---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN CHICANO STUDIES Compiled by Karen Stabler Spring, 1993 Conducting research in the field of Chicano studies requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) F1204 E46 1987 ENCICLOPEDIA DE MEXICO. Ed. especial. Ciudad de Mexico: Enciclopedia de Mexico, Secretaria de Educacion Publica, 1987-1988. Recently revised encyclopedia written in Spanish covering many topics and biographies of illustrious people. There is no index. > NewLib (Ref) E184 A1 H35 HARVARD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN ETHNIC GROUPS. Cambridge: Belknap, 1980. Mexicans as an ethnic group are covered on pages 697-719. Topics include historical background, immigration, the Mexican-American experience from 1900 to the present, ties with the homeland, and the Chicano culture and movement. > NewLib (Ref) E184 M5 M453 Meier, Matt S. DICTIONARY OF MEXICAN AMERICAN HISTORY. Westport: Greenwood, 1981. Provides brief historical background information on institutions, movements, organizations, and individuals. Comprehensive, covering the years from 1519 to 1980. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on Chicano studies. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM areanear the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) Gives access to stories in the news, through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. Suggested subject headings include education-bilingual, Mexican-American border region, and Mexican Americans. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by a department of the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to over 1,300 journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of Chicanos. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CIJE and RIE indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) covers literature in public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. Many of these articles relate to Chicanos, often from a business point of view. Appropriate subjects for this database would be Mexican Americans, and Hispanics. Updated monthly. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) Sociofile SocioFile covers sociology and related disciplines, including international development from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of Chicano studies. > NewLib (Ref) GN1 A15 ABSTRACTS IN ANTHROPOLOGY. Westport: Greenwood, 1970 - . Quarterly. Author and subject indexes included in each issue. Abstracts are grouped in four sections: archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Suggested subject headings include Mexican Americans and Hispanics. Library owns Vol. 5 - . > NewLib (Ref) E31 A43 AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE. Santa Barbara: Clio, 1964 - . Abstracts of journal articles covering the United States and Canadian history. Beginning with volume 26 there are five issues per year. The first four issues contain abstracts as well as review and dissertation citations; the fifth is an annual index. > Branson Z1361 M4 C47 1981 CHICANO PERIODICAL INDEX. Boston: Hall, 1981. Covers the time period 1967-1978. This is a subject index to more than 4,900 articles appearing in some 18 Chicano academic journals, literary publications, popular magazines, and special interest periodicals. Author/title index. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) EDUCATION INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1929 - . Monthly. A periodical index to educational publications in English. An author and subject index arranged in one alphabet. Book reviews listed separately. Subject headings include Hispanic Americans, Mexican Americans, and bilingual education. > NewLib (Ref) F1408 H16 HISPANIC AMERICAN PERIODICALS INDEX: HAPI. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, U of California, 1974 - . Annual. Indexes academic journals by author and subject in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Chicanos are also covered to a more limited extent. Note that many of the journals are from Latin American countries and are in Spanish. > NewLib (Ref) D299 H629 HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS. Santa Barbara: Clio, 1964 - . Abstracts of journal articles in history covering all areas except the United States and Canada. Prior to 1964 covered the world's periodical literature in history. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1915 - . Semi-monthly. Public policy is the emphasis of this index. Covers journal articles, books, pamphlets, and documents. Quarterly cumulations and an annual cumulation with author indexes are included. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of Chicano studies. Branson (SpC) J87 N6 F101.93 NEW MEXICO HISTORICAL REVIEW (SpC) J87 N6 T501.91 NEW MEXICO MAGAZINE New Library F1401 A572 AMERICAS F806 Ar47w ARIZONA AND THE WEST P115 B54 THE BILINGUAL REVIEW/LA REVISTA BILINGUE F856 C1289 CALIFORNIA HISTORY F1410 H625 EL GRITO DEL SOL F1410 H5 HISPANIC AMERICAN HISTORICAL REVIEW F806 Ar473 JOURNAL OF ARIZONA HISTORY F591 J826w JOURNAL OF THE WEST AP2 N213 NATION F786 So892 SOUTHWESTERN HISTORICAL QUARTERLY F591 W464 WESTERN HISTORICAL QUARTERLY FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term Chicano studies, some of the narrower terms listed are American Literature Mexican American Authors Bilingualism Mexican American Women Mexican Americans Migrant Labor United Farm Workers United States Emigration and Immigration While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the research should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of Chicano studies. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of Chicanos. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Mexican Americans-Bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > Branson Z5961 U5 G64 1985 ARTE CHICANO: A COMPREHENSIVE ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF CHICANO ART, 1965-1981. Berkeley: Chicano Studies Library Publications Unit, U of California, 1985. This is an index providing subject, author/artist, and title access to articles, books, exhibit catalogs, and art works. > NewLib (Ref) F786 V35 1988 BORDERLINE: A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE UNITED STATES-MEXICO BORDERLANDS. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Publications; Riverside: UC MEXUS, U of California Consortium on Mexico and the United States, 1988. Arranged by subject. Includes books, serial titles, current articles, government documents, chapters of books, conference proceedings, maps, films, and other visual aids, and theses and dissertations. Topics included are as follows: historical periods; physical characteristics such as geography, and geology; environment; demography; politics and government; intergovernmental relation; urbanization, immigration; economics; local business and industry; commerce and trade; social characteristics; and literature. > NewLib (Ref) E184 A1 M529 A COMPREHENSIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY FOR THE STUDY OF AMERICAN MINORITIES. New York: New York UP, 1976. Mexican Americans are covered in Volume II on pages 911-953. Includes such topics as history, sociology, immigration and labor, education and language, psychology and medicine, politics and social issues, religion, literary criticism, painting and sculpture, literature, and music. > NewLib (Ref) HQ1460.5 S76 1989 LATINAS OF THE AMERICAS: A SOURCE BOOK. New York: Garland, 1989. Includes bibliographical essays on such topics as biography, demography, feminist studies, health, history, households and families, literature, and political sciences of rural and urban development. Each essay is followed by a bibliography containing books, chapters of books, journal articles, and papers. > Branson Z1361 S7 L37 1986 LATINOS IN THE UNITED STATES: A HISTORICAL BIBLIOGRAPHY. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1986. A listing of 1,382 journal articles taken from AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE, 1975-1985. Emphasis is placed on Mexican Americans. > NewLib (Ref) E184 M5 M414 1984 Meier, Matt S. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF MEXICAN AMERICAN HISTORY. Westport: Greenwood, 1984. A comprehensive bibliography including 4,372 entries emphasizing the Mexican-American experience. The bibliography is arranged in two broad categories, chronological and topical. Articles, books, and dissertations are included. > NewLib (Ref) E184 M5 R593 1980 MEXICAN AMERICAN: A CRITICAL GUIDE TO RESEARCH AIDS. Greenwich: JAI, 1980. A comprehensive bibliography of Chicano bibliographies. Arranged in two broad areas, reference works and subject bibliographies, including such topics as labor, immigration and the border region, civil rights and politics, and culture. Entries are annotated. > NewLib (Ref) PC4071 B55 1983 A SOURCEBOOK FOR HISPANIC LITERATURE AND LANGUAGE. 2nd ed. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1983. Includes 1,412 selected annotated entries. Covers literary dictionaries and encyclopedias, histories, and linguistics. There is a chapter on Chicano bibliography and literature on pages 161-165. Other Bibliographies > Branson Z1361 M4 B37 BIBLIOGRAFIA DE AZTLAN: AN ANNOTATED CHICANO BIBLIOGRAPHY. San Diego: Centro de Estudios Chicanos Publication, San Diego State College, 1971. > Branson Z1361 M4 T73 BIBLIOGRAFIA CHICANA: A GUIDE TO INFORMATION SOURCES. Detroit: Gale, 1975. > Branson Z1251 S8 B67 1983 BORDERLANDS SOURCEBOOK: A GUIDE TO THE LITERATURE ON NORTHERN MEXICO AND THE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 1983. > Branson Z1361 M4 T34 A COMPREHENSIVE CHICANO BIBLIOGRAPHY 1960-1972. Austin: Jenkins, 1973. > Branson Z1361 M4 P5 MEXICAN AMERICANS: A RESEARCH BIBLIOGRAPHY. 2 vols. East Lansing: Latin American Studies Center, Michigan State U, 1974. > Branson Z1361 M4 T36 A SELECTED AND ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF CHICANO STUDIES. Manhattan: Society of Spanish and Spanish-American Studies, 1976. Biographies > NewLib (Ref Biog) PS153 M4 C46 1985 CHICANO LITERATURE: A REFERENCE GUIDE. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. Provides bibliographical and biographical information on Mexican- American writers. Articles cover Chicano poetry, literary criticism, philosophy, theatre, the novel, women in Chicano literature, Chicano children’s literature, and surveys tracing the development of Chicano literature from the sixteenth century to the present. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E184 M5 M385 CHICANO SCHOLARS AND WRITERS: A BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHICAL DIRECTORY. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1979. Over 500 entries provide such personal data as education, professional and/or community affiliations, honors and distinctions, publications, papers, speeches, lectures, non-print works, and criticism. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PS153 M4 C48 1989 CHICANO WRITERS: FIRST SERIES. Dictionary of Literary Biography, 82. Detroit: Gale, 1989. Fifty-two essays on American novelists, short story writers, and dramatists who are of Mexican descent or are Mexicans in the United States. Includes a bibliography of the authors' works as well as biographical information. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E184 S75 H5 HISPANIC NOTABLES IN THE UNITED STATES OF NORTH AMERICA. Albuquerque: Saguaro, 1978. Biographical information on prominent Hispanics in national and international affairs, the sciences, the arts, labor, and industry. Portraits included. > NewLib (Ref Biog) PQ7081.3 H58 1991 HISPANIC WRITERS: A SELECTION OF SKETCHES FROM CONTEMPORARY AUTHORS. Detroit: Gale, 1991. Covers more than 400 twentieth-century Hispanic authors including major literary figures, social and political figures, scholars, historians, journalists, and lesser-known writers not covered in other sources. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E184 M5 M454 1988. MEXICAN AMERICAN BIOGRAPHIES: A HISTORICAL DICTIONARY, 1836-1987. New York: Greenwood, 1988. Includes 270 biographies of which nearly 200 are contemporary Mexican Americans. > NewLib (RefBiog) F805 S75 V53 > Branson (SpC) F805 S75 V53 LOS PATRONES: PROFILES OF HISPANIC POLITICAL LEADERS IN NEW MEXICO HISTORY. Washington: University Press of America, 1980. Brief biographies of influential New Mexican Hispanic political leaders from the 1800s to 1980. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E184 S75 W46 WHO'S WHO AMONG HISPANIC AMERICANS. Detroit: Gale, 1991. Biographical information on over 5,000 Hispanics. There is a geographic, occupational, and ethnic/cultural index. > NewLib (Ref Biog) E184 M5 W52 > Branson (SpC) E184 M5 W52 WHO'S WHO: CHICANO OFFICEHOLDERS. Silver City: Martinez, 1990-91. Arranged by different levels of government: federal, state, and local. Information includes names, employment, and address. Also helpful is the listing of national Hispanic civil organizations and political and demographic tables and charts. Directories > NewLib (Ref) LC3727 D57 A DIRECTORY OF HISPANIC AND AMERICAN INDIAN HIGHER EDUCATION PROGRAMS. Albuquerque: College of Education, U of New Mexico, 1980. Arranged by state and then by name of university or college. Provides general information about the institution and descriptions of programs and services of relevance to Hispanics. > NewLib (Ref) E184 A1 T39 1986 GUIDE TO MULTICULTURAL RESOURCES. Madison: NMCC, 1986. Chapter three covers "Hispanic American Resources" which includes names and addresses of organizations. Topics include the following: bilingual information/services; books, films, and reports; businesses; civil rights organizations; community-based organizations; directories; educational associations; Hispanic research; libraries, media, and organizations; and women’s organizations. > NewLib (Ref) E184 S75 H47 1984 HISPANIC ALMANAC. New York: Hispanic Policy Development Project, 1984. Collection of data about social and economic characteristics of Hispanics and profiles of the top 20 Hispanic markets. > NewLib (Ref) E184 S75 C37 1991 HISPANIC CHILDREN AND YOUTH IN THE UNITED STATES: A RESOURCE GUIDE. New York: Garland, 1991. Contains essays on cultural and sociological aspects of the characteristics, status, and future developments of Hispanic children in the United States. > NewLib (Ref) E184 S75 G69 1989 HISPANIC-AMERICAN MATERIAL CULTURE. Westport: Greenwood, 1989. Directory that provides brief descriptions of museums, collections of artifacts, archival material, festivals, and Hispanic sites entered in the NATIONAL REGISTER. > NewLib (Ref) E184 S75 G65 1985 HISPANIC AMERICAN VOLUNTARY ORGANIZATIONS. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. An alphabetical listing of voluntary organizations. The organization profiles include background on the founders and leaders, structure of the organization, activities and publications. > NewLib (Ref) E184 S75 S28 1988 HISPANIC RESOURCE DIRECTORY. Juneau: Denali, 1988. Arranged by state. Includes information on 951 local, regional, and national Hispanic organizations, associations, research centers, academic programs, foundations, chambers of commerce, museums, government agencies, and other groups in the United States. The nine appendices provide information on percentage of Hispanics attending postsecondary institutions, Hispanic-oriented book publishers and distributors, human rights and equal opportunity organizations, minority and small businesses, migrant education and health, bilingual education, federal Hispanic employment programs, and Hispanic statistical data. > NewLib (Ref) F790 S75 H57 1983 > Branson (SpC) F790 S75 H57 1983 HISPANICS AND THE HUMANITIES IN THE