---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS Compiled by Karen Stabler Spring, 1993 Conducting research in the field of international relations requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) JA61 B56 1987 Bogdanor, Vernon, ed. THE BLACKWELL ENCYCLOPAEDIA OF POLITICAL INSTITUTIONS. New York: Blackwell, 1987. Provides concise definitions of concepts in the study of political institutions, organizations, and movements. Has cross-references and a general index at the end. This is a companion volume to the BLACKWELL ENCYCLOPAEDIA OF POLITICAL THOUGHT. > NewLib (Ref) JF2011 W67 1983 Delury, George E., ed. WORLD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF POLITICAL SYSTEMS AND PARTIES. New York: Facts on File, 1983. Arranged alphabetically. Profiles 169 nations and territories. Information includes system of government, history, organization, policy, membership and constituency, financing, leadership and prospects, opposition, and national prospects. > NewLib (Ref) E183.7 F5 1989 Findling, John E. DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN DIPLOMATIC HISTORY. 2nd ed. New York: Greenwood, 1989. Contains 1,000 entries. There are 500 biographical sketches of Americans associated with foreign policy and another 500 subject entries, which explain the significance of events, treaties, organizations, popular slogans, and important diplomatic concepts. All entries include bibliographies There are cross-references and a general index. > NewLib (Ref) H41 I5 1968 INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIAL SCIENCES. New York: Macmillan, 1968-1979. 19 vols. Long, signed articles on many international relations and international law topics. Vol. 17 is the index, vol. 18 is a biographical supplement, and vol. 19 includes quotations. > NewLib (Ref) JA61 B57 1987 Miller, David, Janet Coleman, William Connolly, et al., eds. THE BLACKWELL ENCYCLOPAEDIA OF POLITICAL THOUGHT. New York: Blackwell, 1987. A concise encyclopedia on political thought, major ideas, and doctrines that influenced politics and political theorists. Biographical references and index. > NewLib (Ref) JX1977 O8213 1985 Osmanczyk, Edmund Jan. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE UNITED NATIONS AND INTERNATIONAL AGREEMENTS. Philadelphia: Taylor, 1985. Includes information on the United Nations and its specialized agencies, international agreements, and conventions and treaties. Index at end of volume. > NewLib (Ref) DT30.5 P47 1984 Phillips, Claude S. THE AFRICAN POLITICAL DICTIONARY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1984. Topical arrangement of chapters such as "Intra-African Law, Organization, and Relations," "Revolutionary and Counterrevolutionary Forces" and "Political Development and Modernization." Terms are then arranged alphabetically under the relevant chapters. Includes maps, tables, and charts. > NewLib (Ref) JX1226 P55 1988 Plano, Jack C. and Roy Olton. THE INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS DICTIONARY. 4th ed. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1988. Arranged by 12 subject chapters such as "War and military policy," "International Law" and "International Organization." Provides up-to-date definitions of terms used in international relations. There is a paragraph analyzing the historical and current relevance of each term. > NewLib (Ref) JN12 R65 1985 Rossi, Ernest E. and Barbara P. McCrea. THE EUROPEAN POLITICAL DICTIONARY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1985. Covers the four major powers of Europe: the United Kingdom, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, and the Soviet Union. Provides definitions on the structures of government, political parties, election results, and prominent individuals. Each of the 325 entries gives a paragraph on definition and the second paragraph covers its significance. > NewLib (Ref) JX1995 S2 1986 Schiavone, Giuseppe. INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS: A DICTIONARY AND DIRECTORY. 2nd ed. Chicago: St. James, 1986. An alphabetical dictionary that provides sketches of international organizations by describing their purpose and tracing their history. There are cross-references from abbreviations to the full name of the agencies. > NewLib (Ref) JA61 S37 1982 Scruton, Roger. A DICTIONARY OF POLITICAL THOUGHT. New York: Harper, 1982. There are approximately 1,200 definitions which emphasizes concepts not individuals. Entries are clear and concise for very abstract matters. Cross-references are indicated by an asterisk. > NewLib (Ref) G63 W67 1988 WORLDMARK ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE NATIONS. 7th ed. New York: Worldmark, 1988. 