New Mexico State University Library (last revised 1-3-95) HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN LINGUISTICS Compiled by Carol Withers, Spring 1995 Conducting research in the field of linguistics requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library Branson A - H, HM - PZ HA - HJ, Q - Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. United States Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias >NewLib (Ref) P29 C65 1991 Crystal, David. A DICTIONARY OF LINGUISTICS AND PHONETICS. 3rd ed. Oxford: Blackwell, 1991. Paragraph-length descriptions covering terminology from ablative to zoosemiotics. Includes a two-page reference list. >NewLib (Ref) P29 C68 1992 Crystal, David. AN ENCYCLOPEDIC DICTIONARY OF LANGUAGE AND LANGUAGES. Oxford: Blackwell, 1992. >NewLib (Ref) P29 E48 1994 Asher, R. E., and J. M. Y. Simpson, eds. 10 vols. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS. Oxford: Pergamon, 1994. Consists of nine volumes of subject and personal entries. The tenth volume provides a 100-page glossary, list of languages of the world and the number of speakers of each, list of major journals, list of abbreviations, IPA conventions, classified list of entries in the other nine volumes, and a name and subject index. >NewLib (Ref) P29 I58 1992 Bright, William, ed. INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LINGUISTICS. 4 vols. New York: Oxford UP, 1992. Includes language families and brief bibliographies. The 4th volume has a useful index as well as topical outlines and a language family area outline. >NewLib (Ref) P29 L52 1991 Malmkjaer, Kirsten, and James M. Anderson, eds. THE LINGUISTICS ENCYCLOPEDIA. London: Routledge, 1991. Provides substantial discussion on various topics. Each entry is followed by suggested readings. Its 48-page bibliography is organized by author. A 30-page index makes this encyclopedia very useful. >NewLib (Ref) P129 R5 1985 Richards, Jack C., et al. LONGMAN DICTIONARY OF APPLIED LINGUISTICS. Harlow: Longman, 1985. >NewLib (Ref) PE1580 B35 1988 Barnhart, Robert K., ed. THE BARNHART DICTIONARY OF ETYMOLOGY. Bronx: Wilson, 1988. >NewLib (Ref) PE679 M54 Kurath, Hans, and Sherman M. Kuhn, eds. MIDDLE ENGLISH DICTIONARY. 18 vols. to date. Ann Arbor: U of Michigan P, 1952 - . This currently includes words starting with the letters A through Te-. >NewLib (Ref) PE1625 O87 1989 Simpson, J. A., and E. S. C. Weiner, comps. OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY. 2nd ed. 20 vols. Oxford: Clarendon P, 1989. Includes etymology and presumed first usage of the words defined. >NewLib (Ref) PE1689 I3 1983 Urdang, Laurence, ed. IDIOMS AND PHRASES INDEX. 3 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1983. Refers the user to a variety of dictionaries in which the idioms and phrases will appear. Guides and Handbooks >NewLib (Ref) H62 H2455 1994 Denzin, Norman K., and Yvonna S. Lincoln, eds. HANDBOOK OF QUALITATIVE RESEARCH. Thousand Oaks: Sage, 1994. Divided into six parts: Part I - Locating the Field; Part II - Major Paradigms and Perspectives; Part III - Strategies of Inquiry; Part IV - Methods of Collecting and Analyzing Empirical Materials; Part V - The Art of Interpretation, Evaluation, and Presentation; Part VI - The Future of Qualitative Research. Also includes a name and subject index. Articles are followed by a substantial reference list. >NewLib (Ref) P121 D45 1991 DeMiller, Anna L. LINGUISTICS: A GUIDE TO THE REFERENCE LITERATURE. Englewood: Libraries Unlimited, 1991. This volume is divided into three main sections (general linguistics, allied area, and languages) which are then subdivided. This well organized source includes author, subject, and title indexes. >NewLib (Ref) P203 V6 Voegelin, C. F., and F. M. Voegelin. Classification and Index of the World's Languages. New York: Elsevier, 1977. Discusses the relationships within language families. Lengthy list of references and a detailed index makes this very useful. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. Lists of references following journal articles can provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to print and electronic indexes. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on engineering topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. >Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) >NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the reference desk if you need any help. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) CARL UnCover CARL provides access to several library catalogs and databases. CARL UnCover contains citations to current articles from over 15,000 journals and magazines. UnCover also provides document delivery via fax; the price of each article appears in the citation. It is a good idea to check to see if the article is available locally before ordering. There are several ways to access CARL. One is through the NMSU library gopher on Cafe OLE which can be used in Branson Hall, New Library, or by remote connection. Choose "NMSU Library Gopher." Then choose "access to other libraries." Then choose CARL. >NewLib (Library Network) >Branson (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION (CIJE) and RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE) indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Linguistics and ESL are heavily covered. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. ERIC documents include research reports and studies, curriculum guides, bibliographies, directories, speeches, and conference proceedings. The entire ERIC collection on microfiche is arranged by ED document number in cabinets in the microform area of New Library. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. >NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) MLA International Bibliography This electronic version of the MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BOOKS AND ARTICLES ON THE MODERN LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES includes bibliographic records pertaining to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 3,000 scholarly journals and series, bibliographies, book articles and book reviews, dissertations, monographs, proceedings and working papers. ESL is covered to some degree, yet other linguistic areas are well represented. Provides coverage from 1981 to the present, with quarterly updates. >NewLib (Library Network) >Branson (Library Network) PsycLit Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of linguistics. >NewLib (Library Network) >Branson (Library Network) Sociofile Sociofile covers sociology and related disciplines, including sociolinguistics from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1,600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of linguistics. >NewLib (Ref) GN1 A15 ABSTRACTS IN ANTHROPOLOGY. Westport: Greenwood, 1974 - . Indexes articles in archaeology, cultural and physical anthropology, and linguistics. >NewLib (Ref) GN1 R67 ANTHROPOLOGICAL INDEX. London: RAI, 1983 - . This index to articles is organized by broad geographical regions such as West Africa or Southeast Asia. It is then subdivided into aspects such as cultural anthropology or linguistics. >NewLib (Ref) P1 L15 LINGUISTICS AND LANGUAGE BEHAVIOR ABSTRACTS. La Jolla: Sociological Abstracts, 1985 - . Though mainly an index to articles, this also abstracts selected books. Author, source, and subject indexes are in one volume for a given year. These indexes refer you to the abstracts in other volumes of the same year. >NewLib (Ref) PB35 L32 LANGUAGE TEACHING & LINGUISTICS. London: Cambridge UP, 1975 - 1981. Covers "relevant works in psychology, linguistics, language studies, teaching methodology and technology, and experimental teaching" (from inside cover). Continued by LANGUAGE TEACHING: THE INTERNATIONAL ABSTRACTING JOURNAL FOR LANGUAGE TEACHERS AND APPLIED LINGUISTICS. >NewLib (Ref) PB35 L32 Language Teaching: The International Abstracting Journal for Language Teachers and Applied Linguistics. London: Cambridge UP, 1982 - . "A compact digest of current thinking on theoretical and practical aspects of learning and teaching languages" (from inside cover). International. Subject and author indexes included. Continues LANGUAGE TEACHING AND LINGUISTICS. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the on-line catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of linguistics. New Library P1 A1 L5 LINGUISTICS: AN INTERDISCIPLINARY JOURNAL OF THE LANGUAGE SCIENCES P1 An86 ANTHROPOLOGICAL LINGUISTICS P1 C16j CANADIAN JOURNAL OF LINGUISTICS=LA REVUE CANADIENNE DE LINGUISTIQUE P1 G286 GENERAL LINGUISTICS P1 J65 JOURNAL OF LINGUISTICS P1 L269 LANGUAGE P1 L3 LANGUAGE AND COGNITIVE PROCESSES P1 P35 RESEARCH ON LANGUAGE AND SOCIAL INTERACTION P2 L56 LA LINGUISTIQUE P3 L554 LINGUISTICHE BERICHTE P9 F825 STUDIES IN LANGUAGE P11 L5 LINGUISTIC SOCIETY OF AMERICA BULLETIN P51 I58 IRAL, INTERNATIONAL REVIEW OF APPLIED LINGUISTICS IN LANGUAGE TEACHING P53 G43 GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY ROUND TABLE ON LANGUAGES AND LINGUISTICS P87 L36 LANGUAGE AND COMMUNICATION P98 A43 COMPUTATIONAL LINGUISTICS P129 A66 APPLIED LINGUISTICS PE1001 J65 JOURNAL OF ENGLISH LINGUISTICS PM101 In8 INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF AMERICAN LINGUISTICS FINDING BOOKS Books are generally not as current as journal articles but provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the on-line catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas and on each floor. Access to OLE is possible through Cafe OLE from a remote site. You can access Cafe OLE from any of the computer labs on campus. Start a new session with your Telnet software and type or select library for the host or session name. You can also access the system using a modem or TAU. Dial the NMSU-Net at 646-4942 and type library at the NMSU-Net> prompt. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen indicates whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi- volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term linguistics some of the narrower terms listed are: applied linguistics, componention analysis, field theory, historical linguistics, linguistic models, register, and universals. While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using AND, OR, NOT) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, an "(SpC)" designation means the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). A "(Ref)" designation means the book will be located in the reference area. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of linguistics. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of linguistics. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "linguistics -- bibliography." The following bibliography may be helpful. >NewLib (Ref) PE1 B53 Paues, A. C., ed. ANNUAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE. Cambridge: Bowes & Bowes, 1923 - . Books, journal and newspaper articles, as well as unpublished materials covering a wide variety of topics appear in this bibliography. A few of the topics covered are phonology, history of linguistics, book illustration and binding. Biographies >NewLib (Ref Biog) GN20 I5 1991 Winters, Christopher, et al., eds. INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY OF ANTHROPOLOGISTS. New York: Garland, 1991. This volume includes persons from "some branches of linguistics" (preface). >NewLib (Ref Biog) GN20 W63 1988 Gacs, U., ed. Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary. New York: Greenwood, 1988. Covers 58 anthropologists with birth dates ranging from 1836 to 1934. >NewLib (Ref Biog) P83 B5 Bronstein, Arthur J., Lawrence J. Raphael, and C. J. Stevens, eds. A BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF THE PHONETIC SCIENCES. New York: Press of Lehman College, 1977. Focuses on "contributors to the phonetic sciences who live(d) in and work(ed) on North America and Western Europe" (preface).