---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN CHILDREN'S LITERATURE Compiled by Helen M. Barber Fall, 1992 Conducting research in the field of Children's literature requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) PN1008.5 C37 1984 Carpenter, Humphrey, and Mari Prichard. THE OXFORD COMPANION TO CHILDREN'S LITERATURE. New York: Oxford UP, 1984. Presents very brief summaries of children’s literature in all languages, countries, or continents by widely-known, important or interesting authors. Concise evaluative comments indicate strengths and weaknesses of the writers and their works. > NewLib (Ref) PS374 C454 H45 1986 Helbig, Alethea K., and Agnes Regan Perkins. DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN CHILDREN'S FICTION, 1960-1984: RECENT BOOKS OF RECOGNIZED MERIT. Westport: Greenwood, 1986. Evaluates 489 major award-winning or significant fiction books written for children and young people. Use with their DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN CHILDREN'S FICTION, 1859-1959: BOOKS OF RECOGNIZED MERIT for an overview of the development of children’s literature in America. > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 C545 Jones, Dolores Blythe. CHILDREN’S LITERATURE AWARDS AND WINNERS: A DIRECTORY OF PRIZES, AUTHORS, AND ILLUSTRATORS. Detroit: Gale, 1983. SUPPLEMENT, 1984. Awards granted for excellence in English language children's literature are arranged alphabetically followed by award-winning authors and illustrators. Part Three, "Selected Bibliography," includes articles, books, chapters of books, dissertations, and reports about children's book awards. > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 N474 1992 THE NEWBERY AND CALDECOTT AWARDS: A COMPLETE LISTING OF MEDAL AND HONOR BOOKS, 1992. Chicago: Assn. for Library Service to Children, ALA, 1992. Bette J. Peltola's essay, "Newbery and Caldecott Medals: Authorization and Terms," recapitulates the origins as well as the terms, definitions, and criteria for each medal. A listing of "The Newbery Winners, 1991-1922," precedes "The Caldecott Winners, 1991-1938." For each winner, that year’s honors titles are also included. > NewLib (Ref) PR830 F3 R4 1984 Pflieger, Pat, with Helen M. Hill, advisory ed. A REFERENCE GUIDE TO MODERN FANTASY FOR CHILDREN. Westport: Greenwood, 1984. Introduces works of 36 nineteenth- and twentieth-century American and British authors with entries about authors, books, characters, places and magical objects. Excludes dream fantasies (ALICE IN WONDERLAND), short stories (Christopher Robin in HOUSE AT POOH CORNER) and works lacking "three dimensional characters, plausible plots and settings, rich themes, and vivid styles." > New Lib (Ref) PR990 S76 1984 Stott, John C. CHILDREN'S LITERATURE FROM A TO Z: A GUIDE FOR PARENTS AND TEACHERS. New York: McGraw, 1984. Articles about authors, illustrators, folktales, the major kinds of children's literature (e.g., animal tales, fantasy) and an essay on the Newbery medal award followed by a Caldecott essay form a broad introduction to children's literature. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on children's literature topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as INSTRUCTOR and WILSON LIBRARY BULLETIN. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNAL IN EDUCATION (CIJE) and RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE) indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) MLA International Bibliography [CD-ROM] This electronic version of the MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BOOKS AND ARTICLES ON THE MODERN LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES includes bibliographic records pertaining to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 3,000 scholarly journals and series, bibliographies, book articles, dissertations, monographs, proceedings and working papers. Provides coverage from 1981 to the present, with quarterly updates. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of Children's literature. > NewLib (Ref) PE25 A16 ABSTRACTS OF ENGLISH STUDIES. Calgary: English Dept., U of Calgary, 1958 - [Vol. 1-12 (1958 -1969) on microfilm]. This is the only tool in this group which contains abstracts. Although slow in publication and lacking universal coverage, this work includes entries from author newsletters and interdisciplinary studies not indexed elsewhere. > NewLib (Ref) PE1 B53 ANNUAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE. London: Modern Humanities Research Assn., 1920 - . Published in London, this annual enumeration of articles, books, dissertations, and reviews written in the English language has a distinctly British viewpoint presented tardily (e.g., 1986 c1989). "Literature for Children" occurs within "Literature, General." > Branson (Ref) Z1002 B471 BIBLIOGRAPHIC INDEX: A CUMULATIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES. New York: Wilson 1937 - . Appearing twice a year with an annual cumulation, this timely source includes entries under broad subject headings (e.g., "Children's literature") or smaller genre-related headings (e.g., "Children's poetry," "Fairy tales," or "High interest-low vocabulary books") and represent lists containing more than 50 citations. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) EDUCATION INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1929 - . This periodical index to education publications in English includes many subject headings beginning with "Children's..." (e.g., "Children's literature," "Children's poetry") as well as "Bibliotherapy," "Creative writing - Teaching," "Language arts." An author and subject index arranged in one alphabet is followed by book reviews found at the back of each volume from 1975/76 - . > NewLib (Ref) PE58 En36y English Assn. THE YEAR’S WORK IN ENGLISH STUDIES. Atlantic Highlands: Humanities, 1919 - . Slow but well worth the three-year wait (e.g., 1989 c1992) for gracefully written scholarly essays surveying trends in criticism and scholarship (e.g., "Children in literature," "Children's literature"). Footnotes provide precise citations to expedite interlibrary loans. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) ESSAY AND GENERAL LITERATURE INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1900 - . Timely index to collections of essays and chapters in books supplement our humanities journals. Pertinent subject headings are "Children-Books and reading," "Children in literature," "Children's literature" with subdivisions such as "Book reviews," "Film adaptations," and "Technique." > NewLib (Ref Index Area) HUMANITIES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Quarterly with annual cumulations allows timely access to literary subjects (e.g., "Children," "Fairy tales," "Young adult literature") appearing in journals, some of which are not indexed in the MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY. Book review section at the end of each volume. > Branson (Ref) Z666 L616 LIBRARY LITERATURE. New York: Wilson, 1921 - . Contains the most library-oriented material on "Children's literature" extending through the subdivisions "Authors and illustrators" (presenting author interviews, acceptance speeches, and biographical information), "Awards, citations and prizes," "Bibliography," "Book lists," "Evaluation" (reflections on and trends in children's literature, using stories to teach moral complexities), "Non-fiction," "Reviews," "Science," "Teaching," as well as genre-related "Children's poetry" or "Fantasy." > NewLib (Ref Index Area) LITERARY CRITICISM REGISTER: A MONTHLY LISTING OF STUDIES IN ENGLISH & AMERICAN LITERATURE. DeLand: Literary Criticism Register, 1983 - . The most frequent and therefore timely current-awareness tool available. Subject index includes "Children's literature." > NewLib (Ref) P1 A1 M62 MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BOOKS AND ARTICLES ON THE MODERN LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES. New York: MLA, 1921- [1921-1962 included in PUBLICATIONS OF THE MODERN LANGUAGE ASSOCIATION. PB6 M72] MLA on CD-ROM-see page 6. Annual. The most important location tool for any literary research. Since 1981, a subject index facilitates searching for desired exotics which the NMSU Library often lacks. These omissions, coupled with at least a year-long publication lag, encourage use of the LITERARY CRITICISM REGISTER or the HUMANITIES INDEX or the ESSAY AND GENERAL LITERATURE INDEX. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Considers "Bibliotherapy," "Children’s literature," and "Children's stories" from the viewpoint of psychologists and sociologists. Book review section at the end of each volume. