-----New Mexico State University Library (revised 7-13-95)----- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN SOCIOLOGY No. 23, Summer 1995 Karen Stabler, Compiler Conducting research in the field of sociology requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A - H, HM - PZ Branson: HA - HJ, Q - Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. United States Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide excellent access to a subject. DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS > NewLib (Ref) H41 I5 1979 Sills, David L., ed. INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. 19 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1979. Signed articles cover concepts, principles, theories, and methods in all the social sciences. Relevant article topics include race relations, social movements, and social structures. Emphasis is on the analytical and comparative aspects of the topic. Arranged alphabetically, but includes a comprehensive index and cross-references. Vol. 18 is a biographical supplement, and Vol. 19 includes quotations. > NewLib (Ref) H41 S63 1985 Kuper, Adam, and Jessica Kuper, eds. THE SOCIAL SCIENCE ENCYCLOPEDIA. Boston: Routledge, 1985. Includes over 700 entries on theories, issues, methods, and scholars in the social science disciplines. Entries are signed and include references. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 A23 1988 Abercrombie, Nicholas. THE PENGUIN DICTIONARY OF SOCIOLOGY. 2nd ed. New York: Penguin, 1988. Clearly written definitions of concepts, terms, debates, and other topics related to sociology. The definitions refer to related terms. Also included are biographies of major sociologists and a 41-page bibliography of significant books and articles. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 B6813 1989 Boudon, Raymond. A CRITICAL DICTIONARY OF SOCIOLOGY. Chicago: U of Chicago P, 1989. Lengthy definitions of 73 important concepts, theories, and thinkers in the field of sociology. A translation of a 1982 French work. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 C66 1994 Marshall, Gordon, ed. THE CONCISE OXFORD DICTIONARY OF SOCIOLOGY. New York: Oxford UP, 1994. Provides brief, concise definitions of sociological terminology. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 E5 1992 Borgatta, Edgar F., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIOLOGY. 4 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1992. Includes over 370 signed articles of varying length. There is a bibliography at the end of each definition as well as a list of related terms. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 I53 1984 Mann, Michael, ed. THE INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIOLOGY. New York: Continuum, 1984. Provides concise definitions of 800 terms, phrases, and schools of thought. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 J37 1991 Jary, David, and Julia Jary. THE HARPER-COLLINS DICTIONARY OF SOCIOLOGY. New York: HarperPerrenial, 1991. Provides brief definitions of major terms and topics on major sociologists, major social science disciplines, and research methodology. Includes bibliography. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 M56 1979 Mitchell, Geoffrey Duncan. A NEW DICTIONARY OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. New York: Aldine, 1979. This dictionary is a revised version of A DICTIONARY OF SOCIOLOGY (1968). Definitions of varying length and biographical sketches are included. Additional reading is suggested at the end of many of the definitions. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 T5 Theodorson, George A., and Achilles G. Theodorson. A MODERN DICTIONARY OF SOCIOLOGY. New York: Crowell, 1969. Includes short definitions of 2,000 terms. Numerous cross- references are provided. SPECIALIZED DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS > NewLib (Ref) E184 A1 H35a NewLib (Ref) E184 A1 H35 Thernstrom, Stephan, ed. HARVARD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN ETHNIC GROUPS. Cambridge: Belknap, 1980. Excellent for studying ethnicity. The discussion for each ethnic group covers common themes of origins, migration and arrival, settlement and economic life, social organizations, religion, intergroup relations, and culture and ethnic group maintenance. > NewLib (Ref) HQ9 D38 1989 DiCanio, Margaret. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MARRAIGE, DIVORCE AND THE FAMILY. New York: Facts on File, 1989. Includes about 400 entries relating to marriage, divorce, and the family. Also included is an extensive bibliography. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1061 E53 1987 > NewLib HQ1061 E53 1987 Maddox, George L., ed. