-------New Mexico State University Library (last revised 9/6/94)------ HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN MARKETING Compiled by Sylvia Ortiz Fall 1994 Conducting research in the field of marketing requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A - H, HM - PZ Branson: HA- HJ, Q - Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science Government documents do not have the same type of callnumber as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias >Branson (Ref) HF5412 S52 1981b Shapiro, Irving J. DICTIONARY OF MARKETING TERMS. Totowa: Rowman, 1981. Brief entries arranged in standard alphabetical order. Terms shown in capital letters within a definition will also be found in the alphabetical sequence. >Branson (Ref) HF5415 T4978 1986 Thomas, Michael. ECONOMIST POCKET GUIDE TO MARKETING. New York: Blackwell, 1986. Generally brief entries. Frequently notes both United Kingdom and United States definitions if dissimilar, or mentions the variable term used in the United States. >Branson (Ref) HF5415.1263 B46 1989 Bencin, Richard L., and Donald J. Jonovic, eds. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF TELEMARKETING. Englewood Cliffs: Prentice, 1989. This is a "how-to" book on telemarketing, arranged into 30 chapters ranging in scope from an introduction to telemarketing, scripts, and 900 numbers. Includes examples, a glossary of terms, and index. >Branson (Ref) HF5429 O78 1985 Ostrow, Rona, and R. Smith Sweetman. DICTIONARY OF RETAILING. New York: Fairchild, 1985. Includes words and phrases used by stores, the supermarket industry, retail advertising, mail order, merchandising, consumer behavior, and others. Brief entries. >Branson (Ref) HF5803 G68 1969 Graham, Irvin. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ADVERTISING. New York: Fairchild, 1969. Published in 1969, this volume remains a classic in the field of advertising. Entries range from brief to in- depth. Includes some illustrations. >Branson (Ref) HF5803 W54 1993 Wiechmann, Jack G. NTC'S DICTIONARY OF ADVERTISING. 2nd ed. Lincolnwood: National Textbook, 1993. Includes vocabulary used in marketing planning, copywriting, merchandising, publicity, advertising finance and other areas of marketing. Makes references to major organizations. Directories >Branson (Ref) HD59 W38 1988 Weiner, Richard. PROFESSIONAL'S GUIDE TO PUBLIC RELATIONS SERVICES. 6th ed. New York: AMACOM, 1988. Information on more than 1,000 products, companies, services, and techniques. Ranges from one-line listings to several pages. Listings include clipping bureaus, newswire services, prizes and promotions, teleconferencing, and translations. >Branson (Ref) HE8689 B77 BROADCASTING & CABLE YEARBOOK. New Providence: Bowker, 1993 Data on U.S. and Canadian television and radio stations, advertising agencies, networks and programming, equipment manufacturers, and engineering, etc. Includes a few statistics such as ranked list of TV markets, TV and radio billings, and sales. >Branson (Ref) HF5415.1 D57 DIRECT MARKETING MARKET PLACE. Hewlett Harbor: Hillary, 1986. This directory lists direct marketers of products and services, service firms and suppliers to direct marketing companies, creative and consulting services and organizations, courses, awards, etc. >Branson (Ref) HF5415.124 M37 1987 Goldstucker, Jac L., ed. MARKETING INFORMATION. Atlanta: Georgia State UP, 1987. Provides a descriptive directory of marketing associations, research and consulting organizations, largest 300 advertising agencies, special libraries, research centers, continuing education courses, and U.S. government agencies and organizations. >Branson (Ref) HF5805 St24a STANDARD DIRECTORY OF ADVERTISERS. Skokie: National Register, 1968 - . A directory of U.S. companies that advertise nationally. Includes advertising appropriation and media used for each company. >Branson (Ref) HG4057 A4 STANDARD & POOR'S REGISTER OF CORPORATIONS, DIRECTORS AND EXECUTIVES. New York: Standard & Poor's. 3 vols. Annual. Volume One is an alphabetical listing of about 50,000 United States public companies. Each entry lists its address, officers, line of business, SIC codes, sales range, and number of employees. Volume Two is a listing of executives with brief data about each; and Volume Three is the index volume. >Branson (Ref) HM263 O37 1986 O'DWYER'S DIRECTORY OF PUBLIC RELATIONS FIRMS. New York: O'Dwyer, 1979 - . A listing of more than 1800 public relations firms and public relations departments of advertising agencies and their branches. Included is a list of the largest 50 U.S. public relations operations. Latest volume in reference. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD- ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribes accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on marketing topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. Many of these articles relate to marketing. >Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) AGRICOLA Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes articles, reports, books and government documents in the areas of wildlife, biology, home economics, nutrition, and rural sociology. There are citations to articles on markets, marketing practices, and advertising. Updated quarterly. >Branson (Doc) >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. GovernmentPrinting Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency,subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles andSuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documentscollection. Issued bimonthly. >Branson (Cafe OLE and Library Network) >NewLib (Cafe OLE and Library Network) NEWS NEWS is an index to recent articles in four major newspapers: the NEW YORK TIMES, the WALL STREET JOURNAL, the WASHINGTON POST and the CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR. NEWS covers articles published since January 1991. It is updated every 2-3 months. The library subscribes to all four of the newspapers in NEWS. >Branson (Cafe OLE and Library Network) >NewLib (Cafe OLE and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the reference desk if you need any help. >NewLib (Library Network) >Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of marketing. >NewLib (Library Network) >Branson (Library Network) Sociofile Sociofile covers sociology and related disciplines, including demographics from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of marketing. >Branson (Ref Index Area) BUSINESS PERIODICALS INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1958 - . A monthly periodical index with coverage of business and management topics including marketing. Subjects are arranged in alphabetical order. Includes personal names. >Branson (Ref Index Area) WALL STREET JOURNAL. INDEX. New York: Dow Jones, 1955 - . The index to the leading U.S. daily financial newspaper. Each issue is divided into two parts: corporate news and general news. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of marketing. Selected List of Current Journals Branson Periodicals HF5801 A276 ADVERTISING AGE HB3505 A66 AMERICAN DEMOGRAPHICS HF5801 I45 BUSINESS MARKETING HF5415 A2 J6 JOURNAL OF MARKETING HF5415.2 J826m JOURNAL OF MARKETING RESEARCH HF5415 A319a JOURNAL OF THE ACADEMY OF MARKETING SCIENCE HF5415 M32 MARKETING NEWS HF5438 Sa32m SALES & MARKETING MANAGEMENT Branson Docs A93.10/2: AGRICULTURAL OUTLOOK C59.11: SURVEY OF CURRENT BUSINESS C61.18: BUSINESS AMERICA FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas and on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term marketing some of the narrower terms listed are: merchandising and sales promotion. While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or,not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of marketing. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of marketing. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example " marketing _ bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: >Branson (Ref) Z7164 M18 D52 1990 Dickinson, John R. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF MARKETING RESEARCH METHODS. 3rd ed. Lexington: Lexington Books, 1990. >Branson Z7164 M18 F584 1985 Fisk, Raymond P., and Patriya S. Tansuhaj. SERVICES MARKETING: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Chicago: American Marketing Assn., 1985. >Branson Z7164 M18 R6 1987 Robinson, Larry M., and Roy D. Adler. MARKETING MEGAWORKS: THE TOP 150 BOOKS AND ARTICLES. New York: Praeger, 1987. Handbooks >Branson (Doc) C61.8:Ex7/3/992 A BASIC GUIDE TO EXPORTING. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. A basic guide to exporting. Designed to help U.S. firms learn the costs and risks associated with exporting and develop a strategy for exporting. >Branson (Doc) C61.12:nos. OVERSEAS BUSINESS REPORT. Washington: International Trade Administration. Provides information to importers, exporters, investors, manufacturers, and researchers interested in international trade and economic conditions throughout the world. >Branson (Ref) HF1042 A55 1987 STANDARD INDUSTRIAL CLASSIFICATION MANUAL. Springfield: NTIS, 1987. The federal government developed a four-digit classification scheme of all manufacturing and non- manufacturing industries. This scheme has been widely adopted by many government as well as non-government sources for use in presenting their statistical data. In some cases it might be necessary to use both the earlier 1972 edition and the revised 1987 edition since many industries were reclassified in the later edition. >Branson (Ref Index Area) HF5383 R45 1990 RESUMES FOR SALES & MARKETING CAREERS. Lincolnwood: VGM Career Horizons, 1990. Reviews the elements of a good resume, gives instructions on the assembly and layout of the resume, and gives tips on creating a good cover letter. Includes various styles of sample resumes and cover letters. >Branson (Ref) HF5410 M35 1993 MARKET SHARE REPORTER. Detroit: Gale Research, 1993. Over 2,000 entries of corporate, brand, product, service, and commodity market shares. Indexed by product, company, brand, place, source, and SIC. >Branson HF5415 H1867 1986 Buell, Victor P., ed. HANDBOOK OF MODERN MARKETING. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1986. A comprehensive single volume for concise data on the important aspects of marketing. Each chapter is written by an authority in their field. Areas covered include product line, distribution, staffing, communications, customer services, legal aspects, and specialty and international marketing, among others. >Branson HF5415 K6312 1991 Kotler, Philip, and Alan R. Andreason. STRATEGIC MARKETING FOR NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS. Englewood Cliffs: Prentice Hall, 1991. A full-length treatment of marketing for nonprofit organizations. Divided into five chapters: developing a customer orientation, strategic planning and organization, developing and organizing resources, designing the marketing mix, and controlling marketing strategies. Good name and subject indexes. >Branson HF5415 M29748 1985 Enis, Ben M., comp. MARKETING CLASSICS: A SELECTION OF INFLUENTIAL ARTICLES. 5th ed. Boston: Allyn, 1985. A compendium of article reprints generally recognized by marketing professionals as the classic literature of marketing. >Branson (Ref) HF5415.13 H52 1990 Hiebing, Roman G., and Scott W. Cooper, Jr. HOW TO WRITE A SUCCESSFUL MARKETING PLAN: A DISCIPLINED AND COMPREHENSIVE APPROACH. Lincolnwood: NTC Business Books, 1990. A step-by-step approach to developing a marketing plan. Very comprehensive in scope. >Branson HF5415.2 B555 1993 Blankenship, Albert Breneman., and George Edward Breen. STATE OF THE ART MARKETING RESEARCH. Chicago: AMA, 1993. A step-by-step process of conducting marketing research aimed at both the marketing firm and the marketing researcher. >Branson (Ref) HF5415.2 I535 1988 Wickham, Penelope, ed. INSIDER'S GUIDE TO DEMOGRAPHIC KNOW- HOW: EVERYTHING MARKETERS NEED TO KNOW ABOUT HOW TO FIND, ANALYZE, AND USE INFORMATION ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS. Ithaca: American Demographics, 1988. The demographics analyst will find sources for federal, state, local, nonprofit, and private sources of demographic data. Included are market research firms, opinion polling firms, consultants, and direct marketing services. >Branson HF5438.25 D555 1984 Nash, Edward L., ed. DIRECT MARKETING HANDBOOK. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984. A guide to direct marketing theory and its applications. Each chapter is divided into five parts: planning, media, creative, production, and applications. Ratios >Branson (Ref) HF5681 B2 R6 ROBERT MORRIS ASSOCIATES. ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES. Philadelphia: Robert Morris Associates, 1977 - . Annual. Contains financial and operating ratios for about 300 lines of business by SIC number including manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers, services, and contractors. Scales >Branson (Ref) HF5415.3 B323 1993 Bearden, William O., Richard G. Netemeyer, and Mary F. Moldey. HANDBOOK OF MARKETING SCALES: MULTI-ITEM MEASURES FOR MARKETING AND CONSUMER BEHAVIOR RESEARCH. Newbury Park: Sage, 1993. A compilation of multi-item scales used in marketing and consumer behavior survey research. Includes the scale construct, description, development, samples, validity, scores, other evidence, other