---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- SOURCES OF INFORMATION ON LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES Compiled by Molly Molloy Spring, 1994 The field of Latin American studies encompasses research in many academic disciplines with a regional focus on the Caribbean, Mexico, and Central and South America. Many area studies focus on the humanities and social sciences disciplines, such as history, political science, anthropology, or literature, but current trends in Latin American studies may emphasize science or business research. For example, studies of environmental pollution along the U.S.-Mexico border, or the effects of free trade on Latin American banks would require scientific, technical or financial information with a regional focus. Conducting research in Latin American studies requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) F1406 C36 1985 Collier, Simon, et al., eds. THE CAMBRIDGE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN. New York: Cambridge UP, 1985. Brief articles with bibliographical references. > NewLib (Ref) JF2011 W67 1983 Delury, George E., ed. WORLD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF POLITICAL SYSTEMS AND PARTIES. New York: Facts on File, 1983. Arranged alphabetically. Profiles 169 nations and territories. Information includes system of government, history, organization, policy, membership and constituency, financing, leadership and prospects, opposition, and national prospects. > NewLib (Ref) F2505 D5 1984 DICIONARIO HISTóRICO-BIOGRáFICO BRASILERO 1930-1983. 4 vols. Rio de Janeiro: Fundação Getulio Vargas, 1984. In Portuguese; articles cover important people, organizations and events in Brazil. > NewLib (Ref) F1408 G73 1983 GRAN ENCICLOPEDIA DE ESPAñA Y AMéRICA: BIBLIOTECA DEL V CENTENARIO. 10 vols. Madrid: Gela, Espasa-Calpe/Argantonio, 1983-1987. Extensive reference work on Spanish America. Each volume covers a different aspect of Latin American culture. Vol. 1, LOS HABITANTES HASTA COLóN; vol. 2, MESTIZAJE Y POBLACIóN ACTUAL; vol. 3, LA TIERRA; vol. 4, EL DESCUBRIMIENTO; vol. 5, DESARROLLO E INDEPENDENCIA; vol. 6, NUESTRO TIEMPO; vol. 7, CREENCIAS; vol. 8, LITERATURA; vol. 9, ARTE; vol. 10, LOS RECURSOS. Broad subject outline in table of contents for each volume, but no indexes. > NewLib (Ref) F2183 G86 1991 Gunson, Phil, Greg Chamberlain, and Andrew Thompson. THE DICTIONARY OF CONTEMPORARY POLITICS OF CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN. New York: Simon, 1991. Alphabetical listing with short articles on people, politics, places and events in recent history of Central America and the Caribbean. > NewLib (Ref) F1408.3 N86 Nunez, Benajamin. DICTIONARY OF AFRO-LATIN AMERICAN CIVILIZATION. Westport: Greenwood, 1980. Historical and descriptive dictionary of terms and phrases, biographies of Afro-Latin political leaders, writers and other personalities important in the history of African-Latin American civilization. > NewLib (Ref) JL1851 A25 G86 1989 Gunson, Phil, Andrew Thompson, and Greg Chamberlain. THE DICTIONARY OF CONTEMPORARY POLITICS OF SOUTH AMERICA. New York: Macmillan, 1989. Alphabetical listing of people, parties, events and concepts in South American politics in the last half of the 20th century. Includes excellent maps of each country. > NewLib (Ref) JX1226 P55 1988 Plano, Jack C., and Roy Olton. THE INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS DICTIONARY. 4th ed. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1988. Brief explanations of terms and concepts in international relations. > NewLib (Ref) F1406 R67 Rossi, Ernest E., and Jack C. Plano. THE LATIN AMERICAN POLITICAL DICTIONARY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1980. The entries are arranged by topics, and include explanations of terms and their significance in the regional or local political context. > NewLib (Ref) GN564 L29 S84 1989 Stephens, Thomas M. DICTIONARY OF LATIN AMERICAN RACIAL AND ETHNIC TERMINOLOGY. Gainesville: U of Florida P, 1989. Lists more than 1,000 terms that refer to ethnicity, social class, physical type, etc. Each citation refers to a source and date. Covers Spanish and Portuguese terms. Includes an extensive bibliography and geographic index showing where the terms are used. > NewLib (Ref) KG25 T67 1989 Torres, Arturo L. LATIN AMERICAN LEGAL ABBREVIATIONS: A COMPREHENSIVE SPANISH/ PORTUGUESE DICTIONARY WITH ENGLISH TRANSLATIONS. New York: Greenwood, 1989. > NewLib (Ref) JL195 P64 v.2 Alexander, Robert J., ed. POLITICAL PARTIES OF THE AMERICAS: CANADA, LATIN AMERICA, AND THE WEST INDIES; GUADELOUPE, VIRGIN ISLANDS OF THE UNITED STATES. Westport: Greenwood, 1982. Arranged by country, this volume gives details on the organization, history, actions and major personalities of hundreds of political parties and movements in the Americas. Includes chronology and genealogy of many parties through the early 1980s. > NewLib (Ref) PQ6006 O93 Ward, Philip, ed. THE OXFORD COMPANION TO SPANISH LITERATURE. Oxford: Clarendon, 1978. An alphabetical listing of people and terms in Spanish and Spanish-American literature covering the period from Roman Spain to 1977. Latin American Historical Dictionaries Series Works in this series provide brief descriptions of the people, places and events of Latin American history. Begun in the 1960s, many volumes in the series are now being reedited to include updated information. > NewLib (Ref) F3404 A39 Alisky, Marvin. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF PERU. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1979. > NewLib (Ref) F3054 B5 Bizzarro, Salvatore. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF CHILE. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1972. > NewLib (Ref) F3704 B67 Bork, Albert William. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF ECUADOR. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1973. > NewLib (Ref) F1204 B74 Briggs, Donald C. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF MEXICO. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1981. > NewLib (Ref) F1542 C7 Creedman, Theodore. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF COSTA RICA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1977. > NewLib (Ref) F2254 D38 Davis, Robert Henry. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF COLOMBIA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1977. > NewLib (Ref) F1954 F37 Farr, Kenneth. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF PUERTO RICO AND THE U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1973. > NewLib (Ref) F1482 F55 Flemion, Philip F. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF EL SALVADOR. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1972. > NewLib (Ref) F2151 G25 Gastmann, Albert L. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF THE FRENCH AND NETHERLANDS ANTILLES. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1978. > NewLib (Ref) F3304 H4 Heath, Dwight B. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF BOLIVIA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1972. > NewLib (Ref) F2664 K64 Kolinski, Charles J. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF PARAGUAY. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1973. > NewLib (Ref) F2504 L46 Levine, Robert M. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF BRAZIL. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1979. > NewLib (Ref) F2131 L88 Lux, William. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF THE BRITISH CARIBBEAN. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1975. > NewLib (Ref) F1522 M4 Meyer, Harvey Kessler. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF NICARAGUA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1972. > NewLib (Ref) F1502 M56 Meyer, Harvey Kessler. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF HONDURAS. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1976. > NewLib (Ref) F1462 M6 1973 Moore, Richard E. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF GUATEMALA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1973. > NewLib (Ref) F1913 P47 Perusse, Roland. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF HAITI. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1977. > NewLib (Ref) F2304 R8 Rudolph, Donna Keyse. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF VENEZUELA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1971. > NewLib (Ref) F2704 W54 Willis, Jean L. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF URUGUAY. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1974. > NewLib (Ref) F2804 W74 Wright, Ione. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF ARGENTINA. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1978. Research Guides Research guides or “guides to the literature” often provide excellent overviews of the subject matter and bibliography of the discipline, past, current and future research trends, information on specialized library and archival resources and other information of use to the researcher. Research guides may lead to sources not owned by the NMSU library, but once identified, sources can often be acquired by the library or borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. > NewLib (Ref) F1408 L3225 1992 Covington, Paula H., et al., eds. LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN: A CRITICAL GUIDE TO RESEARCH SOURCES. New York: Greenwood, 1992. Arranged by discipline, each chapter of this guide is written by a scholar and/or expert in Latin American bibliography. A bibliographic essay accompanies a comprehensive list of research sources for each discipline, arranged by country or region. All social sciences and humanities disciplines are covered including anthropology, economics, education, geography, history, literature and the arts, religion, sociology, and women’s studies. The essays provide an overview of recent scholarship and indicate directions of current and future research. > NewLib (Ref) N4015 M6 D38 1988 Martha Davidson, ed. PICTURE COLLECTIONS, MEXICO: A GUIDE TO PICTURE SOURCES IN THE UNITED MEXICAN STATES. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1988. Lists locations and access information to 570 picture collections in Mexico including archives, libraries, museums, private collections, and other institutions. Important source for locating art, photo- graphs, and other images. > NewLib (Ref) F2161 R47 1985 Grieb, Kenneth J., et al., eds. RESEARCH GUIDE TO CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN. Madison: U of Wisconsin P, 1985. A guide to research trends and sources for the history of Central America and the Caribbean. Excellent information on archival collections in the United States, and on the archives in various countries in the region. > NewLib (Ref) F1408 G787 1971 Griffin, Charles C., ed. LATIN AMERICA: A GUIDE TO THE HISTORICAL LITERATURE. Austin: U of Texas P, 1971. This is an excellent guide to Latin American bibliography. Specialists provide annotations to over 7,000 works of use to the researcher in Latin American history. > Branson Z1601 G72 Hartness-Kane, Ann, and Richard D. Woods. LATIN AMERICA IN ENGLISH- LANGUAGE REFERENCE BOOKS: A SELECTED ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Special Libraries Assn., 1981. Covers over 100 basic English-language sources for the beginning researcher in Latin American studies. > NewLib (Ref) F1408 L324 1990 McNeil, Robert A., et al., eds. LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES: A BASIC GUIDE TO SOURCES. 2nd ed. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1990. This guide is arranged by type of source, that is, each chapter covers important research tools on Latin America such as manuscripts and archival material, library catalogs, encyclopedias, and government publications. It also contains valuable information on research centers and professional organizations. Indexed by title and by subject. > NewLib (Ref) F786 B67 1983 > Branson (SpC) F786 B67 1983 Stoddard, Ellwyn R., et al., eds. BORDERLANDS SOURCEBOOK: A GUIDE TO THE LITERATURE ON NORTHERN MEXICO AND THE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 1983. Scholarly essays and bibliographies on the borderlands by experts in many disciplines. > Branson Z1601 W47 Werlich, David P. RESEARCH TOOLS FOR LATIN AMERICAN HISTORIANS: A SELECT, ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1980. Lists over 1,000 reference tools for information on Latin America and the Caribbean such as guides to archives and libraries, guides to official publications, and newspaper indexes. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn’t subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on Latin American studies. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. Good source for articles on investment, trade, and international business. Updated monthly. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) AGRICOLA Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes articles, reports, books and government documents in the areas of agricultural economics, wildlife, biology, home economics, nutrition, and rural sociology. Good coverage of Latin America and the Caribbean. Updated quarterly. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) Compact Disclosure Contains financial and management information on over 11,000 public companies. Company data is extracted from annual and periodic reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. The Global Disclosure disk provides information on many Latin American companies. Updated quarterly. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE) indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. ERIC is a good source for socio-economic information on Hispanics in the United States. The Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (Time, Newsweek, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as Latin American Research Review and Hispanic American Historical Review. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the New York Times. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) MLA International Bibliography This electronic version of the MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures includes bibliographic records pertaining to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 3,000 scholarly journals and series, bibliographies, book chapters, dissertations, monographs, proceedings and working papers. Excellent source for Latin American literature and linguistics articles, including articles on Native American languages and linguistics. MLA also provides excellent coverage of the scholarly folklore literature and work in anthropological linguistics. Provides coverage from 1981 to the present, with quarterly updates. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of Psychological Abstracts. Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) Science Citation Index Provides coverage of over 3,000 journals in the physical, mathematical and life sciences. This database would be useful for a science topic with a Latin American regional focus such as Amazonian ecology or earthquake research in Chile. Covers 1989 to the present. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles on Latin America. > NewLib (Ref) E31 A43 AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1974 - . Comprehensive index to literature on North American history. Published five times per year with annual and five-year cumulations. Of most use to Latin American studies are sections on the pre- Columbian and the discovery and exploration periods. Comprehensive subject/keyword index supplements broad classification by region and by period. > Branson (Ref Index Area) BUSINESS PERIODICALS INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1958 - . Monthly. Covers business and management topics including trade policy, foreign investment and other topics that may relate to Latin America. > Branson Z1361 M4 C47 1981 CHICANO PERIODICAL INDEX: A CUMULATIVE INDEX TO SELECTED CHICANO PERIODICALS BETWEEN 1967 AND 1978. Boston: Hall, 1981. A subject/author index to articles on Chicanos in academic journals, literary publications, popular magazines and other periodicals. > NewLib (Ref) JA1 A1 C65 C.R.I.S.: THE COMBINED RETROSPECTIVE INDEX SET TO JOURNALS IN POLITICAL SCIENCE. 8 vols. Washington: Carrollton, 1977-1978. Covers English-language periodicals. Volume 1 covers international affairs and organizations. Volumes 7 and 8 are the author indexes. > NewLib H1 C87 CURRENT CONTENTS: SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES. Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1974 - . Weekly. Reproduces the contents pages of approximately 1,300 journals grouped within broad categories as well as articles from multi-authored books. Indexed by title, keyword, and author. Library retains current year only. > NewLib (Ref) F1401 H23 HANDBOOK OF LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES. Gainesville: U of Florida P, 1935 - . Provides extensive subject access to books, journal articles and government documents published all over the world on Latin America. Beginning in 1964, the handbook is subdivided into social sciences and humanities volumes published in alternate years, for example, vol. 50 (1990) — Humanities, and vol. 51 (1991) — Social Sciences. The humanities volumes cover art, folklore, history, languages, literature, music, and philosophy. The social science volumes cover anthropology, economics, education, geography, government, international relations, and sociology. The abstracts are arranged in a classified subject listing for browsing, with author and subject indexes. A bibliographic essay reviewing recent scholarship in the field introduces each subject section. > NewLib (Ref) F1408 H16 HISPANIC AMERICAN PERIODICALS INDEX: HAPI. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center, 1974 - . Annual index to over 200 academic journals and magazines from and about Latin America. HAPI provides the best coverage of the periodical literature in the humanities and social sciences on Latin America. The index is arranged by subject, with separate author and book review indexes. > NewLib (Ref) D299 H629 HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1971 - . Comprehensive coverage of literature in world history. Part A: Modern History Abstracts covers 1450-1914; Part B: Twentieth Century Abstracts covers 1914-present. Each part has a section on Latin America and the Caribbean. Subject and keyword index supplements classified arrangement. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS. New York: Wilson, 1964 - . Subject and author index to articles in legal periodicals published in the United States. Latin America is covered in entries under international law. > NewLib (Ref) JA36 In8p INTERNATIONAL POLITICAL SCIENCE ABSTRACTS. Paris: International Political Science Assn., 1945 - . Quarterly with annual cumulations. Indexes and abstracts the international journal literature in political science. Provides excellent coverage of Latin American government and politics. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1991 - . The international PAIS indexes journal articles, books and government publications issued throughout the world on contemporary public issues and the making and evaluation of public policy. Items indexed may be in English, Spanish, French or other languages. This general index is one of the best sources for references to foreign government publications, including many from the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean. The older issues of PAIS, going back to 1915, cover materials in English only, but still provide good coverage of international politics and government. PAIS is also available on CD-ROM. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE. New York: Wilson, 1900 - . Semi-monthly with annual cumulation. Index to more than 150 popular English-language magazines and journals. Arranged by subject and author. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Quarterly with annual cumulations. Indexes English-language journals in all social science fields, including anthropology, sociology, economics, political science, and community development. Good coverage of Latin America. > Branson (Ref Index Area) WALL STREET JOURNAL. INDEX. New York: Dow, 1955 - . Index to leading U.S. daily financial newspaper. Excellent source for articles on U.S. — Latin America trade policy and business. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries that contain artitcles relevant to the study of Latin America. New Library F1401 A572 AMéRICAS E11 Am35 THE AMERICAS: A QUARTERLY REVIEW OF INTERAMERICAN CULTURAL HISTORY E184 M5 R48 AMERICAS REVIEW N7 A68 ARCHIVO ESPAñOL DE ARTE E184 M5 A98 AZTLáN LC3701 N37 BILINGUAL RESEARCH JOURNAL P115 B54 BILINGUAL REVIEW—REVISTA BILINGUE PC4008 B874h BULLETIN OF HISPANIC STUDIES AP6 C27 CARIBBEAN REVIEW LA132 C65 COMPARATIVE EDUCATION LA1 C738e COMPARATIVE EDUCATION REVIEW PN851 C63 COMPARATIVE LITERATURE STUDIES JA3 C67 COMPARATIVE POLITICS E184 S75 C75 CRITICA B5 C75 CRITICA: REVISTA HISPANOAMERICANA DE FILOSOFIA Ap63 C891a CUADERNOS AMERICANOS GN357 C85 CULTURAL SURVIVAL QUARTERLY PQ7081 A1 DISCURSO LITERARIA PQ7100 E57 ENTORNO E51 Et38 ETHNOHISTORY D410 F674 FOREIGN POLICY AP63 G34 GACETA DEL FONDO DE CULTURA ECONOMICA N7 G6 GOYA: REVISTA DE ARTE PC4001 H625 HISPANIA E184 S75 H54 HISPANIC F1401 H625 HISPANIC AMERICAN HISTORICAL REVIEW BF1 H57 HISPANIC JOURNAL OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES PQ6001 H625 HISPANIC REVIEW PQ6001 H6254 HISPANOFILA F1201 H629m HISTORIA MEXICANA LC1090 I59 INTERNATIONAL EDUCATOR JV6001 I55 INTERNATIONAL MIGRATION REVIEW J87N6 F201.95 JOURNAL OF BORDERLANDS STUDIES BF728 J65 JOURNAL OF CROSS-CULTURAL PSYCHOLOGY E11 J826i JOURNAL OF INTERAMERICAN STUDIES AND WORLD AFFAIRS GR114 J67 JOURNAL OF LATIN AMERICAN LORE F1401 J68 JOURNAL OF LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES LC3701 J68 JOURNAL OF MULTICULTURAL COUNSELING AND DEVELOPMENT F806 Ar47w JOURNAL OF THE SOUTHWEST L45 E459 LA EDUCACION F1401 L335 LATIN AMERICAN PERSPECTIVES F1401 L349a LATIN AMERICAN RESEARCH REVIEW PN2309 L37 LATIN AMERICAN THEATRE REVIEW F1401 L32562 LATIN AMERICAN WEEKLY REPORT DP501 L77 LUSO-BRAZILIAN REVIEW HV1 J68 MULTICULTURAL SOCIAL WORK AP63 N49 NEXOS NX7 P62 PLURAL:REVISTA CULTURAL DE EXCELSIOR AP63 P736 PROCESO PQ7081 A1 C27 REVIEW: LATIN AMERICAN LITERATURE AND THE ARTS F1401 R327 REVISTA DE HISTORIA DE AMéRICA PN6 R48 REVISTA DE LITERATURA PQ6001 R327h REVISTA HISPáNICA MODERNA PQ7081 A1 R3271 REVISTA IBEROAMERICANA BF5 R48 REVISTA LATINOAMERICANA DE PSICOLOGIA PM151 A87 STUDIES IN AMERICAN INDIAN LITERATURES E184 M5 G77 TQS NEWS AP63 V57 VISION: LA REVISTA LATINOAMERICANA AP63 V8 VUELTA PN4700 At65 WORLD PRESS REVIEW Branson ET1 A66 APPROPRIATE TECHNOLOGY S612 A753 ARID LANDS NEWSLETTER Z1610 B53 BIBLIONOTICIAS QH1 B54 BIOTROPICA Z1415 B65 BOLETIN BIBLIOGRAFICO MEXICANO QA1 So12b BOLETIN DE LA SOCIEDAD MATEMATICA MEXICANA QK1 S68 BOLETIN DE LA SOCIEDAD ARGENTINA DE BOTONICA HA755 073a BOLETIN ESTADISTICO DE LA OEA - STATISTICAL BULLETIN OF THE OAS HD4826 I53 BULLETIN OF LABOUR STATISTICS- BOLETIN DE ESTADISTICAS DE TRABAJO RA8 A22 BULLETIN OF THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION HF3231 B872 BUSINESS MEXICO HC59.7 D4 DEVELOPING ECONOMIES Sb107 Ec74b ECONOMIC BOTANY HC10 Ec74d ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND CULTURAL CHANGE HF1021 Ec74g ECONOMIC GEOGRAPHY HG4503 M37 EL MERCADO DE VALORES HD1421 F74 FAO QUARTERLY BULLETIN OF STATISTICS-BOLETIN TRIMESTRAL FAO DE ESTADISTICAS Z1605 F444b FICHERO: BIBLIOGRAFICO HISPANO- AMERICANO QH431 A1 G286i GENETICA IBERICA HC121 J68 GRASSROOTS DEVELOPMENT RG1 I82 HEALTH CARE FOR WOMEN INTERNATIONAL HF5382.5 U5 H58 HISPANIC TIMES MAGAZINE Z672 I128 IFLA JOURNAL HG3881 I626 INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL STATISTICS HB90 J67 JOURNAL OF COMPARATIVE ECONOMICS HC10 J826d JOURNAL OF DEVELOPING AREAS HC10 J826ds JOURNAL OF DEVELOPMENT STUDIES HF1 J65 JOURNAL OF INTERNATIONAL ECONOMICS HF3231 L55 LINK: MEXICO’S MONTHLY BUSINESS MONITOR QK1 M267c MADRONO: A WEST AMERICAN JOURNAL OF BOTANY HC135 P323 PANORAMA ECONOMICO BANCOMER SB202 T76 R478 RESúMENES SOBRE PASTOS TROPICALES (COLOMBIA) HC101 R43 REVIEW OF RADICAL POLITICAL ECONOMICS S15 R327c REVISTA CERES S15 C46 REVISTA CHAPINGO RS1 S27 REVISTA DE FARMACIA E BIOQUIMICA DA UNIVERSIDADE DE SAO PAULO S15 V45 REVISTA DE LA FACULTAD DE AGRONOMIA DE LA UNIVERSIDAD CENTRAL DE VENEZUELA Z1007 R327 REVISTA INTERAMERICANA DE BIBLIOGRAFIA-INTERAMERICAN REVIEW OF BIBLIOGRAPHY QB1 R38 REVISTA MEXICANA DE ASTRONOMIA Y ASTROFISICA SB111 A2 T735a TROPICAL AGRICULTURE HD9734 M43 M498 TWIN PLANT NEWS RA8 A18 WORLD HEALTH The Latin American Data Base (LADB) Full-Text Electronic Newsletters on Latin America The Latin American Data Base (LADB) is a full-text database created by the Latin American Institute at the University of New Mexico. The newsletters are compiled from national and international wire services and other primary source materials. This is a unique source for very current information on Latin American news, politics, economics, environment, trade, human rights, and other topics. Four distinct electronic newsletters comprise the LADB: CHRONICLE OF LATIN AMERICAN ECONOMIC AFFAIRS covers economic and financial issues, government policies, labor, etc. for the region. October 1986 - . Published Thursdays, 48 weeks/year. CENTRAL AMERICA UPDATE covers human rights, foreign relations, labor, economic issues, etc. for the Central American region. October 1986 - . Published Fridays, 48 weeks/year. SOURCEMEX—ECONOMIC NEWS & ANALYSIS ON MEXICO provides detailed economic news from Mexico. November 1990 - . Published Wednesdays, 48 weeks/year. NOTISUR—SOUTH AMERICAN & CARIBBEAN POLITICAL AFFAIRS covers South American and Caribbean political affairs including human rights issues, the environment, political parties, elections, indigenous issues, military activities, foreign relations, etc. November 1991 - . Published Tuesdays, 48 weeks/year. The database is stored on the computers at New Mexico Technet. The full text of the entire database can be searched by keywords to extract relevant information. Ask a reference librarian for more information or call 646-6928 or 646-6932. FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference areas and on each floor. OLE can also be accessed via the campus computing network. