-----New Mexico State University Library (revised 7-13-95)----- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION No. 18, Summer 1995 Karen Stabler, Compiler Conducting research in the field of public administration requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A - H, HM - PZ Branson: HA - HJ, Q - Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science Special Collections materials and refernce books cannot be checked out. United States Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS > NewLib (Ref) H41 I5 1968 Sills, David L., ed. INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. 18 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1968. Includes lengthy articles on public administration, law, community, and other related topics. Includes useful bibliographies. > NewLib (Ref) H62.5 U5 E58 1988 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PUBLIC AFFAIRS INFORMATION SOURCES. Detroit: Gale, 1988. > Branson (Ref) HC79 E5 G52 1986 Gilpin, Alan. ENVIRONMENTAL PLANNING: A CONDENSED ENCYCLOPEDIA. Park Ridge: Noyes, 1986. Defines over 800 terms, programs, plans and laws. Covers primarily the United States and the United Kingdom. > Branson (Ref) HD30.15 E49 1982 Heyel, Carl, ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MANAGEMENT. 3rd ed. New York: Von Nostrand Reinhold, 1982. Provides definitions of management terms. Entries also include references cited, cross-references and name of contributor. > NewLib (Ref) HT108.5 A24 > NewLib HT108.5 A24 Abrams, Charles. LANGAUGE OF CITIES: A GLOSSARY OF TERMS. New York: Viking, 1971. Dictionary of urban terminology written for the layman and the expert. > NewLib (Ref) JA61 S54 1985 Shafritz, Jay M. THE FACTS ON FILE DICTIONARY OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION. New York: Facts on File, 1985. Entries define or identify interdisciplinary terms, concepts, organizations, statutes, phrases, theory, laws, practices, literature, institutions, and names of persons in political administration. The quotes and references to authoritative sources make this a benchmark reference tool. > NewLib (Ref) JK9 P55 1979 Plano, Jack C., and Milton Greenburg. THE AMERICAN POLITICAL DICTIONARY. 5th ed. New York: Holt, 1979. Terms are arranged alphabetically under 18 chapter headings. Useful headings would be "Public Administration" and "State and Local Government." Besides defining the term, the author explains its significance. > NewLib (Ref) JK9 S42 1988 Shafritz, Jay M. DORSEY DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN GOVERNMENT AND POLITICS. Chicago: Dorsey, 1988. Over 4,000 entries containing explanations of the terms, phrases, and processes essential for an understanding of American government and politics. Includes entries on significant Supreme Court cases, biographical information, laws, and political slang. Appendices include the Constitution of the United States, a guide to federal government documents, a guide to statistical information on American government, a guide to online databases, and key concepts organized by subject. > NewLib (Ref) JS48 S65 1990 Smith, John William. THE URBAN POLITICS DICTIONARY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1990. There are approximately 600 entries. Entries include definitions, significance, and suggested readings when available. > NewLib (Ref) KF4548 E53 1986 > NewLib (Ref) KF4548 E53 1986 Suppl. Levy, Leonard W., Kenneth L. Karst, and Dennis J. Mahoney, eds. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE AMERICAN CONSTITUTION. 4 vols. and Supplement. New York: Macmillan, 1986. Presents and analyzes major historical, political, and legal aspects of the Constitution. Includes biographical information. There is a bibliography at the end of most articles. > NewLib (Ref) KF4548.5 C47 1985 Chandler, Ralph C. THE CONSTITUTIONAL LAW DICTIONARY. 4 vols. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1985 - . Vol. 1 (Individual Rights) and Vol. 2 (Governmental Powers) focus on constitutional concepts, words and phrases, and leading court cases of the U.S. Supreme Court. In addition, Vol. 2 contains biographical information on leading U.S. Supreme Court Justices. GUIDES AND HANDBOOKS > Branson (Ref) H61.3 I56a > NewLib (Ref) H61.3 I56a GUIDE TO RESOURCES AND SERVICES. Ann Arbor: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Socaial Research, 1977 - . > NewLib (Ref) JA71 H64 1986 Holler, Frederick L. INFORMATION SOURCES OF POLITICAL SCIENCE. 