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AGING. New York: Springer, 1987. Brief, authoritative, signed reviews of key topics and issues in gerontology. Includes a 128-page bibliography of publications on the subject of aging and a comprehensive index. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1061 H338 1988 Harris, Diana K. DICTIONARY OF GERONTOLOGY. New York: Greenwood, 1988. Short definitions of gerontological terms, including references to books and articles. > NewLib (Ref) HV5035 O27 1991 O'Brien, Robert, and Morris Chafetz. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ALCOHOLISM. 2nd ed. New York: Facts on File, 1991. Contains over 500 definitions related to alcohol. In addition to the statistical appendix and graphs, tables are integrated into the entries. > NewLib (Ref) HV5804 E94 1992 O'Brien, Robert, et al. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF DRUG ABUSE. 2nd ed. New York: Facts on File, 1992. Includes over 1,000 definitions related to drug abuse. There is an excellent introduction. Also included are statistical tables, a slang dictionary, and a bibliography. > NewLib (Ref) HV6545 E87 1988 Evans, Glen, and Norman L. Farberow. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SUICIDE. New York: Facts on File, 1988. Provides an overall view of suicide in its cultural context in addition to short and longer entries. > NewLib (Ref) HV6626.5 C57 1989 Clark, Robin E., and Judith Freeman Clark. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CHILD ABUSE. New York: Facts on File, 1989. Includes over 450 definitions related to child abuse. Provides an excellent overview of the subject as well as statistics, tables, charts, and other helpful information. The appendix includes child abuse laws, statistics, and a bibliography. GUIDES AND HANDBOOKS > NewLib (Ref) H61 S666 1986 Webb, William H., et al. SOURCES OF INFORMATION IN THE SOCIAL SCIENCES: A GUIDE TO THE LITERATURE. 3rd ed. Chicago: ALA, 1986. A 50-page section on sociology begins with a useful survey of the field with lists of references and reference works. > NewLib HM1 A55 ANNUAL REVIEW OF SOCIOLOGY. Palo Alto: Annual Reviews, 1975 - . An annual collection of articles reviewing research in various sociological topics. International in coverage, but with a high percentage of references in English. Author and subject indexes. > NewLib (Ref) HM47 U6 G8 GUIDE TO GRADUATE DEPARTMENTS OF SOCIOLOGY. Washington: American Sociological Assn., 1972 - . Listings give addresses, names of faculty and where they received their degrees, specialties, number of degrees granted, and other important information. The 1993 edition is in the reference collection. > NewLib (Ref) HM51 A26 1987 Aby, Stephen H. SOCIOLOGY: A GUIDE TO REFERENCE AND INFORMATION SOURCES. Littleton: Libraries Unlimited, 1987. Describes over 600 major reference sources in sociology and related social sciences. Contains indexes, journals, bibliographies, handbooks, and other related reference sources from 1970-1986. > NewLib (Ref) HM51 H249 1988 Smelser, Neal J., ed. HANDBOOK OF SOCIOLOGY. Newbury Park: Sage, 1988. A compendium on sociological topics. Includes articles on theoretical and methodological issues, bases of inequalities in society, major institutional and organizational settings, and social progress and change. A good starting point for research on sociology. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1061 H336 1990 Binstock, Robert H., and Linda George, eds. HANDBOOK OF AGING AND THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. 3rd ed. San Diego: Academic P, 1990. A compendium on research on aging. Emphasis is on the biological, psychological, and social aspects of aging. A good starting point for research on aging. > Branson Z7164 S66 M37 Mark, Charles. SOCIOLOGY OF AMERICA: A GUIDE TO INFORMATION SOURCES. Detroit: Gale, 1976. A bibliography on American society with emphasis on life and culture. Contains author, title, subject, and periodicals title index. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and AbstractsIndexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. ELECTRONIC INDEXES Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on sociology topics. New products may be added; check the CD- ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. Updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal and can also be accessed remotely via the Cafe OLE system. Ask at the reference desk if you need help. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of sociology. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. See also the description of the PAIS printed index. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) Social Work Asbtracts This database, which spans from 1977 to the present, is produced by the National Association of social Workers (NASW) and contains both bibliographic citations with abstracts from NASW publications as well as other journals and dissertations, plus information on contacts, careers, and other sources in social work. The database is divided into two separate files. The first file holds the Social Work Abstracts with more than 26,000 records in four major areas: the social work profession, theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues/social problems. Information is available on such social work-related topics as child and family welfare, AIDS, homelessness, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and comunity organization. The second file holds the Register of Clinical Social Workers, which is a directory of names, addresses, telephone numbers, as well as additional information on primarily U.S. clinical social workers. Updated semiannually. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) SocioFile SocioFile covers sociology and related disciplines, including international development, from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. PRINTED INDEXES Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of sociology. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) AI3 S62 SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Continues in part SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1966- 1974), INTERNATIONAL INDEX TO PERIODICALS (1920-1965), READERS GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE SUPPLEMENT (1907- 1919). Author and subject index to journals in the fields of anthropology, sociology, and related fields. A separate section at the end of each issue indexes book reviews. Covers over 350 English language journals. > NewLib (Ref) H1 C65 Wile, Annadel N., ed. C.R.I.S.: COMBINED RETROSPECTIVE INDEX SET TO JOURNALS IN SOCIOLOGY, 1895-1974. 6 vols. Washington: Carrollton, 1978. About 85,000 articles in 137 subject categories are included: vol. 1, anthropology, applied sociology, culture, death and death rates, differentiation and stratification; vols. 2-3, institutions; vol. 4, research in sociology, rural systems and structures, sex roles, and social change and economic development; vol. 5, social disorganization, social ecology; vol. 6, authors. > NewLib (Periodicals) H1 C87 CURRENT CONTENTS: SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES. Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1974 - . Reproduces the content pages in approximately 1,300 international journals grouped within broad categories as well as articles from multi-authored books. Indexed by keyword and author. Library retains current year only. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) H96 P96 PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1991 - . Subject index to periodicals, pamphlets, some books, and some U. S. foreign government publications covering economic and social conditions. This public policy index covers such topics as social movements, ethics, and discrimination. > Branson HB881 P819 POPULATION INDEX. Princeton: Office of Population Research, 1937 - . Includes books, periodicals, and relevant literature cited in secondary sources such as bibliographies and library acquisition lists on the literature related to population. There are author and geographical indexes. The bibliography is international in scope. The time lag is from one to three years. > Branson (Ref) HC110 P6 P1 HUMAN RESOURCES ABSTRACTS. Beverly Hills: Sage, 1975 - . Approximately 250 books and journals are abstracted. Entries are arranged by subject categories and then by author. Subjects include employment and unemployment, worklife, education, industrial and labor relations, poverty, ethnic relations, immigration and migration, and aging. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) HM1 S67 SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. San Diego: Sociological Abstracts, 1953 - . Cumulates annually. A classified list of journal articles in sociology and related journals covering a broad range of topics. Research articles are indexed by author, subject, and journal source. Full citations with abstracts are referred to and arranged by abstract (identification) number. Also includes published abstracts of papers presented at meetings of sociological societies, book reviews and abstracts since 1970. > NewLib (Ref) HQ728 I57 INVENTORY OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY LITERATURE. St. Paul: Family Social Science, U of Minnesota, 1900 - . A computer-produced bibliography of books and articles on marriage and family literature. Covers the 20th century. Title varies. Library owns 1900-1974 and 1988-1989. > NewLib (Ref) HQ750 A1 C439 CHILD DEVELOPMENT ABSTRACTS AND BIBLIOGRAPHY. Chicago: U of Chicago P, 1928 - . Abstracts of books and journal articles are arranged alphabetically by author under six subject headings: biology, health, and medicine; cognition learning perception; social psychological, cultural and personality studies; educational processes; psychiatry and clinical psychology; and history, theory, and methodology. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1060 A27 ABSTRACTS IN SOCIAL GERONTOLOGY. Newbury Park: Sage, 1990 -. Covers books, journal articles, pamphlets, government documents, legislative research studies, and other publications related to aging. Published in cooperation with the National Council on the Aging. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1421 W65 WOMEN STUDIES ABSTRACTS. Rush: Rush, 1972 - . Subject index to articles from a wide range of periodicals. Includes additional listings of articles not abstracted and a listing of books and reviews. Library owns 1979 - . > NewLib (Ref) HV1 A2 SOCIAL WORK RESEARCH & ABSTRACTS. Silver Springs: National Assn. of Social Workers, 1977 - 1993. Quarterly. Lengthy abstracts organized in broad categories with author and subject indexes. Each issue begins with a research section comprised of articles and "research notes." There is a cumulative index at the end of each year. > NewLib (Ref) L11 So13e SOCIOLOGY OF EDUCATION ABSTRACTS. Liverpool: Sociology of Education Abstracts Service, 1965 - . Includes books and articles covering the sociology of education. International in scope. Quarterly, no cumulation. LOCATION OF JOURNALS Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. SELECTED LIST OF CURRENT JOURNALS The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of sociology. New Library HM1 Am35j AMERICAN JOURNAL OF SOCIOLOGY HM1 Am35s AMERICAN SOCIOLOGICAL REVIEW HM1 B455j BERKELEY JOURNAL OF SOCIOLOGY HM1 B777j BRITISH JOURNAL OF SOCIOLOGY HM1 C65 CONTEMPORARY SOCIOLOGY HM1 S68 SOCIOLOGICAL INQUIRY JV6001 I55 IMR, THE INTERNATIONAL MIGRATION REVIEW HQ1 M28 JOURNAL OF MARRIAGE AND THE FAMILY HN51 J826s JOURNAL OF SOCIAL ISSUES HN51 S5 SOCIAL FORCES HM251 J826sp JOURNAL OF SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY HM1 Q34 QUALITATIVE SOCIOLOGY HT401 R88 RURAL SOCIOLOGY HQ768 S4 SEX ROLES HN51 S5 SOCIAL FORCES HN1 So13p SOCIAL PROBLEMS HM1 S687 SOCIOLOGICAL METHODS AND RESEARCH HM1 P33 SOCIOLOGICAL PERSPECTIVES HM9 So13q SOCIOLOGICAL QUARTERLY HM1 So13r THE SOCIOLOGICAL REVIEW HM1 S75 SOCIOLOGY AND SOCIAL RESEARCH L11 J826es THE SOCIOLOGY OF EDUCATION HM1 T43 TEACHING SOCIOLOGY HM1 T5 THEORY AND SOCIETY HT675 S6 WORK AND OCCUPATIONS Branson HB881 D396 DEMOGRAPHY HB885 Un3p POPULATION STUDIES FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodicals areas. USING OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. THE CARD CATALOG Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term sociology some of the narrower terms listed are: Community Ethnic relations Industrial sociology Population Race relations Secret societies Social change Social group Social integration Wealth, ethics of While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. LOCATION OF BOOKS To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the Reference areas or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of sociology. BIBLIOGRAPHIES Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of sociology. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Sociology _ Bibliography." Following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library. > NewLib (Ref) HM1 A1 I57 INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF SOCIOLOGY. BIBLIOGRAPHIE INTERNATIONALE DE SOCIOLOGIE. Chicago: Aldine, 1955 - . Each annual volume includes the primary publications in the field of sociology. There is an author and subject index for the books, pamphlets, periodical articles, and government publications. International in scope. Library owns Vol. 10, 1960 - . > NewLib (Ref) HM51 B888 1987 Brown, Samuel R., comp. FINDING THE SOURCE IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY: A THESAURUS - INDEX TO THE REFERENCE COLLECTION. New York: Greenwood, 1987. Citations to 586 selected reference books and a thesaurus index to the contents of the books cited. Also included is a title/subtitle index. > NewLib (Ref) HM253 B43 1990 Beere, Carol A. GENDER ROLES: A HANDBOOK OF TESTS AND MEASURES. New York: Greenwood, 1990. Arranged under 7 topics: gender roles, children and gender, stereotypes, marital