sources, references, and scale items. Compare to MARKETING SCALES HANDBOOK. >Branson (Ref) HF5415.3 B785 1992 Bruner, Gordon C., II, and Paul J. Hensel. MARKETING SCALES HANDBOOK. Chicago: AMA, 1992. Descriptive write-up of scales used in marketing research. Classified into 3 major groups: consumer behavior, sales force & organizational, and advertising. Includes the scale origin, samples, reliability, validity, administration, major fundings, comments, references, and scale items for each entry. Compare to HANDBOOK OF MARKETING SCALES. >Branson (Ref) HF5437 A2 P82 PURCHASING PERFORMANCE BENCHMARKS. Tempe: Center for Advanced Purchasing Studies, 1994. Enables purchasers to compare one purchasing department with a standard that is the composite of a large group of purchasing departments. Provides "averages and ranges for characteristics of purchasing performance." Slogans >Branson (Ref) HF6135 E94 1992 Urdang, Lawrence, and Janet Braunstein, comps. EVERY BITE A DELIGHT AND OTHER SLOGANS. Detroit: Visible Ink, 1992. A collection of advertising slogans arranged thematically. Indicates company ownership. >Branson (Ref) HF6135 S57 1984 Robbins, Ceila Dame, ed. SLOGANS. Detroit: Gale Research, 1984. A collection of more than 6,000 slogans used in advertising, political campaigns and popular causes. Arrangement is by thematic categories and identified as to source. Statistics >Branson (Doc) C3.24:yr./v. CENSUS OF MANUFACTURES. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Published every five years. Categorizes manufacturing establishments by type using some 450 classes, and contains detailed industry and geographic statistics for such items as the number of establishments, quantity of output, value added in manufacture, capital expenditures, employment, wages, inventories, sales by customer class, and fuel, water, and energy consumption. >Branson (Doc) C3.134/2:C83/2/yr. >Branson (Ref Info Desk) HA202 A36 >NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 A36 COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Published every five years. Serves as a convenient resource of statistics gathered in the various censuses and provides breakdowns on a city and county basis. Included are statistics on population, education, employment, income, housing, banking, manufacturing output and capital expenditures, retail and wholesale sales, and mineral and agricultural output. >Branson (Doc) C3.134/5:yr. >Branson (Ref Info Desk) HA202 S72 >NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA 202 S72 STATE AND METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. A statistical abstract supplement containing information on population, housing, government, manufacturing, retail and wholesale trade, and selected services by state and standard metropolitan statistical areas. >Branson (Doc) C3.204/3-no:yr. COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Annual. Contains statistics on the number of businesses by type with their employment and payroll broken down by county. These data are often quite useful in industrial market potential studies. >Branson (Doc) C3.233/3:yr./v. CENSUS OF TRANSPORTATION. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Published every five years. Covers three major areas: passenger travel, truck and bus inventory and use, and the transport of commodities by the various classes of carriers. >Branson (Doc) C3.255/6:yr./v. CENSUS OF RETAIL TRADE. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Published every five years. Retail stores are classified by type of business, and statistics are presented on such things as the number of stores, total sales, employment, and payroll. >Branson (Doc) C3.256/4:yr./v. CENSUS OF WHOLESALE TRADE. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Published every five years. Classifies wholesalers into over 150 business groups and contains statistics on the functions they perform, sales, volume, expenses, etc. >Branson (Doc) C3.257/4:yr./v. CENSUS OF SERVICE INDUSTRIES. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of the Census. Published every five years. Provides data on receipts, employment, type of business (for example, hotel, laundry), and number of units by small geographic areas. >Branson (Doc) C59.9:v./no. HANDBOOK OF CYCLICAL INDICATORS. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of Economic Analysis. Published monthly, it contains at least 70 indicators of business activity designed to serve as a key to general economic conditions. >Branson (Doc) C59.11:v./no: SURVEY OF CURRENT BUSINESS. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of Economic Analysis. Monthly. Provides a comprehensive statistical summary of the national income and product accounts of the United States. >Branson (Doc) C59.11/3:yr. BUSINESS STATISTICS. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of Economic Analysis. Biennial. This publication provides an historical record of the data series appearing monthly in the SURVEY OF CURRENT BUSINESS. >Branson (Doc) C61.28/2:yr. U.S. FOREIGN TRADE HIGHLIGHTS. Washington: International Trade Administration. Annual. Provides data on U.S. merchandise trade. Emphasis is on aggregate exports and imports, U.S. commodity and country/regional trade balances, and shifts in the commodity composition of U.S. exports/imports with major trading partners and regions. >Branson (Doc) C61.34:yr. U.S. INDUSTRIAL OUTLOOK. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of Industrial Economics. This annual publication covers the recent trends and five- year outlook for over 350 manufacturing and service industries. >Branson (Doc) Y4.Ec7:Ec7 ECONOMIC INDICATORS. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Council of Economic Advisors. This monthly publication contains charts and tables of general economic data such as gross national product, personal consumption expenditures, and other series important in measuring general economic activity. >Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1980 - . Annual. This is a comprehensive descriptive guide and index to the statistics published by all government agencies, congressional subcommittees and statistics- producing programs. Each issue consists of an abstracts section and the index section which provides access to the abstracts by detailed subjects, names, categories, titles, and report numbers. >Branson (Atlas Case) G1019 R22 RAND MCNALLY COMMERCIAL ATLAS & MARKETING GUIDE. Chicago: Rand. Annual. Statistical data by MSAs includes population, ethnic population, households, total retail sales, sales for shopping goods, food stores, drugstores, passenger car registrations, total manufacturing, and land area. >Branson (Per) HF5438 Sa32m SALES & MARKETING MANAGEMENT JOURNAL. SURVEY OF BUYING POWER. New York: Sales & Marketing Management, 1975 - . The SURVEY OF BUYING POWER is published in two parts. The first part is published as the second July issue of SALES & MARKETING MANAGEMENT JOURNAL. This important source shows U.S. and Canadian geographic variations in population, income, and retail business. The Effective Buying Index (EBI) is included. The second part is published as the second October issue of SALES & MARKETING MANAGEMENT JOURNAL. It includes merchandise, line sales, metropolitan area projections and percent change for population, EBI, and total retail sales. >Branson (Per) STANDARD RATE & DATA SERVICE. Wilmette: Standard Rate & Data Service, 1952 - . Comprised of several individual directories which give advertising rates, specifications, and circulation for publications and radio and TV stations. Specialized publications include Hispanic Media & Markets, Newspaper Circulation Analysis, and Print Media Production Data. The library has: Branson (Per) HF5415.3 S7 SRDS NEWPAPER CIRCULATION ANALYSIS HF5871 D54 SRDS DIRECT MAIL LISTS RATES & DATA HF5905 S723 SRDS BUSINESS PUBLICATION RATES & DATA HG5905 S725 SRDS CONSUMER MAGAZINE AND AGRI- MEDIA RATES & DATA HF5905 S73 SRDS NEWSPAPER RATES AND DATA HF5905 S74 SRDS SPOT RADIO RATES AND DATA HF5905 S745 SRDS SPOT TELEVISION RATES AND DATA NewLib (Per) P945 H58 H57 SRDS HISPANIC MEDIA AND MARKETS Branson (Per) HG4501 V26 VALUE LINE INVESTMENT SURVEY. New York:Value Line, 1987 - . This highly-used investment service continuously analyzes about 17,000 companies in 100 major industries. The statistics for each company are revised quarterly. Data included are an eleven-year statistical history of 22 key investment factors, quarterly sales, EPS, dividends, Beta rating, and a brief review of the company's latest developments and future prospects. >Branson (Ref) HA12.5 Un3s 34th UNITED NATIONS STATISTICAL YEARBOOK. New York: United Nations, 1948 - . Annual. This is a basic reference work for statistics on all U.N. countries. Sections covered include population, manpower, manufacturing, wholesale and retail trade, and tourism among others. This work is slow to be published.