---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO LIBRARY RESARCH IN SOCIAL WORK Compiled by Donnelyn Curtis Fall, 1992 Conducting research in the field of social work requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) HV12 B37 1991 Barker, Robert L. THE SOCIAL WORK DICTIONARY. 2nd ed. Silver Spring: National Assn. of Social Workers, 1991. Defines the language of social work, identifying and describing organizations, trends, philosophies and legislation relevant to social work. Gives concise definitions of over 3,000 terms as they are used by social work practitioners, and offers a chronology of important events in the history of social work and the NASW code of ethics. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 E553 1987 Corsini, Raymond J., ed. CONCISE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PSYCHOLOGY. New York: Wiley, 1987. Over 2,100 entries; about 1,500 on subjects and 650 on people. Cross-references and "further readings" given for many entries, referring the user to a bibliography of approximately 2,500 references in an appendix. > NewLib (Ref) HQ9 D38 1989 DiCanio, Margaret. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MARRIAGE, DIVORCE AND THE FAMILY. New York: Facts on File, 1989. This book offers a discussion of the concepts that relate to family issues rather than a definition of the terms. The first six appendices provide consumer-oriented information on therapy, divorce procedures, etc. Other directories of state agencies and family- related organizations. Includes a bibliography. > NewLib (Ref) HV35 So13 18th 1987 > NewLib (Ref) HV35 So13 18th 1990 Suppl. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIAL WORK. 18th ed. Silver Spring: National Assn. of Social Workers, 1987. 3 vols. Supplement, 1990. This is the only encyclopedia devoted entirely to social work. Contains 225 articles, some lengthy, all with lists of references. Gives a good overview of issues and activities in social work and social welfare, serving as an excellent starting point for background information or a literature search. Has a separate biographical section, and an index. Volume 3 is FACE OF THE NATION, a statistical supplement. The 1990 supplement includes 21 articles on subjects of recent interest. > NewLib (Ref) HV6545 E87 1988 Evans, Glen, and Norman L. Farberow. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SUICIDE. New York: Facts on File, 1988. Provides an overall view of suicide in its cultural contexts. In addition to short and longer entries for terms, concepts, individuals and organizations which have some connection with suicide, offers a 20-page history of suicide and appendices of statistics, associations and sources of information, including a bibliography. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1061 H338 1988 Harris, Diana K. DICTIONARY OF GERONTOLOGY. New York: Greenwood, 1988. Short definitions of gerontological terminology. For each term, there are references to books and articles. > NewLib (Ref) H41 I5 1968 INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. New York: Macmillan, 1968-1979. 18 vols. Signed articles cover concepts, principles, theories, and methods in all the social sciences. Emphasis is on the analytical and comparative aspects of a topic rather than the historical or descriptive. Arranged alphabetically, but includes a comprehensive index as well as cross-references. > NewLib (Ref) HV6017 E52 1983 Kadish, Sanford H., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CRIME AND JUSTICE. New York: Free Press, 1983. 4 vols. Lengthy, signed articles explore aspects of crime from a multi- disciplinary perspective. Touches on causes and effects of crime, the social and behavioral aspects of such crimes as rape and domestic violence, the relationship of alcohol to crime, and treatment of offenders. Indexed. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1061 E53 1987 Maddox, George L., et al., eds. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AGING. New York: Springer, 1987. Brief, authoritative, signed overviews of key topic and issues in gerontology. Contains a 128-page bibliography of publications on the subject of aging, and a comprehensive index. > NewLib (Ref) HV12 T54 1982 Timms, Noel, and Rita Timms. DICTIONARY OF SOCIAL WELFARE. London: Routledge, 1982. Defines both specialized welfare terminology and interdisciplinary terms which relate to social welfare. Short entries are followed by references to related sources. The focus is British. Guides and Handbooks > NewLib (Ref) HV4505 H647 1990 Hombs, Mary Ellen. AMERICAN HOMELESSNESS: A REFERENCE HANDBOOK. Contemporary World Issues. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1990. Emphasizes information resources for concerned citizens and policy makers. Describes organizations, major court cases, legislation, and both print and non-print resources. > NewLib (Ref) HV741 I94 1990 Iverson, Timothy J., and Marilyn Segal. CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT: AN INFORMATION AND REFERENCE GUIDE. New York: Garland, 1990. Designed to give those in helping professions "a broad-based understanding of abuse and neglect in our society and provide sufficient information for the reader to work within the system . . ." and gives sources for more information. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on social work topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. Many of these articles relate to social welfare and social policy, often from a business point of view. Appropriate subjects for this database would be business and the community, corporate philanthropy, and demographics, among others. Updated monthly. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) AGRICOLA Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes articles, reports, books and government documents in the areas of wildlife, biology, home economics, nutrition, and rural sociology. There are citations to articles, for instance, on the prevention of teenage pregnancy, the WIC program, and prenatal nutrition. Updated quarterly. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION (CIJE) and RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE) indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as CHILD WELFARE and SOCIAL WORK. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by a department of the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to over 1,300 journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggest- ing terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of social work. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. See description of the PAIS printed index. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) Sociofile SocioFile covers sociology and related disciplines, including internatinal development from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of social work. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1060 A27 ABSTRACTS IN SOCIAL GERONTOLOGY. Newbury Park: Sage, 1990 - . Quarterly. Organized in broad subject categories, with a keyword index. Gives abstracts for journal articles, books, pamphlets, government publications, legislative research studies, and other types of publications. Author index. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) CIJE (CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION). Phoenix: Oryx, 1969 - . Monthly. A periodical index to educational publications in English. An author and subject index arranged in one alphabet. Book reviews listed separately. Also searchable as part of ERIC on CD-ROM. > NewLib (Periodicals) H1 C87 CURRENT CONTENTS: SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES. Philadelphia: Inst. for Scientific Information, 1974 - . Weekly. Reproduces the content pages in approximately 1,300 international journals grouped within broad categories as well as articles from multi-authored books. Indexed by keyword and author. Library retains current year only. > NewLib (Ref) BF1 P959a PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Washington: American Psychological Assn., 1927 - . Monthly. A comprehensive compilation of non-evaluative summaries of the world’s literature in psychology and related disciplines. Each issue contains abstracts listed under 16 major classification categories. An author and brief subject index appear in each issue. The issues are then cumulated at the end of the year. The final subject index is much expanded from the monthly issues. In order to derive the greatest benefit from PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS, the THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS should be used. This database is also searchable on CD-ROM (PsycLIT). > NewLib (Ref Index Area) PUBLIC AFFAIRS INFORMATION SERVICE BULLETIN (PAIS). New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915 - . Semi-monthly. Includes journal articles, books, pamphlets, and U.S. government documents. Annual cumulations with author index. Subjects covered include crime, poverty, unemployment, divorce, work, women, culture, and race relations. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Quarterly. Continues in part SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1966-74), INTERNATIONAL INDEX TO PERIODICALS (1920-65), and READERS GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE SUPPLEMENT (1907-19). Author and subject index to journals in the fields of anthropology, sociology, and related fields. A separate section at the end of each issue indexes book reviews. Covers over 350 English language journals. > NewLib (Ref) HV1 A2 SOCIAL WORK RESEARCH AND ABSTRACTS. Silver Spring: National Assn. of Social Workers, 1977 - . Quarterly. Lengthy abstracts organized in broad categories, with author and subject indexes. Each quarterly issue begins with a research section, comprised of articles and "research notes." There is a cumulative index at the end of the year. > NewLib (Ref) HQ750 A1 C439 Society for Research in Child Development. CHILD DEVELOPMENT ABSTRACTS AND BIBLIOGRAPHY. Chicago: U of Chicago P, 1928 - . Issued three times a year with annually cumulated author and subject indexes. Contains abstracts of articles from American and international periodicals, also a section of book notices. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. San Diego: Sociological Abstracts, 1952 - . Organized in broad subject categories with a subject index; covers the field of sociology. Includes abstracts to articles, papers presented at sociological meetings, books, book reviews, and bibliographies. > Branson (Ref) Z7962 W65 WOMEN STUDIES ABSTRACTS. Rush: Rush Publishing, 1972 - . Quarterly. Subject index to articles from a wide range of periodicals. Includes additional listings of articles not abstracted and a listing of books reviews. Library owns from 1979 - . Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of social work. Branson RC488.5 I54 AMERICAN JOURNAL OF FAMILY THERAPY RA790 A1 Am35o AMERICAN JOURNAL OF ORTHOPSYCHIATRY RC488.5 F347 FAMILY THERAPY NETWORKER RC488.5 J69 JOURNAL OF FAMILY PSYCHOTHERAPY RC367 A35 JOURNAL OF STUDIES ON ALCOHOL RC574 L54 SUICIDE AND LIFE-THREATENING BEHAVIOR New Library HV1 A33 AFFILIA: JOURNAL OF WOMEN & SOCIAL WORK E75 A43 AMERICAN INDIAN CULTURE AND RESEARCH JOURNAL HV5800 A43 AMERICAN JOURNAL OF DRUG & ALCOHOL ABUSE BF1 Am35 AMERICAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHOLOGY HV85 I54 INFORMATION AND REFERRAL HV701 C45 CHILD & ADOLESCENT SOCIAL WORK JOURNAL HV713 C3815 CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT HV701 C513 CHILD AND YOUTH CARE FORUM (formerly CHILD AND YOUTH CARE QUARTERLY) HV701 C47 CHILD AND YOUTH SERVICES HQ750 A1 C437d CHILD DEVELOPMENT HV701 C437w CHILD WELFARE HV1 C63 CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK JOURNAL HV854 D38 DAY CARE AND EARLY EDUCATION BF789 D4 D395 DEATH STUDIES LC3951 J826ec EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN HV1 So13c FAMILIES IN SOCIETY (formerly SOCIAL CASEWORK) HQ763 F35 FAMILY PLANNING PERSPECTIVES HQ1 F21p FAMILY PROCESS HQ1 F21l FAMILY RELATIONS HQ1075 G45 GENDER AND SOCIETY HM134 G73 GROUP AND ORGANIZATION MANAGEMENT (formerly GROUP AND ORGANIZATION STUDIES) HV687.5 U5 H4 HEALTH AND SOCIAL WORK BF1 H57 HISPANIC JOURNAL OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES GN1 H88o HUMAN ORGANIZATION J87 N6 H101.96 HUMAN SERVICES COMMUNICATOR HV85 H89 HUMAN SERVICES IN THE RURAL ENVIRONMENT HQ1060 A33 INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF AGING AND HUMAN DEVELOPMENT HV1 I63 INTERNATIONAL SOCIAL WORK HV4999 Y68 J68 JOURNAL OF ADOLESCENT CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY BF1 J826a JOURNAL OF APPLIED PSYCHOLOGY