4th ed. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1986. Lists reference materials relating to political science. Chapter 7 is directly related to public administration. > NewLib (Ref) JK421 C59 1990 Coleman, James R. PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION DESK BOOK. Newton: Government Research, 1990. Includes annotated reference sources for public administration. > NewLib (Ref) JK2403 B644 THE BOOK OF THE STATES. Lexington: Council of State Governments, 1935 - . Annual. A manual of state activities covering the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, elections, finances, management and administration, state activities, issues and services, and intergovernmental affairs. > NewLib JK2445 I57 G85 1986 Sulzer, Jack and Roberta Palen. GUIDE TO PUBLICATIONS OF INTERSTATE AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES. Chicago: ALA, 1987. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. Lists of references following a journal articles can provide leads to further sources. INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to electronic and print indexes. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. ELECTRONIC INDEXES Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find reference to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on public administration topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. Updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the reference desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. Many of these articles relate to public finance, often from a business point of view. Appropriate subjects for this database would be government spending, civil service and bureaucracy, among others. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) Westlaw Westlaw is a computer-assisted legal research service. Legal resources can be searched using keywords and natural language. Some resources available through Westlaw include Supreme Court decisions as well as those of lower courts; also covered are digests, citator services, statutes, and information not yet available in print, such as recent Supreme Court decisions, can be found here. Westlaw is available only to NMSU students, faculty, and staff for educational use. PRINTED INDEXES Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of public administration. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) AI3 R227 READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE. New York: Wilson, 1900 - . Semi-monthly with annual cumulation. Index to more than 150 popular magazines and journals. Arranged by subject and author. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) AI3 S62 SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. Bronx: Wilson, 1974 - . Quarterly with annual cumulations. Similar to READERS' GUIDE, except that it indexes more scholarly journals. Covers all fields of social science including political science. Indexed by subject and author. Title varies: INTERNATIONAL INDEX (1916-1973); SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1965-1973); split into two indexes, the SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX and the HUMANITIES INDEX (1974 - ). > NewLib (Ref) AS36 R152 SELECTED RAND ABSTRACTS. Santa Monica: Rand Corp., 1963 - . Quarterly. Indexes and abstracts of Rand Corporation reports on topics such as policy making, decision making, and planning concerning crime, courts, and police. > NewLib (Ref) G1 G293a F GEO ABSTRACTS: F, REGIONAL AND COMMUNITY PLANNING. Norwich: University of East Anglia, 1972-85. Indexes journal articles, government publications, books, proceedings, and dissertations covering economic, social, and environmental planning. Abstracts are included. > NewLib (Periodicals) H1 C87 CURRENT CONTENTS: SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES. Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1974 - . Weekly. Reproductions of the tables of contents of over 1,300 journals, mainly in English, in the social and behavioral sciences. Arranged under various disciplines including political science. Each issue contains a title word index listing words of every article and book title. Author index and address directory. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) H96 P96 PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1991 - . Subject index to periodicals, pamphlets, some books, and some U.S. and foreign governement publications covering economic and social conditions, public administration, and politics. > NewLib (Ref) JA1 A1 C65 Wile, Annadel N. C.R.I.S. THE COMBINED RETROSPECTIVE INDEX SET TO JOURNALS IN POLITICAL SCIENCE, 1886-1974. 