec731

 

Hollenbeck, J. P.  1998.  Effects of habitat patach characteristics on migrant passerine use along the Pecos River, eastern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 . H645 1998

 

Homesley, Z. N.  1993.  Avian population in saltcedar (Tamarix chinensis) dominated habitat in the southern Pecos River Valley, Artesia, New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 H65 1993

“Species richness values were consistently higher for the dense saltcedar habitat.  Managing saltcedar dominated areasd for more native vegetation and wetland habitats may lower overall bird densities, but increase attractiveness of the area.”

 

Hunter, W. C., R. D. Ohmart, and B. W. Anderson.  1988.  Use of exotic saltcedar (Tamarix chinensis) by birds in arid riparian systems. Condor 90(1): 113-123.  Branson QL671 .C74

Unlike the Colorado or the Rio Grande, on the Middle Pecos River use of saltcedar ranked high among all bird groups in all seasons.  “Occurrence of granivores and insectivores during winter on the Pecos may be explained by seed-producing shrubs and annuals within or adjacent to these habitats.”  “Biogeographical considerations, specifically elevational (climatic) gradients, are suggested reasons for this phenomenon.”

 

Livingston, M. F. 1996.  Bird, vegetation, and arthropod associations in tamarisk (saltcedar) and grassland habitat during summer along the Pecos River, southeastern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.)  NMSU.  Branson S2999 L59 1996

Removal of tamarisk will benefit grassland birds such as Cassin’s sparrows, lark sparrows, and meadowlarks, while woodlands species such as yellow-billed cuckoos, yellow-breasted chats, and rufous-sided towhees, will lose suitable habitat unless native woodlands are re-established.

 

Livingston, M.F. and S. D. Schemnitz. 1996.  Summer bird/vegetation associations in tamarisk and native habitat along the Pecos River, southeastern New Mexico.  Pages 171-180 in Desired future conditions for southwestern riparian ecosystems, September 18-22, 1995, Albuquerque.  Ft. Collins: USDA Forest Service.  Gov Doc A13.88:RM-GTR-272

            Floodplain grassland areas on the middle Pecos River are low in bird abundance and species richness compared to tamarisk habitat. .  Pages 171-180 in Desired future conditions for southwestern riparian ecosystems, September 18-22, 1995, Albuquerque.  Ft. Collins: USDA Forest Service.  Gov Doc A13.88:RM-GTR-272

 

Mollhagen, T. R., R. W. Wiley, and R. L. Packard.  1972.  Prey  remains in golden eagle nest: Texas and New Mexico. Journal of Wildlife Management 36(3): 784-792. Branson SK351 J826wm

 

 Pache, P. H.  1974.  Notes on prey and reproductive biology of Harris' hawk in southeastern New Mexico.  Wilson Bulletin 86(1): 72-74.  Branson QL671 W7

 

Peterson, R. S. and C. S. Boyd.  1998.  Ecology and management of sand shinnery communities: a literature review.  General Technical Report RMRS-GTR-16.

“Oak control is controversial because it can open sandy soils to wind erosion and can conflict with wildlife-habitat quality. Of special concern are the lesser prairie-chicken and the sand dune lizard, which are heavily dependent on shinnery vegetation.”

 

Sawyer, P. E.  1973.  Habitat-use by scaled quail and other birds in southeastern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 S288.                                                  On the county line between Eddy and Lea counties, mesquite and netleaf hackberry accounted for 72% of nesting sites for 40 species of birds.

