-----New Mexico State University Library (revised 7-14-95)----- How To Do Library Research in Public Health Care Policy No. 21, Summer 1995 Karen George and Karen Stabler, Compilers Conducting research in the field of public health care policy requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A - H, HM - PZ Branson: HA - HJ, Q - Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article it might provide leads to further sources. INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. ELECTRONIC INDEXES Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find reference to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on public health care policy. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. Many of these articles relate to health care, often from a business point of view. Appropriate subjects for this database would be health care policy and health insurance, among others. Updated monthly. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) CINAHL Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles which relate to various books, dissertations and conference proceedings since 1983. Includes articles in English for nursing including such subjects as health care industry, health policy, and public policy. > Branson (Library Network) MEDLINE MEDLINE is the bibliographic database of the National Library of Medicine. It is the computerized version of the CUMULATED INDEX MEDICUS. It also contains citations from the INDEX TO DENTAL LITERATURE and the INTERNATIONAL NURSING INDEX. The database covers a very wide range of subjects and includes amost anything that would be of interest to professionals in the health care field, such as anatomy, pharmacology, microbiology, and rural health care. International in scope, MEDLINE includes references to articles from over 3200 journals. The majority of references are in English, although articles in many langauages are described. About 50% of the records in MEDLINE include an abstract written by the article's author. The NMSU Library's subscription includes the current year, plus the two previous years. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of public health care. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) Sociofile Sociofile covers sociology and related disciplines, including international development from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. > NewLib (CD-ROM Area) Westlaw Westlaw is a computer-assisted legal research service. Legal resources can be searched using keywords and natural language. Some resources available through Westlaw include Supreme Court decisions, as well as those of lower courts; also covered are digests, citator services, statutes, and legislation and materials released by administrative agencies. Often information not yet available in print, such as recent Supreme Court decisions, can be found here. Westlaw is available only in New Library in the Reference Area and only to NMSU students, faculty, and staff for educational use. PRINTED INDEXES Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of public health care policy. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) AI3 S62 SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1975 - . Quarterly with annual cumulations. Similar to READERS' GUIDE, except that it indexes more scholarly journals. Covers all fields of social science including political science. Indexed by subject and author. Title varies: INTERNATIONAL INDEX (1916-1973); SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1965-1973); split into two indexes, the SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX (1974 - ) and the HUMANITIES INDEX (1974 - ). > NewLib (Ref Index Area) H96 P96 PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1991 - . Subject index to periodicals, pamphlets, some books, and some U.S. and foreign government publications. PAIS is also on CD-ROM in NewLib (Ref). > Branson (Ref Index Area) Z6660 INDEX MEDICUS AND CUMULATED INDEX MEDICUS. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, 1960 - . INDEX MEDICUS comes out monthly and is replaced at the end of each year by CUMULATED INDEX MEDICUS, which consists of many volumes of author and subject indexes. Volume One is medical subject headings. Because these headings do not change frequently, and because the subject index does not always give adequate cross- references, Volume One should be consulted. The LIST OF JOURNALS INDEXED IN INDEX MEDICUS gives journal abbreviations, classifies journals by broad subject areas, and lists journals by country of publication. The CUMULATED INDEX MEDICUS is also on CD-ROM as MEDLINE in Branson (Ref). > Branson (Ref Index Area) Z6675 N7 C8 CUMULATIVE INDEX TO NURSING & ALLIED HEALTH LITERATURE. Glendale: Glendale Adventist Medical Center, 1977 - . Bimonthly. Indexes journal articles on psychiatric nursing and on psychology as it applies to nursing and allied health fields. LOCATION OF JOURNALS Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of public health care policy. Branson HA1 R325o THE REVIEW OF ECONOMICS AND STATISTICS HD5701 J826h THE JOURNAL OF HUMAN RESOURCES HJ9103 G68 GOVERNMENT FINANCE REVIEW R11 N42j NEW ENGLAND JOURNAL OF MEDICINE R15 J6 JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION RA8 A18 WORLD HEALTH RA8 A22 BULLETIN OF THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION RA8 A25 TECHNICAL REPORT SERIES (WHO) RA395 A3 J68 fiche JOURNAL OF HEALTH POLITICS, POLICY AND LAW RA410 A1 H36 fiche HEALTH AFFAIRS RA410 A1 I58 fiche INQUIRY RA410.53 H415 fiche HEALTH CARE FINANCING REVIEW RA421 A66 ANNUAL REVIEW OF PUBLIC HEALTH RA441 W67 WORLD HEALTH FORUM Branson Government Documents HE3.3:v./no. SOCIAL SECURITY BULLETIN Official publication of the Social Security Administration. HE20.30:v./no. PUBLIC HEALTH REPORTS Provides a forum for scientific, technical, administrative and analytical articles of interest to the public health profession. HE20.3161:v.no. JOURNAL OF NATIONAL CANCER INSTITUTE Publishes original observations in laboratory and clinical research in cancer. HE20.3559:no. ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH PERSPECTIVES Provides communication of scientific information for understanding chemically induced disease. HE20.3813:v./no. ALCOHOL HEALTH AND RESEARCH WORLD Provides alcohol-related research information. HE20.4010:v./no. FDA CONSUMER Encourages compliance with the laws and regulations administered by the FDA on the part of the regulated industries, and provides information about their activities. HE20.7009:v./no. MORBIDITY AND MORTALITY WEEKLY REPORT Provides provisional information on selected notifiable diseases in the United States and on deaths in selected cities for each week. HE22.18:v./no. HEALTH CARE FINANCING REVIEW Provides information on health care administration, finance, costs, etc. L2.6:v./no. MONTHLY LABOR REVIEW Carries articles on labor economics and industrial relations, summaries of studies and reports, and technical notes. New Library H1 P72 POLICY STUDIES JOURNAL H35 P33 PUBLIC CHOICE H97 P66 POLICY STUDIES REVIEW HV97 M6 A32 MILBANK MEMORIAL FUND QUARTERLY JA1 P83 THE PUBLIC INTEREST JA3 W37 THE WASHINGTON MONTHLY (Ref) JK1 C15 CONGRESSIONAL QUARTERLY WEEKLY REPORT JK1 C65 CONGRESSIONAL DIGEST JK1 M5 AMERICAN REVIEW OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION JK1 N28 NATIONAL JOURNAL JK1 P96a PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION REVIEW JK2403 St29g THE JOURNAL OF STATE GOVERNMENT JS39 P97 PM, PUBLIC MANAGEMENT FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodicals areas. USING OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. THE CARD CATALOG Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. LIBRARY OF CONGRES SUBJECT HEADINGS To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." Suggested subject headings are: AIDS (Disease) Health Maintenance Organizations Insurance - Health Medicaid Medicare While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. LOCATION OF BOOKS To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. SELECTED LIST OF BOOKS > Branson HD7102 C2 T34 1990 Taylor, Malcolm G. INSURING NATIONAL HEALTH CARE: THE CANADIAN EXPERIENCE. Chapel Hill: U of North Carolina P, 1990. > NewLib HN59.2 S48 1992 Aaron, Henry J. and Charles L. Schultze. SETTING DOMESTIC PRIORITIES: WHAT CAN GOVERNMENT DO? Washington: Brookings Institution, 1992. > NewLib HN65 F85 1992 Pechman, Joseph