8 vols. Washington: Carrollton, 1977-78. Includes citations to articles in English language periodicals covering all periods and areas of political science. Vols. 3-6 cover public administration. > NewLib (Ref) JA36 In8p INTERNATIONAL POLITICAL SCIENCE ABSTRACTS. Paris: International Political Science Assn., 1945 - . Quarterly with annual cumulations. Indexes and abstracts journal articles on political science including public administration. Scope is international, including articles in English and French. Entries are topically arranged. Library subscription begins with vol. 12 (1962). > NewLib (Ref Index Area) K9 N32 INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS AND BOOKS. New York: Wilson, 1994 - . Subject and author index to articles in legal periodicals. Continues INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS, 1908-93. LOCATION OF JOURNALS Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. SELECTED LIST OF CURRENT JOURNALS The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of public administration. Branson HB3505 A66 American Demographics HD28 A25 Administrative Science Quarterly HD28 J597 Journal of Management HD69 D4 D43 Decision Sciences HD87.5 A46> Journal of the American Planning Association HD2763 A2 P96u Public Utilities Fortnightly HD7106 U5 E55 Employee Benefit Plan Review (Docs) HE3.3:yr. Social Security Bulletin HF1225 Am35b American Business Law Journal HF5001 H3 Harvard Business Review HJ101 P83 Public Finance Quarterly HJ2052 A2 P8 Public Budgeting & Finance HJ9103 G68 Government Finance Review HJ9801 F317> The Government Accountants Journal (Docs) L2.6:v./no. Monthly Labor Review TA395 A3 J68 Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law TD1 P96w Public Works New Library (Ref) D410 F119 Facts on File H1 Am35> Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science H1 B76 Brookings Review H1 C34 The Cato Journal H1 P72 Policy Studies Journal H1 P8 Political Science Quarterly H1 So89s Social Science Quarterly H35 P33 Public Choice H62 P65 Policy Studies Review Annual H96 J68 Journal of Public Policy H97 J66 Journal of Accounting and Public Policy H97 P65 Policy Evaluation H97 P66 Policy Studes Review HM1 E8 Evaluation Review: A Journal of Applied Social Research HM134 G73 Group & Organization Studies HM206 E5 Environment and Behavior HN51 J826s Journal of Social Issues HN51 S5 Social Forces HT401 R88 Rural Sociology HV1 So145 Social Service Review HV6001 J67 Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency HV7551 J687 Journal of Police Science and Administration JA1 A6 American Political Science Review JA1 M5 American Journal of Political Science JA1 P83 The Public Interest JA1 S68 Public Administration Quarterly JA3 P65 Polity: The Journal of Northeastern Political Science JA51 P8 Journal of Policy Analysis and Management JF501 L42 Legislative Studies Quarterly JF1411 P8 Public Productivity and Management Review JF1601 R4 Review of Public Personnel Administration JK1 B86 The Bureaucrat JK1 C15 Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report JK1 G58 Government Executive JK1 M5 American Review of Public Administration JK1 N28 National Journal JK1 P96a Public Administration Review JK671 P47 Public Personnel Management JK2403 F72 From the State Capitols, Federal Action Affecting the States JK2403 St29g Spectrum: Journal of State Government JS39 N213mr National Civic Review JS39 P97 PM Public Management K5 M64 Employee Relations Law Journal K14 O77 Northwestern University Law Review P91.3 H85 Human Communication Research FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas and on each floor. Access to OLE is possible through Cafe OLE from a remote site. You can access Cafe OLE from any of the computer labs on campus. Start a new session with your Telnet software and type or select library for the host or session name. You can also access the system using a modem or TAU. Dial the NMSU-Net at 646-4942 and type library at the NMSU-Net> prompt. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodcals areas. USING OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. THE CARD CATALOG Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi- volume Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search when using the s/ command. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." Under the term public administration some of the narrower terms listed are: Bureaucracy Civil service Expenditures, public Office practice in government Personnel management Other subject headings include: Court administration Line and staff organization Organizational behavior Organizational change Police administration Prison Administration While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. LOCATION OF BOOKS To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, a "(SpC)" designation means the book is located in Special Collections (Branson). A "(Ref)" designation means the book is located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of public administration. BIBLIOGRAPHIES Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of public administration. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Public Administration - Bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > NewLib JK411 B32 1982 Stillman, Richard J., ed. BASIC DOCUMENTS OF AMERICAN PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION SINCE 1950. New York: Holmes, 1982. > Branson Z7161 R59 1984 Robey, John S. PUBLIC POLICY ANALYSIS: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1984. > Branson Z7164 A2 A53 1983 Caiden, Gerald E., et al. AMERICAN PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION: A BIBLIOGRAPHICAL GUIDE TO THE LITERATURE. New York: Garland, 1983. > Branson Z7164 A2 H8 1984 Huddleston, Mark W. COMPARATIVE PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1984. > Branson Z7164 T7 C39 1984 Cayer, N. Joseph, and Sherry S. Dickerson. LABOR MANAGEMENT RELATIONS IN THE PUBLIC SECTOR: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1984. STATISTICS > Branson (Doc) C3.145/4 CENSUS OF GOVERNMENTS. Washington: Bureau of Census, 1983 - . Provides statistics on local, municipal, and state governments. Also includes special districts and school districts. > Branson (Ref) HA1 D37 Manheim, Jarol B., and Allison Ondrasik. DATAMAP. NewYork: Longman, 1983-90. Index to over 13,000 statistical tables. The 27 sources indexed include U.S. Government, U.N. publications, and major almanacs. 1989 edition is in Branson reference. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) HA202 A36 > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 A36 COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1949 - . Extracts statistics from private sources and several different Census Bureau series. Access is by county, by Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA), and by cities with population of over 25,000. Print and CD-ROM versions available in Government Documents. > Branson (Ref and Ref Info Desk) HA202 S72 > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 S72 STATE AND METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1979 - . Arranged in three parts: by state, metropolitan areas arranged alphabetically, and metropolitan areas ranked by population-size categories. Copy also available in Government Documents. > Branson (Ref and Ref Info Desk) HA202 Un3s > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 Un3s STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1878 - . A single volume giving quantitative summary statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United States. References given for the sources of all tables. Statistics given cover a period of several years, usually 15 or 20. Latest edition at reference desks and Documents. > Branson (Ref) HA203 A5 ALMANAC OF THE 50 STATES. Palo Alto: Information Publ., 1985 - . Annual. Divided into two parts. Part 1 includes State profiles organized into subject categories. Part 2 includes Comparative tables providing tabular data on how states compare in regard to a given characteristic, such as government and elections, governmental finance, economy, business, industry and agriculture. > Branson (Doc Ref) J87 N6 F112.72 > NewLib J87 N6 F112.72 NEW MEXICO STATISTICAL ABSTRACT. Albuquerque: Bureau of Business & Economics Research, University of New Mexico, 1975 - 1989. A single volume providing summary statistics on political, social, and economic issues in New Mexico. Latest edition in reference. > NewLib (Ref) JK274 S74 1994 Stanley, Harold W., and Richard G. Niemi. VITAL STATISTICS ON AMERICAN POLITICS. 4th ed. Washington: Congressional Quarterly, 1994. Covers such topics as elections, Congress, the Presidency and the judiciary, media, interest groups, foreign, social and economic policy, and a variety of issues related to state and local government. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual (monthly supplement). An index to all federal government publications which contain significant statistical data. Indexed by subject and name, title, agency report number, and categories (geographic, economic, standard classification systems, etc.). Library owns 1980 - . ALMANAC > NewLib JK271 H23 1992 Haas, Lawrence J. WASHINGTON ALMANAC: A GUIDE TO FEDERAL POLICY. New York: Holt, 1992. The 23 chapters cover public concerns such as education, health, states and cities, taxes, environment, energy and other topics. Each chapter includes the current key issues as well as the key people in the public sector and the private sector. DIRECTORIES > NewLib (Ref) AS22 E5 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS. Detroit: Gale, 1955 - . Annual. Contains over 23,000 organizations arranged by subject. Three volumes cover national organizations of the U.S.; two volumes cover international organizations. Latest edition at reference desk. > NewLib (Ref) AS22 E56 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS. REGIONAL, STATE AND LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS. Detroit: Gale, 1987 - . Lists non-profit regional and local organizations in western states including New Mexico. Arranged alphabetically by state and then subdivided by city. > NewLib (Ref) F192.3 W33 WASHINGTON INFORMATION DIRECTORY. Washington: Congressional Quarterly, 1976 - . Biennial. Guide to executive, congressional, and non-governmental agencies in the Washington DC area. Arranged by subject such as "economics and business", "housing and urban affairs", and "transportation". Each entry includes address, telephone number, principal officers, and statement of purpose. > Branson (Doc Ref) JK6 F45 FEDERAL YELLOW BOOK. Washington: Washington Monitor, 1976 - . Provides names, addresses, and telephone numbers of federal departments and agencies. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) JK464 Un3 THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT MANUAL. Washington: Office of the Federal Register, 1974 - . Annual. The official handbook of the U.S. Government. Lists and describes the functions of all departments of the federal government, their divisions, bureaus, commissions and services, appendices, name index, and agency/subject index. > NewLib (Ref) JK468 C7 E5 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF GOVERNMENTAL ADVISORY ORGANIZATIONS. Detroit: Gale, 1973 - . Lists over 6,000 advisory committees. Subdivided into ten subject areas including agriculture, education, environment, health, and transportation. Provides information on history and authority, program funding and/or recommendations, membership, and staff. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) JK1011 O33 OFFICIAL CONGRESSIONAL DIRECTORY. Washington: GPO, 1887 - . Biennial. Includes biographical information on all members of Congress. Lists committees and their members. Also included are biographies of the President, Vice President, U.S. Supreme Court Justices, officials of international organizations, foreign diplomatic and Consular officers in the U.S., and U.S. officers abroad. > NewLib (Ref) JK1012 C65 CONGRESSIONAL STAFF DIRECTORY. Alexandria: Congressional Staff Directory, 1959 - . Biennial. Brief biographical information on the members of the U.S. Congress and their staffs and the staffs of joint committees. > Branson (Doc Ref) JK1083 B55 CONGRESSIONAL YELLOW BOOK. Washington: Washington Monitor, 1976 - . Lists U.S. senators and representatives and their staffs. Also includes committee staffs. > NewLib (Ref) JK1118 P79 PUBLIC INTEREST PROFILES. Washington: Foundation for Public Affairs, 1988 - . Topically arranged, lists 251 activist groups on public policy. Entries include informaiton on purpose, staff director, tax status, budget, funding sources, scope, PAC, method of operation, current concerns, publicaitons, newsletter conferences, board of directors, effectiveness, and political orientation. > NewLib (Ref) JK2403 B6443 STATE ELECTIVE OFFICIALS AND THE LEGISLATURES. Lexington: Council of State Governments, 1977 - . Biennial. Arranged alphabetically by state, provides usual directory- type information such as name, home address, party affiliation, and district number for all elected officials. Also includes state Supreme Court justices. > NewLib (Ref) JK2403 B6444 STATE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICIALS CLASSIFIED BY FUNCTIONS. Chicago: Council of State Governments, 1967 - . Biennial. Gives names and addresses of officials of 149 functional areas of state administrative services. > NewLib (Ref) JK2443 N37 THE NATIONAL DIRECTORY OF STATE AGENCIES. Washington: Information Resources, 1975 - . Directory-type information for all elected state officials and state agencies. The first section is arranged by states. The second section is arranged by agency function. > NewLib (Ref) JK2497 P45 STATE LEGISLATIVE LEADERSHIP, COMMITTEES, AND STAFF. Lexington: Council of State Governments, 1979 - . Biennial. Identifies state and senate officers and state house offices, and officers of committee. Arranged by state and by selected legislative functions. > NewLib (Ref) JS344 C5 A24 THE MUNICIPAL YEAR BOOK. Washington: Intl. City Management Assn., 1934 - . Annual. Directory of officials in local governments. Source for statistics and surveys of activities of city governments in the U.S. and Canada. > NewLib (Ref) KF5406 A15 F4 FEDERAL REGULATORY DIRECTORY. Washington: Congressional Quarterly, 1980 - . Describes the federal government's major regulatory agencies. Information includes responsibilities, background, outlook, powers and authority, major laws, key people, organization, regional offices, and information sources. BIOGRAPHIES > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT100 B56 BIOGRAPHY INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1949 - . Biennial. Includes citations to biographical information found in periodicals and current collective or individual biographies. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT213 B46 BIOGRAPHY AND GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX. Detroit: Gale, 1980 - . Contains citations to biographical information taken from biographical dictionaries. Covers both living and deceased persons in all fields. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E176 W62 WHO'S WHO IN AMERICAN POLITICS. New York: Bowker, 1968 - . Provides brief biographical sketches on those Americans active in politics. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E176.1 D43 1984 DeGregorio, William A. THE COMPLETE BOOK OF U.S. PRESIDENTS. New York: Dembner, 1984. From George Washington to Ronald Reagan. Information is under many headings covering physical description, praise, criticism, quotes, and books by and about. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E176.1 K3 1993 Kane, Joseph Nathan. FACTS ABOUT THE PRESIDENTS. 6th ed. New York: Wilson, 1993. Part 1 gives a chapter to each president from George Washington to George Bush. Part 2 presents material in a comparative manner, such as age, physical conditions and elections. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E302.5 W62 WHO'S WHO IN AMERICA. Chicago: Marquis, 1900 - . > NewLib (Ref Biog) E747 W59 WHO'S WHO IN THE EAST. Boston: Larkin, 1943 - . Biennial. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E747 W62m WHO'S WHO IN THE MIDWEST. Chicago: Marquis, 1965 - . Annual. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E840.6 P64 Lichtenstein, Nelson, ed. POLITICAL PROFILES. New York: Facts on File, 1976. Vols. 1, 3-4 Biographical information on key players during the Truman, Kennedy, and Johnson years. > NewLib (Ref Biog) F208 W62w WHO'S WHO IN THE SOUTH AND SOUTHWEST. Chicago: Marquis, 1963 - . Biennial. > NewLib (Ref Biog) F595 W62 WHO'S WHO IN THE WEST. Chicago: Marquis, 1971 - . Biennial. > NewLib (Ref Biog) JK1010 C66 1977 MEMBERS OF CONGRESS SINCE 1789. Washington: Congressional Quarterly, 1977. Biographical information on Congressional members from the 1st through the 99th Congress. Also includes statistics and summary information on membership of Congress. > NewLib (Ref Biog) JK1010 C67 1993 Duncan, Phil, ed. CONGRESSIONAL QUARTERLY'S POLITICS IN AMERICA: 1994, THE 103RD CONGRESS. Washington: Congressional Quarterly, 1993. Arranged by state, provides biographical information on U.S. senators and representatives. Includes committee assignments, election results, campaign financing, key votes, and information on how persons are rated by interest groups and voting studies. > NewLib (Ref) JK1012 A44 THE ALMANAC OF AMERICAN POLITICS. New York: Dutton, 1972 - . Provides a political overview for each state, followed by a district- by-district summary of information on the