 

Taylor, M. A., and F. S. Guthery.  1980.  Status, ecology, management of the lesser prairie chicken.  General Technical  Report, Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station.  Fort Collins: The Station (77).  Branson (Gov Doc) A13.88 RM-77

 

Wauer, R. H., and J. D. Ligon.  1974.  Distributional relations of breeding avifauna of four southwestern mountain ranges. Pages 567-578 in Transactions of the symposoium on the biological resources of the Chihuahuan Desert region, United States and Mexico, Alpine Texas 17-18 October 1974 (R. H. Wauer and D. H. Riskind (editors).  National Park Service Transactions and Proceedings Series, no. 3. Branson (Gov Doc) I29.91:3

            “The Guadalupes, third in size and second in maximum elevation, contain the greatest number of breeding species, 81, whereas the largest and highest Maderas del Carmen masif and the smaller Davis Mountains contain about 73 and 71, repectively.”  “Spotted owls have been recorded at rocky places in the higher canyons and Plain Titmouse breeds within the pinyon-juniper woodlands.”  The source is the Sacramentos.

 

West, S.  1988.  Status of the cave swallow (Hirundo fulva) in New Mexico.  NMOS Bulletin 16(4): 26-30.  Branson QL671 N48

 

 

GRANT COUNTY

 

Baltosser, W. H.  1986.  Nesting success and productivity of hummingbirds in southwestern New Mexico and southeastern Arizona. Wilson Bulletin 98(3): 353-367. Branson QL671 W7

 

Barrowclough, G. F., and R. J. Gutierrez.  1990.  Genetic variation and differentiation in the spotted owl (Strix occidentialis).  Auk 107(4): 7370744. Branson QL671 Au49

 

Brady, W., D. R. Patton, and J. Paxson.  1985.  Development of southwestern riparian gallery forests.   Pages 39-43 in Riparian ecosystems and their management: reconciling conflicting uses.  USDA Forest Service, General Technical Report RM-120.  Gov Doc AS13.88: RM-120.

            The Gila River Bird Habitat Area southwest of Cliff was compared with the Winkelman Study Area.  Major flooding is catastrophic, but a “proper sequence of flooding” favors establishment and development of riparian gallery forests.

 

Brenowitz, G. L.  1978.  An analysis of gila woodpecker vocalizations. Wilson Bulletin 90(3): 451-452.     Branson QL671 W7

            Unlike passerines, this woodpecker appears to use the length of notes in individual recognition and only has two general use calls.

 

________.  1978.  Gila woodpecker agonistic behavior.  Auk 95(1): 49-58.     Branson QL671 Au49

            Gila woodpeckers are territorial toward species such as flickers that overlap with them in use of nest sites and are not territorial toward species that use different types of nest sites.  A larger territory is defended against conspecifics.

 

Finch, D. M. & J. F. Kelley. 1999.  Status and migration of the southwestern willow flycatcher in New Mexico.  Pages 187-203 in Rio Grande ecosystems: linking land, water and people.  Rocky Mountain Research Station, Proceedings RMRS-P-7.  Gov Doc A13.151/5:RMRS-P-7

             Mowing channel banks less frequently allowed willow stands to develop along the Gila River in the Cliff-Gila area and on the Rio Grande from San Acacia to Elephant Butte.  The rapidly growing willows create habitat for migrating willow flycatchers.

 

 

Finch, D. M. & J. F. Kelley. 1999.  Status and migration of the southwestern willow flycatcher in New Mexico.  Pages 187-203 in Rio Grande ecosystems: linking land, water and people.  Rocky Mountain Research Station, Proceedings RMRS-P-7.  Gov Doc A13.151/5:RMRS-P-7

 

 

 

 

________.       Pages 204-209 in Rio Grande ecosystems: linking land, water and people.  Rocky Mountain Research Station, Proceedings RMRS-P-7.  Gov Doc A13.151/5:RMRS-P-7

Willow stands developed along the Gila in the Cliff-Gila area and along the Rio  Grande from San Acacia to Elephant butte due to rotating areas to be mowed.  The rapidly growing willows attracted migrating willow flycatchers.

 

Gutierrez, R. J., C. E. Braun, and T. P. Zapatka.  1975.  Reproductive biology of the band-tailed pigeon in Colorado and New Mexico.  Auk 92(4): 665-677.  Branson QL671 Au49

 

Gutierrez, R.J., M. E. Seamnas, and M. Z. Perry.  1996.  Intermountain movement by Mexican spotted owls (Strix occidentalis lucida).  Great Basin Naturalist 56(1): 87-89.