HM251 J52 JOURNAL OF APPLIED SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY HV1 J54 JOURNAL OF APPLIED SOCIAL SCIENCES HQ834 J68 JOURNAL OF DIVORCE AND REMARRIAGE HQ1060 J6 JOURNAL OF GERONTOLOGY HQ1 J463 JOURNAL OF FAMILY ISSUES HQ75 J68 JOURNAL OF HOMOSEXUALITY HQ1 M28 JOURNAL OF MARRIAGE AND THE FAMILY HV1 J68 JOURNAL OF MULTICULTURAL SOCIAL WORK HN1 J6 JOURNAL OF SOCIAL POLICY HV1 J826e JOURNAL OF SOCIAL WORK EDUCATION HV11 J68 JOURNAL OF TEACHING IN SOCIAL WORK HV1457 J685 JOURNAL OF WOMEN AND AGING HQ536 M322 MARRIAGE AND FAMILY REVIEW HQ1101 N3 NWSA JOURNAL (National Women's Studies Association) BF789 D4 O4 OMEGA (JOURNAL OF DEATH AND DYING) JK1 P96a PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION REVIEW HV1 P96w PUBLIC WELFARE LB3013.4 S36 SCHOOL SOCIAL WORK JOURNAL HQ1101 S64 SIGNS: JOURNAL OF WOMEN IN CULTURE AND SOCIETY HV1 S55 SMITH COLLEGE STUDIES IN SOCIAL WORK HN51 S5 SOCIAL FORCES HN51 S54 SOCIAL POLICY HN1 So13p SOCIAL PROBLEMS HM1 So13 SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY QUARTERLY HV1 So14s SOCIAL SERVICE REVIEW HV1 So13w SOCIAL WORK LB3013.4 S62 SOCIAL WORK IN EDUCATION HV45 S63 SOCIAL WORK WITH GROUPS HM1 S75 SOCIOLOGY AND SOCIAL RESEARCH HQ793 Y6 YOUTH AND SOCIETY FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term social work, some of the narrower terms listed are Abused wives - Services for Communication in social work Public welfare Social casework Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. ERIC DOCUMENTS The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) clearinghouses collect and distribute previously published and unpublished non- journal literature of interest to educators and social scientists. ERIC documents include research reports and studies, curriculum guides, bibliographies, directories, speeches, and conference proceedings. Many of the documents describe community programs which go beyond the schools. The entire ERIC collection on microfiche (flat sheets of film contain- ing reduced images) is arranged by ED document numbers in cabinets in the microform area of New Library. Indexes to ERIC Documents ERIC on CD-ROM - See page 7. Cumulated subject, author and title indexes on microfiche cover the ERIC collection for the years 1966-1988. In using the microfiche subject index or RIE (RESOURCES IN EDUCATION), it is helpful to consult the THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS for the appropriate subject indexing terminology. The microfiche index is located near the ERIC collection. > Branson (Doc Ref) RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE). Washington: Department of Health, Education and Welfare, National Institute on Education, 1975 - . Continues RESEARCH IN EDUCATION, 1966-74. Monthly. Gives document resumes with abstracts for all ERIC documents. The resumes are arranged by ED number. Indexes provide access by subject, author, institution, and publication type. Cumulated semi-annual index. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in the study of social work. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bi-monthly. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) > Branson (Doc) PREX2.20:year CATALOG OF FEDERAL DOMESTIC ASSISTANCE. Washington: Office of Management and Budget, 1971 - . Annual directory of over 1,000 assistance programs administered by 52 Federal agencies, in the areas of child abuse, education, community planning, law enforcement, mental health, and more. The three major sections are the program descriptions, indexes to the programs, and appendices. The programs are indexed by agency, applicant, function, and subject. A supplement volume lists new programs, deletions, and changes. > Branson (Doc Ref) KF49 C62 CIS ANNUAL. Washington: Congressional Information Service. Annual. Covers hearings, committee prints, documents, House and Senate reports, special publications, executive reports, and treaty documents. Published in two parts, an index (every third monthly index is a quarterly cumulation) and an abstract; the paperbound parts are kept in separate binders. The cumulated indexes and abstracts are also separate parts of the CIS ANNUAL. Library owns 1983 - . > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX - see STATISTICS page 16. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 Z7 I54 INDEX TO U.S. GOVERNMENT PERIODICALS. Chicago: Infordata, 1970 - . Issued quarterly, cumulates annually. Author and subject entries for articles in periodicals published by the U.S. government. The journal abbreviation list in the front of each index volume gives the SuDoc classification number for the periodical. Those periodicals in the NMSU documents collection are indicated with a check mark. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A18 U.S. Superintendent of Documents. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1895 - . Title varies. A bibliography of publication issued by all branches of the U.S. government. The catalog consists of a text and four indexes: author, title, subject, and series/report number. Includes CUMULATIVE SUBJECT INDEX (1900-1971) and CUMULATIVE TITLE INDEX (1789-1976).Selected U.S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc) HE20.8216:77 ADOLESCENT DRUG ABUSE: ANALYSIS OF TREATMENT RESEARCH. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, 1988. > Branson (Doc) J32.2:C43/3 CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE VICTIMS AND THEIR TREATMENT. Washington: U.S. Justice Dept., National Institute for Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 1988. > Branson (Doc) ED1.30/4:991 DIRECTORY OF SERVICES. FEDERAL AGENCIES AND NON-FEDERAL ORGANIZATIONS PROVIDING SERVICES TO MIGRANT AND SEASONAL FARMWORKERS AND THEIR FAMILIES. Washington: Education Dept., 1991. > Branson (Doc) Y3.H75:2H75 FEDERAL PROGRAMS TO HELP HOMELESS PEOPLE. Washington: Interagency Council on the Homeless, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.8102:H75/2 THE HOMELESS MENTALLY ILL: SERVICES OF THE POPULATION. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, National Institute of Mental Health, 1988. > Branson (Doc) Y3.Ac7:2Sol REPORT OF THE WORKING GROUP ON SOCIAL/HUMAN ISSUES TO THE NATIONAL COMMISSION ON AIDS. Washington: National Commission on AIDS, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE1.2:Un9/Sum. YOUNG UNWED FATHERS: RESEARCH, REVIEW, POLICY DILEMMAS AND OPTIONS. SUMMARY REPORT. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, 1988. > Branson (Doc) ED1.327:998 YOUTH INDICATORS 1991. TRENDS IN THE WELL-BEING OF AMERICAN YOUTH. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Education, Educational Research and Improvement Office, 1991. THE LAW Social workers and social work students often need to find out about current laws and regulations, both state and federal. In order to do effective research, it is necessary to have a basic understanding of legal processes, beyond the scope of this research guide. Listed below are sources for gaining an understanding of legal research procedures, background information on legal issues, and compilations of statutes and regulations. Guides to Legal Research > NewLib (Ref) KF240 C358 1983 Cohen, Morris L., and Robert C. Berring. HOW TO FIND THE LAW. 8th ed. St. Paul: West, 1983. A guide to sources and methods for in-depth legal research. > NewLib (Ref) KF240 E35 1986 Elias, Stephen. LEGAL RESEARCH: HOW TO FIND AND UNDERSTAND THE LAW. Berkeley: Nolo, 1986. A friendly and functional approach to legal research, offering background information on how laws are organized, and on finding and interpreting statutory law. > NewLib (Ref) HV91 M43 1987 Mendelsohn, Henry Neil. A GUIDE TO INFORMATION SOURCES FOR SOCIAL WORK AND THE HUMAN SERVICES. Phoenix: Oryx, 1987. Chapter 9, "The Law," offers a brief overview of legal research and an explanation of how laws are made. Legal Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks > NewLib (Ref) KF156 B53 Black, Henry Campbell, original ed. BLACK'S LAW DICTIONARY: DEFINITIONS OF THE TERMS AND PHRASES OF AMERICAN AND ENGLISH JURISPRUDENCE. 6th ed. St. Paul: West, 1990. The standard legal dictionary with histories and sources of terms. An appendix of legal abbreviations. > NewLib (Ref) KF156 G77 1985 > NewLib (Ref) KF156 G77 1990 - (Suppl.) THE GUIDE TO AMERICAN LAW: EVERYONE'S LEGAL ENCYCLOPEDIA. St. Paul: West, 1985. 