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalogs in the reference areas. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Hints for Subject Searching To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desks and also near OLE terminals, are useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means “used for” and indicates terms that are not used. BT means “broader term,” RT means “related term,” SA means “see also,” and NT means “narrower term.” For example, under the term “Mexican literature,” some of the narrower terms listed are: Mexican drama, Mexican fiction and Mexican poetry. When searching for materials on Latin America, start with the narrowest term that describes your topic. For example, if you need information on politics in Nicaragua, search: Nicaragua—politics and government, NOT Central American politics. If the narrow search does not yield enough information, then search under a broader term. It is also a good idea to try searches using the subject first, then the place, for example: Women—Latin America, as well as Latin America—Women. While the Library of Congress subject headings can be useful for locating books on a topic, you should also explore keyword searching on OLE. Keyword searching makes it easier to combine concepts to find relevant materials. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. INNOVACQ INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and periodicals areas, can be used to find books that are on order or recently received. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference areas or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by “(SpC),” the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by “(Ref),” the book will be located in the reference areas. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of Latin America. Handbooks Handbooks provide concise factual information on topics, usually arranged in a systematic format, rather than an alphbetical listing as in an encyclopedia or dictionary. Handbooks may present a large compendium of data on a topic and they may be updated periodically to keep the information current. When using a handbook, always consult the table of contents to find out how the subject matter is presented and use the index to pinpoint specific information. > NewLib F1410 C1834 1984 Bethell, Leslie, ed. THE CAMBRIDGE HISTORY OF LATIN AMERICA. 8 vols. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1984. Extensive scholarly compendium on the history of Latin America. Vol. 1-2: Colonial period; vol. 3: Independence to 1870; vol. 4-5: 1870-1930; vol. 6: Latin America since 1930: economy, society and politics; vol. 7: Latin America since 1930: Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean; vol. 8: Latin America since 1930: Spanish South America. > NewLib (Ref) F1409.95 U6 C36 1987 Cantrell, Karen, and Denise Wallen. FUNDING FOR RESEARCH, STUDY AND TRAVEL: LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN. Phoenix: Oryx, 1987. Details on organizations offering grants for research and study in Latin America. > NewLib (Ref) JA84 L3 H36 1990 Dent, David W., ed. HANDBOOK OF POLITICAL SCIENCE RESEARCH ON LATIN AMERICA: TRENDS FROM THE 1960S TO THE 1990S. New York: Greenwood, 1990. Scholarly articles and bibliographies on individual countries and regions of Latin America, outlining recent research trends and directions for future studies. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) JN1 Eu74y EUROPA WORLD YEARBOOK. London: Europa, 1989 - . Annual publication covers individual countries and international organizations. Each article provides historical sketch, important events of the year, and survey of current economic, social and political situation. Accompanying charts are a good source for current statistics. > NewLib (Ref) PQ7081 A1 H36 1987 Foster, David William, ed. HANDBOOK OF LATIN AMERICAN LITERATURE. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities 669. New York: Garland, 1987. Scholarly bibliographic essays and reference bibliography on the literature of each Latin American country. > NewLib (Ref) F1434 H191w HANDBOOK OF MIDDLE AMERICAN INDIANS. 16 vols., with supplements. Austin: U of Texas P, 1964 - . Valuable compilation of studies on the native peoples of Mesoamerica. Articles by major scholars in the field. Vol. 1: Natural Environment & Early Cultures; vol. 2-3: Archaeology of Southern Mesoamerica; vol. 4: Archaeological Frontiers (includes southwestern U.S. and northern South America); vol. 5: Linguistics; vol. 6: Social Anthropology; vol. 7-8: Ethnology; vol. 9: Physical Anthropology; vol. 10-11: Archaeology of Northern Mesoamerica; vol. 12-15: Guide to Ethnohistorical Sources; vol. 16: Works Cited (extensive bibliography). > NewLib (Ref) F1408.3 H316 1985 Hinds, Harold E., and Charles M. Tatum, eds. HANDBOOK OF LATIN AMERICAN POPULAR CULTURE. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. Essays and bibliographies on various genres of Latin American popular culture including music, telenovelas, comics, sports, movies, and carnivals. > NewLib (Ref) F1915 L39 1990 Lawless, Robert. HAITI: A RESEARCH HANDBOOK. New York: Garland, 1990. Essays and bibliographies covering Haitian history, economics, literature, natural sciences, religion and other subjects. > Branson (Ref) QE 377 M6 P36 1987 Panczner, William. MINERALS OF MEXICO. New York: Reinhold, 1987. Historical, geographical, and bibliographical information on minerals and mining industry in Mexico. Arranged by mineral name and then by state. > Branson (Ref) JL1416 P65 POLITICAL RISK YEARBOOK. NORTH AND CENTRAL AMERICA. Syracuse: Political Risk Services, IBC- USA, 1992. Analysis of political, social, and economic conditions; current information on political parties, elections, climate for business and investment. > Branson (Ref) JL1866 P65 POLITICAL RISK YEARBOOK. SOUTH AMERICA. Syracuse: Political Risk Services, IBC-USA, 1992. Same as above, but focused on the South American countries. > NewLib (Ref) F1401 So87 SOUTH AMERICAN HANDBOOK. Bath: Trade & Travel, 1929 - . Latest edition in Reference. Includes important demographic, economic and geographic information as well as a summary of the current political situation in each South American country. It is most valuable as a source for up-to-date travel information, including specific information on food and lodging in all price ranges and details on all categories of tourist attractions. > NewLib (Ref) JA51 S29 129th 1992/93 STATESME'NS YEARBOOK. London: Macmillan, 1864 - . Annual publication includes basic historical and current political information on all the countries of the world. Includes good regional data on many countries. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example “Mexican-American Border Region — bibliography.” The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library that may be useful to researchers in Latin American studies. > Branson (Ref) HC 125 D4395 1988 Delorme, Robert, comp. LATIN AMERICA, 1983-1987: A SOCIAL SCIENCE BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Greenwood, 1988. Includes books, articles and chapters in books; the majority of works listed are in English. Arranged by country and region with author and subject indexes. > NewLib (Ref) PQ7141 F63 1992 Foster, David William. MEXICAN LITERATURE: A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF SECONDARY SOURCES. 2nd ed., rev. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1992. Provides references to criticism on 82 Mexican authors, as well as general reference on Mexican literature of all genres from the colonial period to the twentieth century. > Branson Z1609 P64 L39 1984 LATIN AMERICAN POLITICS: A HISTORICAL BIBLIOGRAPHY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1984. Annotated listing of over 3,000 works, arranged by geographic area covering recent events and issues back to 1914. > NewLib (Ref) PQ7081 R438 1988 Rela, Walter, comp. A BIBLIOGRAPHICAL GUIDE TO SPANISH AMERICAN LITERATURE: TWENTIETH CENTURY SOURCES. Bibliographies and Indexes in World Literature 13. New York: Greenwood, 1988. Arranged in broad categories (bibliographies, dictionaries, history and criticism, anthologies) and by country within each category. Author index. > NewLib (Ref) PQ7084 S4 1992 Sefami, Jacobo, comp. CONTEMPORARY SPANISH AMERICAN POETS: A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF PRIMARY AND SECONDARY SOURCES. Bibliographies and Indexes in World Literature 33. New York: Greenwood, 1992. Bibliographical information on 86 twentieth-century Latin American poets. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1460.5 S76 1989 Stoner, Lynn K. LATINAS OF THE AMERICAS: A SOURCE BOOK. Garland Reference Library of Social Science 363. New York: Garland, 1989. Comprehensive bibliography on women in the U.S. and Latin America covering published and unpublished research in Spanish, Portuguese, English, French and German. Topics include demography, education, health, literature, religion, law, and development. Each chapter includes a bibliographic essay. Author, country and subject indexes. > NewLib (Ref) F786 V35 1988 Valk, Barbara G. BORDERLINE: A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE UNITED STATES- MEXICO BORDERLANDS. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center, 1988. Subject bibliography of over 8,000 books and article on border issues. Excellent keyword index. > Branson Z1601 W75 Woods, Richard Donovan. REFERENCE MATERIALS ON LATIN AMERICA IN ENGLISH: THE HUMANITIES. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1980. Annotated bibliography of over 1,000 reference books on Latin America. Arranged by author, but includes a subject index. Covers topics such as festivals, coins, dance, cookbooks and travel guides. Library Catalogs The published catalogs of the major Latin American research collections in the United States can be used to identify rare and difficult-to-find works. Some of these library catalogs can also be searched electronically via LIBINFO on the campus network. These published catalogs, however, include archival and rare book information that may not be available elsewhere. > Branson Z1610 T9 Tulane University. Latin American Library. CATALOG OF THE LATIN AMERICAN LIBRARY OF THE TULANE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY, NEW ORLEANS. Boston: Hall, 1970. Six original volumes with supplements. > Branson Z1610 T48 University of Texas at Austin. Library. Latin American Collection. CATALOG OF THE LATIN AMERICAN COLLECTION. Boston: Hall, 1969. Thirty-one original volumes with supplements. > Branson Z1610 F6 1973 University of Florida Libraries. CATALOG OF THE LATIN AMERICAN COLLECTION. Boston: Hall, 1973. Seven original volumes with supplements. > Branson Z1595 M50 University of Miami. Library. CATALOG OF THE CUBAN AND CARIBBEAN LIBRARY. Boston: Hall, 1977. Six original volumes with supplements. Statistics > Branson (Ref) HA755 A68 Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. ANUARIO ESTADISTICO DE AMéRICA LATINA Y EL CARIBE—STATISTICAL YEARBOOK FOR LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN. Santiago: United Nations, 1985 - . Latest volume in Reference. Important annual compilation of social and economic statistics on Latin American countries. > NewLib (Ref) JX1977 A2 LC-G 1676-P Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. ECONOMIC SURVEY OF LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN—1990. Santiago: United Nations, 1992. Excellent overview of economic trends in the region with essays on topics such as inflation, employment and wages, and the external debt. > Branson (Ref) HA765 E88 1985 ESTADISTICAS HISTORICAS DE MEXICO. Mexico, DF: Instituto Nacional de Estadistica, Geografia e Inforatica, 1985. Historical statistics covering socioeconomic activity in Mexico from the end of the colonial period to 1985. > Branson (Ref) HA36 G67 1983 Goyer, Doreen S. THE HANDBOOK OF