5 vols. Vol. 1 provides information on the various organizations of the United Nations. Vols. 2-5 are arranged by continent and then alphabetized by country. Provides a brief summary of the historical, political, economic aspects of the country. > NewLib (Ref) DS31 Z57 1985 Ziring, Lawrence and Eugene Kim. THE ASIAN POLITICAL DICTIONARY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1985. Topical arrangement by chapters such as "political culture and ideology" and "political parties and movements." Secondarily terms are arranged alphabetically under the relevant chapters. Includes maps, tables, and a general index. Guides and Handbooks > NewLib (Ref) JX1977 A37 E9 EVERYONE'S UNITED NATIONS. New York: United Nations, 1986. Describes the structure, functions, and work of the United Nations and the 17 intergovernmental agencies related to it. > NewLib (Ref) JA71 H64 1986 Holler, Frederick L. INFORMATION SOURCES OF POLITICAL SCIENCE. 4th ed. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1986. Section of book covers international relations and organizations. Entries are annotated. Author, title, subject index. > NewLib (Ref) JF95 P43 1950 Peaslee, Amos Jenkins. CONSTITUTIONS OF NATIONS. Concord: Rumford, 1970. 3 vols. Provides constitutions of other nations. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of international relations. > NewLib H1 C87 CURRENT CONTENTS: SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES. Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1974 - . Weekly. Reproduces the contents pages of approximately 1,300 journals grouped within broad categories as well as articles from multi-authored books. Indexed by title, keyword, and author. Library retains current year only. > NewLib (Ref) JA A1 C65 C.R.I.S: THE COMBINED RETROSPECTIVE INDEX SET TO JOURNALS IN POLITICAL SCIENCE. Washington: Carrollton, 1977-1978. 8 vols. Covers English language periodicals. Vol. 1 covers international affairs and organizations. Vols. 7-8 are the author indexes. > NewLib (Ref) F1401 H23 HANDBOOK OF LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES. Gainesville: U of Florida P, 1935 - . Provides extensive coverage of materials covering Latin America. Beginning in 1964, the handbook subdivided into social sciences and humanities, now published in alternate years; i.e., vol. 47, Social Science, and vol. 48, Humanities. The social science issue covers international relations and international law. > NewLib (Ref) F1401 H16 HISPANIC AMERICAN PERIODICALS INDEX. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Pub., 1974 - . Indexes by author and subject leading journals in both the social sciences and the humanities. International in coverage. > NewLib (Ref) JA36 In8p INTERNATIONAL POLITICAL SCIENCE ABSTRACTS. Paris: International Political Science Assn., 1962 - . vol. 12. Bimonthly. Entries are arranged by subject, with each issue containing a separate author and subject index. Includes classified bibliography of books. English language articles have abstracts written in English; foreign language publications are abstracted in French. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1991 - . Subject index to periodicals, pamphlets, some books, and some U.S. and foreign government publications covering economic and social conditions, public administration, and politics. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE. New York: Wilson, 1900 - . Semi-monthly with annual cumulation. Index to more than 150 popular magazines and journals. Arranged by subject and author. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1979 - . Quarterly with annual cumulations. Similar to READERS' GUIDE, except that it indexes more scholarly journals. Covers all fields of social science including political science. Indexed by subject and author. Title varies: INTERNATIONAL INDEX (1916-1973); SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1965-1973); split into two indexes, the Social Sciences Index and the HUMANITIES INDEX (1974 - ). > NewLib JX1977 A2 ST.LIB Ser. UNITED NATIONS DOCUMENTS INDEX. New York: United Nations, 1950-1973. UNDEX: UNITED NATIONS DOCUMENTS INDEX. New York: United Nations, SERIES A - SUBJECT INDEX, 1974-1978 SERIES B - COUNTY INDEX, 1974-1978 SERIES C - LIST OF DOCUMENTS INDEX, 1974-1979. UNDOC: CURRENT INDEX UNITED NATIONS DOCUMENTS INDEX. New York: United Nations, Dag Hammarskjold Library, 1979 - . Each issue contains a checklist of documents, office records and sales publications. Subject, author, and title index. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on international relations topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM areanear the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as FOREIGN AFFAIRS and FOREIGN POLICY. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of international relations. New Library D410 F759 FOREIGN AFFAIRS D410 F674 FOREIGN POLICY JX1 In8a INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS JX1901 In8o INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATION JX1901 I67 INTERNATIONAL SECURITY D839 In8s INTERNATIONAL STUDIES QUARTERLY JX1 J826i JOURNAL OF INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS D839 Ori ORBIS JX1977 A1 Un3m UN CHRONICLE JX1901 W7 WORLD AFFAIRS D839 W8925p WORLD POLITICS Branson (Doc) S1.3/5:v./no. U.S. DEPARTMENT OF STATE DISPATCH FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term international relations, some of the narrower terms listed are Balance of power Detente Disarmament Foreign office Monroe doctrine Security, International While Library of Congress headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of international relations. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of international relations. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "International Relations - bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > Branson Z6465 U5 G84 1983 Burns, Richard Dean, ed. GUIDE TO AMERICAN FOREIGN RELATIONS SINCE 1700. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1983. > NewLib (Ref) JX1391 F73 FOREIGN AFFAIRS BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Harper, 1932-1972. > NewLib (Ref) JA36 I57 INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF POLITICAL SCIENCE. Chicago: Aldine, 1953 - . > Branson Z1609 P64 L39 1984 LATIN AMERICAN POLITICS: A HISTORICAL BIBLIOGRAPHY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1984. > Branson Z7164 T3 M53 Mickolus, Edward F., comp. THE LITERATURE OF TERRORISM: A SELECTIVELY ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Westport: Greenwood, 1980. > Branson Z7164 T3 M54 1988 Mickolus, Edward F. TERRORISM, 1980-1987: A SELECTIVELY ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Greenwood, 1988. Atlases > Branson U42 F74 1985 Freedman, Lawrence. ATLAS OF GLOBAL STRATEGY. New York: Facts on File, 1985. Covers military and political history, conventional warfare, nuclear arms and arms control. Includes geographical diagrams and color photographs. > Branson (Atlas Case) G1046 G1 K8 1983 Kurian, George. ATLAS OF THE THIRD WORLD. New York: Facts on File, 1983. Supplements the ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE THIRD WORLD. Includes 1,000 two-color maps, charts, and graphs to illustrate social, economic, and political indicators for the third world. > Branson (Atlas Case) G1046 F9 L4 1986 Leonard, Richard Lawrence. WORLD ATLAS OF ELECTIONS: VOTING PATTERNS IN 39 DEMOCRACIES. London: Economist, 1986. For the 39 democratic countries with a minimum population of 200,000, there are maps showing the electoral areas. Biographies > NewLib (Ref Biog) HX23 B568 1987 BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF MARXISM. Westport: Greenwood, 1987. Provides over 200 biographical entries on materialist Marxists. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT213 B46 BIOGRAPHY AND GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX. Detroit: Gale, 1980 - . Contains citations to biographical information taken from biographical dictionaries. Covers both living and deceased persons in all fields. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT100 B56 BIOGRAPHY INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1946 - . Biennial. Includes citations to biographical information found in periodicals and current collective and individual biographies. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT100 C936 CURRENT BIOGRAPHY. New York: Wilson, 1940 - . Includes articles on life of work of prominent persons in the news. International in scope. Referenced at end of each article. Usually includes a photograph. > NewLib (Ref Biog) HX23 B57 1985 Gorman, Robert A., ed. BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF NEO-MARXISM. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. Includes 205 biographical entries of non-materialist Marxists. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT120 In8w THE INTERNATIONAL WHO’S WHO. London: Europa, 1935 - . Includes brief current information on personalities active in the fields of international affairs, government, administration, and diplomacy. > NewLib (Ref Biog) JX1962 A2 B56 1985 Josephson, Harold, Sandi E. Cooper, et al., eds. BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF MODERN PEACE LEADERS. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. Provides biographical sketches of individuals who support the antiwar movement. International in scope. Entries include birth and death date, education, etc., as well as the individuals thought and activity as a peace leader. A bibliography follows each entry. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT100 N43 THE NEW YORK TIMES BIOGRAPHICAL SERVICE. New York: Arno, 1974 - . Monthly with annual cumulations. Includes obituaries as well as current biographical articles on living persons which have appeared in the NEW YORK TIMES. Index of names. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT213 N47 THE NEW YORK TIMES OBITUARIES INDEX, 1858-1968. New York: New York Times, 1970. An alphabetical listing from 1858-1968 of the names entered under the heading "Deaths" in the issues of the NEW YORK TIMES INDEX. Provides citations including year, date, section, page, and column of original story. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT120 O17 OBITUARIES FROM THE TIMES, 1951-1960. Westport: Meckler, 1978. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT120 O16 OBITUARIES FROM THE TIMES, 1971-1975. Westport: Meckler, 1979. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT120 O165 OBITUARIES FROM THE TIMES, 1961-1970. Westport: Meckler, 1978. Includes obituaries from the TIMES of London. In addition, there is an index to all obituaries appearing in the newspaper during the time period. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT213 B49 1983 Stetler, Susan L., ed. BIOGRAPHY ALMANAC. Detroit: Gale, 1983. 2 vols. Includes over 24,000 brief biographical sketches of famous and infamous newsmakers from early times to the present. Provides references for additional sources. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT120 W5 WHO'S WHO IN THE WORLD. Chicago: Marquis, 1972 - . Comparable to INTERNATIONAL WHO'S WHO and includes many of the same people. Directories > NewLib (Ref) JX1905.5 P426 1986 Day, Alan J., ed. PEACE MOVEMENTS OF THE WORLD. Phoenix: Oryx, 1986. Provides brief information on international and national movements mainly concerned with peace and disarmament issues. > NewLib (Ref) AS22 E5 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS. Detroit: Gale, 1961 - . Annual. Contains over 23,000 organizations arranged by subject. Two of the volumes cover international organizations. Latest edition at reference desk. > NewLib (Ref) HX11 H63 1986 Hobday, Charles, comp. COMMUNIST AND MARXIST PARTIES OF THE WORLD. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1986. Parties are listed alphabetically by country. Each entry includes history, leadership, structure, membership, orientation and program, electoral influence, and publications. > NewLib (Ref) HS2303 O18 1987 O Maolain, Ciaran, comp. THE RADICAL RIGHT: A WORLD DIRECTORY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1987. Organizations are arranged alphabetically by country with introduction about the political system, recent history, and an outline of development of the far right. Lists the active organizations providing addresses, leadership, orientation, history, policies, membership, and publications. Also lists defunct organizations. Statistics > Branson (Ref) HA1 D37 DATAMAP. New York: Longman, 1983-1990. Index to over 13,000 statistical tables. The 27 sources indexed include U.S. government, U.N. publications, and major almanacs. 1989 edition is in Branson reference. > Branson (Ref) HA17 D396 DEMOGRAPHIC YEARBOOK. ANNUAIRE DEMOGRAPHIQUE. New York: United Nations, 1974 - . Includes demographic statistics on about 216 countries. > Branson (Ref) HA155 P65 1991 Lane, Jan Erik, David McKay and Kenneth Newton, eds. POLITICAL DATA HANDBOOK: OECD COUNTRIES. New York: Oxford UP, 1991. Part I includes 120 comparative tables of countries belonging to Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Covers social, economic, and political issues. Part II provides basic information on each of the 24 countries that belong to the OECD. > NewLib JF1001 M17 1990 Mackie, Thomas T. and Richard Rose. THE INTERNATIONAL ALMANAC OF ELECTORAL HISTORY. 2nd ed. New York: Facts on File, 1990. Provides a compilation of election results in 25 western nations since the beginning of national elections. > Branson (Ref) HA1446 S53 Shoup, Paul. THE EAST EUROPEAN AND SOVIET DATA HANDBOOK: POLITICAL, SOCIAL, AND DEVELOPMENTAL INDICATORS, 1945-1975. New York: Columbia UP, 1981. Provides basic social science data on the Soviet Union and eastern Europe. Topics covered include population, party membership, national and religious affiliations, educational attainment, and occupations. > Branson (Ref) HA12.5 Un3s STATISTICAL YEARBOOK. ANNUAIRE STATISTIQUE. New York: United Nations, 1967 - . Annual. Provides demographic national accounts, industry, energy, and international trade statistics collected by the United Nations. > NewLib (Ref) HN25 T39 1983 Taylor, Charles Lewis and David A. Jodice. WORLD HANDBOOK OF POLITICAL AND SOCIAL INDICATORS. 3rd ed. New Haven: Yale UP, 1983. Aggregate of statistical data providing comparisons on voter turnout, gross national product, and incidents of political protest. Surveys of Events and Yearbooks > NewLib (Ref) D843 C5797 1989 Cook, Chris, comp. THE FACTS ON FILE WORLD POLITICAL ALMANAC. New York: Facts on File, 1989. Provides a summary of key political developments since World War II. Contains information on primary international organizations, countries, and significant individuals. > NewLib (Ref) JN1 Eu74y THE EUROPA WORLD YEAR BOOK. London: Europa, 1989 - . Annual. Includes economic and statistical data on all countries. For each country provides details on constitution, government, political parties, etc. Also includes leading newspapers and periodicals, radio stations, publishers, finance, trade and industry. > NewLib (Ref) D410 F119 FACTS ON FILE. New York: Facts on File, 1940 - . Presents news developments of the world week by week. > NewLib (Ref) D410 K258 KEESING'S RECORD OF WORLD EVENTS. London: Longman, 1987. Provides reports, statistics, data selected and indexed from newspapers, periodicals, and official publications of the United Kingdom and foreign countries. More detailed than FACTS ON FILE. > Branson (Ref) UA15 L652 THE MILITARY BALANCE. London: International Inst. for Strategic Studies, 1964 - . An annual survey of military forces and defense expenditures of over 140 countries. > NewLib (Ref) JF37 P759 A POLITICAL HANDBOOK OF THE WORLD. New York: McGraw, 1975 - . Annual. Presents social, economic, and political information on all countries, dependent