QH1 G7

 

Heiner, T.  1992.  The pine and the jay.   American Forests 98(1-2): 44-46. [Pinon Jay]  Sd1 AM35f

 

Hubbard, J. P.  1974.  Status of the gray hawk in New Mexico.  Auk 91(1): 163-166. 

Branson QL671 Au49

 

_________.  1976.  The bald eagle. New Mexico Wildlife 21(4): 2-6.  New Library J87 N6 X251.92

 

Stahlecker, D. W. and R. B. Duncan.  1996.  Boreal owl at the southern terminus of the Rocky Mountains: undocumented longtime resident or recent arrival?  Condor 98(1): 153-161.  QL671 C74

            Boreal owls are resident in the Sangre de Cristo, San Juan, and Jemez Mountains of New Mexico, but apparently the current extent of spruce-fir habitat in the Mogollon and Sacramento Mountains are too limited to maintian viable populations.

 

Zimmerman, D. A.  1975.  Comments on feeding habits and vulture-mimicry in the zone-tailed hawk. Condor 94: 420-421.  Branson QL671 C74

 

_________.  1976.  On the status of Buteo nitidus in New Mexico.   Auk 93(3): 650-655. Branson QL671 Au49  [Gray Hawk]

 

 

HIDALGO COUNTY

 

Baltosser, W. H.  1986.  Nesting success and productivity of hummingbirds in southwestern New Mexico and southeastern Arizona. Wilson Bulletin 98(3): 353-367. Branson QL671 W7

 

________. 1989.  Nectar availability and habitat selection by hummingbirds in Guadalupe Canyon.  Wilson Bulletin 101(4): 559-578. Branson QL671 W7

            In the Peloncillo Mountains on the New Mexico-Arizona border, black-chinned and broad-billed hummingbirds had the longest nesting period, were flower generalists  and often attempted two broods. Violet-crowned, and Costa’s hummingbird nested later during the peak of nectar availability.  Broad-tailed and rufous were common seasonal transients.  The violet-crowned was the most dominant and specialized.

 

Cully, J. F., and J. D. Ligon.  1976.  Comparative mobbing behavior of scrub and Mexican jays. Auk  93(1): 116-125.   Branson QL671 Au49

 

Dahlquist, F. C., S.D Schemntiz, and B.K. Flachs.  1990.  Distinguishing individual male wild turkeys by discrimination of vocalizations.  Pages 149-155  in Proceedings of the sixth national wild turkey symposium, Charleston, South Carolina (William Healy and Georgette Healey, editors).  Branson QL696 G254 N37 1990

Subspecies could be recognized by comparing the initial average high portion of spectrograms of Merriam’s, Gould’s, and Rio Grande wild turkeys.

 

Davis, C. A., and V. W. Bevill.  1970.  Effects of restoration and management of the San Simon Marsh on its utiliztion by Mexican ducks.  Las Cruces, NM: New Mexico Agricultural Experiment Station. New Library J87 N6 X309.81 R43

 

Davis, C. A., and G. K. Sintz.   1973.  Nesting of mourning doves at San Simon Cienega, southwestern New Mexico.  Research Report, (New Mexico State University Agricultural  Experiment Station (265).  New Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 265.

 

Figert, D. E.   1989.  Status, reproduction, and habitat use of Gould’s turkey in the Peloncillo Mountains of New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU. Branson S2999 F54 1989

“Management recommendations including the establishment of new water sources, the use of controlled burns in riparian habiats, planting cottonwood & sycamore poles, and reduction of cattle grazing were made to assist resource managers.”

 

Hubbard, J. P.  1987.  Vegetative communities and vertebrate fauna of the Gray Ranch, Hidalgo  County, New Mexico.  Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish.  New Library J87 N6 X251.81 V44

 

Ligon, J. D. and P. B Stacey. 1996.  Land use, lag times and the detection of demographic change: the case of the acorn woodpecker. Conservation Biology 10(3): 840-846.

