---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN NATIVE AMERICAN STUDIES Compiled by Karen Stabler Fall, 1992 Conducting research in the field of Native American studies requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > Branson (Ref) E78 S7 B34 Barnett, Franklin. DICTIONARY OF PREHISTORIC INDIAN ARTIFACTS OF THE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST. Flagstaff: Northland, 1973. Provides definitions of Southwestern archaeological terms. Includes photographs of artifacts. > NewLib (Ref) E54.5 D53 DICTIONARY OF DAILY LIFE OF INDIANS OF THE AMERICAS. 2 vols. Newport Beach: American Indian Pub., 1982. This dictionary provides lengthy definitions of terms related to Native American culture. > NewLib (Ref) E77.9 H57 1988 HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF NORTH AMERICAN ARCHAEOLOGY. New York: Greenwood, 1988. An alphabetical listing of over 1,800 prehistoric cultures, archaeological sites, and artifacts of North America. > NewLib (Ref) E76.2 R4 1990 REFERENCE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE AMERICAN INDIAN. 5th ed. West Nyack: Todd, 1990. Section One is a directory listing tribal councils, tribes, government agencies, national associations, state and regional associations, Native American centers, museums, monuments and parks, libraries, Indian health services, Indian schools, college courses, communications, audio-visual aids, and magazines. Section Two covers Canadian Indian institutions. Section Three lists approximately 4,500 books in print and Section Four includes biographies of well-known Indians. > NewLib E77 S84 Stoutenburgh, John Leeds. DICTIONARY OF THE AMERICAN INDIAN. New York: Philosophical Library, 1960. Brief definitions of Indian words including persons, places, and things found in the United States and Canada. Guides and Handbooks > NewLib E77 D393 1976 AMERICAN INDIAN 1492-1976: A CHRONOLOGY AND FACT BOOK. 2nd ed. Dobbs Ferry: Oceana, 1977. Significant dates, as recorded by historians, in American Indian history from 1492-1970. Also includes biographical information on selected Indians. > NewLib (Ref) LC3727 D57 A DIRECTORY OF HISPANIC AND AMERICAN INDIAN HIGHER EDUCATION PROGRAMS. Albuquerque: College of Education, U of New Mexico, 1980. Arranged by state and then by name of university or college. Provides general information about institution and description of programs and services of relevance to Native Americans. > NewLib (Ref) E184 A1 T39 1986 GUIDE TO MULTICULTURAL RESOURCES. 85-86 ed. Madison: NMCC, 1986. Includes a section on Native American resources providing names and addresses. Topics include: books, films, and reports; businesses; calendars; civil rights organizations; colleges; community-based organizations; directories; educational associations; Indian studies; libraries; media museums; organizations and women's organizations. > Branson Z1209 H22 1983 Haas, Marilyn L. INDIANS OF NORTH AMERICA: METHODS AND SOURCES FOR LIBRARY RESEARCH. Hamden: Library Professional Pub., 1983. This guide for beginners provides selected sources and shows how to use them. It is divided into three sections: reference works, an annotated bibliography arranged by subject, and an unannotated list of books on individual tribes. > NewLib (Ref) E77 H25 HANDBOOK OF NORTH AMERICAN INDIANS. Washington: Smithsonian Inst., 1978 - . These two volumes summarize the history and culture of Indians living in the Southwest from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage includes history and social organization such as marriage customs, kinship patterns, burial customs, and other social conditions. Vol. 9-10 Southwest. > Branson Z1209.2 N67 H57 1983 Hirschfelder, Arlene B. GUIDE TO RESEARCH ON NORTH AMERICAN INDIANS. Chicago: American Library Assn., 1983. A select guide containing approximately 1,200 books, articles, government documents, and other materials in 27 fields of study. Selections are in English and entries are annotated. > NewLib (Ref) E77 H69 1912 Hodge, Frederick Webb. 2 vols. HANDBOOK OF AMERICAN INDIANS NORTH OF MEXICO. Washington: GPO, 1912. Comprehensive handbook of tribes and tribal divisions north of Mexico including