legislators. > NewLib (Ref Biog) JK2447 B5733 1985 BIOGRAPHICAL DIRECTORY OF THE GOVERNORS OF THE UNITED STATES, 1978- 1983. Westport: Meckler, 1985. Contains biographical sketches and a brief bibliography of the governors. > NewLib (Ref Biog) JK2447 B5733 1994 BIOGRAPHICAL DIRECTORY OF THE GOVERNORS OF THE UNITED STATES, 1988- 1994. Wesport: Greenwood, 1994. > NewLib (Ref Biog) JK2447 M86 1989 BIOGRAPHICAL DIRECTORY OF THE GOVERNORS OF THE UNITED STATES, 1983- 1988. Westport: Meckler, 1989. DISSERTATIONS > NewLib (Ref) AS30 D63 DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1938 - . Monthly. An index to dissertations submitted to University Microfilms International. Beginning with 1966, two separate sections are published: A. Humanities & Social Sciences, and B. Sciences & Engineering. Cumulative author and subject indexes are published each year. Starting in 1977, published only in microfiche. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. Government publishes some information that may be of use in the study of public administration. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the GPO on CD-ROM Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. INDEXES TO GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS > Branson (Doc) GP1.2: AC 2 > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bimonthly. > Branson (Doc Ref) KF49 C62 Year CIS ANNUAL. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1970 - . Monthly. Covers hearings, committee prints, documents, house and senate reports, special publications, executive reports, and treaty documents. Published in two parts, an index (every third monthly index is a quarterly cumulation) and an abstract; the paperbound parts are kept in separate binders. The cumulated indexes and abstracts are also separate parts of the CIS Annual. The Index of Subjects and Names (of those testifying in hearings) uses accession numbers for reference to abstracts of committee publications in the Abstract volumes. Supplementary indexes provide access to the abstracts through the title of a publication, the number of a bill, report or document, or the name of a committee or subcommittee chairman. Library owns 1983 - . > Branson (Doc Ref) X.Cong/Sess.:v./no. CONGRESSIONAL RECORD. Washington: GPO, 1873-74. Daily during session. Indexes the daily record of congressional debates including the index to proceedings and a History of Bills and Resolutions. At the end of each session, there is a comprehensive table of bills that were enacted into law. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A18 U.S. Superintendent of Documents. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1895 - . Title varies. A bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the U.S. Government. The catalog consists of a text and four indexes: author, title, subject, and series/report number. Includes Cumulative Subject Index (1900-1971) and Cumulative Title Index (1789- 1976). GPO is the MONTHLY CATALOG on CD-ROM. It lists publications by the Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type subject terms and combinations of subject terms and retrieve citations to documents that may be available at the NMSU documents collection. The citations will include the SuDoc number for the document. LEGAL MATERIALS - UNITED STATES STATUTORY LAW > Branson (Doc Ref) Ae2.110 Congress/no. SLIP LAWS. Washington: GPO, current. Before the laws are available in the Statutes at Large they are issued as slip laws. Includes the text of the law, its Statutes at Large number, and its legislative history. > NewLib (Ref) KF50 U54 UNITED STATES STATUTES AT LARGE. Washington: Administrator of General Services by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, 1937 - . Annual. Published at the end of each session of congress since 1789, includes public and private laws, reorganization plans, and congressional resolutions and proclamations (on microfiche 1846-1848, 1851-1937; bound 1937 - ). > NewLib (Ref Index Area) KF62 1988 A2 1989 UNITED STATES CODE. Washington: GPO, 1983 - . Codified law is presented in subject order with annual pocket pages updating each volume. Annotations include historical notes and cross- references. > Branson (Doc) Y1.4/1 - Y1.4/9 CONGRESSIONAL BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS. Washington: GPO, 96th Congress - . The Government Printing Office currently issues bills on microfiche. These bills are indexed in the CIS INDEX (Doc Ref KF49 C62 year). A summary of the bill can be found in the DIGEST OF PUBLIC GENERAL BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS (LC14.6:Congress.