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of children's literature. Branson Z1035 A1 B65 BOOKLIST Z1037 C432b THE BULLETIN OF THE CENTER FOR CHILDREN'S BOOKS Z718.1 A1 T62n JOURNAL OF YOUTH SERVICES IN LIBRARIES Z1219 P96w PUBLISHERS WEEKLY Z7403 Sc27b SCIENCE BOOKS & FILMS: THE JOURNAL OF SCIENCE LITERACY NewLib PN1009 Al C53 CHILDREN'S LITERATURE: ANNUAL OF THE MODERN LANGUAGE ASSOCIATION, DIVISION ON CHILDREN'S LITERATURE AND THE CHILDREN'S LITERATURE ASSOCIATION (not shelved in the Periodicals area) PN1008.2 C48 CHILDREN'S LITERATURE ASSOCIATION QUARTERLY L11 C53 CLEARING HOUSE FOR THE CONTEMPORARY EDUCATOR IN MIDDLE AND SECONDARY SCHOOLS HV854 D38 DAY CARE AND EARLY EDUCATION PE1 En36j ENGLISH JOURNAL LB1576 A1 E6 LANGUAGE ARTS LB5 L43 LEARNING PN1009 A1 L54 THE LION AND THE UNICORN HQ750 A2 P215 PARENTS MAGAZINE LB1050 R37 READING HORIZONS LB1573 R28 READING TEACHER: A JOURNAL OF THE INTERNATIONAL READING ASSOCIATION LB1140 J826n YOUNG CHILDREN FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term Children's literature, some of the narrower terms listed are Children's poetry Children's stories Fairy tales Illustrated books, Children's Picture-books for children While Library of Congress headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of children's literature. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of children's literature. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Fairy tales - Bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 Al C565 1990 Cianciolo, Patricia J. PICTURE BOOKS FOR CHILDREN. 3rd ed. Chicago: ALA, 1990. Guides teachers, librarians, and parents to well-written, imaginatively illustrated picture books of interest to children of all ages and backgrounds. > Branson (Doc) LC2.11: Coughlan, Margaret N., comp. BOOKS FOR CHILDREN. Washington: Library of Congress, 1964 - . Annual annotated list of recently-published picture books, fiction and non-fiction works. By appealing to children and stimulating their imaginations, these titles will meet the information needs of readers from "up to 5" through "from age 12." > Branson Z1037 Al H42 1990 Hearne, Betsy. CHOOSING BOOKS FOR CHILDREN: A COMMONSENSE GUIDE. Rev., expanded, and updated. New York: Delacorte/Delta, l990. Discusses children's literature and its use; gives pertinent examples. > NewLib (Ref) PR990 H46 1987 Hendrickson, Linnea. CHILDREN'S LITERATURE: A GUIDE TO THE CRITICISM. Boston: Hall, 1987. Includes in a single source descriptive annotations of articles, books, and dissertations about children’s literary criticism with emphasis on the twentieth-century authors and subjects, themes, and genres. > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 L97 1989 Lynn, Ruth Nadelman. FANTASY LITERATURE FOR CHILDREN AND YOUNG ADULTS: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. 3rd ed. New York: Bowker, 1989. Annotated bibliography of 3,300 fantasy novels and story collections for children and young adults in grades 3 through 12, forming a research guide on authors writing for this audience. > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 Al M654 1991 Miller-Lachmann, Lyn. OUR FAMILY, OUR FRIENDS, OUR WORLD: AN ANNOTATED GUIDE TO SIGNIFICANT MULTICULTURAL BOOKS FOR CHILDREN AND TEENAGERS. New Providence: Bowker, 1991. Critically evaluates over 1,000 fiction and nonfiction works about each major ethnic group currently enrolled in American elementary, middle, and high schools. > New Lib (Ref) E77.4 S73 1979 Stensland, Anna Lee, with Contributions by Aune M. Fadum. LITERATURE BY AND ABOUT THE AMERICAN INDIAN: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. 2nd ed. Urbana: NCTE, 1979. Part I, "Teaching the Literature of the American Indian," includes an "Introduction," "Aids for the Teacher," and "Bibliographies of Selected American Indian Authors." The Part II "Bibliography" contains almost 800 annotations of books about "Myth, Legend, Oratory, and Poetry" or "Biography and Autobiography," etc. Biographies > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT213 B46 2nd BIOGRAPHY AND GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX. 2nd ed. 8 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1980; 1981-85 CUMULATION. 5 vols. 1985; 1986-90 CUMULATION. 