the Eskimos. Included under the tribal descriptions are brief accounts of the ethnic relationships, history, locations through time periods, and population statistics. A new series entitled HANDBOOK OF NORTH AMERICAN INDIANS is currently being published. > NewLib (Ref) E93 I3828 1986 INDIAN RESERVATIONS: A STATE AND FEDERAL HANDBOOK. Jefferson: McFarland, 1986. Arranged by state and then alphabetically by name of reservation. Information includes land status, history, culture, government, population profile, tribal economy, climate, transportation, utilities, and recreation. > NewLib (Ref) E76.2 M37 Marquis, Arnold. A GUIDE TO AMERICA’S INDIANS: CERMONIALS, RESERVA- TIONS, AND MUSEUMS. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 1974. Contains short essays about Indian life. Topics include basket makers, symbols, bead work, tribes and reservations, calendar of Indian events, and campgrounds for the different regions. > NewLib E77 T34 1971 Terrell, John. AMERICAN INDIAN ALMANAC. New York: World, 1971. Essays about prehistoric American Indians. Different tribes are under ten geographical divisions of the U.S. There is a useful bibliography, glossary of terms, and index. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on Native American studies. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION (CIJE) and RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE) indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) Sociofile SocioFile covers sociology and related disciplines, including international development from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of Native American studies. > NewLib (Ref) GN1 A15 ABSTRACTS IN ANTHROPOLOGY. Vol. 5 - . Westport: Greenwood, 1970 - . Quarterly. Author and subject indexes included in each issue. Abstracts are grouped in four sections: archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and physical anthropology. For information look under specific tribal names in subject index. Library owns Volume 5 - . > NewLib (Ref) E31 A43 AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE. Santa Barbara: Clio, 1964 - . Best abstracting service for Indian-related matters. Abstract covers 2,000 journals on history in some thirty-eight languages. Abstracts are in English. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: PAIS, 1915 - . Monthly. Includes quarterly cumulations and annual cumulations with author index, journal articles, books, pamphlets, and government documents with emphasis on public policy on Indian Affairs. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE. Vol 1 - . New York: Wilson, 1900 - . Indexes current information in general magazines. A good place to investigate how the Indian subject matter has been treated over the years. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Quarterly. Continues in part SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1966-74), INTERNATIONAL INDEX TO PERIODICALS (1920-65). Author and subject index covering over 350 English language journals. Suggested subject headings include Indians of North American or other tribal names such as Apaches. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of Native American studies. Branson (SpC) J87 N6 F101.93 NEW MEXICO HISTORICAL REVIEW (SpC) J87 N6 T501.91 NEW MEXICO MAGAZINE (Doc) S12.3: no. BUREAU OF AMERICAN ETHNOLOGY. BULLETIN 1-1199; 1887-1967 New Library E184 A1 W35 AMERICAN HERITAGE E75 A43 AMERICAN INDIAN CULTURE AND RESEARCH JOURNAL E77 I38 INDIAN AFFAIRS E97 J66 JOURNALS OF AMERICAN INDIAN EDUCATION F806 Ar473 JOURNAL OF ARIZONA HISTORY J87 N6 F101.93 NEW MEXICO HISTORICAL REVIEW J87 N6 T501.91 NEW MEXICO MAGAZINE FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term Native American, some of the narrower terms listed are American Literature-Indian Authors Apache Indians Indians of North America Hopi Indians Indians of North America-juvenile literature Navajo Indians Indians of North America-New Mexico Pueblo Indians Indians, treatment of-United States Zuni Indians While Library of Congress headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of Native Americans. Atlases > NewLib (Ref), Branson (SpC), Branson (Atlas Case) G1497 