#/ Session). ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS > Branson (Doc Ref) AE2.106: FEDERAL REGISTER. Washington: GPO. Changes and proposed regulations first appear in this work. These regulations are indexed in the CIS Federal Register Index (Doc Ref KF70.A2, 1984 - ). Current year in paper, older years in Doc microfiche (AE2.106 vol/no.). > Branson (Doc Ref) AE2.106/3:title CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1989, 1990, 1991 - . Includes agency regulations which have the force of law. Arranged by separate volumes (titles) each with its own index. COURTS > NewLib (Ref) KF101 A2 UNITED STATES REPORTS. New York: Banks & Bros., Law Pub., 1984 - . Bound volumes are issued during each court term and include full text of all decisions. Prior to issuing the bound volume the decisions are either issued as Slip opinions and are in pamphlet form in government documents or are available in the UNITED STATES LAW WEEK NewLib (Ref) K25 N55. (Ju6.8/6). Vols. 1-29 of United States Reports are in NewLib microfilm. > NewLib (Ref) KF101.1 D5 DIGEST OF UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT REPORTS. Lawyer's ed. Rochester: Lawyer's Cooperative, 1948 - . Indexes to court cases of the U. S. Supreme Court. These are cross- references to American Law Reports Annotated. Includes a Table of Cases, court rules, and citator information referring to modification of a point of law. Legal Materials - New Mexico Statutory Law > Branson (Periodicals Area) LEGISLATIVE BILLS. Santa Fe: New Mexico Legislature, 1971 - . Current house and state bills are available in looseleaf form. They are indexed in the BILL LOCATOR. Older bills are shelved; the call number is J87 N6 A400.34. > NewLib J87 N6 A400.34 HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS, LEGISLATURE, STATE OF NEW MEXICO. Santa Fe: New Mexico Legislature. House of Representatives. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 B261.31 1978 NEW MEXICO STATUTES ANNOTATED 1978. Charlottesville: Michie, 1982 - . Annual. Codified law is presented in subject order with annual pocket pages updating each volume. Annotations include historical notes, cross-references, constitutional provisions, and notes of decisions. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 C801.31 LAWS OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO. Charlottesville: Michie, 1913 - . An annual cumulation of laws passed for each session. Laws as arranged by chapters. COURTS > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 B101.81 C33 vol. year New Mexico Supreme Court. REPORT OF CASES DETERMINED IN THE SUPREME COURT AND COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO. St. Paul: West, 1912 - . Vol. 20 - . Commonly called NEW MEXICO REPORTS. The index for this set is the NEW MEXICO DIGEST ((Ref) KFN3657 N48 Suppl.). > NewLib (Ref) KFN3657 N48 NEW MEXICO DIGEST. St. Paul: West, 1948. Index to court cases arising from New Mexico reported in NEW MEXICO REPORTS, PACIFIC REPORTER, and federal courts. LEGAL REASEARCH > NewLib (Ref) KF1 N93 1986 Nyberg, Cheryl. SUBJECT COMPILATIONS OF STATE LAWS, 1983-1985: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Urbana: C. Boast and C. Nyberg, 1986. Arranged by subject, provides numerous citations to articles that compare state laws. > NewLib (Ref) KF90 S538 SHEPARD'S ACTS AND CASES BY POPULAR NAMES, FEDERAL AND STATE. Colorado Springs: Shepard's Inc. of Colorado, 1968 - . Cases are listed alphabetically by popular names. Provides cites to each act and case. > NewLib (Ref) KF240 J3 1990 Jacobstein, J. Myron, and Roy M. Mersky. FUNDAMENTALS OF LEGAL RESEARCH. 5th ed. Westbury: Foundation P, 1990. Provides information on legal research. > NewLib (Ref) KF386 N38 1993 Leiter, Richard A., ed. NATIONAL SURVEY OF STATE LAWS. Detroit: Gale, 1993. Provides comparative tables on 36 different state laws. Example of laws include abortion, capital punishement, drunk driving, and illegal drugs. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) KFN3659 S45 SHEPARD'S NEW MEXICO CITATIONS. 4th ed. Colorado Springs: Shepard's/McGraw Hill, 1918 - . Shows all citations to New Mexico cases reported in NEW MEXICO REPORTS, PACIFIC REPORTER, U.S. Constitution and statutes, and New Mexico Constitution, statutes, laws, court rules, jury instructions and ordinances.