3 vols. 1990; and SUPPLEMENT[s], 1991 - . Use the original set with all its cumulations and supplements to access more than 8,382,000 biographical sketches in biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, literary criticism, and indexes. Multiple citations are given for many biographies. > NewLib (Ref Biog) CT100 B56 BIOGRAPHY INDEX: A CUMULATIVE INDEX TO BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL IN BOOKS AND MAGAZINES. New York: Wilson, 1949 - . Uses the Wilson indexes to books, collective biographies, and articles to update the above tool. Includes a listing of biographees by subject or occupation (e.g., Authors, American or Literary critics). > NewLib (Ref Biog) PN1009 A1 S2 1981 Sarkissian, Adele, ed. CHILDREN’S AUTHORS AND ILLUSTRATORS: AN INDEX TO BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARIES. 3rd ed. Gale Biographical Index Series, 2. Detroit: Gale, 1981. Includes all known writers and illustrators of children’s books whose work appears in the English language. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PN497 W74 1979 Sarkissian, Adele, ed. WRITERS FOR YOUNG ADULTS: BIOGRAPHIES MASTER INDEX; AN INDEX TO SOURCES OF BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION ABOUT NOVELISTS, POETS, PLAYWRIGHTS, NONFICTION WRITERS, SONGWRITERS AND LYRICISTS, TELEVISION AND SCREENWRITERS WHO ARE OF INTEREST TO HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS AND TO TEACHERS, LIBRARIANS, AND RESEARCHERS INTERSTED IN HIGH SCHOOL READING MATERIALS. Gale Biographical Index Series, 6. Detroit: Gale, 1979. Profiles approximately 9,000 writers in more than 260 biographical dictionaries. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PN497 A97 1990 Ward, Martha E., Dorothy A. Marquardt, Nancy Dolan, and Dawn Eaton. AUTHORS OF BOOKS FOR YOUNG PEOPLE. 3rd ed. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1990. Includes 4,005 authors selected from the "author file" compiled in the Children's Department of the Quincy (Illinois) Public Library. Gives preference to contemporary authors whose biographies proved difficult to locate. Bio-Bibliographies > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 Al W73 1988 Bingham, Jane M., ed. WRITERS FOR CHILDREN: CRITICAL STUDIES OF MAJOR AUTHORS SINCE THE SEVENTEENTH CENTURY. New York: Scribner's, 1988. Each of the 84 original critical essays about deceased authors from Charles Perrault to Carol Ryrie Brink is followed by a brief selected bibliography. The widely acclaimed works of these authors remained in print at least 40 years and was in print during the 1950's. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PS490 A43 1983 Cech, John, ed. AMERICAN WRITERS FOR CHILDREN, 1900-1960. Dictionary of Literary Biography, 22. Detroit: Gale, l983. These 44 biographees wrote realism, historical fiction, and fantasy. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PN1009 A1 T9 1989 Chevalier, Tracy, ed., with D. L. Kirkpatrick, consulting ed. TWENTIETH-CENTURY CHILDREN'S WRITERS. 3rd ed. Chicago: St. James, 1989. Includes more than 800 authors writing English language fiction, poetry, and drama for children and young people. Their works have been published mainly since 1900. The entry for each author consists of a biographical sketch, a list of his or her publications, and a signed critical essay. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PN771 C62 CONTEMPORARY AUTHORS: A BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHICAL GUIDE TO CURRENT WRITERS IN FICTION, GENERAL NONFICTION, POETRY, JOURNALISM, DRAMA, MOTION PICTURES, TELEVISION, AND OTHER FIELDS. Detroit: Gale, 1962 - . Accurate, concise, current information about an incredible number of writers. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PS374 C454 A4 1986 Estes, Glenn E. AMERICAN WRITERS FOR CHILDREN SINCE 1960: FICTION. Dictionary of Literary Biography, 52. Detroit: Gale, 1986. Presents biographical and critical information about 44 authors. Book Lists and Book Talks > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 A264 1988 Abrahamson, Richard F., and Betty Carter, Cochairs, and the Committee on the Senior High School Booklist of the National Council of Teachers of English. BOOKS FOR YOU: A BOOKLIST FOR SENIOR HIGH STUDENTS. 