In Water Canyon in the Magdalena Mounatains, a census in 1994-95 of the original study site, which originally had 21 territories, showed that most territories which had contained birds a decade earlier were unoccupied.  “This drastic decline was correlated with the loss of nearly all large storage facilities because of the collapse of the granary trees [mostly narrow-leaved cottonwoods]. Most neighboring territories with lesser storage facilities were also vacant.“

 

Niles, D. M.  1970.  A record of clutch size and breeding in New Mexico for the bronzed cowbird.  Condor 72(4): 500-501.  Branson QL671 C74

 

Potter, T. D. 1984.  Status and ecology of Gould’s turkeys in the Peloncillo Mountains of New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999 .P6 1984

            Almost all roosts were in Chihuahua pine.  “Beargrass was important for escape cover.  Juniper and manzanita berries were the most important food items.

 

Potter, T. D., S.D Schemntz, W. D. Zeedyk. 1989.  Status and ecology of Gould’s turkeys in the Peloncillo Mountains of New Mexico.  Pages 1-24 in Proceedings of the Fifth National Wild Turkey Symposium, Des Moines, Iowa. Branson QL696 G254 N37 1985

             “Management recommendations included: livestock exclosures, water developments, more restrictive firewood and beargrass harvesting, and removal of domestic turkeys.”

 

Schemntiz, S.D., D. E. Figer, and R. C. Willging.  1990.  Ecology and management of Gould’s turkeys in southwestern New Mexico.  Pages 72-83 in Proceedings of the sixth National Wild Turkey Symposium, Charleston, South Carolina (William Healy and Georgette Healey, editors).  Branson QL696 G254 N37 1990

            Riparian habitats in the Peloncillo Mountains are critical.  “They contain the majority of the feeding, rooosting, and brood-rearing sites, as well as travel lanes for the turkeys.”  “The Chihuhua pine-silverleaf oak habitat comprises only 1.1% of the total area, yet it includes most of the suitable roosting sites.”

 

Schemnitz, Sanford D. and Mark L. Zornes.  1993.  Management practices to benefit Gould’s Turkeys in the Peloncillo Mountains, New Mexico.  Pages 461-464 in Biodiversity and Management of the Madrean Archipelago:  Sky Islands of the Southwestern United States and Northwestern Mexico. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service.  General Technical Report 264.  Gov Doc A13.88:  RM-GTR-264.

 

Willging, R. C.  1987.  Status, distribution, and habitat use of Gould’s turkey in the Peloncillo Mountains, New Mexico. Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999  .W45 1987

            “The 1985 post-breeding population was estimated to be 35 birds, a nearly three-fold increase since 1983.  The 1986 post-breeding population was estimated to be 45 birds.  The habitat area used by turkeys in 1986 was greatly expanded from that observed in 1983.”

 

York D. L.  1991.  Habitat use, diet, movements, and home range of Gould’s turkey in the Peloncillo Mountains, New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999 .Y67 1991

“Factors that may limit the turkey population in the Peloncillo Mountains include lack of precipitation over extended periods, predation, poaching, and hybridzation with domestic turkeys.”

 

Zornes, M. L.  1993.  Ecology and habitat evaluation of Gould’s wild turkeys in the Peloncillo Mountains, New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999 Z67 1993

            The population of 75-100 birds appears stable for the Peloncillos.  Brood and roosting habitats appear to be limiting factors.  Riparian areas are very important. 

 

 

LEA COUNTY

 

Best, T. L., and R. A. Smartt.  1985.  Foods of scaled quail (Callipedpla squamata) in southeastern New Mexico.  Texas Journal of Science 37(2/3): 155-162. Branson Q1 T313j

 

Brock, L.  1993.  Prairie Chickens: springtime spectacle.  New Mexico Wildlife 38(2): 28-29.  New J87 N6 X251.92

 

Campbell, H., D. K. Martin, P. E. Ferkovich, and B. K. Harris.  1973.  Effects of hunting and some other environmental factors on scaled quail in New Mexico.  Wildlife Mongraphs 34: 1-49.  Branson SK351 W646m

 

Davis, C. A., and R. Banks.   1970.  Effects of mesquite spraying on scaled quail populations and habitat.  Las Cruces, NM: New Mexico Agricultural Experiment Station.  New Library J87 N6 X309.81 M58.