A., ed. FULFILLING AMERICA'S PROMISE: SOCIAL POLICIES FOR THE 1990S. Ithaca: Cornell UP, 1992. > NewLib HV1451 E44 1994 Gill, Derek G., and Stanley R. Ingman, eds. ELDERCARE, DISTRIBUTIVE JUSTICE, AND THE WELFARE STATE: RETRENCHMENT OR EXPANSION. Albany: State U of New York P, 1994. > Branson R724 E8213 1990 Byrne, Peter, ed. ETHICS AND LAW IN HEALTH CARE AND RESEARCH. Chichester: Wiley, 1990. > Branson RA393 R593 1991 Roemer, Milton I. NATIONAL HEALTH SYSTEMS OF THE WORLD. New York: Oxford UP, 1991. > Branson RA395 A3 M84 1993 Mueller, Keith J. HEALTH CARE POLICY IN THE UNITED STATES. Lincoln: U of Nebraska P, 1993. > Branson RA410.53 R35 1992 Strosberg, Martin A., et al., eds. RATIONING AMERICA'S MEDICAL CARE: THE OREGON PLAN AND BEYOND. Washington: Brookings Institution, 1992. > Branson RA411 G68 1993 Graig, Laurene A. HEALTH OF NATIONS: AN INTERNATIONAL PERSPECTIVE ON U.S. HEALTH CARE REFORM. 2nd ed. Washington: Congressional Quarterly, 1993. > Branson RA418.5 P6 A26 1993 Abraham, Laurie K. MAMA MIGHT BE BETTER OFF DEAD: THE FAILURE OF HEALTH CARE IN URBAN AMERICA. Chicago: U of Chicago P, 1993. > Branson RA418.5 P6 A3 1993 Aday, Lu Ann. AT RISK IN AMERICA: THE HEALTH AND HEALTH CARE NEEDS OF VULNERABLE POPULATIONS IN THE UNITED STATES. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1993. > Branson RA422 P734 1990 Bergerhoff, Petra, Dieter Lehmann, and Peter Novak, eds. Primary Health Care: PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT, FAMILY MEDICINE, EPIDEMIOLOGY, AND HEALTH ECONOMICS. New York: Springer- Verlag, 1990. > Branson RA644.6 S34 1993 Schechter, Malvin. BEYOND MEDICARE: ACHIEVING LONG-TERM CARE SECURITY. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1993. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of public health care policy. INTERNET RESOURCES In addition to the in-library sources of information listed in this document, the NMSU Library Gopher provides access to internet resources on public health care policy. Choose the Resources by Subject option on the Library Gopher's main menu, then choose Health Sciences on the resulting menu. Ask a reference librarian if you need any help. STATISTICS > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 Un3s > Branson (Ref Info Desk) HA202 Un3s > Branson (Doc Office) Doc C3.134: STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1879 - . A single volume giving quantitative summary statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United States. References given for the sources of all tables. Statistics given cover a period of several years, usually 15 or 20. Latest edition at reference desks and Government Documents. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209/3:no. ADVANCE DATA. Washington: GPO. Subjects vary. Materials arise from the results of the National Health Interview Survey. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209/4-3:yr. (annual) NATIONAL HEALTH INTERVIEW SURVEY. Washington: GPO. On CD-ROM. One of the oldest health surveys, provides information on the health of residents, civilian non- institutionalized population. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209/4:yr. (annual) CURRENT ESTIMATES FROM THE NATIONAL HEALTH INTERVIEW SURVEY. Washington: GPO. Presents estimates of acute conditions, episodes of persons injured, restriction in activity, prevalence of chronic conditions, limitation of activity due to chronic conditions, respondent-assessed health status and the use of medical services. Estimates are presented in detailed tables. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209/5:yr. (annual) DISABILITY DAYS, U.S. Washington: GPO. Presents statistics on the number of days of restricted activity and bed disability per person per year, days lost from work for currently employed persons 18-64, and days lost from school per child 5-17. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209/6:yr. SURGICAL AND NONSURGICAL PROCEDURES IN SHORT-STAY HOSPITALS, UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO. Statistics are presented on the number and rate of procedures performed by inpatients in non-federal short- stay hospitals as well as hospital characteristics. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209/7:yr. NATIONAL HOSPITAL DISCHARGE SURVEY: ANNUAL SUMMARY. Washington: GPO. Provides statistics on the utilization of non-federal short-stay hospitals. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209/8:yr INPATIENT UTILIZATION OF SHORT-STAY HOSPITALS BY DIAGNOSIS, UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO. Provides statistics on the utilization of non-federal short-stay hospitals. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209:10/no. HEALTH INTERVIEW SURVEY STATISTICS. Washington: GPO. Statistics of illness, accidental injuries, disability, use of hospital, medical, dental, and other services, and other health related topics. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209:ll/no. HEALTH EXAMINATION SURVEY STATISTICS. Washington: GPO. Data from the direct examination, testing and measurement of national samples of the population of the U.S., including the medically defined prevalence of specific diseases and distributions of the population with respect to various physical and physiological measurements. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209:12/no. HEALTH RECORDS SURVEY STATISTICS. Washington: GPO. Reports on the health characteristics of persons in institutions, and on hospital, medical nursing, and personal care received, based on national samples of establishments providing these services. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209:13/no. HOSPITAL DISCHARGE SURVEY STATISTICS. Washington: GPO. Statistics relating to discharged patients in short-stay hospitals. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209:14/no. HEALTH RESOURCES DATA: MANPOWER AND FACILITIES. Washington: GPO. Statistics on the numbers, geographic distribution, and characteristics of health resources which include physicians, dentists, nurses, other health manpower occupations, hospitals, nursing homes, and outpatient and other inpatient facilities. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6209:21/no. NATALITY DATA. Washington: GPO. Data on birth by age of mother, birth order, and geographic areas, states and cities. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6210:v./no. VITAL STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO. Detailed and comprehensive report on U.S. vital statistics. Comprised of three volumes: V.1, natality statistics; V.2, mortality statistics; and V.3, marriage and divorce statistics. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6217:v./no. MONTHLY VITAL STATISTICS. Washington: GPO. Provides advance data on natality, mortality, marriage, divorce and other topics. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6223:yr. (annual) HEALTH, UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO. Reports on the health status of the nation. Divided into two parts: first, a chartbook on minority health consisting of 33 charts and text; second, 134 detailed tables which show continuing trends in health statistics. > NewLib J87 N6 F201.81, H43 Brook, Kathleen, Kevin Boberg, and Linda Riley. HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE IN NEW MEXICO. Las Cruces: Center for Business Research and Services, 1991. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 H204.1, H43 NEW MEXICO SELECTED HEALTH STATISTICS: ANNUAL REPORT. Santa Fe: New Mexico Health and Environment Dept., 1990. Statistics on natality, mortality, and communicable diseases in New Mexico. Also includes county health profiles. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 H204.14 NEW MEXICO EPIDEMIOLOGY REPORT. Santa Fe: Office of the Chief Medical Officer, 1983 - . Issued monthly, bound annually. Continues the NEW MEXICO COMMUNICABLE DISEASE SUMMARY, issued from 1953-1982. The library's holdings date from 1962. Recent issues are in the Periodicals area. > NewLib (New Per) J87 N6 H204.15 V83 NEW MEXICO HEALTH STATISTICS. Santa Fe: New Mexico Dept. of Health, Public Health Division, Office of Vital Records and Health Statistics, 1992 - . Monthly. Recent issues are in the periodicals area. Continues NEW MEXICO MONTHLY VITAL STATISTICS REPORTS , issued from 1972-1991. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual (monthly supplement). An index to all federal government publications which contain significant statistical data. Indexed by subject and name, title, agency report number, and categories (geographic, economic, standard classification systems, etc.). Library owns 1980 - . GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in the study of public health care policy. Many of these materials are on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. INDEXES TO GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to thepresent. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bimonthly. > Branson (Doc Ref) KF49 C62 CIS Index The CIS Index is used to identify, evaluate and obtain information contained in the United States Congresses working papers. It covers hearings, prints, documents, reports and special publications. The set in Documents begins in 1983 and is a monthly publication which is cumulated annually. CONGRESSIONAL REPORTS > Branson (Doc)Y4.Ag4:S.HRG.103-615 (microfiche) LONG-TERM CARE PROVISIONS IN THE PRESIDENT'S HEALTH CARE REFORM PLAN: HEARING BEFORE THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON AGING, UNITED STATES SENATE, ONE HUNDRED THIRD CONGRESS, FIRST SESSION, MADISON, WI, NOVEMBER 12, 1983. Washington: GPO, 1994. > Branson (Doc) Y4.Ag4/2:G28/3 (microfiche) HEALTH CARE FOR ALL GENERATIONS: A BRIEFING. Washington: GPO, 1992. > Branson (Doc) Y4.Ag4/2:H34/52 (microfiche) HEALTH CARE REFORM: HEARING BEFORE THE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HOUSING AND CONSUMER INTERESTS OF THE SELECT COMMITTEE ON AGING, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 102ND CONGRESS, 2ND SESSION, MARCH 9, 1992, EWING TOWNSHIP, NJ. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.Ag4/2:Un3/5 (microfiche) THE NEED FOR U.S. HEALTH REFORM: UNINSURED AND CHRONICALLY ILL AMERICANS: JOINT HEARING BEFORE THE SELECT COMMITTEE ON AGING AND THE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND LONG-TERM CARE OF THE SELECT COMMITTEE ON AGING, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 102ND CONGRESS, 2ND SESSION, FEBRUARY 6, 1992. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.EN2/3:102-158 (microfiche) HEALTH CARE POLICY AND RESEARCH: HEARING BEFORE THE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND THE ENVIRONMENT OF THE COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, ONE HUNDRED SECOND CONGRESS, SECOND SESSION, ON H.R. 5346, A BILL REALTING TO NATIVE HAWAIIAN HEALTH CARE, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES, JULY 20, 1992. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.F49:S.HRG. 102-168 (microfiche) REFORM OF THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM: HEARING BEFORE THE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH FOR FAMILIES AND THE UNINSURED OF THE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, UNITED STATES SENATE, 102ND CONGRESS, 1ST SESSION, FEBRUARY 25, 1991. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.F49:S.HRG. 102-462 (microfiche) COMPREHENSIVE REFORM OF THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM: HEARINGS BEFORE THE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH FOR FAMILIES AND THE UNINSURED OF THE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, United States Senate, 102nd Congress, 1st Session, on S. 1227 and S. 1669, September 23 and 30, 1991. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.F49:S.HRG. 103-609 (microfiche) EXPERIENCE OF FOREIGN NATIONS IN CONTROLLING HEALTH CARE COSTS: HEARING BEFORE THE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, UNITED STATES SENATE, 103RD COONGRESS, 1ST SESSION, OCTOBER 13, 1993. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.F49:S.HRG.103-612 (microfiche) UNDERLYING CAUSES OF RISING HEALTH CARE COSTS: HEARING BEFORE THE COMMITTEE OF FINANCE, UNITED STATES SENATE, 103RD CONGRESS, 1ST SESSION, OCTOBER 6, 1993. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.F49:S.HRG.103-643 (microfiche) PRESIDENT'S HEALTH CARE REFORM LEGISLATION: HEARING BEFORE THE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, UNITED STATES SENATE, 103RD CONGRESS, 1ST SESSION, OCTOBER 28 AND NOVEMBER 3 AND 4, 1993. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.L11/4:S.HRG. 102-38 (microfiche) THE HEALTH CARE CRISIS AND THE AMERICAN FAMILY: HEARING BEFORE THE COMMITTEE ON LABOR AND HUMAN RESOURCES, UNITED STATES SENATE, 102ND CONGRESS, FIRST SESSION, JANUARY 10, 1991. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.SM1:103-58 (microfiche) HEALTH CARE OPPORTUNITIES FOR MINORITIES: HEARING BEFORE THE SUBCOMMITTEE ON MINORITY ENTERPRISES, FINANCE, AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT OF THE COMMITTEE ON SMALL BUSINESS, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 103RD CONGRESS, 1ST SESSION, WASHINGTON, DC, NOVEMBER 9, 1993. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.W36:102-89 (microfiche) PRESIDENT'S PROPOSALS ON HEALTH CARE REFORM AND THE FISCAL YEAR 1993 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES BUDGET: HEARINGS BEFORE THE COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 102ND CONGRESS, 2ND SESSION, FEBRUARY 20; MARCH 3, 4, AND 5, 1992. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.W36:103-66 (microfiche) CONGRESSIONAL BUDGET OFFICE'S ANALYSIS OF THE PRESIDENT'S HEALTH CARE REFORM PROPOSAL: HEARING BEFORE THE COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 103RD CONGRESS, 2ND SESSION, FEBRUARY 8, 1994. Washington: GPO. > Branson (Doc) Y4.3:S.HRG102-1059 (microfiche) HEALTH CARE REFORM: HEARINGS BEFORE THE DEMOCRATIC POLICY COMMITTEE, FIELD HEARINGS ON HEALTH CARE REFORM, DECEMBER 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 1991 AND JANUARY 27, 1992. Washington: GPO. AAGENCY REPORTS > Branson (Doc) GA1.13:HRD-91-102 (microfiche) U.S. HEALTH CARE SPENDING TRENDS, CONTRIBUTING FACTORS, AND PROPOSALS FOR REFORM: REPORT TO THE CHAIRMAN, COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) GA1.5/2:T-HRD92-32 (microfiche) MEDICARE, CONTRACTOR OVERSIGHT AND FUNDING NEED IMPROVEMENT STATEMENT OF JANET L. SHIKLES, DIRECTOR, HEALTH FINANCING AND POLICY ISSUES, HUMAN RESOURCES DIVISION, BEFORE THE UNITED STATES SENATE. Washington: GPO, 1992. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6502:C43/2 INSURING THE CHILDREN: A DECADE OF CHANGE. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6502:EL2/3 TRACING THE ELDERLY THROUGH THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM: AN UPDATE. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6502:R31/3 CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS: PRIMARY CARE RESEARCH: AN AGENDA FOR THE 90S. Washington: GPO, 1990. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6502:R31/6 PROGRESS OF RESEARCH ON OUTCOMES OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES AND PROCEDURES: REPORT TO CONGRESS. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6502:R88 RURAL HEALTH CARE RESEARCH: IMPACTING VULNERABLE POPULATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6502:R88/2 DELIVERING ESSENTIAL HEALTH CARE SERVICES IN RURAL AREAS: AN ANALYSIS OF ALTERNATIVE MODELS. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6502:W89 MANDATING HEALTH COVERAGE FOR WORKING AMERICANS. Washington: GPO, 1990. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6509:L85 ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY: LONG-TERM CARE STUDIES. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6512/6:B56 ACCESS TO MEDICAL CARE FOR BLACK AMERICANS WITH AN EPISODE OF ILLNESS. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6512/6:M46/9 MEDICAL TREATMENT EFFECTIVENESS RESEARCH: A VIEW FROM INSIDE THE AGENCY FOR HEALTH CARE POLICY AND RESEARCH. Washington: GPO, 1991. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6512/6:R88/2 RURAL HEALTH CARE: THE FUTURE OF THE HOSPITAL. Washington: GPO, 1990. > Branson (Doc) HE20.6517/3:4 NATIONAL MEDICAL EXPENDITURE SURVEY: QUESTIONNAIRES AND DATA COLLECTION METHODS FOR THE MEDICAL PROVIDER SURVEY: METHODS 4. Washington: GPO, 1992. LEGAL MATERIALS - UNITED STATES STATUTORY LAW > Branson (Doc Ref) AE2.110:Congress/no. SLIP LAWS. Washington: GPO. Before the laws are available in the STATUTES AT LARGE, they are issued as slip laws. Includes the text of the law, its STATUTES AT LARGE number, and its legislative history. > NewLib (Ref) KF50 U54 UNITED STATES STATUTES AT LARGE. Washington: Administrator of General Services by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, 