---New Mexico State University Library (last revised 6/16/94)--- Southwestern Women's Lives and Literature: Fiction Books in the NMSU Library Compiled by Donnelyn Curtis dcurtis@lib.nmsu.edu March, 1994 For the purpose of this bibliography, the Southwest is defined as New Mexico, Arizona, western Texas, and the area of Mexico that borders those states. This list includes fiction by women who live in the Southwest or whose creative work is set in the Southwest. The annotations come from several sources, indicated by initials: LAP Laurie Porter SNM STORIED NEW MEXICO: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF NOVELS WITH NEW MEXICO SETTINGS. Tom Lewis SIROW NEWSLETTER OF THE SOUTHWEST INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH ON WOMEN (University of Arizona) AM Ann Macbeth (compiled from reviews) (SpC) before the call number means the book is in Special Collections. * before the call number indicates that there is also a copy in Special Collections. >NewLib *PS615 A27 1986 Abreu, Jane. THUNDER IN THE DROUGHT. Las Cruces: Nightjar, 1986. >NewLib PS3551 L287 M77 1992 Alcala, Kathleen. MRS. VARGAS AND THE DEAD NATURALIST. Corvallis: CALYX, 1992. A collection of fourteen stories set in Mexico and the Southwest depicts a culture in which miracles continue to flower in neglected inner courtyards. Written in the Latin American tradition of "Magic Realism," these stories deal with the inner lives of characters who access the magic inherent in the landscape and in themselves. AM. >NewLib PS3551 N93 B6 1987 Anzaldua, Gloria. BORDERLANDS -- LA FRONTERA: THE NEW MESTIZA. San Francisco: Spinsters/Aunt Lute, 1987. >Branson (SpC) PS3501 R5687 B58 1941 Armstrong, Margaret Neilson. THE BLUE SANTO MURDER MYSTERY. New York: Random, 1941. Hubert Pierce, New York socialite turned detective, unmasks the murderer of a wealthy woman who was vacationing at the Blue Santo Hotel in Tecos (Taos). SNM. >NewLib *PS3501 U8 A7 1915 Austin, Mary Hunter. THE ARROW-MAKER: A DRAMA IN THREE ACTS. Rev. ed. Boston: Houghton, 1915. >NewLib *PS3501 U8 C3 1988 Austin, Mary. CACTUS THORN: A NOVELLA. Reno: U of Nevada P, 1988. A previously unpublished novella written by Mary Austin who lived from 1868 to 1934. AM. >NewLib *PS3501 U8 A6 1987 Austin, Mary. STORIES FROM THE COUNTRY OF LOST BORDERS. Ed. Melody Graulich. New Brunswick: Rutgers UP, 1987. >Branson (SpC) PS3501 U8 A6 1976b Austin, Mary. WESTERN TRAILS: A COLLECTION OF SHORT STORIES. Reno: U of Nevada P, 1987. >Branson (SpC) PS3552 A4315 M4 1978 Baker, Lucinda. MEMOIRS OF THE FIRST BARONESS. New York: Putnam, 1978. The life story of a woman and her claim to a large Arizona land grant ending at a trial in Santa Fe that invalidates her title. A variation on the Peralta Land Grant Affair from the 1880's- 1890's. SNM. >NewLib *PS3552 E155 T5 Bean, Amelia. TIME FOR OUTRAGE. Garden City: Doubleday, 1967. A novel woven around the events of John Henry Tunstall's death and the Lincoln County War. SNM. >NewLib *PS3552 E5395 S5 1982 Benedict, Dianne. SHINY OBJECTS. Iowa City: U of Iowa P, 1982. >NewLib PS3552 E716 C6 Berge, Carol. A COUPLE CALLED MOEBIUS: ELEVEN SENSUAL STORIES. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1972. >Branson (SpC) PS3552 E84 H4 1981 Betts, Doris. HEADING WEST: A NOVEL. New York: Knopf, 1981. A kidnapped North Carolina woman is driven across country to Arizona (with some 60 pages of New Mexico adventure), where she escapes and returns home to reassemble her life. SNM. >Branson (SpC) PS3552 O597 D8 Bonds, Parris Afton. DUST DEVIL. New York: Fawcett, 1981. Life and times of a feisty woman who rises to a position of prominence and builds an empire in territorial New Mexico from 1860-1946. SNM. >NewLib PS508 H57 N67 1986 Boza, Maria del Carmen, Beverly Silva and Carmen Valle, eds. NOSOTRAS: LATINA LITERATURE TODAY. Binghamton: Bilingual Review, 1986. A collection of poems and short stories by Chicana and Latina writers providing a unique view of the two distinct yet intertwined social and cultural worlds to which these women belong. By examining the topics of love, family, suicide, and academic achievement, the authors explore their identities as ethnic women and their relationships to Anglo peers. Reflections of personal triumphs and painful defeats are reported from a sensual and often humorous view. AM. >Branson (SpC) PS3503 U662 G6 1936 Burr, Anna Robeson. THE GOLDEN QUICKSAND: A NOVEL OF SANTA FE. New York: Appleton-Century, 1936. A man's search for his long-lost elder brother at the time of American occupation in 1845-46. SNM. >Branson (SpC) PS3505 A765 M6 1940 Carr, Lorraine. MOTHER OF THE SMITHS. New York: Macmillan, 1940. Migrant Texans settle near Taos and the matriarch, Sabe Smith, spends her life successfully raising a family, helping her neighbors, and becoming an asset to the community. SNM. >NewLib *PS3553 A8135 S65 1993 Castillo, Ana. SO FAR FROM GOD: A NOVEL. New York: Norton, 1993. >NewLib *PS3505 A87 D4 1957 Cather, Willa. DEATH COMES FOR THE ARCHBISHOP. New York: Knopf, 1957. The fictionalized story of Archbishop Lamy. The preeminent New Mexico novel, despite challenges to the author's portrayal of Father Martinez. SNM. >NewLib *PS3505 A87 P7 1973 Cather, Willa. THE PROFESSOR'S HOUSE. New York: Vintage, 1973. Set mostly in the midwest, this is the story of how a young New Mexican impacts the lives of a scholarly college professor and his family. In one segment Tom Outland, the New Mexican, tells of his investigation of ancient ruins there. SNM. >NewLib *PS3505 A87 S6 1915 Cather, Willa. SONG OF THE LARK. Boston: Houghton, 1915. >NewLib *PS3553 H346 L3 1986 Chavez, Denise. THE LAST OF THE MENU GIRLS. Houston: Arte Publico, 1986. A collection of stories about the coming of age of an adolescent girl who tries out available models of womanhood--nurse's aid, stock girl--jobs often overlooked in literature. SIROW. >NewLib PS3553 I565 H68 1985 Cisneros, Sandra. THE HOUSE ON MANGO STREET. Houston: Arte Publico, 1985. >NewLib PS3553 I78 W66 1991 Cisneros, Sandra. WOMAN HOLLERING CREEK AND OTHER STORIES. New York: Random, 1991. >Branson (SpC) PS3505 L228 Z5 1969 Clark, Ann Nolan. JOURNEY TO THE PEOPLE. New York: Viking, 1969. >NewLib PS558 T4 C65 1990 Comer, Suzanne, ed. COMMON BONDS: STORIES BY AND ABOUT MODERN TEXAS WOMEN. Dallas: Southern Methodist UP, 1990. >Branson (SpC) PS3553 O584 N6 1960 Cooper, Elizabeth Ann. NO LITTLE THING. Garden City: Doubleday, 1960. The story of a man's struggle to return to the priesthood after falling from grace. Set partially in a northern New Mexico art colony. SNM. >NewLib PZ3 K7459 Curtiss, Ursula. VOICE OUT OF DARKNESS. New York: Dodd/Mead, 1964. >Branson (SpC) PR6015 A674 L3 1980 De Hartog, Jan. THE LAMB'S WAR. New York: Harper, 1980. The life story of Quaker Laura Martens from the brutality of a Nazi concentration camp in 1942, to New Mexico, where she rediscovers herself, to her death in Africa in 1969. SNM. >NewLib PS309 R28 Y4 1979 Erdman, Loula Grace. THE YEARS OF THE LOCUST. Boston: Gregg, 1979, 1947. >Branson (SpC) PS3555 V215 T8 1986 Evans, Ernestine D. TURQUOISE