SOUTHWEST: A DIRECTORY OF RESOURCES. Tempe: Center for Latin American Studies, Arizona State U, 1983. Essays about projects and resources in the humanities in four Southwestern states: Arizona, California, New Mexico, and Texas. Also included is a directory of key people. > NewLib (Ref) E123 N37 SPANISH IN AMERICA 1513-1974: A CHRONOLOGY AND FACT BOOK. Dobbs Ferry: Oceana, 1975. Divided into three sections: a chronology listing significant events which contributed to the Hispanic culture, key documents, and a bibliography. Statistics > NewLib (RefI) E184 S75 H5655 HISPANIC AMERICANS: A STATISTICAL SOURCEBOOK. Boulder: Numbers & Concepts, 1991. This statistical reference book covers the following broad topics: demographics, special characteristics, household and family characteristics, education, government and elections, labor force, earnings, and special topics. > Branson (Ref) HA218 U56 1990 UNITED STATES-MEXICO BORDER STATISTICS SINCE 1900. Los Angeles: UCLA American Center Publications, U of California, 1990. Includes statistics from the 10 border states. Topics include demography, vital statistics, housing and health, education, religion and politics, transportation and communication, employment, wages and income, migration, agriculture, mining and industry, maquila industry, and gross national product. > Branson (Ref) HA218 S72 1984 STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES-MEXICO BORDERLANDS. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, U of California, 1984. Statistics cover Arizona, California, New Mexico, and Texas as well as Baja California, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo León, Sonora, and Tamaulipas. Topics covered include demography and vital statistics, religion, immigration, employment, wages and prices, twin plants (MAQUILADORAS), transportation and communication, agricultural and fisheries production, Mexico-U.S. economic relations, and tourism. > NewLib (Ref) E184 S75 S27 1991 STATISTICAL HANDBOOK ON U.S. HISPANICS. Phoenix: Oryx, 1991. Includes 298 tables and charts derived from statistics collected by the U.S. Census and private organizations. Covers the following topics: demography, immigration and naturalization, social characteristics, education, health, politics, labor force, economy, and social conditions. > NewLib (RefI) HA202 Un35 > Branson (Ref) HA202 Un35 U.S. Bureau of the Census. STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1878 - . Annual. A single volume providing quantitative statistics of the U.S. Atlases > NewLib (Ref) G1545 P5 1989 > Branson (Atlas Case) G1545 P5 1989 ATLAS OF MEXICO. Boulder: Westview, 1989. A new descriptive volume which comprehensively covers demographic data and maps gathered from the 1980 Mexican census and more recent government sources. Includes an index. Genealogical Sources > NewLib (Ref) CS2375 U6 W66 1984 HISPANIC FIRST NAMES: A COMPREHENSIVE DICTIONARY OF 250 YEARS OF MEXICAN-AMERICAN USAGE. Westport: Greenwood, 1984. Hispanic first names, their gender, English equivalent, and meaning. > NewLib (Ref) CS2749 N6 S57 1982 > Branson (SpC) CS2749 N6 S57 1982 NOMBRES: NOMBRES DE PILA EN NUEVO MÉXICO. Bernalillo: Las Campanas, 1982. Lists Hispanic first names often used in New Mexico and gives the meaning of the name. > NewLib (Ref) CS2745 W66 SPANISH SURNAMES IN THE SOUTHWESTERN UNITED STATES. Boston: Hall, 1978. Gives surname, origin and meaning. > NewLib (Ref) CS16 R97 TRACING YOUR HISPANIC HERITAGE. Riverside: Hispanic Family History Research, 1984. This book is divided into three major sections: section one gives a step-by-step process for doing genealogical research, using Hispanic examples; section two covers specific record types; and section three covers the archives in Spain. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in Chicano studies. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bi-monthly. Selected U. S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5A46 AMERICAN STATISTICAL INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual. (Monthly supplement). An index to all federal government publications which contain significant statistical data. Indexed by subject and name, title, agency report number, and categories (geographic, economic, standard classification systems, etc.) Library owns 1980 - . > Branson (Doc Ref) KF49 C62 CIS ANNUAL. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1970 - . Monthly. Covers hearings, committee prints, documents, House and Senate reports, special publications, executive reports, and treaty documents. > Branson (Doc) C3.186/14:990 HISPANIC POPULATION IN THE UNITED STATES: MARCH, 1990. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Census, March, 1991. > Branson (Doc) I29.2:Sp2 Sanchez, Joseph P. THE SPANISH BLACK LEGEND: ORIGINS OF ANTI-HISPANIC STEREOTYPES (LA LEYENDA NEGRA ESPANOLA: ORIGENES DE LOS ESTEREOTIPES ANTIHISPANICOS). Albuquerque: National Park Service, Spanish Colonial Research Center, 1990. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A18 U.S. Superintendent of Documents. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1895 - . Title varies. Most comprehensive index to government publications. Access is by author, title, keyword, subject, and series/report number.