N3 G6 1982 THE NAVAJO ATLAS: ENVIRONMENTS, RESOURCES, PEOPLE, AND HISTORY OF THE DINE BIKEYAH. Norman: U of Oklahoma, 1982. Coverage includes the areas of demography, history, social and economic conditions, administrative and political units, and physical geography. > NewLib (Ref) G1201 E1 A4 1988 WE THE PEOPLE: AN ATLAS OF AMERICA’S ETHNIC DIVERSITY. New York: Macmillan, 1988. This atlas has maps, text, and statistics on 67 ethnic groups living in the United States. Most of the information is from the 1980 Census. There is an excellent chapter on Native Americans entitled "People of Early North America Origin," (Indian and Eskimo). > NewLib (Ref), Branson (SpC) G1496 E1 F4 1985 A ZUNI ATLAS. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 1985. This atlas contiains images, text, and 45 maps of Zuni archaeology, history, ethnography, and current conditions. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of Native Americans. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Native Americans - bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: General Bibliographies > NewLib (Ref) E184 A1 M529 1976 A COMPREHENSIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY FOR THE STUDY OF AMERICAN MINORITIES. 2 vols. New York: New York U, 1976. Native Americans are covered in volume two from pages 783-909. Lists reference books and other books covering all aspects of Indian life. > Branson Z1209 G7 Grove, Pearce S. GUIDE TO NATIVE AMERICAN LIBRARY RESOURCES AT EASTERN NEW MEXICO UNIVERSITY. Portales: Eastern New Mexico U Library, 1975. An alphabetical list of books held at the ENMU Library on Native Americans. > NewLib (Ref), Branson (SpC) E78 S7 M87 1990 INDIAN POTTERY OF THE SOUTHWEST: A SELECTED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Santa Fe: Sandstone, 1990. A short bibliography containing books and journal articles of Southwestern pottery. > NewLib (Ref) E77 I52 INDIANS OF THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA. 2 vols. Santa Barbara: ABC, 1974-83. These two volumes have brought together 4,900 annotated entries from AMERICAN: HISTORY AND LIFE from 1954 through 1978. Each volume is arranged in a similar fashion; i.e., regional and tribal sections are grouped under four historical periods: 1) Pre- Columbian Indian history, 2) Tribal history, 3) General Indian history from 1492 to 1900, and 4) The Indian in the 20th century. > NewLib (Ref) E77 M87 1975 > NewLib (Ref) E77 M87 1975 Suppl. Murdock, George Peter. ETHNOGRAPHIC BIBLIOGRAPHY OF NORTH AMERICA. 4th ed. 5 vols. New Haven: Human Relations Area Files, 1975. Most comprehensive coverage of published literature including books, articles and government documents on Native Americans. Coverage is through 1987. Emphasis is on ethnography. > NewLib (Ref) E77 C34 1975 NATIVE AMERICANS OF NORTH AMERICA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1975. Bibliography of 34,000 books at California State University, Northridge by and about Native Americans. Helpful author/title series indexes. > NewLib (Ref) E58 W82 > NewLib (Ref) E58 W82 Suppl. Wolf, Carolyn E. INDIANS OF NORTH AND SOUTH AMERICA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1977. Approximately 8,000 entries indexing books, articles, government documents, and newspaper clippings which are available in the Yager Library-Museum at Hartwick College at Oneonta, New York. Bibliographies of Literature > NewLib (Ref) PM155 R86 1990 AMERICAN INDIAN LITERATURES: AN INTRODUCTION, BIBLIOGRAPHIC REVIEW, AND SELECTED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: MLS, 1990. A good introduction, covering the time period from 1500 to the present, that discusses the genres and major authors of Native American literature. The book is divided into three sections: the introduction to the literature covers autobiography, oral literature, and written literature from 1800 to the present; the second section includes background information, general literary studies, and Native American writers; and the third section contains a classified bibliography. > NewLib (Ref) E77.4 K84 1991 AMERICAN INDIAN REFERENCE BOOKS FOR CHILDREN AND YOUNG ADULTS. Englewood: Libraries