AND CORAL. Santa Fe: Evans, 1986. >NewLib PS3556 E72425 I58 1990 Fernandez, Roberta. INTAGLIO: A NOVEL IN SIX STORIES. Houston: Arte Publico, 1990. Six stories of extraordinary women of the southwest. These women lived in Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas. LAP. >NewLib *PS3511 O8 S4 Foust, Juana. SEARCHING FOR FIFTH MESA. Santa Fe: Sunstone, 1979. Leaf Marie McIntosh rambles about New Mexico recalling her past on a Quay County homestead and searching for mythical fifth mesa where truth will be revealed. SNM. >Branson (SpC) PS3515 I59 F7 1940 Gillmor, Frances. FRUIT OUT OF ROCK. New York: Duell, 1940. >NewLib *PS3513 159 W5 1976 Gillmor, Frances. WINDSINGER. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1976, (1930). >Branson (SpC) PS3513 R2917 D6 1941 Grant, Blanche. DONA LONA: A STORY OF OLD TAOS AND SANTA FE. New York: Funk, 1941. Based on the life of Maria Gertrudis Barcelo at the time of the American occupation of New Mexico from 1826-51. SNM. >NewLib PS3557 R4894 F8 Griffith, Patricia Browning. THE FUTURE IS NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1970. >NewLib PS3515 A4898 G6 Hannum, Alberta. THE GODS AND ONE. New York: Duell, 1941. >Branson (SpC) PS3558 E15 C7 1977 Head, Lee. THE CRYSTAL CLEAR CASE. New York: Putnam, 1977. An elderly woman in search of swindlers finds murder instead, and as she gets closer to the truth, her own life is imperiled by a strange assortment of eccentrics, none of whom are what they seem. SNM. >NewLib PS508 M4 C52 1988 Herrera-Sobek, Maria, and Helena Maria Viramontes, eds. CHICANA CREATIVITY AND CRITICISM: CHARTING NEW FRONTIERS IN AMERICAN LITERATURE. Houston: Arte Publico, 1988. This anthology of poetry, short fiction and critical essays assesses two decades of Chicana writing. Through the works of authors such as Denise Chavez, Helen Maria Viramontes, Lucha Corpi, and Roberta Fernandez, historic images merge with a modern view of Chicana life. Tey Diana Rebolledo, Yvonne Yabro-Bejarano, and Maria Herrera-Sobek illuminate these creative offerings through an analysis of the personal and political dilemmas revealed by Chicana authors. AM. >NewLib *PS3515 E757 S4 1946 Hersch, Virginia. THE SEVEN CITIES OF GOLD. New York: Duell, 1946. Coronado's search for fame and fortune in New Mexico, 1540-42, with a woman along to spice things up. SNM. >Branson (SpC) PS3558 I4437 E4 1986 Hill, Rita. EIGHTY-PROOF, BOOTLEGGING AND MURDER, LOVE AND LOYALTY IN OLD NEW MEXICO. Lordsburg: Pyramid, 1986. Life and times in and around Shakespeare, New Mexico during the 1920's. SNM. >NewLib *PS3515 O5135 T4 1950 Hood, Margaret Page. TEQUILA. New York: Coward-McCann, 1950. This story takes place in Santa Fe between the 1940-50's. It is about Eduardo's desire for a woman named Ynocencia. LAP. >Branson (SpC) PS3515 U268 B5 1946 Hughes, Dorothy. THE BIG BARBECUE. New York: Random House, 1949. The delightful story of eighteen-year old Ariadne who leads her family away from New York City to a truly new life in a valley below Los Alamos. SNM. >Branson (SpC) PS3513 U268 B4 1944 Hughes, Dorothy. THE BLACKBIRDER. Cleveland: World, 1944. A French World War II refugee, believing herself to be in danger, contacts a supposed friend living in Tesuque to arrange for a flight to Mexico. SNM. >NewLib F786 H95 Humphrey, Zephine. CACTUS FOREST. New York: Dutton, 1938. The story of a couple who leave Vermont to live in Arizona due to the husband's poor health. LAP. >Branson (SpC) PS3561 E3928 D3 1985 Kelly, Carla. DAUGHTER OF FORTUNE. New York: Fine, 