10th ed. Urbana: NCTE, 1988. Annotates 1,200 titles published from 1985 through 1987 on diverse topics (e.g., "Human Rights," "Humor and Satire," and "Self Help"). > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 Y68 1988 Davis, James E., and Hazel K. Davis, eds., and the Committee on the Junior High and Middle School Booklist of the National Council of Teachers of English. YOUR READING: A BOOKLIST FOR JUNIOR HIGH AND MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENTS. 7th ed. Urbana: NCTE, 1988. Annotates nearly 2,000 books of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and drama. Topics include "Abuse," "Black Experiences," "Classics," and "Technology and Machines." > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 G497 1987 Gillespie, John T., with Corinne J. Naden. JUNIORPLOTS 3: A BOOK TALK GUIDE FOR USE WITH READERS AGES 12-16. New York: Bowker, 1987. Presents plot summaries and related booktalking material for 80 fiction and nonfiction titles to entice readers ages 12 to 16 to read for pleasure. > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 N346 1989 Jett-Simpson, Mary, ed., and the Committee on the Elementary School Booklist of the National Council of Teachers of English. ADVENTURING WITH BOOKS: A BOOKLIST FOR PRE-K-GRADE 6. 9th ed. Urbana: NCTE, 1989. Annotates nearly 1,800 children's books published between 1985 and 1989. > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 N4 1990 McBride, William G. ed., and the Committee to Revise HIGH INTEREST- EASY READING of the National Council of Teachers of English. HIGH INTEREST-EASY READING FOR JUNIOR AND SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS. 6th ed. Urbana: NCTE, 1990. Annotations for almost 400 recommended books published between 1987 and 1989, plus three published in 1985, six in 1986, and two in 1990, are divided into categories such as "Adventure," "Fantasy" "Science Fiction." > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 S7 1988 Spirt, Diana L. INTRODUCING BOOKPLOTS 3: A BOOK TALK GUIDE FOR USE WITH READERS AGES 8-12. New York: Bowker, 1988. Plot summaries for 81 books published mainly from 1979 to 1986 will help librarians and others guiding children eight to twelve years old. A reading ladder, arranging titles according to range of difficulty, lists works within developmental goals such as "making friends" or "developing values." > Branson Z1037 B7216 1988 Walker, Elinor, comp. BOOK BAIT: DETAILED NOTES ON ADULT BOOKS POPULAR WITH YOUNG PEOPLE. 4th ed. Chicago: ALA, 1988. Fifteen teenagers in grades 7 through 9 selected 96 works of fiction, biography, autobiography, and non-fiction. For each book, there is a summary, a paragraph highlighting its notable qualities, passages recommended for booktalking, and brief annotations of additional genre titles. Book Reviews > NewLib (Ref Index Area) BOOK REVIEW DIGEST. New York: Wilson, 1905 - . Presents citations to and excerpts of current fiction and non-fiction written in English. Its subject index provides our only current subject access to "Children's Literature." > NewLib (Ref Index Area) BOOK REVIEW INDEX. Detroit: Gale, l965 - . Indexes over 470 reviewing journals, national publications of general interest, scholarly and literary journals, and numerous daily and weekly newspapers. > NewLib (Ref) AZ221 C67 1979 Farber, Evan I., ed. COMBINED RETROSPECTIVE INDEX TO BOOK REVIEWS IN SCHOLARLY JOURNALS, 1886-1974. 15 vols. Arlington: Carrollton, 1979-82. > NewLib (Ref) AZ221 C65 1982 Farber, Evan I., ed. COMBINED RETROSPECTIVE INDEX TO BOOK REVIEWS IN HUMANITIES JOURNALS, 1802-1974. 10 vols. Woodbridge: Research Publications, 1982-84. Additional "Book Reviews" are found at the end of the EDUCATION INDEX, HUMANITIES INDEX and SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX (see Indexes, pp. 5-6). Chronology > Branson Z1037 A1 B582 Bingham, Jane, and Grayce Scholt. FIFTEEN CENTURIES OF CHILDREN'S LITERATURE: AN ANNOTATED CHRONOLOGY OF BRITISH AND AMERICAN WORKS IN HISTORICAL CONTEXT. Westport: Greenwood, 1980. Each of the six chapters extending from the Anglo-Saxon period through 1945 is divided into "Historical Background," "Development of Books," "Attitudes toward and Treatment of Children," and an "Annotated Chronology." > NewLib (Microform Area) PZ5 E26 1966. Also a copy in NewLib Reference. Rosenbach, A. S. W. EARLY AMERICAN CHILDREN’S BOOKS, WITH BIBLIOGRAPHICAL DESCRIPTIONS OF THE BOOKS IN HIS PRIVATE COLLECTION. New York: Kraus Reprint, 1966. Even more interesting than the descriptions are the texts them- selves, accessed through a separately bound reprint of his author and title index listing the microfiche number assigned each book (NewLib Microform Area PZ5 E27 Index INDEX OF AUTHORS AND TITLES). Retrieve the desired item (e.g. Webster, Noah. THE AMERICAN SPELLING BOOK..., 1793 [Microfiche #170] which presents fascinating fables) from the fiche (PZ5 E27) in the microfiche cabinets. Dissertations and Masters Theses > NewLib (Ref) AS30 C64 COMPREHENSIVE DISSERTATION INDEX. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1973 - . Annual. A computer-generated index, this set attempts to list all dissertations accepted at U.S. universities. Many Canadian and some other foreign dissertations are included, but it is not a complete list. The index currently comes in five annual volumes: an author index and two subject volumes each for the sciences and social sciences/ humanities. Within each discipline, dissertations are arranged alphabetically by keyword. "Language and Literature" falls in Part 2 of the "Social Science and Humanities" section. The years 1861-1972 are cumulated into one thirty-seven volume set. "Language and Literature" is in volumes 29-30. The years 1973-1977 are covered in another cumulation with "Language and Literature" in volumes 15-16. > NewLib (Ref) AS30 D63 DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1938 - . Monthly. An index to dissertations submitted to University Microfilms International. (Approximately 370 universities, including European institutions, were submitting dissertations in 1984.) Beginning with vol. 27, two separate sections are published: A. Humanities & Socials Sciences, and B. Sciences & Engineering. Cumulative author and subject indexes are published each year. Volumes 38-, 1977- are on microfiche. These abstracts are summaries of the dissertations themselves. Use them to determine whether or not to order the dissertation from University Microfilms or to attempt to obtain it on inter- library loan. > NewLib (Ref) AS30 M393a MASTERS ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1962 - . Quarterly. Arranged by general subject categories (e.g., Literature, General). These abstracts are summaries of the theses themselves. Use them to decide whether or not to order the thesis from University Microfilms or to attempt to obtain it on interlibrary loan. Excerpted Criticisms The following four series arrange criticism of authors' works chronologically. Consult the index of the latest volume of the series which would include the author in question. > NewLib (Ref) PN86 L53 1984 LITERATURE CRITICISM FROM 1400 TO 1800: EXCERPTS FROM CRITICISM OF THE WORKS OF FIFTEENTH, SIXTEENTH, SEVENTEENTH, AND EIGHTEENTH- CENTURY NOVELISTS, POETS, PLAYWRIGHTS, PHILOSOPHERS, AND OTHER CREATIVE WRITERS, FROM THE FIRST PUBLISHED CRITICAL APPRAISALS TO CURRENT EVALUATIONS. Detroit: Gale, 1984 - . > NewLib (Ref) PN761 N56 NINETEENTH-CENTURY LITERATURE CRITICISM: EXCERPTS FROM CRITICISM OF THE WORKS OF NOVELISTS, POETS, PLAYWRIGHTS, SHORT STORY WRITERS, AND OTHER CREATIVE WRITERS WHO LIVED BETWEEN 1800 AND 1900, FROM THE FIRST PUBLISHED CRITICAL APPRAISALS TO CURRENT EVALUATIONS (NCLC). Detroit: Gale, 1981 - . > NewLib (Ref) PN771 C59 CONTEMPORARY LITERARY CRITICISM: EXCERPTS FROM CRITICISM OF WORKS OF TODAY'S NOVELISTS, POETS, PLAYWRIGHTS, SHORT STORY WRITERS, SCRIPTWRITERS, AND OTHER CREATIVE WRITERS (CLC). Detroit: Gale, 1973 - . > NewLib (Ref) PN771 G27 TWENTIETH-CENTURY CRITICISM: EXCERPTS FROM CRITICISM OF THE WORKS OF NOVELISTS, POETS, PLAYWRIGHTS, SHORT STORY WRITERS, AND OTHER CREATIVE WRITERS WHO DIED BETWEEN 1900 AND 1960, FROM THE FIRST PUBLISHED CRITICAL APPRAISALS TO CURRENT EVALUATIONS (CLC). Detroit: Gale, 1978 - . Genre Indexes Fairy Tales > NewLib (Ref) GR550 E27 Suppl. 3 > NewLib (Ref) GR550 E27 Suppl. 4 > NewLib (Ref) GR550 E27 Suppl. 5 Ireland, Norma Olin. INDEX TO FAIRY TALES, 1949-1972, INCLUDING FOLKLORE, LEGENDS & MYTHS, IN COLLECTIONS. Westwood: Faxon, 1973. FOURTH SUPPLEMENT, 1985. FIFTH SUPPLEMENT, compiled by Norma Olin Ireland and Joseph W. Sprug, 1989. Continues the deceased Mary Huse Eastman’s INDEX TO FAIRY TALES (and SUPPLEMENTS 1 and 2) by indexing 797 books under title and subject as well as those authors specifically mentioned in the collection. Folklore > Branson Z5981 Z53 Ziegler, Elsie B. FOLKLORE: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY AND INDEX TO SINGLE EDITIONS. Westwood: Faxon, 1973. Provides an annotated title bibliography and individual indexes by subject, motif, country, type of folklore, and illustrator. Poetry > NewLib (Ref) PN1023 I63 1972 > NewLib (Ref) PN1023 I63 1978 > NewLib (Ref) PN1023 I63 1984 > NewLib (Ref) PN1023 I63 1989 Brewton, John E., Sara W. Brewton, and G. Meredith Blackburn III, comps. INDEX TO POETRY FOR CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE, 1964-1969: A TITLE, SUBJECT, AUTHOR, AND FIRST LINE INDEX TO POETRY IN COLLECTIONS FOR CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE. New York: Wilson, 1972. 