--------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)-------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN CRIMINAL JUSTICE Compiled by Molly Molloy Fall, 1993 Conducting research in the field of criminal justice requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. Information from many fields feeds into the discipline of criminal justice. The criminal justice researcher should be aware of the possibility of gathering information from other fields such as law, psychology, sociology, education, business, or science. This chart illustrates the interdisciplinary nature of criminal justice research. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) HV7901 E53 1989 Bailey, William G., ed. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF POLICE SCIENCE. New York: Garland, 1989. Each signed, scholarly article contains bibliographical references; also includes a separate bibliography of police history, a biblio- graphy of bibliographies, an index of legal cases, and a general index. > NewLib (Ref) HM17 E5 1992 Borgatta, Edgar F., and Marie L. Borgatta, eds. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIOLOGY. New York: Macmillan, 1992. 4 vols. This new reference work contains nearly 500 signed articles with bibliographies and a detailed index. See especially entries on court systems of the United States, crime deterrence, crime rates, theories of crime, criminal and delinquent subcultures, criminalization of deviance, and others. > NewLib (Ref) KF156 G77 1985 THE GUIDE TO AMERICAN LAW: EVERYONE’S LEGAL ENCYCLOPEDIA. St. Paul: West, 1985. 12 vols. Intended for the lay person, with articles encompassing legal principles and concepts, landmark documents and important acts, famous trials, historical movements and events which have influenced the law, and important individuals in the legal spotlight. There is an index volume, with a subject index and a table of cases discussed. Includes annual update volumes. > NewLib (Ref) H41 I5 1991 INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. New York: Macmillan, 1991 - . 19 vols. Signed articles cover concepts, principles, theories, and methods in all the social sciences. Emphasis is on the analytical and comparative aspects of a topic rather than the historical or descriptive. Arranged alphabetically, but includes a comprehensive index as well as cross-references. > NewLib (Ref) HV6017 E52 1983 Kadish, Sanford H., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CRIME AND JUSTICE. New York: Free Press, 1983. 4 vols. Lengthy, signed articles explore aspects of crime from a multi- disciplinary perspective. Touches on causes and effects of crime, the social and behavioral aspects of such crimes as rape and domestic violence, the relationship of alcohol to crime, and treatment of offenders. Indexed. > NewLib (Ref) HV6017 E54 1989 Nash, Jay Robert, ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WORLD CRIME. Wilmette: CrimeBooks, 1990. 6 vols. With more than 50,000 entries, this 6-volume work aims to present the "complete historical perspective of crime". International in scope; includes many B&W photographs. References are listed after each entry; extensive bibliography in volume 6 contains 25,000 book entries. Volume 5 is a dictionary. Annual updates are planned. This is a huge compilation of information on crime. Writing style tends toward the sensational. Dictionaries > NewLib (Ref) HV6017 B4 1983 Beckman, Erik, comp. THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE DICTIONARY. Ann Arbor: Pierian, 1983. Includes mostly legal and technical terms relating to police administration, corrections, and criminology. > NewLib (Ref) K52 S6 B45 1991 BILINGUAL DICTIONARY OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE TERMS (ENGLISH/SPANISH). Binghamton: Gould Publications, 1991. English and Spanish definitions of over 900 frequently used terms of criminal procedure in the U.S. common law legal system. Definitions are provided in non-technical language and would be useful to justice system workers in a bilingual environment. > NewLib (Ref) KF156 B53 1979 Black, Henry Campbell, original edition ed. BLACK'S LAW DICTIONARY: DEFINITIONS OF THE TERMS AND PHRASES OF AMERICAN AND ENGLISH JURISPRUDENCE. 5th ed. St. Paul: West, 1979. The standard legal dictionary with histories and sources of terms. > NewLib (Ref) HV6025 D43 1988 De Sola, Ralph. CRIME DICTIONARY. New York: Facts on File, 1988. Includes many abbreviations and explanations of slang and "street" terms in several languages. Bibliography includes works of fiction and nonfiction, print and other media relating to crime. > NewLib (Ref) HV6017 M37 Martin, Julian A., and Nicolas A. Astone. CRIMINAL JUSTICE VOCABULARY. Springfield: Thomas, 1980. An alphabetical listing of technical and slang terms. > NewLib (Ref) HV9304 W54 Williams, Vergil L. DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN PENOLOGY: AN INTRODUCTORY GUIDE. Westport: Greenwood, 1979. Entries cover a broad range of topics, including descriptions of correctional systems in each state. Statistics are a bit dated. Includes directory of prison reform organizations. Handbooks > NewLib (Ref) HV8138 T67 1985 Torres, Donald A. HANDBOOK OF FEDERAL POLICE AND INVESTIGATIVE AGENCIES. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. A very useful guide to the federal law enforcement bureaucracy. Includes organization charts of many agencies. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on criminal justice topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. This business database concentrates on administration and management, including public administration. This would be a good source for articles on the administrative aspects of criminal justice. ABI/Inform would also be a good source for topics relating to white-collar crime. Updated monthly. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) Compact Disclosure Contains financial and management information on over 11,000 public companies. Company data is extracted from annual and periodic reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. This could be a useful source for gathering data on companies that might be involved in criminal investigations. Updated quarterly. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION (CIJE) and RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE) indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. ERIC is especially good for articles on delinquency, crime and the schools, and education in correctional institutions. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. This is a good source for references to hot topics on crime and the criminal justice system which may be in the news, but which haven't received much attention in the more scholarly journals. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. Search PAIS in the reference area of New Library. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of criminal justice. (See PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS on page 7 of this guide for more information on the database). > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) Sociofile SocioFile covers sociology and related disciplines, including sociological aspects of criminal justice from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. SOCIOFILE is available on the CD-ROM network in both Branson and New Library. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of criminal justice. > NewLib (Ref) HV6001 C67 CRIMINAL JUSTICE ABSTRACTS. Monsey: Willow Tree, 1977 - . Quarterly. Abstracts items from professional journals, books, dissertations, research reports, government documents, and other sources. Subject and geographic indexes are cumulated annually. Literature review articles in each issue focus on timely topics such as use of deadly force, domestic violence, political crime, etc. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) CRIMINAL JUSTICE PERIODICAL INDEX. Ann Arbor: Indexing Services, University Microfilms, 1975 - . Easy-to use alphabetical index covers over 100 journals, including some professional newsletters. Subject headings based on the Library of Congress system. Published three times per year. > NewLib (Periodicals) H1 C87 CURRENT CONTENTS: SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES. Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1974 - . Weekly. Reproduces the contents pages in approximately 1,300 international journals grouped within broad categories as well as articles from multiauthored books. Subjects covered include sociology, psychology, law and management. Indexed by keyword and author. Library retains current year only. > Branson (Ref) HC110 P6 P1 HUMAN RESOURCES ABSTRACTS. Beverly Hills: Sage, 1975 - . Quarterly. Classified into broad subject areas, this source is useful for finding information on the relationship of poverty and unemployment to crime and delinquency. Covers English-language periodicals, books, reports and proceedings. Author and subject indexes are cumulated annually. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS. New York: Wilson, 1964 - . Monthly except September, annual cumulation. An alphabetical subject index covering English-language legal journals. Includes "Tables of Cases", statutes tables and a book review index. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 Z7 I54 INDEX TO U.S. GOVERNMENT PERIODICALS. Chicago: Infordata, 1970 - . Issued quarterly, cumulates annually. Author and subject entries for articles in periodicals published by the U.S. government. The journal abbreviation list in the front of each index volume gives the SuDoc classification number for the periodical. Those periodicals in the NMSU documents collection are indicated with a check mark. > NewLib (Ref) BF1 P959a PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Washington: American Psychological Assn., 1927 - . Monthly. A comprehensive compilation of nonevaluative summaries of the world’s literature in psychology and related disciplines. The monthly issues contain abstracts listed under 16 major classification categories. An author and brief subject index appear in each issue. These are then cumulated at