1985. The story of Maria Espinosa, who travels from Mexico to Santa Fe after her parents' deaths in 1679. SNM. >Branson (SpC) PS3561 E628 B3 1981 Kerouac, Jan. BABY DRIVER. New York: St. Martin's, 1981. An autobiographical novel by Jack Kerouac's daughter, of sex, drugs, and wandering between 1968 and 1974 from Santa Fe and Albuquerque. SNM. >NewLib PS3561 I496 A86 1990 Kingsolver, Barbara. ANIMAL DREAMS: A NOVEL. New York: Harper-Collins, 1990. Codi Noline, her self-confidence flagging after failures in medical school and in a relationship, returns home to Grace, Arizona, where she renews a romance, comes to understand her father and worries about her sister, Hallie, who is helping farmers in Nicaragua. AM. >NewLib PS3561 I496 B44 1988 Kingsolver, Barbara. THE BEAN TREES: A NOVEL. New York: Harper, 1988. This debut novel follows the gritty, outspoken Taylor Greer, who leaves her native Kentucky to head west. She becomes mother to an abandoned baby and, when her jalopy dies in Tucson, works in a tire garage, and rooms with a young, battered divorcee who also has a little girl. With sisterly counsel and personal honesty, the two face their painful lot. Despite the hurt and rage, themes of love and nurturing emerge. AM. >NewLib PS3561 I496 H66 1989 Kingsolver, Barbara. HOMELAND AND OTHER STORIES. New York: Harper, 1989. In the wake of her well-received first novel, The Bean Trees, Kingsolver offers a dozen memorable, life-affirming short stories. With the same combination of idealism and craftsmanship that marked her debut, the author delivers upbeat portraits of a broad spectrum of characters who are down but never out. AM. >NewLib PS3561 I496 P54 1993 Kingsolver, Barbara. PIGS IN HEAVEN: A NOVEL. New York: Harper, 1993. Taylor Greer and her adopted Cherokee daughter Turtle, first met in The Bean Trees, will captivate readers anew in this assured and eloquent sequel, which mixes wit, wisdom and the expert skills of a born raconteur into a powerfully affecting narrative. AM. >NewLib *PS3561 N6864 H6 1984 Knox, Etta Rose. HOMESTEADING ON GRASSHOPPER FLATS. Alameda: Drollery, 1984. A novel of the hardships endured by a young wife and mother during six years on a desolate homestead in northwest Catron County during the 1930's. SNM. >NewLib *PS3523 A826 W5 1962 Laughlin, Ruth. THE WIND LEAVES NO SHADOW. Caldwell: Caxton, 1962. Based on the life of Maria Gertrudis Barcelo (1821-52), "Doņa Tules," a red-haired gambler, mistress of the governor, and friend of the American cause. SNM. >NewLib *PS3562 O675 C3 1992 Lopez-Medina, Sylvia. CANTORA: A NOVEL. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1992. The author is a mestiza (mother was Mexican, father was Spanish) who grew up in California. Her grandmother and aunt made an exodus to western Mexico in the 1800's and this is their account of the journey. LAP. >Branson (SpC) PS3562 O863 D4 1987 Lovenheim, Lisa. DESERT FABULOSO. New York: NAL Penguin, 1987. This is about gay life in Santa Fe. LAP. >NewLib *PS3562 O892 G36 1988 Lowell, Susan. GANADO RED: A NOVELLA AND STORIES. Minneapolis: Milkweed, 1988. A collection of stories that conveys subdued tensions and danger stemming from the characters' tenuous ability to make sense of the world, and from their search for connectedness. AM. >NewLib PS3525 C335 M36 McCain, Irene. MANANA MAN. Culver City: Murray & Gee, 1949. A man grows up with a new town (probably Artesia) in the Pecos River Valley of New Mexico from 1906-45. SNM. >Branson (SpC) PS3525 A139 V3 McCarter, Margaret. VANGUARDS OF THE PLAINS: A