12 vols. Supplements, 1990 - . Intended for the lay person, with articles encompassing legal principles and concepts, landmark documents and important acts, famous trials, historical movements and events which have influenced the law, and important individuals in the legal spotlight. There is an index volume, with a subject index and a table of cases discussed. > NewLib (Ref) KF503.6 L46 1988 Leonard, Robin D., and Stephen R. Elias. FAMILY LAW DICTIONARY. Berkeley: Nolo, 1988. Gives definitions, in lay language, for words and phrases relating to marriage, divorce, adoption, support, custody, guardianship, living together, paternity, abortion, etc. Uses examples for potentially confusing terms. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) NEW MEXICO WOMEN AND THE LAW. Santa Fe: New Mexico Commission on the Status of Women, 1986. Provides practical, basic information about state and federal laws that affect women. Includes a resource list of agencies and shelters, and guidelines on selecting a lawyer. > NewLib (Ref) KF478 Z95 S73 1986 N.O.W. Legal Defense and Education Fund and Renee Cherow-O'Leary. STATE-BY-STATE GUIDE TO WOMEN'S LEGAL RIGHTS. New York: McGraw, 1986. Part 1 gives an overview of women’s legal rights in the areas of home and family (e.g. divorce and reproductive freedom), education, employment, and in the community (e.g. rape, housing, military, insurance). Part 2 is a state-by-state guide to each of these areas. Includes a list of selected readings. Statutes and Regulations > Branson (Doc Ref) AE2.106 CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS. Washington: Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. Includes agency regulations that have the force of law, arranged by separate volumes (titles), each with its own index. > NewLib (Ref) KF62 1982 A2 1983 UNITED STATES CODE: CONTAINING THE GENERAL AND PERMANENT LAWS OF THE UNITED STATES, IN FORCE ON JANUARY 14, 1983. 1982 ed. Washington: GPO, 1983; Supplements, 1984 - . U.S. laws, organized by broad subject areas (titles). Access is through the Table of Titles and Chapters (vol. 1) or through the subject index (vols. 21-25 and supplements). The supplements reflect changes in the laws since 1982. > Branson (Doc Ref) AE2.106 FEDERAL REGISTER. Washington: Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. Administrative regulations being proposed or changed appear in this work. These regulations are indexed in the CIS FEDERAL REGISTER INDEX (Doc Ref KF70 A2 1984 - ); March 1936 - Dec. 1978 FEDERAL REGISTER is on microfilm (J1 A23). > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 B261.31 1978 NEW MEXICO STATUTES 1978 ANNOTATED. Charlottesville: Michie, 1978 - . Originally published in 1978, these state laws are contained in a looseleaf format and are updated after each legislative session. The laws are organized by subject (chapters), and many sections are followed by a supplement section, which will reflect any changes in the laws as represented in the main sections. A general subject index (separate volume) is replaced following each legislative session. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 H201.21 C45 NEW MEXICO REGULATIONS GOVERNING RESIDENTIAL SHELTER CARE FACILITIES FOR CHILDREN. Santa Fe: Health and Environment Dept., Public Health Division, Licensing and Certification Bureau, 1987. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 H201.21 D39 NEW MEXICO REGULATIONS GOVERNING FACILITIES PROVIDING DAY/NIGHT CARE TO CHILDREN. Santa Fe: Health and Environment Dept., Public Health Division, Licensing and Certification Bureau, 1987. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 H201.21 A38 NEW MEXICO REGULATIONS GOVERNING FACILITIES PROVIDING ADULT DAY CARE. Santa Fe: Licensing and Certification Bureau, Public Health Division, Health and Environment Dept., 1988. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 H201.21 R47 REGULATIONS GOVERNING RESIDENTIAL SHELTER CARE AND BOARDING HOME FACILITIES FOR ADULTS. Santa Fe: Health Facilities and Occupational Licensing Bureau, 1986. STATISTICS > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual. This is a comprehensive descriptive guide and index to the statistics published by all government agencies, congressional subcommittees, and statistics-producing programs. Each issue consists of an abstracts section and an index section which provides access to the abstracts by detailed subjects, names, categories, titles, and report numbers. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) > Branson (Doc) CD-ROM COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1988. Extracts statistics from private sources and several different Census Bureau Series. Access is by county, by SMSA, and by cities with population of over 25,000. A CD-ROM version is also available in Government Documents. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) NEW MEXICO STATISTICAL ABSTRACT. Albuquerque: Bureau of Business & Economic Research, U of New Mexico, 1989. New Mexico statistical information under 21 major subject headings such as crime and law enforcement, education, employment, housing, income, population, poverty and welfare, travel and recreation, and vital statistics. > NewLib (Ref) HV35 So13 18th 1987 Suppl. Rosen, Sumner M., David Fanshel, and Mary E. Lutz, eds. FACE OF THE NATION 1987: STATISTICAL SUPPLEMENT TO THE 18TH EDITION OF THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIAL WORK. Silver Spring: National Assn. of Social Workers, 1987. A digest of statistics of interest to social work students and practitioners. Most of the statistics are generated in the U.S., with a few tables giving international data. Subjects quantified are the economy, employment, health, government revenues, child welfare, mental health, etc. Sources, often government documents, are listed, and can be used as references to more detailed information. > NewLib (Ref) E184 S75 S27 1991 Schick, Frank L., and Renee Schick. STATISTICAL HANDBOOK ON U.S. HISPANICS. Phoenix: Oryx, 1991. "This publication provides a selection of recent statistical data from various sources which illustrate the growing demographic, political, economic, social, and cultural impact exerted by America’s Hispanics" (introduction). Includes 298 tables and charts. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) STATE AND METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1991. Arranged in three parts: by state, metropolitan areas arranged alphabetically, and metropolitan areas ranked by population-size categories. A copy is also available in Government Documents. > NewLib (Ref) HA202 Un3s U.S. Bureau of the Census. STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1987 - . This is a standard work for locating statistical information. It includes data from both private as well as government sources. Emphasis is on national data; however, many tables reflect state or regional data. References in the index are to chart number, not to page number. Often the original work from where the statistics were taken is cited. For New Mexico information, look up "state data" in the index to find the charts that differentiate among the states. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the tools mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of social work. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of social work. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Homelessness - Bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > Branson RC607 A26 A384 1990 AIDS AND ETHICS: A BIBLIOGRAPHY. Silver Spring: National Center for Social Policy and Practice, Information Services, 1990. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1061 C67 1991 Coyle, Jean, ed. FAMILIES AND AGING: A SELECTED, ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Greenwood, 1991. > NewLib (Ref) HQ71 D395 1987 DeYoung, Mary. CHILD MOLESTATION: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Jefferson: McFarland, 1987. > NewLib (Ref) HQ71 D48 1985 DeYoung, Mary. INCEST: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Jefferson: McFarland, 1987. > Branson Z7164 C5 E3 Edwards, Dayan L. BREAKING THE CYCLE: ASSESSMENT AND TREATMENT OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT. Los Angeles: Assn. for Advanced Training in the Behavioral Sciences, 1986. > Branson Z7164 C4 E4 1984 Elliott, Martha W. ETHICAL ISSUES IN SOCIAL WORK: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Council on Social Work Education, 1984. > NewLib (Ref) HV6626 E53 1986 Engeldinger, Eugene A. SPOUSE ABUSE: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF VIOLENCE BETWEEN MATES. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1986. > NewLib (Ref) HV1445 .F43 1990 Feinberg, Renee, and Kathleen E. Knox. THE FEMINIZATION OF POVERTY IN THE UNITED STATES: A SELECTED, ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE ISSUES, 1978-1989. New York: Garland, 1990. > Branson (Ref) RC607 A26 A3475 1988 Malinowsky, Robert, and Gerald L. Perry, eds. AIDS INFORMATION SOURCEBOOK. Phoenix: Oryx, 1988. > Branson Z7164 A23 M44 1987 Meling, Lois Ruskai. ADOPTION: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY AND GUIDE. New York: Garland, 1987. > NewLib (Ref) HV6561 N67 1990 Nordquist, Joan, ed. RAPE: A BIBLIOGRAPHY. Contemporary Social Issues: A Bibliographic Series No. 19. Santa Cruz: Reference and Research Series, 1990. > NewLib (Ref) HV5132 P334 1991 Page, Penny Booth. CHILDREN OF ALCOHOLICS: A SOURCEBOOK. New York: Garland, 1991. > NewLib (Ref) HV5825 S8 1992 Rebach, Howard M., et al., eds. SUBSTANCE ABUSE AMONG ETHNIC MINORITIES IN AMERICA: A CRITICAL ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1992. > NewLib (Ref) HQ536 S23 1988 Sadler, Judith DeBoard. FAMILIES IN TRANSITION: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Hamden: Archon, 1988. > Branson (Ref) RC607 W38 1991 Watstein, Sarah B., and Robert A. Laurich. AIDS AND WOMEN: A SOURCEBOOK. Phoenix: Oryx, 1991. Directories > NewLib (Ref) HV699 A75 ANNOTATED DIRECTORY OF SELECTED FAMILY-BASED SERVICES PROGRAMS. 6th ed. Iowa City: National Resource Center on Family-Based Services, 1988. Describes a variety of services established for families, giving the goals, background, a description of the program, its client characteristics, staff evaluation mechanism, and funding sources. Organized by state with a subject index. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) Fahrenkrog, Don, Lylia A. Verze, and Dolores Halls. CITY OF LAS CRUCES, DONA ANA COUNTY, INFORMATION AND REFERRAL DIRECTORY OF SOCIAL SERVICE PROGRAMS. Las Cruces: Fahrenkrog, 1991. Updated periodically. Gives brief information about social service agencies and support groups in the Las Cruces area. Organized in subject categories, with a name-of-organization index. > NewLib HV89 P83 Weinstein, Amy J., ed. PUBLIC WELFARE DIRECTORY. Chicago: American Public Welfare Assn. A guide to public human service programs in the United States and Canada. Federal programs are listed by the agency that administers them, and state programs are listed by state. There is no subject access. Library has v. 52, 1991-92. Library Guides > Branson (Ref) RC607 A26 H9 1991b Huber, Jeffrey T., ed. HOW TO FIND INFORMATION ABOUT AIDS. 2nd ed. New York: Harrington, 1992. > NewLib (Ref) HV85 M46 1987 Mendelsohn, Henry N. AN AUTHOR’S GUIDE TO SOCIAL WORK JOURNALS. 2nd ed. Silver Spring: National Assn. of Social Workers, 1987. Offers information about 100 social work journals to prospective authors. The type of information includes the editorial focus, address, cover sheet data, detailed instructions to authors, the preferred style guide, and the review process. > NewLib (Ref) HV91 M43 Mendelsohn, Henry Neil. A GUIDE TO INFORMATION SOURCES FOR SOCIAL WORK AND THE HUMAN SERVICES. Phoenix: Oryx, 1987. Discusses the organization of libraries and access to library information in reference books, public documents, journals, books, statistical sources, and legal sources. Tests > NewLib (Reserve) RC455.2 C4 D54 1987 DIAGNOSTIC AND STATISTICAL MANUAL OF MENTAL DISORDERS. 3rd ed, rev. Washington: The American Psychiatric Assn., 1987. The current standard diagnostice manual for classification of mental disorders. Commonly known as DSM-III-R, includes references, a glossary of technical terms, a symptom index, and a diagnostic index. Kept on permanent reserve at the New Library circulation desk. > NewLib (Ref) BF176 T475 1989 Hunt, Thelma, and Clyde J. Lindley, eds. TESTING OLDER ADULTS: A REFERENCE GUIDE FOR GEROPSYCHOLOGICAL ASSESSMENTS. Austin: PRO-ED, 1989. > Branson RJ503.3 A77 1988 Oster, Gerald D., et. al. ASSESSING ADOLESCENTS. New York: Pergamon, 1988. > NewLib HQ728 T68 1990 Touliatos, John, Barry F. Permutter, and Murray A. Straus. HANDBOOK OF FAMILY MEASUREMENT TECHNIQUES. Newbury Park: Sage, 1990.