---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN MANAGEMENT Compiled by Sylvia Ortiz Fall, 1992 Conducting research in the field of management requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > Branson (Ref) HD2755.5 G73 1990 Gray, S. J., M. C. McDermott and E. J. Walsh. HANDBOOK OF INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS AND MANAGEMENT. Cambridge: Blackwell, 1990. Brief entries for key terms and concepts in international management. Includes some company names. Handbooks > Branson (Ref) HF5549.5 C62 H68 1984 Anson, Edward M. HOW TO PREPARE AND WRITE YOUR EMPLOYEE HANDBOOK. New York: American Management Assn., 1984. A step-by-step guide to writing an employee handbook. Sample policies are included. > Branson (Ref) HF5549.5 D7 B36 1989 Banta, William F., and Forest Tennant. COMPLETE HANDBOOK FOR COMBATING SUBSTANCE ABUSE IN THE WORKPLACE: MEDICAL FACTS, LEGAL ISSUES, AND PRACTICAL SOLUTIONS. Lexington: Lexington, 1989. Gives an overview of the drug and alcohol problem in the workplace, medical data, techniques used to combat substance abuse, legal issues involved in drug testing, and employee assistance programs. The appendix includes sample substance abuse policies. > Branson (Ref) HD30.33 B47 1989 Berryman-Fink, Cynthia. THE MANAGER’S DESK REFERENCE. New York: AMACOM, 1989. Summaries, usually averaging 10 pages each, on management issues and methods. Covers topics such as conflict management, employee assistance programs, and quality circles. > Branson (Ref) HF5549.5 D39 M67 1991 Morgan, Hal, and Kerry Tucker. COMPANIES THAT CARE. New York: Simon, 1991. Lists 124 companies with an interest in providing paid paternity leave policies, emergency care-giver services, in-plant child day-care centers, alternative family leave options, flexible work options or elder care within their organizational philosophies and practices. > Branson (Ref) HD5324 L32 1990 Filippelli, Ronald L., ed. LABOR CONFLICT IN THE UNITED STATES: AN ENCYCLOPEDIA. New York: Garland, 1990. Provides background and historical information on labor conflicts in the United States. The earliest listed are the colonial strikes reported as early as 1636 and the latest is the Paperworkers' Lockout and Strike of 1987-88. > Branson (Ref) HF5549.5 A83 E9 1981 Cook, John D., et al. THE EXPERIENCE OF WORK: A COMPENDIUM AND REVIEW OF 249 MEASURES AND THEIR USE. New York: Academic, 1981. This volume identifies measures of work attitudes, values, and perceptions. Each measure is described briefly and gives scoring criteria. Bibliographic references and an index by title of measure are included. > Branson (Ref) HF5548.8 H265 1990 Dunnette, Marvin D., and Leaetta Hough, eds. HANDBOOK OF INDUSTRIAL AND ORGANIZATIONAL PSYCHOLOGY. 2nd ed. Palo Alto: Consulting Psychologists, 1990 - . Updates the now classic 1976 edition of the HANDBOOK. Organized into long essays in theory or measurement and method of industrial or organizational psychology. Models of frequently-cited studies, methods, or theories are carefully illustrated. Extensive bibliographies at the end of each essay. > Branson (Ref) HD31 A418 1983 Fallon, William K., ed. AMA MANAGEMENT HANDBOOK. 2nd ed. New York: American Management Assn., 1983. This volume is divided into 14 subdisciplines of management. Each of these subdisciplines defines and discusses in detail the theories behind that discipline. Charts and graphs included. > Branson (Ref) HD30.28 L49 1988 Leza, Richard L., and Jose F. Placencia. DEVELOP YOUR BUSINESS PLAN. Milpitas: Oasis, 1988. An easy-to-use workbook which takes the user through the various steps in creating a business plan. Includes worksheets, charts, and graphs. > Branson (Ref) HF5549.5 T7 M58 1987 Mitchell, Garry. THE TRAINER’S HANDBOOK: THE AMA GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE TRAINING. New York: AMACOM, 1987. This handbook covers the training process from the planning and preparation stage through writing the training document, negotiation, and training. Brief summaries are included at the end of the chapters and key ideas are emphasized in charts or figures. > Branson (Ref) HD2741 M65 1990 Moskowitz, Milton, Robert Levering, and Michael Katz eds. EVERYBODY'S BUSINESS: A FIELD GUIDE TO THE 400 LEADING COMPANIES IN AMERICA. New York: Doubleday, 1990. Four hundred large companies are profiled in this volume according to major industry. Information for each company includes market rankings, sales and profits, brief history, stock performance, consumer brands, and a social conscience rating. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on management topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals; many of these relate to management. An appropriate search strategy in this database would be to use the most specific term(s) that describe the information desired. Updated monthly. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as PERSONNEL JOURNAL and HARVARD BUSINESS REVIEW. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope, topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of management. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) Sociofile SocioFile covers sociology and related disciplines, including international development from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of management. > Branson (Ref Index Area) BUSINESS PERIODICALS INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1958 - . A monthly periodical index with coverage of business and management topics. Subjects are arranged in alphabetical order. Includes personal names also. > Branson (Ref) HC110 P6 P1 HUMAN RESOURCES ABSTRACTS. Beverly Hills: Sage, 1975 - . An abstract service providing quarterly access to periodical articles and books in HUMAN RESOURCES DEVELOPMENT. Author and subject indexes included. > Branson (Ref) HF5549 P432m PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT ABSTRACTS. Ann Arbor: Graduate School of Business Administration, U of Michigan, 1955 - . A quarterly publication indexing periodical articles dealing with personnel issues and organizational behavior. Arranged by topic. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of management. Branson HD28 A24 ACADEMY OF MANAGEMENT JOURNAL HD28 A22 ACADEMY OF MANAGEMENT REVIEW HD28 A25 ADMINISTRATIVE SCIENCE QUARTERLY HD28 A19 EXECUTIVE HD28 I5295 INTERNATIONAL MANAGEMENT HD28 J593 JOURNAL OF BUSINESS STRATEGY HD28 J597 JOURNAL OF MANAGEMENT HD69 C6 J68 JOURNAL OF MANAGEMENT CONSULTING (microfiche) TS155 A1 J66 JOURNAL OF OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT HD28 M29 MANAGEMENT QUARTERLY HD28 M311 MANAGEMENT REVIEW HF1 N4 NATION'S BUSINESS HD28 O5 OMEGA Q175 Op2r OPERATIONS RESEARCH HD28 In2m SLOAN MANAGEMENT REVIEW HD28 S7727 STRATEGIC MANAGEMENT JOURNAL FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term management, some of the narrower terms listed are Delegation of Authority Organizational Behavior Personnel Management While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical and combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order. If a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of management. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of management. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "management--bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU library: > Branson (Ref) HD6054.4 U6 L43 1988 Leavitt, Judith A. WOMEN IN ADMINISTRATION AND MANAGEMENT: AN INFORMATION SOURCEBOOK. Phoenix: Oryx, 1988. An annotated bibliography on women in management covering the years 1981-86. Arranged in major content areas, but the author, title, or subject indexes can also be used to access the entries. > Branson (Ref) HD6095 W53 1991 Wilkinson, Carroll Wetzel. WOMEN WORKING IN NONTRADITIONAL FIELDS: REFERENCES AND RESOURCES, 1963-1988. Boston: Hall, 1991. An annotated bibliography of books and periodical articles on careers for women in nontraditional fields. Included are such careers as fire fighters, rabbis, and composers. Directories > Branson (Ref) HD6504 D64 DIRECTORY OF U.S. LABOR ORGANIZATIONS. Washington: Bureau of National Affairs, 1982 - . This volume is divided into three sections: introduction and structure of AFL-CIO, AFL-CIO headquarters and central bodies, and a list of labor organizations. Union membership data is included. > Branson (Ref) HD2721 D36 Derdak, Thomas, et al. eds. INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORY OF COMPANY HISTORIES. Chicago: St. James, 1988 - . Provides historical information on the development of large companies throughout the world. There are four volumes arranged in alphabetical order by topic. Occasionally references to further reading are included. > Branson (Ref) HD38.25 U6 L49 1986 Lewis, William, and Carol Milano. THE PRENTICE-HALL DIRECTORY OF EXECUTIVE SEARCH FIRMS. New York: Prentice, 1986. A list of "headquarters" organized by state and by specialization. Also includes three chapters on using search firms effectively. > Branson (Ref) HF5549.5 T7 B29 1988 Bard, Ray, and Susan K. Elliott. THE NATIONAL DIRECTORY OF CORPORATE TRAINING PROGRAMS. Completely updated 2nd ed. New York: Doubleday, 1988. > Branson (Ref) HD2346 U5 N34 TRY US. Minneapolis: National Minority Business Campaign, 1991. Over 6,000 entries for minority-owned businesses in the United States, with at least one full-time employee and capable of national or regional sales. > Branson (Ref) HD6095 Z45 1988 Zeitz, Baila, and Lorraine Dusky. THE BEST COMPANIES FOR WOMEN. New York: Simon, 1988. Through a variety of means, identifies companies which are supportive in the recruitment, hiring, and promotion of women. Companies are listed alphabetically as well as geographically. Study Guides > Branson (Ref Index Area) HF1118 O33 1990 THE OFFICEIAL GUIDE FOR GMAT REVIEW. 1990-92 ed. Princeton: ETS, 1990. For those who are thinking of a graduate degree in business, GMAT scores are one criteria frequently used as a standard for admission to graduate school. This guide includes sample questions which will help the potential student prepare for the GMAT.