the end of the year. The final subject index is much expanded from the monthly issues. In order to derive the greatest benefit from PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS, the THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS should be used. This is a compilation of the vocabulary used in psychology and related disciplines. Consult this title for research articles dealing with the psychological aspects of crime, deviance and treatment. It is also useful for articles on personnel and training issues, applied psychology, and the causes and effects of criminal behavior. This database is also searchable on CD-ROM (PSYCLIT). > NewLib (Ref Index Area) PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915 - . Semi-monthly. Includes journal articles, books, pamphlets, and U.S. government documents. Includes quarterly cumulations and annual cumulations with author indexes. Subject headings include: crime, criminal justice, white collar crime, computer crime, prisons, etc. Focus is on administrative and public policy issues. International in scope, this source is excellent for obtaining cross-cultural data. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Quarterly. Continues in part SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1966-74), INTERNATIONAL INDEX TO PERIODICALS (1920-65), READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE SUPPLEMENT (1907-19). Author and subject index to journals in the fields of anthropology, sociology, etc. A separate section at the end of each issue indexes book reviews. Covers over 350 English language journals. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. San Diego: Sociological Abstracts, 1952 - . A classified abstract journal that covers the field of sociology, including criminology; see section on "Sociology of Law". Includes abstracts to articles, papers presented at sociological meetings, abstracts of books, book review bibliography, and document delivery information. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of criminal justice. New Library HV7551 A53 AMERICAN JOURNAL OF POLICE: AN INTERDISCIPLINARY JOURNAL OF THEORY AND RESEARCH K2 O8 BOSTON COLLEGE LAW REVIEW HV6001 B777j BRITISH JOURNAL OF CRIMINOLOGY HV9261 N213j CRIME AND DELINQUENCY HV9261 C74 CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND BEHAVIOR K3 R49 CRIMINAL JUSTICE REVIEW HV6001 C68 CRIMINOLOGY HV6201 J68 JOURNAL OF CRIME AND JUSTICE HV7231 J62 JOURNAL OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE HV6001 J47 JOURNAL OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION: JCJE K10 O68 JOURNAL OF CRIMINAL LAW (LONDON, ENGLAND) K10 O8593 JOURNAL OF CRIMINAL LAW AND CRIMINOLOGY HV6001 J66 JOURNAL OF QUANTITATIVE CRIMINOLOGY HV6001 J67 JOURNAL OF RESEARCH IN CRIME AND DELINQUENCY K10 U3 JUDICATURE K8700 J87 JUSTICE QUARTERLY K10 U794 JUSTICE SYSTEM JOURNAL K10 U84 JUVENILE AND FAMILY COURT JOURNAL K12 A9 LAW AND CONTEMPORARY PROBLEMS K12 A914 LAW AND HUMAN BEHAVIOR HV7551 L3 LAW AND ORDER K12 A925 LAW AND SOCIETY REVIEW HV7551 N47 NEW MEXICO LAWMAN HV7551 P758c POLICE CHIEF HV7551 P76 POLICE STUDIES HV7551 P6126 POLICING AND SOCIETY HV6001 C673 SOCIAL JUSTICE Branson JU10.8:v./no. FEDERAL PROBATION Doc J1.14/8: LAW ENFORCEMENT BULLETIN (FBI) RA1001 A57 JOURNAL OF FORENSIC SCIENCES FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term criminal justice, some of the narrower terms listed are Child abuse - Investigation Computer crimes - Investigation Undercover operations Some very broad terms will include a "scope note" a brief paragraph describing what the subject heading includes and often pointing to terms used for related concepts. Some other subject headings relating to the general topic of criminal justice include: Criminal law Police Police administration Police training Juvenile delinquency Juvenile courts Juvenile corrections Corrections Penology Prisons Forensic sciences While Library of Congress Subject Headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of criminal justice. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of criminal justice. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Corrections - Bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies on criminal justice topics in the NMSU Library: > NewLib (Ref) HV6250.4 A34 A33 1988 Aday, Ron H. CRIME AND THE ELDERLY: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Westport: Greenwood, 1988. Contains 361 entries dealing with crimes against the elderly and the elderly as criminals. Contains a resource/agency list, and author/subject indexes. > Branson Z5703.4 C73 B47 1987 Berens, John F. CRIMINAL JUSTICE DOCUMENTS: A SELECTIVE, ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF U.S. GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SINCE 1975. New York: Greenwood, 1987. A comprehensive guide to criminal justice information in government documents. Describes over 1,000 items in categories such as: the criminal justice system, crime and criminals, law enforcement, law and the courts, corrections, and juvenile justice. Includes a directory of depository