territories, and major intergovernmental organizations. > NewLib (Ref) G103.5 P38 THE STATESMAN’S YEARBOOK. London: Macmillan, 1864 - . Part 1 includes international organizations. Part 2 includes countries of the world. Country information gives names of rulers, constitution and government, area population, defense, state finance, etc. > NewLib JX1937 U53 UNESCO YEARBOOK ON PEACE AND CONFLICT STUDIES. Westport: Greenwood, 1981. Contains surveys of peace research information systems, a literature review and bibliography of war, a bibliographic guide to disarmament, and an international review of peace research activities. > NewLib (Ref) JX1977 A37 Y32 United Nations. YEARBOOK OF THE UNITED NATIONS. Lake Success: Dept. of Public Information, United Nations, 1947 - . Annual. Each year summarizes the activities, proceedings, and decisions of the United Nations. > NewLib (Ref) AY67 W89 THE WORLD ALMANAC AND BOOK OF FACTS. New York: Press Pub. Co., 1923 - . Annual. Useful handbook that contains statistics on social, political, educational, industrial, financial, religious and other subjects. > NewLib (Ref) JX1904 A42 YEARBOOK OF INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS. vol. 1. Brussels: Union of Intl. Assns., 1967 - . Provides survey and detailed information on international organizations and associations currently active. Vol. 1 is organization - descriptions and index. Dissertations > NewLib (Ref) AS30 D63 DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1938 - . Monthly. An index to dissertations submitted to University Microfilms International. Beginning with 1966, two separate sections are published: A. Humanities & Social Sciences and B. Sciences & Engineering. Starting in 1977, published only in microfiche. Cumulative author and subject indexes are published each year. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in the study of international relations. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bi-monthly. > Branson (Doc Ref) KF49 C62 CIS ANNUAL. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1970 - . Monthly. Covers hearings, committee prints, documents, house and senate reports, special publications, executive reports, and treaty documents. Published in two parts, an index (every third monthly index is quarterly cumulation) and an abstract; the paperbound parts are kept in separate binders. The cumulated indexes and abstracts are also separate parts of the CIS ANNUAL. The Index of Subjects and Names (of those testifying in hearings) uses accession numbers for reference to abstracts of committee publications in the Abstract volumes. Supplementary indexes provide access to the abstracts through the title of a publication, the number of a bill, report or document, or the name of a committee or subcommittee chairman. Library owns 1983 - . > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A18 U.S. Superintendent of Documents. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1895 - . Title varies. A bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the U.S. government. The catalog consists of a text and four indexes: author, title, subject, and series/report number. Includes CUMULATIVE SUBJECT INDEX (1900-1971) and CUMULATIVE TITLE INDEX (1789-1976). GPO is the MONTHLY CATALOG on CD-ROM. It lists publications by the Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can enter subject terms and combinations of subject terms and retrieve citations to documents that may be available at the NMSU documents collection. The citations will include the SuDoc number for the document. Selected U.S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc) D101.22: 55: no. COUNTRY HANDBOOKS. Washington: GPO. Previously called AREA HANDBOOKS. Provides basic details about the social, economic, political, and military institutions of the various countries. > Branson (Doc) S1.123: yr. U.S. Department of State. BACKGROUND NOTES. Washington: GPO. Provides information on land area, population, government institutions and personnel, political parties, economical and political conditions as well as a bibliography of selected states. > Branson (Doc) S1.1:952-54/vol. FOREIGN RELATIONS OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1927 - . This series presents the official documentary historical record of major United States foreign policy decisions. > Branson (Docs) S1.138: PATTERNS OF GLOBAL TERRORISM. Washington: GPO. Annual. Worldwide survey of international terrorist activity. Also contains charts, graphs and statistical material on terrorists. > Branson (Docs) S9.10: no. TREATIES AND OTHER INTERNATIONAL ACTS SERIES. Gives full text of treaties. > Branson (Docs) S9.12/2:vol. TREATIES AND OTHER INTERNATIONAL AGREEMENTS OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, 1776-1949. Washington: GPO, 1968-1976. Gives full text of treaties. > Branson (Doc Ref) S9.14: yr. TREATIES IN FORCE. Washington: GPO. Annual. Lists treaties and other international agreements that are currently in effect. > Branson (Docs) S9.12:vol. UNITED STATES TREATIES AND OTHER INTERNATIONAL AGREEMENTS, 1950 - . Washington: GPO, 1952 - . Gives full text of treaties.