1937 - . Annual. Published at the end of each session of Congress since 1789, includes public and private laws, reorganization plans, and congressional resolutions and proclamations (on microfiche 1846-1848; 1851-1937 bound 1937 - ). > NewLib (Ref) KF62 1982 A2 UNITED STATES CODE. Washington: GPO, 1983 - . Codified law is presented in subject order with annual pocket pages updating each volume. Annotations include historical notes and cross-references. > Branson (Doc) Y1.4/1 - Y1.4/9 CONGRESSIONAL BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS. Washington: GPO, 96th Congress - . The Government Printing Office currently issues bills on microfiche. These bills are indexed in the CIS INDEX (Doc Ref KF49 C62 year). A summary of the bill can be found in the DIGEST OF PUBLIC GENERAL BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS. (Doc Ref LC14.6:Congress.#/Session). ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS > Branson (Doc Ref) AE2.106: FEDERAL REGISTER. Washington: GPO. Changes and proposed regulations first appear in this work. These regulations are indexed in the CIS FEDERAL REGISTER INDEX (Doc Ref KF70.A2, 1984 - ). Current year in paper format located in the documents reference area. V.50 - next most recent year (1985 - ) located in the documents microfiche cabinets, AE2.106:volume. V.44-50 (1979-1985) located in documents microfiche cabinets, GS4.107:volume. V.1-43 (1936-1978) located in the documents microfilm cabinets, GS4.107:volume. > Branson (Doc Ref) AE2.106/3:title/pt. CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS. Washington: GPO, current year and two preceding years. Includes agency regulations which have the force of law. Arranged by separate volumes (titles) each with its own index. COURTS > NewLib (Ref) KF101 A2 UNITED STATES REPORTS. New York: Banks & Bros., Law Pub., 1984 - . Bound volumes are issued during each court term and include full text of all decisions. Prior to issuing the bound volume the decisions are either issued as Slip opinions and are in pamphlet form in government documents or are available in the UNITED STATES LAW WEEK NewLib (Ref) K25 N55. (Ju6.8/6). Vols. 1- 29 of UNITED STATES REPORTS are in NewLib microfilm. > NewLib (Ref) KF101.1 D5 DIGEST OF UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT REPORTS. Lawyer's ed. Rochester: Lawyer's Cooperative, 1948 - . Indexes to court cases of the U.S. Supreme Court. These are cross-references to AMERICAN LAW REPORTS ANNOTATED. Includes a Table of Cases, court rules, and citator information referring to modification of a point of law. LEGAL MATERIALS - NEW MEXICO STATUTORY LAW > NewLib J87 N6 A400.34 HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS, LEGISLATURE, STATE OF NEW MEXICO. Santa Fe: New Mexico Legislature. House of Representatives. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 B261.31 1978 NEW MEXICO STATUTES ANNOTATED 1978. Charlottesville: Michie, 1982 - . Annual. Codified law is presented in subject order with annual pocket pages updating each volume. Annotations include historical notes, cross-references, constitutional provisions, and notes of decisions. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 C801.31 LAWS OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO. Charlottesville: Michie, 1913 - . An annual cumulation of laws passed for each session. Laws are arranged by chapters. > Branson (Periodicals Area) LEGISLATIVE BILLS. Santa Fe: New Mexico Legislature, 1971 - . Current house and state bills are available in looseleaf form. They are indexed in the BILL LOCATOR. Older bills are shelved; the call number is J87 N6 A400.34. COURTS > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 BIO1.81 C33 vol.year New Mexico Supreme Court. REPORT OF CASES DETERMINED IN THE SUPREME COURT AND COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO. St Paul: West, 1912 - . vol. 20 - . Commonly called NEW MEXICO REPORTS. The index for this set is the NEW MEXICO DIGEST ((Ref) KFN3657 N48 Suppl.). > NewLib (Ref) KFN3657 N48 NEW MEXICO DIGEST. St. Paul: West, 1948. Index to court cases arising from New Mexico reported in NEW MEXICO REPORTS, PACIFIC REPORTER, U.S. REPORTS, and federal courts.