New Mexico Consortium of Academic Libraries


                                    President's Annual Report, 2001-2002

2001-2002 was a very productive year for NMCAL. The annual Summer Retreat was held at UNM-Albuquerque on August 2-3, 2001. On August 2, the Executive Committee met with chairs/representatives of all the standing committees to begin discussing restructuring committees (where necessary) and defining formal charges for each of the current standing committees. This work was completed at the Breakfast Meeting held on April 19, 2002 during the NMLA conference in Las Cruces, with the unanimous passing of all proposed changes. On August 3, 2001 the NMCAL membership met for a very full business meeting in the morning, and then after a tasty Italian buffet, participated in an Information Literacy Workshop presented by Dr. Susan Deese-Roberts (UNM), Susan Beck (NMSU), and Dr. Althea Jenkins (ACRL). The workshop was also open to interested faculty members from the respective member institutions. It was very informative, and everyone in attendance seemed to get a lot out of it.

In November, NMCAL co-sponsored a Marketing Workshop with the State Library. The workshop was presented at the State Library in Santa Fe, on November 19, 2001, by Amelia Kassel, a California-based information broker and former librarian.

Throughout the year, NMCAL members Julie Miller (WNMU) and Pat Rorick (NMSU-Alamogordo) have been working very hard on behalf of academic libraries in New Mexico toward the Bonds for Books campaign. The legislation was passed and it will now go before New Mexico voters in November 2002. NMCAL will be helping to support the non-advocacy efforts of the campaign in order to present the facts to New Mexico voters.

Beginning in spring 2003, NMCAL will begin providing travel scholarships for individuals presenting programs of interest to academic librarians at NMLA annual conferences. This proposal was approved at the Breakfast Meeting on April 19, 2002.

The Breakfast Meeting held in April during NMLA, saw the "changing of the guard" as the gavel was passed by outgoing President, Dennis Davies-Wilson, to incoming President, Julie Miller. Kathleen Knoth passed the books and files to newly elected Secretary/Treasurer, Louise Bolton. Dr. Sharon Jenkins was elected as the new Vice-President/President-Elect, and Kay Krehbiel assumed the role of Four-year Institution Representative, replacing Melveta Walker.

Respectfully submitted by Dennis Davies-Wilson


 About Us
 Member Libraries
 Links of Interest