 

Davis, C. A., P. E. Sawyer, J. P. Griffing, and B. D. Borden.  1974.  Bird populations in a shrub-grassland area, southeastern New Mexico. Bulletin (New Mexico State University Agricultural Experiment Station (619).  New Library J87 N6 X309.45 no. 619

            “Any removal of woody vegetation from grazing lands in southeastern New Mexico be done in swaths, so that strips of woody plants are left for use by birds.”  Of the 46 species of terrestrial birds observed, 32 are adapted to habitats with woody vegetation.

 

Davis, C. A., R. C. Barkley, and W. C. Haussamen.  1975.  Scaled quail foods in southeastern New Mexico. Journal of Wildlife Management 39(3): 496-502.  Branson SK351 J826wm

 

Griffing, J. P.  1974.  Scissor-tailed flycatchers and Swainsons' hawks nesting in the same tree. Southwestern Naturalist 19(1): 111-112.  Branson QH1 So89n

 

Griffin, J. P., and C. A. Davis.  1974.  Mourning dove foods in an uncultivated area of New Mexico. Journal of Wildlife Management 38(2): 375-376. Branson SK351 J826wm

 

Griffing, J. P., P. E. Sawyer, and C. A. Davis.  1976.  Mourning dove body weights in southeastern New Mexico during and after a dry spring and early summer. Southwestern Naturalist 21(4): 545-547.  Branson QH1 So89n

 

Olawsky, C. D., and L. M. Smith.  1991.  Lesser prairie-chicken densities on tebuthiuron-treated and untreated sand shinnery oak rangelands.   Journal of Range Management 44(4): 364-368.  Branson microfiche SF85 J67

 

Sawyer, P. E.  1973.  Habitat-use by scaled quail and other birds in southeastern New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 S288.                                                  On the county line between Eddy and Lea counties, mesquite and netleaf hackberry accounted for 72% of nesting sites for 40 species of birds.

 

 

LINCOLN COUNTY

 

Barrowclough, G. F., and R. J. Gutierrez.  1990.  Genetic variation and differentiation in the spotted owl (Strix occidentialis).  Auk 107(4): 7370744.  [Grant County] Branson QL671 Au49

 

Gutierrez, R. J., C. E. Braun, and T. P. Zapatka.  1975.  Reproductive biology of the band-tailed pigeon in Colorado and New Mexico.  Auk 92(4): 665-677.  Branson QL671 Au49

 

Johnson, E. D.  1992.  Flammulated owl habitat characteristics in the Lincoln National Forest.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 J58 1992

“Management implications include the retention and recruitment of large conifer and and oak trees within flammulated owl habitat.”

 

Stahlecker, D. W. and R. B. Duncan.  1996.  Boreal owl at the southern terminus of the Rocky Mountains: undocumented longtime resident or recent arrival?  Condor 98(1): 153-161.  QL671 C74

            Boreal owls are resident in the Sangre de Cristo, San Juan, and Jemez Mountains of New Mexico, but apparently the current extent of spruce-fir habitat in the Mogollon and Sacramento Mountains are too limited to maintian viable populations.

 

Thompson, T., and R. Hier.  1981.  A preliminary checklist of birds and mammals, Fort Stanton Experimental Ranch. Research Report, (New Mexico State University Agricultural Experiment Station (445).  New Library J87 N6 X309.57 no. 445

 

Zwank, P. J.  , E. W.  Kroel, D. M Levin, G. M. Southward, R. C. Romme. 1994.  Mexican Spotted owl characteristics.  Journal of Field Ornithology 65(3): 324-334.