ROMANCE OF THE OLD SANTA FE. New York: Harper, 1917. A man describes his early years on the Santa Fe Trail. AM. >NewLib *PS3564 E428 E97 1990 Nelson, Antonya. THE EXPENDABLES: STORIES. Athens: U of Georgia P, 1990. A collection of twelve short stories by a Las Cruces writer, with characters who negotiate adversity, loneliness, sadness, and ironies of human relationships. Settings range from Atlanta to Chicago to Colorado. LAP. >NewLib *PS3564 E428 I5 1992 Nelson, Antonya. IN THE LAND OF MEN: STORIES. New York: Morrow, 1992. Relationships with family members, spouses, lovers, other women and pets are examined. The plots are simple but insightful. LAP. >NewLib *PS3564 O26 F5 1985 Noble, Marguerite. FILAREE: A NOVEL OF AN AMERICAN LIFE. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1985. The author was born in the Arizona Territory in 1910 and currently lives in Payson, Arizona. Her story is about her mother's pioneer life and overturns stereotypical notions of western womanhood. LAP. >NewLib *PS3565 T46 F5 1990 Otis, Alicia. THE FIRST KOSHARE. Santa Fe: Sunstone, 1990. A story tracing the birth and beginning of the likeable clown- figure, Koshare. LAP. >Branson (SpC) PS3566 A8264 I5 1976 Paul, Paula G. INN OF THE CLOWNS. New York: Bouregy, 1976. A young woman finds murder and mystery when she comes to New Mexico to care for an ailing aunt. SNM. >NewLib *PS3531 I615 A76 1983 Pillsbury, Dorothy. ADOBE DOORWAYS. Santa Fe: Lightning Tree, 1983. A collection of stories, first published in 1952, about New Mexico's culture and people. LAP. >NewLib *PS3566 O584 L6 Pomonis, Carolyn. LORD HOW DIFFERENT. San Francicso: Sundial, 1980. In 1949, Carolyn came to live in Sante Fe from Colorado. She taught, raised a family, and worked in restaurants and real estate while writing. This is her fictional story of a most unusual and devoted man. LAP. >NewLib *PS3568 A476 P6 1982 Ranck, Katherine Quintana. A PORTRAIT OF DONA ELENA. Berkeley: Tonatiuh-Quinto Sol, 1982. An aspiring artist returns to Nambe, her dead mother's home, to seek her roots and find herself. SNM. >NewLib PS508 M4 I54 1993 Rebolledo, Tey Diana. INFINITE DIVISIONS. Tucson: U of Arizona P, 1993. The first major anthology devoted to the work of Chicana authors. This collection of poetry, fiction, drama and essays documents the explosive creativity of Chicana authors over the past two decades. SIROW. >NewLib *PS3535 E474 D3 1962 Reilly, Helen Kieran. THE DAY SHE DIED. New York: Random, 1962. Inspector McKee, on vacation from Manhattan Homicide and seeking shelter in a violent storm, is marooned on an isolated Sandia Mountains ranch with a curious assortment of stranded fellow travelers and a pair of murderers. SNM. >NewLib *PS3568 O312 M9 Robinson, Maudie. THE MYSTERY OF THE SQUASH BLOSSOM NECKLACE. Clovis: Robinson, 1980. A pueblo north of Santa Fe is the setting for three children with their pet roadrunner who solve a jewelry theft and bank robbery. SNM. >NewLib PS3537 C16 W5 1979 Scarborough, Dorothy. THE WIND. Austin: U of Texas P, 1979. Written in 1925, this novel is about a woman's adjustment to life in west Texas. AM > Branson (SpC) PS3537 E3525 T8 1950 Seifert, Shirley. THE TURQUOISE TRAIL. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1950. Based on Susan Magoffin's journey from Independence, MO, to Santa Fe and south to Mexico in 1846-47. SNM. >NewLib *PS3537 E787 T8 Seton, Anya. THE TURQUOISE. Boston: Houghton, 1946. Santa Fe is the setting for this story in the 1850's about a little girl named Santa Fe whose mother dies after giving birth to her and her father's rejection at first. Slowly he sets his grief for his wife aside and begins to nurture his baby daughter. LAP. >NewLib *PS3569 I44 A79 1991 Silko, Leslie Marmon. ALMANAC OF THE DEAD: A NOVEL. New York: Simon, 1991. An epic narrative, heavy with intrigue and carnage, about an apocalyptic Native American insurrection. AM. >NewLib *PS3569 I44 C4 Silko, Leslie Marmon. CEREMONY. New York: Viking, 1977. The story of a Laguna Indian survivor of World War II prison camp, his family, their "search for a ceremony to deal with despair," and his struggle to cope with life on the reservation. SNM. >NewLib *PS3569 I44 S8 Silko, Leslie Marmon. STORYTELLER. New York: Seaver, 1981. >NewLib *PS3569 W247 O5 Swan, Gladys. ON THE EDGE OF THE DESERT: STORIES. Urbana: U of Illinois P, 1979. Related stories that conclude in Las Cruces during the 1970's. LAP. >NewLib PS3570 A398 H65 1993 Tallent, Elizabeth. HONEY. New York: Knopf, 1993. These nine stories center on the intimate gestures that reveal couples' and parents' and children's dependencies and rebellions. But, here no one is abandoned or bereft. Most of the stories are set in Santa Fe. AM. >NewLib *PS3570 A398 M8 1985 Tallent, Elizabeth. MUSEUM PIECES: A NOVEL. New York: Knopf, 1985. A man, a woman, and their teenaged daughter react to the steady dissolution of their family in Santa Fe. LAP. >NewLib *PS3570 A398 T5 1987 Tallent, Elizabeth. TIME WITH CHILDREN. New York: Knopf, 1987. A collection of compassionate, expertly crafted interrelated stories. AM. >NewLib *PS501 S85 v.23 Tapahonso, Luci. Saanii Dahataal, THE WOMEN ARE SINGING. Tucson: U of Arizona P, 1993. Tapahonso is a Navajo poet resident in Lawrence, Kansas. In this nostalgic collection of poems and stories she recreates the Shiprock, New Mexico, milieu of her youth. She evokes family ties and the sensuous environment of a rich culture, one in which uncles and great-grandmothers and family dogs have their honored place. AM. >NewLib PS3570 R3342 R29 1993 Trambley, Estela Portillo. RAIN OF SCORPIONS: AND OTHER WRITINGS. Tempe: Bilingual, 1993. A series of short stories about the Hispanic community and culture. AM. >NewLib PS3570 R3342 S6 1983 Trambley, Estela Portillo. SOR JUANA AND OTHER PLAYS. Ypsilanti: Bilingual, 1983. A book of plays that explores different facets of Chicana life. LAP. >NewLib PS3570 R3342 T7 1986 Trambley, Estela Portillo. TRINI. Binghamton: Bilingual, 1986. A Chicana novel about a woman who gives up her indigenous life, crossing over the border to give birth to her child and work in the U.S. Emerging as a self-reliant woman, she is still able to perceive the magical qualities in life. SIROW. >NewLib *PS3541 N45 H3 1940 Underhill, Ruth. HAWK OVER WHIRLPOOLS. New York: Augustin, 1940. >NewLib PS3572 A42224 W6 1993 Van Gieson, Judith. THE WOLF PATH. New York: HarperPaperbacks, 1993. A fictional account of Neil Hamel, a female lawyer, who becomes pivotal in the case involving the death of a federal official and radical environmentalists. LAP. >NewLib PS508 H57 W65 1987 Vigil, Evangelina. WOMAN OF HER WORD: HISPANIC WOMEN WRITE. 2nd ed. Houston: Arte Publico, 1987 (1983). Captures the latest expression in prose and poetry by leading Hispanic women writers along with critical studies by Tey Diana Rebolledo and others. SIROW. >NewLib PS3573 A472284 S8 1985 Walters, Anna Lee. THE SUN IS NOT MERCIFUL: SHORT STORIES. Ithaca: Firebrand, 1985. A collection of stories about the Navajo written by a woman from Oklahoma who is a Pawnee/Otoe Indian. LAP.