and parental roles, employee roles, multiple roles and attitudes toward gender role issues. Under each subject heading are the tests and measures. Entries include: authors, date, variable, description, roles and comments, available from, where used, and bibliography. BIOGRAPHIES > NewLib (RefBiog) HM19 P35 Pearman, William A. THE PROVINCE OF SOCIOLOGY: SELECTED PROFILES. Chicago: Nelson-Hall, 1981. Provides brief biographical sketches of 72 major scholars in the field of sociology. Arranged chronologically by movements and then subdivided alphabetically. Entries include "personal data, intellectual influences on persons, their associations with subfields, their theoretical impact, and an analysis of major concepts of their work." > NewLib (RefBiog) HM22 U5 W66 1991 WOMEN IN SOCIOLOGY: A BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHICAL SOURCEBOOK. New York: Greenwood, 1991. Includes 51 female sociologists who were born before 1927. Each entry includes a biographical profile, major themes, critiques, and a bibliography of works by and about the person. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. Government publishes information that may be of use in the study of sociology. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the Documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. INDEXES TO GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bimonthly. STATISTICS > Branson (Doc Ref) GP 3.8 :a Branson (Doc Ref) GP 3.8: U.S. Superintendent of Documents. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1895 - . Title varies. A bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the U. S. Government. The catalog consists of a text and four indexes: author, title, subject, and series/report number. Includes CUMULATIVE SUBJECT INDEX (1900-1971) and CUMULATIVE TITLE INDEX (1789-1976). GPO is the MONTHLY CATALOG on CD-ROM. It lists publications by the Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type subject terms and combinations of subject terms and retrieve citations to documents that may be available at the NMSU documents collection. The citations will include the SuDoc number for the document. > Branson (Ref) HA1 D37 Manheim, Jarol B., and Allison Ondrasik. DATAMAP. New York: Longman, 1983-1990. Index to over 13,000 statistical tables. The 27 sources indexed include the U. S. Government, U.N. publications, and major almanacs. The 1989 edition is in Branson reference. > Branson (Ref) HA12.5 Un3s STATISTICAL YEARBOOK. ANNUAIRE STATISTIQUE. New York: United Nations, 1948 - . Provides demographic, national accounts, industry, energy, and international trade statistics collected by the United Nations. > Branson (Ref) HA17 D396 DEMOGRAPHIC YEARBOOK. ANNUAIRE DEMOGRAPHIQUE. New York: United Nations, 1948 - . Includes demographic statistics on about 216 countries. > Branson (Ref) HA29 S785 1989 STATISTICS SOURCES: A SUBJECT GUIDE TO DATA ON INDUSTRIAL, BUSINESS, SOCIAL, EDUCATIONAL, FINANCIAL, AND OTHER TOPICS FOR THE UNITED STATES AND INTERNATIONALLY. 13th ed. 2 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1990. International in scope. Lists sources of numeric data. U. S. statistics are listed under topic. For other countries, statistical sources are listed under the country and then subdivided by topics. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) HA202 A36 > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 A36 COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1949 - . Extracts statistics from private sources and several different Census Bureau series. Access is by county, by Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA), and by cities with populations of over 25,000. Print and CD-ROM versions available in Government Documents. > Branson (Ref) HA202 A385 1975 United States Bureau of the Census. HISTORICAL STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES, COLONIAL TIMES TO 1970. Washington: Bureau of the Census, 1975. 2 vols. A summary of social, political, and economic statistics from the colonial period to 1970. Statistics are arranged in tabular form under broad subject areas. Also available in Government Documents. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) HA202 S72 > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 S72 STATE AND METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1991. Arranged in three parts: by state, metropolitan areas arranged alphabetically, and metropolitan areas ranked by population-size categories. Also available in Government Documents. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 Un3s > Branson (Ref Info Desk) HA202 Un3s STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO. A single volume giving quantitative summary statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United States. References are given for the sources of all tables. Statistics given cover a period of several years, usually 15 or 20. Latest issue at Reference Information Desk and in Government Documents. > NewLib (Ref) H61.3 I56a The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. GUIDE TO RESOURCES AND SERVICES. Ann Arbor: ICPSR, 1987 - . ICPSR is a membership-based organization consisting of more than 360 institutions. It is the world's largest repository of computer-based research data for the social sciences and related fields of study. Access to over 25,000 machine- readable data files is provided through the membership. For the most part, data at the local institution is collected upon demand. Materials collected cover a broad spectrum. Included are items as diverse as opinion polls, census data, economic data, crime reports, and social surveys. For a complete list of holdings, consult the latest GUIDE. > New Lib (Ref) J87 N6 F112.72 > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) J87 N6 F112.72 > Branson J87 N6 F112.72 NEW MEXICO STATISTICAL ABSTRACT. Albuquerque: Bureau of Business & Economic Research, U of New Mexico, 1989. A single volume providing summary statistics on political, social, and economic issues in New Mexico. Latest edition in reference. > Branson (Doc Ref) KF49 C62 CIS ANNUAL. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1970 - . Monthly. Covers hearings, committee prints, documents, house and senate reports, special publications, executive reports, and treaty documents. Published in two parts, an index (every third monthly index is a quarterly cumulation) and an abstract; the paperbound parts are kept in separate binders. The cumulated indexes and abstracts are also separate parts of the CIS ANNUAL. The Index of Subjects and Names (of those testifying in hearings) uses accession numbers for reference to abstracts of committee publications in the Abstract volumes. Supplementary indexes provide access to the abstracts through the title of a publication, the number of a bill, report or documents, or the name of a committee or subcommittee chairman. Library owns 1983 - . > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 Z7 I54 INDEX TO U.S. GOVERNMENT PERIODICALS. Chicago: Infordata, 1970 - . Author and subject entries for articles in periodicals published by the U.S. government. The journal abbreviation list in the front of each index volume gives the SuDoc classification number for the periodical. Those periodicals in the NMSU documents collection are indicated with a check mark. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual (monthly supplement). An index to all federal government publications which contain significant statistical data. Indexes by subject and name, title, agency report number, and categories (geographic, economic, standard classification systems, etc.). Library owns 1980 -. CENSUS > Branson (Doc Ref) C3.163/3:yr. United States Bureau of the Census. CENSUS CATALOG & GUIDE. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census. This is a cumulative list of both print and machine readable files covering census data. > Branson (Doc) C3.186: P-25 Census Bureau. POPULATION ESTIMATES AND PROJECTION. 1947 -. > Branson (Doc) C3.186: P-26 Census Bureau. FEDERAL-STATE COOPERATIVE PROGRAM FOR POPULATION ESTIMATES. 1969 - . This series presents population estimates for counties in those states in which the figures are prepared by state agency as part of the Federal Cooperative Program. > Branson (Doc) C3.186: P-60 Census Bureau. CONSUMER INCOME. Income in (year) of families in the United States (annual) 1967 - . Income in (year) of persons in the United States (annual) 1967 - . > Branson (Doc) C3.186: P70/2-no. Census Bureau. HOUSEHOLD ECONOMIC STUDIES (quarterly). > Branson (Doc) C3.186: P-95 Census Bureau. INTERNATIONAL POPULATION REPORTS. 1957 - . > Branson (Doc) C3.186/2:date Census Bureau. MONEY INCOME OF HOUSEHOLDS, FAMILIES, AND PERSONS IN THE UNITED STATES. (Annual) Includes data on households, families, subfamilies, and quasi households, and population in these units by age, for the U.S., urban and rural, civilian population; households, families, married couples, parent-child groups, and unrelated individuals, by total and urban and rural nonfarm characteristics of households, families and unrelated individuals, each by type, and all of subfamilies and husband-wife subfamilies. > Branson (Doc) C3.186/6:date Census Bureau. CHILD SUPPORT AND ALIMONY, CURRENT POPULATION REPORTS. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/6:date Census Bureau. MARITAL STATUS AND LIVING ARRANGEMENTS. (Annual) Gives for the civilian population, U.S.: marital status by age and sex for the total, for rural farm persons, and for nonwhite persons. > Branson (Doc) C3.186/7:date Census Bureau. ESTIMATES OF THE POPULATION OF THE UNITED STATES TO (date). > Branson (Doc) C3.186/7-2:date Census Bureau. ESTIMATES OF THE POPULATION OF THE UNITED STATES, BY AGE, SEX, AND RACE. > Branson (Doc) C3.186/8:date Census Bureau. POPULATION PROFILE OF THE UNITED STATES, CURRENT POPULATION REPORTS. > Branson (Doc) C3.186/9:date Census Bureau. HOUSEHOLDS, FAMILIES, MARITAL STATUS, AND LIVING ARRANGEMENTS, ADVANCE REPORT. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/10:date Census Bureau. FERTILITY OF AMERICAN WOMEN: CURRENT POPULATION REPORTS. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/12:date Census Bureau. SCHOOL ENROLLMENT - SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC CHARACTERISTICS OF STUDENTS. Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/13:date Census Bureau. CHARACTERISTICS OF HOUSEHOLDS AND PERSONS RECEIVING SELECTED NONCASH BENEFITS. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/14-2:date Census Bureau. HISPANIC POPULATION IN THE UNITED STATES. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/15:date Census Bureau. PROJECTIONS OF THE NUMBER OF HOUSEHOLDS AND FAMILIES. (Quinquennial) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/16:date Census Bureau. CHARACTERISTICS PF THE POPULATION BELOW THE POVERTY LEVEL. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/17:date Census Bureau. HOUSEHOLD AND FAMILY CHARACTERISTICS. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/18:date Census Bureau. GEOGRAPHICAL MOBILITY. (Annual) Gives for the civilian population 1 year old and over, for the U.S.: mobility status and type of mobility; place of residence and color; percent distribution by metropolitan- non metropolitan and urban-rural residence, age and sex, and percent distribution by color and sex for regions, each by region of residence of previous year of migration. > Branson (Doc) C3.186/20:date Census Bureau. PROVISIONAL ESTIMATES OF THE POPULATION OF COUNTIES. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/21: Census Bureau. STATE POPULATION AND HOUSEHOLD ESTIMATES WITH AGE, SEX, AND COMPONENTS OF CHANGE. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/22: Census Bureau. POVERTY IN THE UNITED STATES. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.186/23: Census Bureau. EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT IN THE UNITED STATES. (Annual) Contains data on trends in educational attainment and includes gender, racial, and regional differences. > Branson (Doc) C3.186/25: Census Bureau. FARM POPULATION OF THE UNITED STATES. (Annual) > Branson (Doc) C3.233/7: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF POPULATION: SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC CHARACTERISTICS BY STATE. > Branson (Doc) C3.223/7-2: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF POPULATION: SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC CHARACTERISTICS FOR AMERICAN INDIAN AND ALASKA NATIVE AREAS. > Branson (Doc) C3.223/10: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF POPULATION: POPULATION SUBJECT REPORTS. > Branson (Doc) C3.233/11: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING: POPULATION AND HOUSING CHARACTERISTICS FOR CENSUS TRACTS AND BLOCK NUMBERING AREAS (by state). > Branson (Doc) C3.233/18: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING: SUMMARY POPULATION AND HOUSING CHARACTERISTICS (by state). > Branson (Doc) C3.223/23: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING: SUMMARY SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, & HOUSING CHARACTERISTICS (by state). > Branson (Doc) C3.224/3:90-CH-1 Census Bureau. CENSUS OF HOUSING: GENERAL HOUSING CHARACTERISTICS (by state). > Branson (Doc) C3.224/3-2: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF HOUSING: GENERAL HOUSING CHARACTERISTICS FOR AMERICAN INDIAN AND ALASKA NATIVE AREAS. > Branson (Doc) C3.224/3-5: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF HOUSING: DETAILED HOUSING CHARACTERISTICS FOR AMERICAN INDIAN AND ALASKA NATIVE AREAS. > Branson (DocOffice) & (DocAtlas) G1201 E2 1992 Mattson, Mark T. ATLAS OF THE 1990 CENSUS. The Census in graphic display. CENSUS COMPUTER DISCS > Branson (Doc) C3.224/12: Census Bureau. CURRENT POPULATION SURVEY. > Branson (Doc) C3.282/2: Census Bureau. STF3A (by state) SUMMARY TAPE FILES. CENSUS OF POPULATION & HOUSING. > Branson (Doc) C3.282/3: Census Bureau. CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING BLOCK STATISTICS.