Unlimited, 1991. Primarily for public and school library professionals to assist in developing nonfiction materials for young Indian and American readers. Includes bibliography of 200 entries. > Branson (Ref) PS153 I52 C55 1985 Colonnese, Tom. AMERICAN INDIAN NOVELISTS. New York: Garland, 1985. Covers 21 Indian novelists. Each entry contains a brief biographical sketch, a list of novels and selected shorter publications, and criticism. > Branson Z1209 H55 Hirschfelder, Arlene B. AMERICAN INDIAN AND ESKIMO AUTHORS. New York: Assn. on American Indian Affairs, 1973. Included is material written or narrated by Native Americans and Eskimos. The tribe of each author is identified. Entries are annotated. > Branson Z1209 I53 INDEX TO LITERATURE ON THE AMERICAN INDIAN. 4 vols. San Francisco: Indian Historian, 1970-1973. Annual index to book and periodical literature published on Native Americans. Arranged by subject. > NewLib (Ref) PS153 J32 1977 Jacobson, Angeline. CONTEMPORARY NATIVE AMERICAN LITERATURE. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1977. There are 2,024 entries indexing poetry, fiction, autobiography, personal reminiscences, biography, short stories, essays, and humor by Native American authors which have been published in either periodicals or single collected works from 1960 to mid-1976. > NewLib (Ref) PS173 I6 R64 1985 Rock, Roger O. THE NATIVE AMERICAN IN AMERICAN LITERATURE. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. A good starting point for students of American Indian literature. There are 1,599 listed sources, some of which are annotated. > NewLib (Ref) E77.4 S73 1979 Stensland, Anna Lee. LITERATURE BY AND ABOUT THE AMERIAN INDIAN. 2nd ed. Urbana: National Council of Teachers of English, 1979. Includes about 800 titles arranged by reading-level: elementary, junior high school, senior high school, and adult. Entries are annotated. Also included are biographies of selected American Indian authors. Bibliographies of Individual Tribes > Branson Z1210 N3 I93 1976 Iverson, Peter. THE NAVAJOS: A CRITICAL BIBLIOGRAPHY. Bloomington: Indian U, 1976. Part of the Newberry Library Center for the History of the American Indian. Includes a bibliographic essay covering basic texts, bibliographies, Navajo accounts and documents, newspapers and newsletters, origins of early history, the long walk era, stock reduction and contemporary history, social organization and language, government and law, education, economy, and health and religion. There are 189 bibliographic citations. > NewLib (Ref) E99 N3 K53 1940 > Branson (SpC) E99 N3 K53 1940 Kluckhohn, Clyde. A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE NAVAJO INDIANS. New York: J.J. Augustin, 1940. This annotated bibliography includes books, periodicals and government documents of primary sources covering the Navajo Indians. Covers reference works, and sources on historical, geographical and anthropological works, Navajo-white relations, and literature. There is an index of authors. > NewLib (Ref) E99 H7 L25 1977 > Branson (SpC) E99 H7 L25 1977 Laird, W. David. HOPI BIBLIOGRAPHY. Tucson: U of Arizona P, 1977. A comprehensive bibliography of articles and books about the Hopi Indians. The 2,935 entries are arranged alphabetically. There is a title and subject index. > Branson Z1210 A6 M44 Melody, Michael Edward. THE APACHES: A CRITICAL BIBLIOGRAPHY. Bloomington: Indian U, 1977. The excellent bibliographic essay includes a general introduction, ethnographic works, historical works, and ways of the Apache. There are 223 works cited. Bibliographies of Social Conditions > NewLib (Ref) HM1 A1 I57 INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF SOCIOLOGY. BIBLIOGRAPHIE INTERNATIONALE DE SOCIOLOGIE. Chicago: Aldine, 1952 - . Each annual volume includes the primary publications in the field of sociology. There is an author and subject index for the books, pamphlets, periodical articles, and government publications. International in scope. Library holdings begin with vol. 10. 1960 to the present. Biographies > NewLib (Ref Biog) E89 B56 1983 BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF INDIANS OF THE AMERICAS. 