1970-1975, 1978 and 1976-1981, 1984 and 1982-1987, 1989. Adding more books at the 7-12 grade level necessitated changing the title from the earlier Brewton INDEX TO CHILDREN’S POETRY (1942-1965). > NewLib (Ref) PN1023 A5 1957 Sell, Violet, Dorothy B. Frizzell Smith, Ardis Sarff O’Hoyt, and Mildred Bakke, comps. SUBJECT INDEX TO POETRY FOR CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE. Chicago: ALA, 1957. Provides subject access to 157 poetry collections. > NewLib (Ref) PN1023 S6 Smith, Dorothy B. Frizzell, and Eva L. Andrews, comps. SUBJECT INDEX TO POETRY FOR CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE, 1957-1975. Chicago: ALA, 1977. Indexes 263 new anthologies to supplement the Violet Sell, et al. SUBJECT INDEX.... Short Stories > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 A4924 1955 American Library Association. Editorial Committee. SUBJECT AND TITLE INDEX TO SHORT STORIES FOR CHILDREN. Chicago: ALA, 1955. Indexes 372 books of interest to students in grade three through junior high. Library Guides > NewLib (Ref) PR56 B34 1989 Baker, Nancy L. A RESEARCH GUIDE FOR UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS: ENGLISH AND AMERICAN LITERATURE. 3rd ed. New York: MLA, 1989. Although this guide lacks specific information on "Children's Literature," it is a useful introduction to using a library. > NewLib (Ref) PR83 H34 1989 Harner, James L. LITERARY RESEARCH GUIDE: A GUIDE TO REFERENCE SOURCES FOR THE STUDY OF LITERATURES IN ENGLISH AND RELATED TOPICS. New York: MLA, 1989. Evaluative annotations arranged by type of work (e.g., bibliography) or field (e.g., children's literature) to assist student and independent researchers. Style Manuals > NewLib (RefI) LB2369 G53 1988 Gibaldi, Joseph, and Walter S. Achtert, eds. MLA HANDBOOK FOR WRITERS OF RESEARCH PAPERS. 3rd ed. New York: MLA, 1988. Ultimate Source Books > NewLib Z1037 A1 D578 1985 on Reserve Nilsen, Alleen Pace, and Kenneth L. Donelson. LITERATURE FOR TODAY'S YOUNG ADULTS 2nd ed. Glenview: Scott, 1985. Provides an introduction to young adults and their literature, examines contemporary books, presents professional views toward the literature of young adults, and closes with a historical overview (1850-1966). > NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 S8 1991 Sutherland, Zena, and May Hill Arbuthnot. CHILDREN AND BOOKS. 8th ed. New York: HarperCollins, 1991. This best children's literature textbook emphasizes "understanding children and their needs." It presents "perspectives and background, criteria and types of literature" and major authors and artists. ERIC DOCUMENTS The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) clearinghouses collect and distribute previously published and unpublished non- journal literature of interest to educators and social scientists. ERIC documents include research reports and studies, curriculum guides, bibliographies, directories, speeches, and conference proceedings. Many of the documents describe community programs which go beyond the schools. The NMSU Library has the entire ERIC collection on microfiche (flat sheets of film containing reduced images). The collection is arranged by ED document numbers in cabinets in the microform area of New Library. Indexes to ERIC Documents ERIC on CD-ROM - See page 6. Cumulated subject, author and title indexes on microfiche cover the ERIC collection for the years 1966-1988. In using the microfiche subject index or Resources in Education (RIE), it is helpful to consult the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors for the appropriate subject indexing terminology. The microfiche index is located near the ERIC collection. > Branson (Docs) ED1.310: Resources in Education (RIE). Washington: Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, National Institute on Education, 1975 - (Continues Research in Education, 1966-1974). Monthly. Gives document resumes with abstracts for all ERIC documents. The resumes are arranged by ED number. Indexes provide access by subject, author, institution, and publication type. Cumulated semiannual index.