---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN PSYCHOLOGY Compiled by Donald A. Barclay Fall, 1992 Conducting research in the field of psychology requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) BF31 B25 1985 Benner, D. G. (Ed.). (1985). BAKER ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PSYCHOLOGY. Grand Rapids: Baker Book House. Presents a "comprehensive treatment of psychology from a Christian point of view." Hundreds of entries ranging in length from a paragraph to several pages treat such topics as psychological assessment, sexuality, human development, and so on. Bibliographies accompany the longer entries. > Branson (Ref) RC483 B93 1986 Byck, R. (1986). TREATING MENTAL ILLNESS. New York: Chelsea House. General history of the treatment of mental illness from ancient times to the present. For the general reader. > Branson (Ref) RC437 H5 1981 Campbell, R. J. (1981). PSYCHIATRIC DICTIONARY (5th ed.). New York: Oxford University Press. Defines terms and concepts in psychiatry and related fields. Includes brief biographies of important psychiatrists. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 E553 1987 Corsini, R. J. (Ed.). (1987). CONCISE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PSYCHOLOGY. New York: Wiley. Contains over 2,100 entries, including 650 biographical entries. Cross references and "further readings" refer readers to a 2,500 item bibliography in the back of the volume. > Branson (Ref) RC535 D63 1989 Doctor, R. M., & Kahn, A. P. (1989). THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PHOBIAS, F EARS, AND ANXIETIES. New York: Facts on File. Entries define and describe phobias, fears, and anxieties. Includes bibliography, index, cross-references, and selected self-test and self-help suggestions (such as how to relieve fear of flying). Gives information on drugs and other therapies. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 E522 Eysenck, H. J. (Ed.). (1972). ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PSYCHOLOGY. New York: Herder & Herder. Entries range from brief definitions to 4,000-word articles. Covers important psychological terms and concepts. Includes bibliographies. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 L66 1984 Goldenson, R. M. (Ed.). (1984). LONGMAN DICTIONARY OF PSYCHOLOGY AND PSYCHIATRY. New York: Longman. Almost 16,000 entries cover terms, drugs, and people from the world of psychology. Gives chemical formulas. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 O94 1987 Gregory, R. L., & Zangwill, O. L. (Eds.). (1987). THE OXFORD COMPANION TO THE MIND. Oxford: Oxford University Press. Defines the "mind" very broadly and contains hundreds of signed articles on physical and psychological aspects of the human mind. A tutorial on the human nervous system can be found under the heading "Nervous System." Includes biographies of key scientists and philosophers of the mind who were dead prior to 1987. Comprehensive index in back of volume. > Branson (Ref) QL751 G77 1977 Grzimek, B. (Ed.). (1977). GRZIMEK’S ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ETHOLOGY. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold. Forty-three topical chapters cover animal behavior and its relationship to ecology and psychology. Includes supplementary readings, glossary, and index. > Branson (Ref) RC537 H29 1989 Hales, D. R. (1989). DEPRESSION. New York: Chelsea House. Clear and simple presentation of the history, causes, and treatment of depression. For the general reader. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 E555 1983 Harre, R., & Lamb, R. (Eds.). (1983). THE ENCYCLOPEDIC DICTIONARY OF PSYCHOLOGY. Oxford: Blackwell Reference. Defines terms, theories, processes, etc. in the areas of cognitive psychology, psycholinguistics, and neuropsychology. Includes bibliographies. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 E5 1981 Rubinstein, J. (Senior Adviser). (1981). THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PSYCHOLOGY (new & updated). Guilford: DPG Reference Publishers. Contains about 1,000 brief articles for the general reader. Includes biographies, cross references, and a bibliography. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 S83 1989 Sutherland, N. S. (1981). THE INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY OF PSYCHOLOGY. New York: Continuum. Contains one-paragraph definitions of almost 1,000 terms from the field of psychology and related disciplines. > NewLib (Ref) BF31 D48 1989 Wolman, B. B. (Compiler and Ed.). (1989). DICTIONARY OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCE (2nd ed.). San Diego: Academic. Very brief definitions of about 11,000 terms from the fields of psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on psychology topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT PsycLIT is the single most important tool for doing library research in psychology. Compiled by a department of the American Psychological Association, PsycLIT is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to over 1,300 journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching psychological topics. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) ERIC ERIC, the electronic version of the CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION (CIJE) and RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE) indexes, gives bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education, educational psychology, and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) Compendex Plus Abstracts journal articles and conference papers in all fields of engineering, including the psychological aspects of engineering such as man-machine interactions. Coverage runs from 1986 to the present. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as THE JOURNAL OF PSYCHOLOGY and THE JOURNAL OF APPLIED PSYCHOLOGY. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) Sociofile SocioFile covers sociology and related disciplines, including international development from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of psychology. > NewLib (Ref) BF1 P959a PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. (1927 - ). Lancaster: American Psychological Assn. Quarterly. Summaries of articles in psychology journals. Published in two sections: abstracts and indexes. See Psyclit. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. (1974 - ). New York: Wilson. Quarterly. An author and subject index to over 350 English- language journals in the social sciences and related fields. A separate section at the end of each issue indexes book reviews. > Branson (Ref Index Area) CUMULATIVE INDEX TO NURSING & ALLIED HEALTH LITERATURE. (1977 - ). Glendale, CA: Glendale Adventist Medical Center. Bimonthly. Indexes journal articles on psychiatric nursing and on psychology as it applies to nursing and allied health fields. > Branson (Ref Index Area) INDEX MEDICUS AND CUMULATED INDEX MEDICUS. (1960 - ). Washington: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. INDEX MEDICUS comes out monthly and is replaced at the end of each year by CUMULATED INDEX MEDICUS, which consists of many volumes of author and subject indexes. Volume one is Medical subject headings. Because these heading do not change frequently, and because the subject index does not always give adequate cross- references, Volume one should be consulted. The List of journals indexed in index medicus lists journal abbreviations, classifies journals by broad subject areas, and lists journals by country of publication. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of psychology. Branson RC488.5 I54 AMERICAN JOURNAL OF FAMILY THERAPY QL750 B777 ANIMAL BEHAVIOR QP376 E9 EXPERIMENTAL BRAIN RESEARCH New Library LB1051 B3 BEHAVIORAL DISORDERS BF637 C6 C64 COUNSELING PSYCHOLOGIST HQ1060 A33 INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF AGING & HUMAN DEVELOPMENT BF1 J826ep JOURNAL OF EXPERIMENTAL CHILD PSYCHOLOGY HM251 J826p JOURNAL OF PERSONALITY & SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY LB1101 P959i PSYCHOLOGY IN THE SCHOOLS HQ768 S4 SEX ROLES FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term psychology, some of the narrower terms listed are Apperception Man-machine systems Behaviorism (Psychology) Memory Criminal psychology Psychoanalysis Educational psychology Social psychology Emotions Typology (Psychology) Gestalt psychology While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of psychology. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of psychology. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Psychology-Bibliography." The following are examples of psychology bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > Branson (Ref) RJ499 B495 1991 Berlin, I.N. & Leventhal, B.L. (Eds.). (1991). BIBLIOGRAPHY FOR TRAINING IN CHILD AND ADOLESCENT MENTAL HEALTH: FOR TRAINING IN CHILD PSYCHIATRY, CHILD PSYCHOLOGY, SOCIAL WORK, AND CHILD AND ADOLESCENT PSYCHIATRIC NURSING. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press. Covers all areas of child and adolescent mental health, including cultural aspects, human development, pyschopathology, and therapeutics. Includes a section on films and videotapes as well as a section on self-help books for children, adolescents, and parents. Primarily covers 1976 to the present, with some older citations dating back to the 1950s. No index. > NewLib (Ref) BF76.5 M35 McInnis, R. G. (1982). RESEARCH GUIDE FOR PSYCHOLOGY. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. Provides in-depth descriptions of almost 1,200 psychology books. > Branson (Ref) RC454 C655 1984 Sacks, M. H., Sledge, W. H., & Rubinton, P. (Eds.). (1984). CORE READINGS IN PSYCHIATRY: AN ANNOTATED GUIDE TO THE LITERATURE. New York: Praeger. A bibliography of "primary works that have inspired the profession and influenced its thinking." Entries are grouped into five categories: Basic Science, Psychopathology, Assessment, Treatment, and Special Topics. Includes author and subject indexes. Tests and Testing Two of the most important sources for information on tests are the books of the MENTAL MEASUREMENTS YEARBOOK and TESTS IN PRINT series. In a nutshell, TESTS IN PRINT is a bibliographic listing of commercially available tests, while MENTAL MEASUREMENTS YEARBOOK provides evaluative reviews of tests. There are many cross references between the two series and they are often used together. > NewLib (Ref) BF698.5 B85 MENTAL MEASUREMENTS YEARBOOK. (1940 - ). Highland Park, NJ: Mental Measurements Yearbook. Published at irregular intervals, the books in the MENTAL MEASUREMENTS YEARBOOK (MMY) series list psychological, educational, and vocational tests by title. For each test, MMY gives the test's purpose, publication date, author, publisher, price, and other essential information. Tests are accompanied by reviews written by experts who have been chosen by the editors of MMY. Newer editions of MMY are meant to supplement older editions, not supersede them. Each volume contains indexes as well as cross references between editions. > NewLib (Ref) BF698.5 B88 1983 Mitchell, J. V. (Ed.). (1983). TESTS IN PRINT III: AN INDEX TO TESTS, TEST REVIEWS, AND THE LITERATURE ON SPECIFIC TESTS. Lincoln, NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln. In combination with earlier additions of TESTS IN PRINT, TIP III provides a comprehensive bibliography (without reviews) of commercially available tests. Includes indexes and bibliographic references to tests. Other Works About Tests > NewLib (Ref) BF176 G76 1990 Groth-Marnat, G. (1990). HANDBOOK OF PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSESSMENT (2nd ed.). New York: Wiley. With a clinical rather than theoretical orientation, this handbook provides "a reference and instructional guide for professionals and students who are conducting psychological assessments." Chapters cover broad topics such as the assessment interview and the psychological report, as well as specific psychological tests such as the MMPI and the Wechsler Intelligence Scales. > NewLib (Ref) BF176 T473 1986 Harrison, R. G. (General Ed.). (1986). TESTING ADOLESCENTS: A REFERENCE GUIDE FOR COMPREHENSIVE PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSESSMENTS. Kansas City: Test Corporation of America. A reference guide for constructing assessments of adolescents. Includes a directory/index of tests and an index of test publishers and distributors. > NewLib (Ref) BF176 T475 1989 Hunt, T., & Lindley, C.J. (General Eds.). (1989). TESTING OLDER ADULTS: A REFERENCE GUIDE FOR GEROPSYCHOLOGICAL ASSESSMENTS. Austin: Pro-Ed. Focuses on the special problems of testing older persons. Includes a directory/index of tests and an index of test publishers and distributors. > NewLib (Ref) BF176 T43 1986 Sweetland, R C., & Keyser, D. J. (General Eds.). (1986). TESTS: A COMPREHENSIVE REFERENCE FOR ASSESSMENTS IN PSYCHOLOGY, EDUCATION, AND BUSINESS (2nd ed.). Kansas City: Test Corporation of America. Designed for psychologists, educators, and personnel specialists, Tests contains "concise descriptions in a quick-scanning, easy-to- read format" but does not review or evaluate tests. Includes indexes and cross-references. > NewLib (Ref) BF176 T474 1985 Swiercinsky, D. P. (General Ed.). (1985). TESTING ADULTS: A REFERENCE GUIDE FOR SPECIAL PSYCHODIAGNOSTIC ASSESSMENTS. Kansas City: Test Corporation of America. Intended as a handbook to be read "selectively or piecemeal" by testing professionals, Testing adults contains both "ideas based on new research" as well as summaries of "accumulated facts and wisdom." Includes a directory/index of tests and an index of publishers. > NewLib (Ref) BF176 T472 1984 Weaver, S. J. (General Ed.). (1984). TESTING CHILDREN: A REFERENCE GUIDE FOR EFFECTIVE CLINICAL AND PSYCHOEDUCATIONAL ASSESSMENTS. Kansas City: Test Corporation of America. Roughly follows the arrangement of the DSM-III to provide a brief manual on testing children. Includes a directory/index of tests and an index of test publishers. Diagnosis > Branson RC455.2 C4 D54 1987 American Psychiatric Association. (1987). DIAGNOSTIC AND STATISTICAL MANUAL OF MENTAL DISORDERS: DSM-III-R (3rd ed., rev.). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association. The standard tool for diagnosing mental disorders, DSM-III-R codifies the diagnostic terminology used by mental health clinicians and researchers in the United States. Using a multiaxial system, DSM-III-R evaluates disorders on mental disorder axes, severity axes, and a physical disorder axis. One copy of DSM-III-R is kept on permanent reserve at the first-floor circulation desk. Statistics > NewLib (Ref) BF76.5 R43 1982 Yaremko, R. M., et al. (1982). REFERENCE HANDBOOK OF RESEARCH AND STATISTICAL METHODS IN PSYCHOLOGY: FOR STUDENTS AND PROFESSIONALS. New York: Harper & Row. Defines over 7,000 terms. Appendices include a random-number table and 23 statistical tables. Dissertations > NewLib (Ref) AS30 D63 DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. (1938 - ). Ann Arbor: University Microfilms. Monthly. An index to dissertations submitted to University Microfilms International. Beginning with 1966, two separate sections are published: A. HUMANITIES & SOCIAL SCIENCES and B. SCIENCES & ENGINEERING. Cumulative author and subject indexes are published each year. Starting in 1977, published only in microfiche. Biographies > NewLib (Ref Biog) BF30 A49 American Psychological Association. (1982 - ). APA MEMBERSHIP REGISTER. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Annual. Lists Fellows, Members, and Associate Members of the APA. A separate section lists New Members and New Associate Members. The most recent issues are located in the first-floor reference biography section. > NewLib (Ref Biog) BF109 A1 W65 1990 O'Connell, A. N., & Russo, N. F. (Eds.). (1990). WOMEN IN PSYCHOLOGY: A BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHICAL SOURCEBOOK. New York: Greenwood. Contains chapter-length biographies of 36 women contributors to psychology, as well as paragraph-length biographies of women who have won major awards for their contributions to psychology. Also includes a bibliography, appendices, and an index. > NewLib (Ref Biog) BF109 A1 Z85 Zusne, L. (1975). NAMES IN THE HISTORY OF PSYCHOLOGY: A BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCEBOOK. Washington; New York: Hemisphere. Contains short (250 to 500-word) biographies of 526 prominent contributors to psychology and related fields. Bibliographical references accompany each biography. Includes index. Directories > Branson (Ref) HF5381 A1 N4273 DIRECTORY OF COUNSELING SERVICES. (1973 - ). [Washington, DC]: International Association of Counseling Services. Published irregularly. Reprints "criteria and standards for accreditation of public and private counseling services by the International Association of Counseling Services." Lists, by region, accredited and provisionally accredited counseling services. > NewLib (Ref) BF77 G73 GRADUATE STUDIES IN PSYCHOLOGY AND ASSOCIATED FIELDS. (1984 - ). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Annual. Provides information on how to apply for graduate study in psychology and related fields. Includes information on specific graduate programs, including tuition, admission and graduation requirements, internships available, areas of emphasis, etc. > Branson (Ref) RC564.73 H365 1988 Hart, S. (1988). REHAB. New York: Perennial Library. Contains detailed information (costs, treatment methods, facilities, ambience, etc.) on 147 treatment centers in the United States. The author's evaluations reflect his strong preference for twelve-step programs. > NewLib (Ref) BF76.5 A64 1987 Herring, K. L. (Ed.). (1987). AMERICAN PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION'S GUIDE TO RESEARCH SUPPORT (3rd ed.). Washington, DC: The Association. Lists governmental and non-governmental agencies and organizations which fund psychological research. Each entry lists address, phone number, and contact person and also funding mechanisms, funds available, and application and review procedures. Persons seeking research funding should also consult the NMSU Library publication GRANTS SOURCE LIST. > Branson (Ref) RC564.73 S96 1988 Sunshine, L., & Wright, J. W. (1988). THE 100 BEST TREATMENT CENTERS FOR ALCOHOLISM AND DRUG ABUSE. New York: Avon. The introduction offers advice on choosing a treatment center. Lists centers by state, giving information such as admission policy, cost, address, and phone number. Appendix gives useful information on resources, counseling and intervention services, support groups, and so on. > Branson (Ref) RC569.5 A28 W43 1989 Webster, L. (Ed.). (1989). SEXUAL ASSAULT AND CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE: A NATIONAL DIRECTORY OF VICTIM SERVICES AND PREVENTION PROGRAMS. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx. Lists hundreds of state, federal, and private organizations that assist victims of sexual abuse and child sexual abuse. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in the study of psychology. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bimonthly. Selected U. S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. (1973 - ). Washington, DC: Congressional Information Service. Monthly. A subject index to federal statistics of the United States. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) U.S. Bureau of the Census. (1878 - ). STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington, DC: GPO. A single volume giving quantitative summary statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United States. References are given for the sources of all tables. Statistics given cover a period of several years, usually 15 or 20. Latest issue available at reference information desk and in Government Documents. > NewLib (Ref) KF50 U54 U.S. Laws, etc. (1875 - ). THE STATUTES AT LARGE OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. Washington, DC: GPO. Contains public laws, reorganization plans, private laws, and concurrent resolutions and proclamations. Arranged chronologically by date of passage of the act under the divisions. Subject and personal name index in each volume. Slip laws, as soon as they are enacted, are published separately and then are superseded by Statutes at large. Slip laws housed in Government Documents; 1789-1931 on microfiche. > NewLib (Ref) KF62 1988 A2 1989 U.S. LAWS, STATUES, ETC. (1989). United States code (1989 ed.). Washington, DC: GPO. Supersedes previous editions. Cited as USC. Contains all general and permanent laws of the United States in force in January 1989. Laws are arranged under 50 subject headings (called "Titles") and are then broken into subdivisions (called "Chapters"). Supplements issued annually. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A18 U.S. Superintendent of Documents. (1895 - ). MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington, DC: GPO. Title varies. A bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the U.S. government. The catalog consists of text and four indexes: author, title, subject, and series/report number. Includes Cumulative subject index (1900-1971) and Cumulative title index. (1789-1976). > Branson (Doc Ref) HE 20.6210: VITAL STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES. (1970 - ). Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. Contains data on natality, marriage, divorce, and mortality. Older issues under different title. NEW MEXICO INFORMATION State documents are located in New Library. State publications are found in OLE by title, author (New Mexico Health And Social Services Dept.), subject, or keyword. Use the Library of Congress subject headings to locate state documents dealing with psychological topics and issues. Selected New Mexico State Documents > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 B261.31 1978 New Mexico. Laws, etc. (1978 - ). NEW MEXICO STATUTES 1978 ANNOTATED. Charlottesville, VA: Michie. These continuously updated loose-leaf volumes contain the current laws of New Mexico. Subject access is possible though an index volume. > NewLib J87 N6 H201.81 M54/1 A COMPREHENSIVE STUDY OF MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES IN NORTHERN NEW MEXICO/OFFICE OF PLANNING AND EVALUATION, NEW MEXICO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH. (1991). Santa Fe, NM: The Office. Published version of the New Mexico Health and Environment Department's report on mental health needs in northern New Mexico. Includes mental health statistics. > NewLib J87 N6 H201.81 C73 New Mexico. Health and Environment Dept. Office of Planning and Evaluation. (1990). A COMPREHENSIVE STUDY OF MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES IN SOUTHERN NEW MEXICO. Santa Fe, NM: The Office. Published version of the New Mexico Health and Environment Department's report on mental health needs in southern New Mexico. Includes mental health statistics. > NewLib J87 N6 H204.1 H43 New Mexico. Health and Environment Department. (1976 - ). NEW MEXICO SELECTED HEALTH STATISTICS; ANNUAL REPORT. Santa Fe, NM: State of New Mexico, Health and Environment Dept. Annual. The most recent volume is located in the reference area. Contains selected annual statistics on health (including mental health) in New Mexico. Includes "New Mexico County Health Profiles." > NewLib J87 N6 H204.15 V83 NEW MEXICO HEALTH STATISTICS / DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, PUBLIC HEALTH DIVISION, OFFICE OF VITAL RECORDS AND HEALTH STATISTICS. (1992 - ). Santa Fe, NM: Office of Vital Records and Health Statistics. Monthly. The most recent issues are in the current periodicals area of New Library. Contains statistics on health (including mental health) in New Mexico. Prior to 1992, this publication was titled NEW MEXICO MONTHLY VITAL STATISTICS REPORT.