NATIONAL POPULATION CENSUSES: LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN, NORTH AMERICA, AND OCEANIA. Westport: Greenwood, 1983. Gathers information from national censuses, mostly after 1945. Describes census program in each country and includes basic maps and statistical charts. > NewLib (Ref) E184 S75 H5655 HISPANIC AMERICANS: A STATISTICAL SOURCEBOOK. Boulder: Numbers & Concepts, 1991. Current statistics, mostly from the 1990 census, on Hispanics in the United States. > Branson (Ref) HA935 S79 STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF LATIN AMERICA. Los Angeles: UCLA Center, 1957 - . Latest volume in Reference. Contains statistics on geography, land tenure, transportation, health, education, politics, migration and foreign trade. Contains a subject index to assist users in finding different kinds of information in the tables. > Branson (Ref) HA218 S72 1984 STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES-MEXICO BORDERLANDS. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center, 1984. Statistics cover Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas, Baja California, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo Leon, Sonora, and Tamaulipas. > Branson (Ref) HA218 U56 1990 UNITED STATES-MEXICO BORDER STATISTICS SINCE 1900. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center, 1990. Includes statistics from the 10 border states. Topics include demography, vital statistics, housing and health, education, transportation and communications, employment, wages and income, migration, agriculture, and industry. > Branson (Ref) HA761.5 1990 XI CENSO GENERAL DE POBLACION Y VIVIENDA, 1990. Aguascalientes: Instituto Nacional de Estadistica, Geografia e Informatica, 1991. The 1990 Mexican Census includes volumes for individual Mexican states and summary volumes. This is an excellent source for detailed information on Mexican population, housing and other statistics. Directories > Branson (Ref) HD2346 U52 W352 1992 ANUARIO HISPANO—HISPANIC YEARBOOK. McLean: T.I.Y.M, 1992. Annual publication with directory information on Hispanic- American businesses, politics, relations with Latin American countries, and biographies of important Hispanic-American personalities. > Branson Z1601 F46 1986 Fenton, Thomas P. LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN: A DIRECTORY OF RESOURCES. Maryknoll: Orbis, 1986. Directory of organizations focusing on Latin American and Caribbean social justice, politics, and solidarity. > Branson (Ref) HS61 A2 C76 1992 > NewLib (Ref) HS61 A2 C76 1992 Hernandez, Ricardo, and Edith Sanchez, eds. CROSS-BORDER LINKS: A DIRECTORY OF ORGANIZATIONS IN CANADA, MEXICO AND THE UNITED STATES. Albuquerque: Inter-Hemispheric Education Resource Center, 1992. Directory of labor, environmental, human rights, academic, governmental and business organizations in the U.S., Mexico and Canada with interests in the development and implementation of trade policy. > Branson (Ref) Q22 H5 Hilton, Ronald. THE SCIENTIFIC INSTITUTIONS OF LATIN AMERICA. Stanford: California Institute of International Studies, 1970. A directory of research institutions in Latin America and international organizations promoting science and scientific information in Latin America > NewLib (Ref) F787 J35 1992 Jamail, Milton H., and Margo Gutierrez. THE BORDER GUIDE: INSTITUTIONS AND ORGANIZATIONS OF THE UNITED STATES-MEXICO BORDERLANDS. Austin: U of Texas P, 1992. Divides the border into eight regions from the Lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas-Tamaulipas to California-Baja California. Directory information for organizations, government officials and agencies, media, research and education institutions, publications, and other information resources. > Branson (Ref) HF54.52 U5 K46 1992 Kent, Kara, and Aaron Schildhaus, eds. THE U.S.-MEXICO TRADE PAGES: YOUR SINGLE SOURCE FOR TRANSBORDER BUSINESS. Washington: The Global Source, 1992. Good source for business information on the U.S.-Mexico border. Includes statistics for trade between U.S. and Mexican border states. > NewLib (Ref Biog) F1409.8 A2 N37 1985 NATIONAL DIRECTORY OF LATIN AMERICANISTS: BIOGRAPHIES OF 4,915 SPECIALISTS. Washington: Library of Congress Hispanic Division, 1985. Directory information on scholars and researchers in the United States specializing in Latin American studies. > NewLib (Ref) F1409.9 S2 Sable, Martin Howard. THE LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES DIRECTORY. Detroit: Blaine Ethridge, 1981. Information on organizations, institutions, research centers in the U.S., Latin America and Europe. Biographies > NewLib (Ref Biog) F1414.2 B48 1988 Alexander, Robert, ed. BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF LATIN AMERICAN AND CARIBBEAN POLITICAL LEADERS. New York: Greenwood, 1988. > NewLib (Ref Biog) F1235.5 A2 C35 1982 AiCamp, Roderic. MEXICAN POLITICAL BIOGRAPHIES, 1935-1981. 2nd ed. Tucson: U of Arizona, 1982. > NewLib (Ref Biog) F1233.5 C28 1991 Camp, Roderic A. MEXICAN POLITICAL BIOGRAPHIES, 1884-1935. Austin: U of Texas P, 1991. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT100 C936 CURRENT BIOGRAPHY. Bronx: Wilson, 1940 - . Includes articles on life of work of prominent persons in the news. International in scope. Referenced at end of each article. Usually includes a photograph. > NewLib (Ref Biog) F1407 D5 1971 DICTIONARY OF LATIN AMERICAN AND CARIBBEAN BIOGRAPHY. 2nd ed. London: Melrose, 1971. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PN849 C3 F46 1992 Fenwick, M. J. WRITERS OF THE CARIBBEAN AND CENTRAL AMERICA. New York: Garland, 1992. Lists writers and their works by country. Includes Mexico and South American countries bordering the Caribbean. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PQ7081.3 F57 1992 Flores, Angel. SPANISH AMERICAN AUTHORS: THE TWENTIETH CENTURY. Bronx: Wilson, 1992. Bio-bibliographies of 330 major novelists and poets from Puerto Rico, the Caribbean, and Central and South America. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT506 W48 1971 Hilton, Ronald, ed. WHO’S WHO IN LATIN AMERICA: A BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF NOTABLE LIVING MEN AND WOMEN OF LATIN AMERICA. 3rd ed. Stanford: Stanford UP, 1971. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT120 In8w THE INTERNATIONAL WHO’S WHO. London: Europa, 1935 - . Includes brief current information on personalities active in the fields of international affairs, government, administration, and diplomacy. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT100 N43 THE NEW YORK TIMES BIOGRAPHICAL SERVICE. New York: Arno, 1974 - . Monthly with annual cumulations. Includes obituaries as well as current biographical articles on living persons, which have appeared in the New York Times. Includes prominent persons from Latin America. Index of names. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PQ7081.3 H58 1991 Ryan, Bryan, ed. HISPANIC WRITERS. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991. Brings together information on Latin American and U.S. Hispanic writers from the Contemporary Writers Series. This is a good source for personal biographical information, including current addresses. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PQ7081 A1 L37 1989 Sole, Carlos A., and Maria Isabel Abreu, eds. LATIN AMERICAN WRITERS. 3 vols. New York: Scribners, 1989. Essays by important critics on over 175 authors; includes bibliographies on each writer, an overview of the history of Latin American literature and a chronology. > NewLib (Ref Biog) F1409.8 A2 T48 1984 Thomas, Jack Ray. BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF LATIN AMERICAN HISTORIANS AND HISTORIOGRAPHY. Westport: Greenwood, 1984. Information on the lives and careers of Latin American historians from the Conquest to the 1980s. Includes bibliographies of their works. > NewLib (Ref Biog) JL957 W47 WHO IS WHO IN GOVERNMENT AND POLITICS IN LATIN AMERICA—QUIEN ES QUIEN EN LA POLITICA Y LOS GOBIERNOS DE AMERICA LATINA. New York: Decade Media Books, 1984 - . Over 1,000 biographical sketches on political figures. Atlases > Branson (Atlas Case) G1546 B7 A84 1982 ATLAS CARTOGRáFICO HISTóRICO: MéXICO. Mexico, D.F.: Instituto Nacional de Estadística, Geografía e Informática, 1982. > Branson (Atlas Case) G1550 A8 1979 ATLAS OF CENTRAL AMERICA. Austin: Bureau of Business Research, U of Texas, 1979. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) G1046 G1 E29 1992 ECONOMIST ATLAS. New York: Holt, 1992. Excellent graphic data on the economies of all the countries of the world. > NewLib G1548 C5 I57 1991 ATLAS EJIDAL DEL ESTADO DE CHIHUAHUA: ENCUESTA NACIONAL AGROPECUARIA EJIDAL, 1988. Aguascalientes: Instituto Nacional de EstadIstica, GeografIa e InformAtica, 1991. > Branson (SpC Folio) F786 I64 1898 Atlas International Boundary & Water Commission. United States & Mexico. BOUNDARY BETWEEN THE UNITED STATES AND MEXICO, AS SURVEYED AND MARKED BY THE INTERNATIONAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION UNDER THE CONVENTION OF JULY 29TH 1882. Washington: GPO, 1899. > NewLib G1541 S1 L6 1983 > Branson (Atlas Case) G1541 S1 L6 1983 Lombardi, Cathryn L., et al. LATIN AMERICAN HISTORY, A TEACHING ATLAS. Madison: U of Wisconsin, 1983. Maps show the natural environment, history, and politics of Latin America. > NewLib (Ref) G1545 P5 1989 > Branson (Atlas Case) G1545 P5 1989 Pick, James B., et al. ATLAS OF MEXICO. Boulder: Westview, 1989. Good source for demographic and economic statistics on Mexico. > Branson (SpC Folio) G1545 U5 1990 Universidad Nacional Autonoma de México. Instituto de Geografia. ATLAS NACIONAL DE MéXICO. Mexico, D.F.: Universidad Nacional Autonoma de México, 1990. Consists of 165 unbound maps covering historical themes such as Mexican geographic expansion and contraction, economic and political developments, and historical demographics. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use for Latin American studies. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to U.S. Government Publications > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bimonthly. GPO on CD-ROM is available in Government Documents Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and on the library CD-ROM network. > Branson (Doc Ref) KF49 C62 CIS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1983 - . Indexes hearings and other working papers of Congress. Best source for locating congressional information dealing with Latin America. Look up a subject in the index volume; this leads to abstracts giving SuDoc numbers in the abstracts volume. > Branson (Doc Ref) F1401 D332 INDEX TO THE FOREIGN BROADCAST INFORMATION SERVICE DAILY REPORTS: LATIN AMERICA. New Canaan: Newsbank, 1990 - . Indexes translations of Latin American broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements published in the FBIS, DAILY REPORTS: LATIN AMERICA, SuDoc number: PREX7.10:FBIS-Lat-no. (microfiche). Access is by country. Selected U.S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc) S1.123:no. BACKGROUND NOTES. Washington: Bureau of Public Affairs. State Dept. Pamphlets containing articles of medium length on the geography, people, history, government, foreign relations and economy of individual countries. Library keeps current editions. > Branson (Doc) D101.22:550-no. COUNTRY STUDIES. Washington: Dept. of the Army. Previously called AREA HANDBOOKS. In-depth book-length studies of individual countries, covering history, society, government, and economy. Library keeps current editions. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) > Branson (Documents Office) NATIONAL TRADE DATA BANK. Washington: Office of Business Analysis. Commerce Dept., 1992 - . CD-ROM. Full text documents and statistical tables on U.S. trade. Disk 1, the main data bank, allows searching by U.S. federal agency source, program, and item or by keyword, topic and subject. Disk 2 contains the names and addresses of foreign trade contacts. Excellent source for information on U.S. trade with Latin American countries. Updated monthly. > Branson (Doc) S1.3/5:vol./no. U.S. DEPARTMENT OF STATE DISPATCH. Washington: Bureau of Public Affairs. State Dept., 1990. A compilation of policy statements, fact sheets, major speeches, congressional testimony, country profiles, and other foreign policy information from the State Department. Ask for current issues in the Documents Office. Weekly, with an annual index. > Branson (Doc) PREX3.15:yr. THE WORLD FACTBOOK. Washington: Central Intelligence Agency, 1979 - . Short articles on the people, geography, government, communications, and economy of individual countries. Most recent edition in Documents Reference. The CIA WORLD FACTBOOK can also be search electronically via LIBINFO. Ask at the reference desks in the library for more information about LIBINFO.