libraries, and author, subject, geographic and organization indexes. Use this bibliography to focus your search for information in the NMSU Government Documents Collection. (See GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS section below) > NewLib (Ref) HV6783 C67 1985 Cordasco, Francesco, and David N. Alloway. CRIME IN AMERICA: HISTORICAL PATTERNS AND CONTEMPORARY REALITIES: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1985. Over 1,800 entries include books, articles, journal titles and organizations covering many aspects of crime in America. Entries are arranged in chapters by subject, augmented by an author index. > Branson Z5703.5 U5 H48 1985 Hewitt, John D., Eric D. Poole, and Robert M. Regoli. CRIMINAL JUSTICE IN AMERICA, 1959-1984: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1985. Provides annotated references to works on the history, organization, process and issues of law enforcement, the courts, and corrections. This would be a good place to begin historical research in criminal justice. > Branson Z5703.4 C36 R3 1988 Radelet, Michael L., and Margaret Vandiver. CAPITAL PUNISHMENT IN AMERICA: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1988. Contains over 1,000 citations on the history of and current scholarship on capital punishment. Includes a list of Supreme Court decisions and U.S. Congressional publications. > NewLib (Ref) HV9950 S36 1991 Schmalleger, Frank. CRIMINAL JUSTICE ETHICS: ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY AND GUIDE TO SOURCES. New York: Greenwood, 1991. Over 200 entries arranged in chapters on law, the police, the courts, corrections, and victim’s rights. Includes section on other information sources (publications and organizations). Subject and author index. Library Guides These sources may be referred to as "bibliographies of bibliographies," or "guides to information sources". They are often helpful for the way that they organize both the subject matter and the information sources for the different academic disciplines. They may list sources that the NMSU Library does not own, but reference librarians can often suggest alternate sources or assist you in getting access to materials not owned by the library. > NewLib (Ref) H62.5 U5 E53 1988 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PUBLIC AFFAIRS INFORMATION SOURCES: A BIBLIOGRAPHIC GUIDE TO APPROXIMATELY 8,000 CITATIONS FOR PUBLICATIONS, ORGANIZATIONS, AND OTHER SOURCES OF INFORMATION ON 300 SUBJECTS RELATING TO PUBLIC AFFAIRS. Detroit: Gale, 1988. This guide covers many subjects, but does not deal with any in great depth. It does however, provide a quick list of sources on some specific topics of interest to researchers in criminal justice. Some examples: crime and criminals, capital punishment, drugs, firearms, illegal aliens, juvenile delinquents, organized crime, pornography, terrorism, and victims of crime. > NewLib (Ref) H61 L5 1990 Li, Tze-chung. SOCIAL SCIENCE REFERENCE SOURCES. New York: Greenwood, 1990. A well-organized guide to literature in the social sciences. See the sections on Law and Sociology for references to material on criminal justice. > NewLib (Ref) HV7419 L87 1986 Lutzker, Marilyn. CRIMINAL JUSTICE RESEARCH IN LIBRARIES: STRATEGIES AND RESOURCES. Westport: Greenwood, 1986. An excellent guide to the literature of criminal justice. Details the organization of information flow in various disciplines related to criminal justice and describes many individual sources. Also provides clues to organizing the research and writing process. > NewLib (Ref) HV8665 O24 1983 O'Block, Robert L. CRIMINAL JUSTICE RESEARCH SOURCES. Cincinnati: Anderson, 1983. A basic, easy-to-use guide to library sources for research in criminal justice. Includes a state-by-state list of U.S. government depository libraries. > NewLib (Ref) H61 S666 1986 Webb, William H., et. al. SOURCES OF INFORMATION IN THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. Chicago: American Library Assn., 1986. Comprehensive guide to information sources in many fields. See Chapter 5 - "sociology", for references to many sources of interest to criminal justice. Use the index to pinpoint numbered entries pertaining to specific topics. > Branson Z5703.4 C73 W48 1982 Whitehouse, Jack Edward. A RESEARCH GUIDE FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT AND THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM: A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES, JOURNALS, RESEARCH, AND REFERENCE MATERIALS. Palo Alto: R & E Research Associates, 1982. This guide is a bit dated, but contains a wealth of information. Consult the table of contents carefully to lead you to citations in your area of interest. Directories > NewLib (Ref) HV9463 D57 1991 American Correctional Association. JUVENILE AND ADULT CORRECTIONAL DEPARTMENTS, INSTITUTIONS, AGENCIES AND PAROLING AUTHORITIES. Laurel: American Correctional Assn., 1991. Directory of the American Correctional Association. Includes a state-by-state listing of facilities and personnel. Separate sections cover the Federal Bureau of Prisons, military