2 vols. Newport Beach: American Indian Pub., 1983. Arranged alphabetically. Brief biographical information on famous North American Indians from 16th century to the present. Emphasis is on the 20th century. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E89 D55 Dockstader, Frederick J. GREAT NORTH AMERICAN INDIANS: PROFILES IN LIFE AND LEADERSHIP. New York: Van Nostrand, 1977. Biographies of 300 well-known Indians with portrait when available. Each biography inlcudes birth and death dates, real name, and family background. Each person is described against the historical context of his or her time. Useful bibliography, pp. 355-69. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E77 L57 > NewLib (Ref Biog) E77 L57 Suppl. Littlefield, Daniel F. A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF NATIVE AMERICAN WRITER, 1772-1924. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1981. In the original volume there are 4,000 entries listing political essays and addresses, myths and legends, poetry, fiction, short stories, novels, published letters, historical works, and personal reminiscences. A bibliographical section provides information about the authors as well as their tribal affiliation. The scope of the 1985 volume, which includes 1,192 writers, is the same as the original volume. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E89 W35 1990 WHO WAS WHO IN NATIVE AMERICAN HISTORY: INDIANS AND NON-INDIANS FROM EARLY CONTACTS THROUGH 1900. New York: Facts on File, 1990. Includes selected individuals who played a significant role in Native American history pre-20th century. Entries include name, tribal names, birth and death dates, and significant contributions. Language Dictonaries > NewLib (Ref) PM1351 Z5 A42 1985 > Branson (SpC) PM1351 Z5 A42 1985 A CONCISE HOPI AND ENGLISH LEXICON. Philadelphia: Benjamins, 1985. > NewLib (Ref) PM2123 S2 1983 DICTIONARY: PAGAGO/PIMA ENGLISH, O'OTHHAM MIL-GAHN; ENGLISH PAGAGO/PIMA, MIL-GAHN O'OTHHAM. 2nd ed. rev. & expanded. Tucson: U of Arizona P, 1983. > NewLib (Ref) PM2007 Y75 > Branson (SpC) PM2007 Y75 THE NAVAJO LANGUAGE: A GRAMMAR AND COLLOQUIAL DICTIONARY. 2nd ed. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1987. > NewLib (Ref) PM845 Z5 C35 1987 NORTHERN SIERRA MIWOK DICTIONARY. Berkeley: U of California P, 1987. > NewLib (Ref) PM2008 H26 1975 A STEM VOCABULARY OF THE NAVAJO LANGUAGE. New York: AMS, 1975. 2 vols. Statistics > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual. (Monthly supplement). An index to all federal government publications which contain significant statistical data. Indexed by subject and name, title, agency report number, and categories (race and ethnic groups). Library owns 1980 - . > NewLib (Ref) E99 N3 F38 1988 NAVAJO NATION FAX. Window Rock: Navajo Nation, 1988. Provides statistical information on the Navajo Nation. > Branson (Ref Index Area) HA202 Un3s U.S. Bureau of the Census. STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1878 - . A single volume giving quantitative summary statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United States. References are given for the sources of all tables. Statistics given cover a period of several years, usually 15 or 20. Latest issue at reference information desk and in Government Documents. ERIC DOCUMENTS The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) clearinghouses collect and distribute previously published and unpublished non-journal literature of interest to educators and social scientists. ERIC documents include research reports and studies, curriculum guides, bibliographies, directories, speeches, and conference proceedings. Many of the documents describe community programs which go beyond the schools. The entire ERIC collection on microfiche (flat sheets of film containing reduced images) is arranged by ED document numbers in cabinets in the microform area of New Library. Indexes to ERIC Documents ERIC on CD-ROM - See page 7. Cumulated subject, author and title indexes on microfiche cover the ERIC collection for the years 1966-1988. In using the microfiche subject index or RIE (RESOURCES IN EDUCATION), it is helpful to consult the THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS for the appropriate subject indexing terminology. The microfiche index is located near the ERIC collection. > Branson (Doc Ref) RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE). Washington: Department of Health, Education and Welfare, National Institute on Education, 1975 - (Continues RESEARCH IN EDUCATION, 1966-1974). Monthly. Gives document resumes with abstracts for all ERIC documents. The resumes are arranged by ED number. Indexes provide access by subject, author, institution, and publication type. Cumulated semiannual index. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in Native American studies. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bi-monthly. Selected U. S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc Ref) I20.5 Board of Indian Commissioners. ANNUAL REPORTS OF THE BOARD OF INDIAN COMMISSIONERS TO THE SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR, 1897-1932. Information about Indian Affairs in all parts of the country, reports of visits by the commissioners to Indian reservations, congressional appropriations, and recommendations for improvement. > Branson (Doc Rev) S11.20/2 HANDBOOK OF NORTH AMERICAN INDIANS. Washington: Smithsonian Inst., 1978 - . An "in progress" series of volumes on the aboriginal peoples of North America. Volumes currently in existences are: volume four, History of Indian-White Relations; volume five, Arctic; volume six, Subarctic; volume seven, Northwest Coast; volume eight, California; volumes nine and ten, Southwest; volume eleven, Great Basin; and volume fifteen, Northeast. Volumes nine and ten are also at (Ref) E77 H25. > Branson (Doc Ref) KF8201 A1 J63 Johnson, Steven L. GUIDE TO AMERICAN INDIAN DOCUMENTS IN THE CONGRESSIONAL SERIAL SET: 1817-1899. New York: Clearwater, 1977. A chronological list of documents from the Congressional of Serial Set from 1817 through 1899 dealing with Indians. Relevant documents include Annual Reports of the Commisssioner of Indian Affairs, the Secretary of War reports on Indian wars, and many other documents referring to American Indians. > Branson (Doc Ref) Y4.In2/2:L44 (5 vols.) > Branson (Doc Ref) I1.107:7 (2 vols.) Kappler, Charles J., comp. and ed. INDIAN AFFAIRS: LAWS AND TREATIES. Washington: GPO, 1904-41. Gives a record of relationships between the Indians and federal government between 1778 and 1938. Included are Indian treaties (1778-1871), records of sales of Indian lands, U.S. presidential proclamations, letters and documents relating to executive orders establishing reservations, and decisions of the Supreme Court relating to Indian affairs. The supplemental two volumes update the original five volumes to include all treaties, laws, executive orders and regulations in force on September 1, 1967. > Branson (Doc Ref) SI2:1 Smithsonian Institution. BUREAU OF AMERICAN ETHNOLOGY ANNUAL REPORTS. Washington: GPO, 1881-1933. In addition to the administrative reports, there are papers on ethnology, monographs covering all phases of Indian life, and numerous archaeological surveys. > Branson (Doc) SI2.3:245 Swanton, John Reed. THE INDIAN TRIBES OF NORTH AMERICA. Washington: GPO, 1952. The author lists tribes and their subdivisions in the forty-nine states (excluding Hawaii), Canada, the West Indies (Haiti, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and Jamaica), Mexico, and Central America. Provides information on history, population, and location. > Branson (Doc Ref) I20.1: United States. Department of the Interior. ANNUAL REPORTS OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INDIAN AFFAIRS. Washington: GPO, 1842-1931. These reports show the relationship between the federal government and Indians indicating the changing government policies. Includes numerous reports from agents and subagents to the Office of Indian Affairs. > Branson (Doc) C46.8 Jn2/3 U.S. Department of Commerce. FEDERAL AND STATE INDIAN RESERVATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1971. Arranged by state and then subdivided by tribe. Gives land status, history, culture, government, population profile, tribal economy, climate, transportation, community facilities, and recreation.