In both AZ and NM, owls roosted in dense, uneven aged mixed-conifer or ponderosa pine forests with high canopy closure.  “Nests were in taller trees with greater canopy closure and on steeper slopes than were the trees used for roosting.”

 

 

LUNA COUNTY

 

Eakle, W. L, E. L. Smith, S. W. Hoffman, D. W. Stahlecker, and R. B. Ducan. 1996,  Results of a raptor survey in southwestern New Mexico.  Raptor Research 30(4): 183-188.  Branson QL696 F3 J682

            A survey along a proposed electric transmission line from Red Hill near Quemado to Deming showed that Chihuahuan desertscrub with power lines to be an important habitat type for golden eagles, Swainson’s hawks, red-tailed hawks, and northern harriers.

 

Salter, R.  1991.  Aggregations of barn owls in abandoned desert mines.  American  Birds 45(1): 56-57.  Branson QL671 Au295

 

 

OTERO COUNTY

 

Brubaker, D. L.  1998.  Raptor and Chihuahuan raven nesting  on decommissioned telephone ples in the Northern Chihuahuan Desert, White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  S2999 .B7874 1998

            “Chihuahuan ravens nested on poles relative to their occurrence; Swainson’s hawks nested most often on a configuration with 2 vertical poles supporting 4 paired sets of cross-arms.”

 

Caccamise, D. F.  1971.  Competitive relationships of the common and lesser nighthawks.  Thesis (Ph.D.) NMSU. Branson QH998 C333

 

Cole, R. A., D. L. Weigmann, and M. C. Hayes.  1989.  Limnology of a shallow, brackish, hypereutrophic reservoir in southern New Mexico.  Bulletin, (New Mexico State University) Agricultural Experiment Station (709).  New Library J87 N6 X309.45 no. 709

            Lake Holloman had high productivity due to nutrients (particularly phosphorus and nitrogen) from a secondary sewage treatment plant at the air force base.  The brackish water supports one fish, Gambusia affinis.  Migrating waterfowl rest and feed on algae and zooplankton.

 

Dahl, A. L.  1991.  Diurnal foraging behaivor of selected migrating birds on a hypereutrophic lake.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 D23 1991

At Lake Holloman, it was unlikely that the zooplankton production met the energy requirements of the migrating shovelers, ruddy ducks, and coots.  The ducks primarily used the pond for resting.

 

Delaney DK, T. G. Grubb, P. Beier, L. L Pater, and M. H. Reiser.  1999. Effects of helicopter noise on Mexican spotted owls. Journal of Wildlife Management 63(1): 60-76.  SK351 J826wm

            “Chain saws were more disturbing to spotted owls than helicopter flights at comparable distances. Our data indicate a 105-m buffer zone for helicopter overflights on the LNF would minimize spotted owl flush response and any potential effects on nesting activity.”

 

Goerndt, D. L., S. D. Schemnitz, and W. D. Zeedyk.  1985.  Managing common watercress and spring/seeps for Merriam’s turkey in New Mexico.  Wildlife Society Bulletin 13(3): 297-301.  Branson SK351 W66

 

Gutierrez, R. J., C. E. Braun, and T. P. Zapatka.  1975.  Reproductive biology of the band-tailed pigeon in Colorado and New Mexico.  Auk 92(4): 665-677.  Branson QL671 Au49

 

Jones, K. H. 1981.  Effects of grazing and timber management on Merriam’s turkey habitat in mixed conifer vegetation of southcentral New Mexico.  Thesis (M.S.) NMSU.  Branson S2999 J654

            In the Lincoln National Forest, grazing and selective cutting did not appear to adversely affect nesting success.  Brood-rearing habitat consisted of small openings, meadow borders, and aspen glens.

 

Jones, S. L. and M. T. Green.  1998.  Baird’s sparrow status assessment and conservation plan.  Administrative Report. U. S. Dept. of Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, Denver.  Gov Doc I49.2: B16

            The state summary says it is found mos