facilities and facilities in U.S. territories and Canada. Includes statistical information and advertisements. > NewLib (Ref) KF336 A4 1992 Bosini, Anthony J. LEGAL RESOURCE DIRECTORY: A GUIDE TO FREE OR INEXPENSIVE ASSISTANCE FOR LOW INCOME FAMILIES, WITH SPECIAL SECTIONS FOR PRISONERS. Jefferson: McFarland, 1992. State-by-state directory of organizations and firms offering free or inexpensive legal assistance with an emphasis on services to incarcerated persons. Also includes a listing of capital punishment projects in various states. > NewLib (Ref) HV8130 N37 National Police Chiefs and Sheriff's Information Bureau. NATIONAL DIRECTORY OF LAW ENFORCEMENT ADMINISTRATORS, CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTIONS, AND RELATED AGENCIES. Stevens Point: National Police Chiefs and Sheriff's Information Bureau, 1991. Directory of municipal, county, state and federal law enforcement officials and institutions. Includes sections on prosecutors, campus law enforcement, training academies, airport and harbor police, military agencies, and Canadian and international agencies. A professional tool, this directory would be useful to students in the midst of a job search. > NewLib (Ref) HV6024.5 W67 1990 Santoro, Carla Masotti, ed./comp. A WORLD DIRECTORY OF CRIMINOLOGICAL INSTITUTES. Rome: UNICRI (United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute), 1990. Publication No. 35. Includes international groups as well as country-by-country listings for organizations involved in criminological research. Entries include addresses, phone numbers, contact persons, publications and major research interests. Most entries are in English, but some are in other languages. Good source for international information. > NewLib (Ref) HV8143 S84 1990 Stern, Ron. LAW ENFORCEMENT EMPLOYMENT GUIDE. Mt. Shasta: Lawman, 1988. This directory/guide aims to provide the student/graduate with factual hiring data on law enforcement agencies nationwide. State-by-state listings with a separate section for federal agencies. Information provided for each listing includes: entrance requirements, salary & benefits, retirement, application and testing process, innovative programs, anticipated openings, etc. Statistics > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual. This is a comprehensive descriptive guide and index to the statistics published by all government agencies, congressional subcommittees, and statistics-producing programs. Each issue consists of an abstracts section and the index section which provides access to the abstracts by detailed subjects, names, categories, titles, and report numbers. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) CITY AND COUNTY DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1988. Contains statistical information from the census and other sources for metropolitan statistical areas, urbanized areas, counties, cities, and unincorporated areas. Also available on CD-ROM in Government Documents. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 F101.1 C92 CRIME IN NEW MEXICO REPORT. Albuquerque: New Mexico Criminal Justice Statistical Analysis Center, 1988 - . Provides statistical profiles on crime in New Mexico as a whole, as well as more detailed reports on certain counties and cities. > NewLib (Ref) JS344 C5 A24 1992 THE MUNICIPAL YEARBOOK. Washington: International City-County Management Assn., 1934 - . Latest year in reference; issues for previous years in stacks. Each yearbook presents articles on a theme of interest to municipal government officials, urban planners, students of government, employees, etc. The largest section provides directory information and statistics on municipal officials and governments in many U.S cities. Chapter 3 presents "Police, Fire, and Refuse Collection Personnel & Expenditures-1991". Each annual volume has a cumulative index covering the previous 4-5 years. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) J87 N6 F112.72 1989 NEW MEXICO STATISTICAL ABSTRACT. Albuquerque: Bureau of Business & Economic Research, U of New Mexico, 1975 - 1989. Latest edition in reference. New Mexico statistical information in several major subject categories including crime and law enforcement, education, employment, housing, population, poverty and welfare, travel and recreation and vital statistics. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) STATE AND METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1980 - . Arranged in three parts: by state, metropolitan areas arranged alphabetically, and metropolitan areas ranked by population-size categories. A copy is also available in Government Documents. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) U.S. Bureau of the Census. STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1879. This is a standard work for locating statistical information. It includes data from both private as well as government sources. Emphasis is on national data; however many tables reflect state or regional data. References in the index are to chart number, not to page number. Often cites original sources for the statistics. > Branson (Doc Ref) J1.14/7:yr U.S. Department of Justice. Federal Bureau of Investigation. UNIFORM CRIME REPORTS: CRIME IN THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1930 - . Annual crime statistics compiled by the FBI from 16,000 reports submitted by city, county, state and university law enforcement agencies. Covers only reported crime. Categories reported include murders and manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, assault, burglary, larceny-theft, motor vehicle theft, arson, etc. Our library has this annual series going back to 1930. Current issue in Docs Reference; older issues shelved by SuDoc number with other publications from the Justice Department.Legal Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, Guides, Statutes, RegulationsStudents of criminal justice often need to find out about current laws and regulations, both state and federal. In order to do effective research, it is necessary to have a basic understanding of legal processes, beyond the scope of this guide. Listed below are a few sources for gaining an understanding of legal research procedures, background information on legal issues, and compilations of statutes and regulations. > NewLib (Ref) KF156 B53 Black, Henry Campbell, original edition ed. BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY: DEFINITIONS OF THE TERMS AND PHRASES OF AMERICAN AND ENGLISH JURISPRUDENCE. 5th ed. St. Paul: West, 1979. The standard legal dictionary with histories and sources of terms. An appendix of legal abbreviations. > NewLib (Ref) KF240 E35 1986 Elias, Stephen. LEGAL RESEARCH: HOW TO FIND AND UNDERSTAND THE LAW. 2nd ed. Berkeley: Nolo, 1986. A friendly and functional approach to legal research, offering background information on how laws are organized, and on finding and interpreting statutory law. > NewLib (Ref) KF156 G77 THE GUIDE TO AMERICAN LAW: EVERYONE’S LEGAL ENCYCLOPEDIA. St. Paul: West, 1985. 12 vols. Intended for the lay person, with articles encompassing legal principles and concepts, landmark documents and important acts, famous trials, historical movements and events which have influenced the law, and important individuals in the legal spotlight. There is an index volume, with a subject index and a table of cases discussed. > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 B261.31 1978 NEW MEXICO STATUTES 1978 ANNOTATED. Charlottesville: Michie, 1978 - . Originally published in 1978, these state laws are contained in a looseleaf format and are updated after each legislative session. The laws are organized by subject (chapters), and many sections are followed by a supplement section, which will reflect any changes in the laws as represented in the main sections. A general subject index (separate volume) is replaced following each legislative session. > NewLib (Ref) KF62 1988 A2 1989 UNITED STATES CODE: CONTAINING THE GENERAL AND PERMANENT LAWS OF THE UNITED STATES, IN FORCE ON JANUARY 14, 1983. 1988 ed. Washington: GPO, 1988; Supplements, 1989 - . U.S. laws, organized by broad subject areas (titles). Access is through the Table of Titles and Chapters (vol. 1) or through the subject index (vols. 21-25 and supplements). The supplements reflect changes in the laws since 1988. Other > NewLib HV6001 C672 v.16 Tonry, Michael. CRIME AND JUSTICE: A REVIEW OF RESEARCH. Chicago: U of Chicago, 1992. > NewLib HV6001 C672 v.15 MODERN POLICING. Chicago: U of Chicago, 1992. Selected articles on current trends in criminal justice research and on police practice. ERIC DOCUMENTS > NewLib (Periodicals) The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) clearinghouses collect and distribute previously published and unpublished non-journal literature of interest to educators and social scientists. ERIC documents include research reports and studies, curriculum guides, bibliographies, directories, speeches, and conference proceedings. Many of the documents describe community programs which go beyond the schools. Students of criminal justice should use ERIC to locate information on delinquency, crime and the schools, and education in correctional institutions. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The entire ERIC collection on microfiche (flat sheets of film contain- ing reduced images) is arranged by ED document numbers in cabinets in the microform area of New Library. Indexes to ERIC Documents ERIC on CD-ROM - See page 9. Cumulated subject, author and title indexes on microfiche cover the ERIC collection for the years 1966-1988. In using the microfiche subject index or RIE (RESOURCES IN EDUCATION), it is helpful to consult the THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS for the appropriate subject indexing terminology. The microfiche index is located near the ERIC collection. > Branson (Doc Ref) RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE). Washington: Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, National Institute on Education, 1975 - (Continues RESEARCH IN EDUCATION, 1966-1974). Monthly. Gives document resumes with abstracts for all ERIC documents. The resumes are arranged by ED number. Indexes provide access by subject, author, institution, and publication type. Cumulated semiannual index. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in the study of criminal justice. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bi-monthly. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 Z7 I54 INDEX TO U.S. GOVERNMENT PERIODICALS. Chicago: Infordata, 1970 - . Issued quarterly, cumulates annually. Author and subject entries for articles in periodicals published by the U.S. government. The journal abbreviation list in the front of each index volume gives the SuDoc classification number for the periodical. Those periodicals in the NMSU documents collection are indicated with a check mark. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A18 U.S. Superintendent of Documents. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1895 - . Title varies. A bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the U.S. government. The catalog consists of a text and four indexes: author, title, subject, and series/report number. Includes CUMULATIVE SUBJECT INDEX (1900-1971) and CUMULATIVE TITLE INDEX (1789-1976). Selected U.S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc) J28.20:992 U.S. Department of Justice. National Institute of Justice. DIRECTORY OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFORMATION SOURCES. Washington: GPO, 1992. First published in 1977, the 8th edition of this directory from the National Institute of Justice was produced from the results of a survey of over 400 criminal justice agencies. Included in the directory are 176 organizations with listings of their services, contact people, phone numbers and addresses and publications. > Branson (Doc Ref) J28.28:991 U.S. Department of Justice. National Institute of Justice. NATIONAL CRIMINAL JUSTICE THESAURUS. Washington: GPO, 1991. This thesaurus lists descriptors or index terms used by the National Institute of Justice and the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) to index the literature in the NCJRS document database. Use this thesaurus to choose appropriate subject headings and terms when searching for criminal justice information from U.S. government sources. > Branson (Doc) J28.29:991 U.S. Department of Justice. National Institute of Justice. SEARCHING FOR ANSWERS: ANNUAL EVALUATION REPORT ON DRUGS AND CRIME, 1991. Washington: GPO, 1992. A special report researched and compiled by the National Institute of Justice of the U.S. Department of Justice and submitted to the President, the Attorney General and the Congress in July 1992. Government officials often solicit such reports from various research agencies. More reports related to Criminal Justice can be identified by searching the GPO CD-ROM in the Government Documents Department. > Branson (Doc) J29.9/6:991 U.S. Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics. SOURCEBOOK OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE STATISTICS. Washington: GPO, 1992. Contains statistical information about crime and criminal justice. Published annually. > Branson (Doc Ref) J1.14/7:yr. U.S. Department of Justice. Federal Bureau of Investigation. UNIFORM CRIME REPORTS: CRIME IN THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1930 - . Annual crime statistics compiled by the FBI from 16,000 reports submitted by city, county, state and university law enforcement agencies. Covers only reported crime. Categories reported include murders and manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, assault, burglary, larceny-theft, motor vehicle theft, arson, etc. Our library has this annual series going back to 1930. Current issue in Docs Reference; older issues shelved by SuDoc number with other publications from the Justice Department. NEW MEXICO INFORMATION State documents are located in New Library. State publications are found in OLE by title, author (ex: a/New Mexic Dept. of Corrections) subject, or keyword. When searching by subject, use the Library of Congress subject headings. Selected New Mexico State Documents > NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 F101.1 C92 CRIME IN NEW MEXICO REPORT. Albuquerque: New Mexico Criminal Justice Statistical Analysis Center, 1988 - . Provides statistical profiles on crime in New Mexico as a whole, as well as more detailed reports on certain counties and cities. > NewLib J87 N6 F101.81 C92 CRIME IN THE LIVES OF NEW MEXICANS: A STATEWIDE SURVEY OF CITIZEN ATTITUDES, 1990. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico, Mexico Criminal Justice Statistical Analysis Center, 1990. Reports of survey research on New Mexico citizens’ attitudes toward crime in the state. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) J87 N6 F112.72 1989 NEW MEXICO STATISTICAL ABSTRACT. Albuquerque: Bureau of Business & Economic Research, U of New Mexico, 1989. New Mexico statistical information in several major subject categories including crime and law enforcement, education, employment, housing, population, poverty and welfare, travel and recreation, and vital statistics.