Conducting research in the field of art requires the use of many
different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of
useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic.
This guide is divided into the following sections:
The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library.
Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the
buildings as follows:
The Art Business Encyclopedia. Leonard D. DuBoff. New York:
Allworth Press, c1994.
Short (200 to 500-plus word) articles cover hundreds of art-business
topics of importance to artists, collectors, museums, galleries, and
dealers. Appendices include information on state laws, a reproducible
copyright registration form, and a bibliography. Indexed.
Artists' And Illustrators' Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. John Quick.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1977.
This dictionary's 2500 entries emphasize the methods and materials of
art. There are brief definitions of tools, techniques, and terminology as
well as many illustrations (especially of art tools).
The Book Of Art: A Pictorial Encyclopedia Of Painting, Drawing, And
Sculpture. New York: Grolier, [1965].
The first nine volumes in this set cover specific periods of art history,
while the topic of Volume 10 is "How to Look at Art." Articles are often
several thousand words in length. There are many black-and-white photos of
art works as well as large color reproductions of major works.
The Britannica Encyclopedia Of American Art. New York:
Encyclopedia Britannica, [1973].
Includes over 1000 signed entries on American painting, sculpture,
architecture, and photography. Most entries range from 250 to 1000 words,
but longer, in-depth articles cover topics of major importance. Contains
color illustrations and a bibliography.
The Complete Color Encyclopedia Of Antiques. Edited by L. G. G.
Ramsey. 2nd ed. New York: Hawthorn, 1975.
The encyclopedia is divided into subject sections such as "Coins and
Medals" and "Furniture," and a glossary follows each major section.
Includes a bibliography, an index, and illustrations (some in color).
Aimed at connoisseurs and collectors.
Dictionary Of Architecture & Construction. 2nd ed. Edited by
Cyril M. Harris. New York: McGraw-Hill, c1993.
Short definitions for thousands of architectural and construction
terms. Includes 2,000 illustrations.
Dictionary Of Graphic Arts Terms: A
Communication Tool. Patricia Barnes Mintz. New York: Van Nostrand, 1981.
Short definitions covering the techniques, equipment, and terms of the
graphic arts. Covers the trades of printing, typography, binding,
publishing, papermaking, and design. Includes black-and-white
illustrations.
Dictionary Of Subjects And Symbols In Art. James Hall. New
York: Harper, [1974].
Covers the symbols and themes of European art from the time of ancient
Greece onward. Includes a bibliography and list of sources consulted.
Dictionary Of The Decorative Arts. John Fleming. New York:
Harper, 1977.
Focusing on "movable objects other than paintings and sculpture,"
this dictionary provides brief definitions of stylistic and technical
terms, accounts of processes and materials, and biographies of major
craftspeople. Includes illustrations and bibliographic information.
Encyclopedia Of Architecture: Design, Engineering &
Construction. Edited by Joseph A. Wilkes and Robert T. Packard. New
York: Wiley, 1988.
Published by the American Institute of Architects and featuring the
work of eighty two distinguished contributors, this illustrated
five-volume encyclopedia thoroughly covers the techniques, styles, and
great women and men of architecture. The encyclopedia contains many
bibliographies.
Encyclopedia Of Photography. 1st ed. New York: Crown, 1984.
Covers photographic techniques, photographic equipment, and
photographers. Articles range from 250 to 2000 words. Includes
black-and-white and color illustrations and a bibliography.
Encyclopedia Of World Art. New York: McGraw-Hill, [1959-1987].
The fifteen original volumes and the two updated supplements to this
major art encyclopedia contain signed articles and extensive
bibliographies covering artistic styles, artists' biographies, and key
archaeological sites. Half of each volume consists of illustrations, many
in color. Use of the index in volume 15 is essential.
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography. 3rd. ed. Edited by
Leslie Stroebel and Richard Zakia. Boston: Focal Press, c1993.
Entries ranging from 100 to 500-plus words cover all aspects of
photography. Twenty-four appendices provide information on such topics as
"Photographic Effects" to "Area Conversion Table."
Glossary Of Art, Architecture & Design Since 1945. 3rd ed.,
rev., enl., and illustrated. Ed. by John Albert Walker. Boston, Mass.:
G.K. Hall, 1992.
Short articles (100 to 500-plus words) define and explain 700
contemporary art terms ranging from "Cowboy Art" to "T-Shirts" to
"Post-Modernism." Includes illustrations, bibliographic citations and an
index.
Graphic Arts Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. George A. Stevenson. New
York: McGraw-Hill, 1979.
An illustrated dictionary of terms. Includes a brief bibliography, a
table of sizes and weights, and indexes of products and manufacturers.
Also lists trade journals and associations.
International Dictionary Of Architects And Architecture. Two
Volumes. Edited by Randall Van Vynckt. Detroit: St. James Press, c1993.
Volume I provides substantial biographies and bibliographies for 523
architects from throughout history. Volume II provides information on,
and bibliographies for, "467 buildings and sites that have figured
prominently Western architectural history." Indexed.
Landmarks Of Twentieth-Century Design: An Illustrated Handbook.
Kathryn B. Hiesinger. New York: Abbeville Press, c1993.
Short articles with illustrations describe landmark designs of the
twentieth century. A separate section at the end of the volume provides
short biographies of designers. Indexed.
Mcgraw-Hill Dictionary Of Art. Edited by Bernard S. Myers and
Shirley D. Myers. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1969.
The more than 15,000 entries in this five-volume set cover world art
from all periods. Many articles are signed and most include bibliographic
information. There are numerous illustrations, some in color.
The Oxford Companion To Art. Edited by Harold Osborne.
Oxford: Clarendon, 1970.
Entries give information on artists, monuments, and museums as well as
definitions of terms and styles. Includes bibliographic information.
The Oxford Companion To The Decorative Arts. Edited by Harold
Osborne. Oxford: Clarendon, 1975.
Contains brief dictionary-type entries on decorative arts and artists
as well as longer entries on major topics. There is some information on
fashion and costume. Includes bibliographic information.
The Oxford Guide To Classical Mythology In The Arts,
1300-1990s. Two volumes. Jane Davidson Reid. New York: Oxford
University Press, 1993.
Each entry consists of a short description of a mythological figure
and a list of artworks in which that figure appears.
The Thames And Hudson Encyclopaedia Of 20th Century Design And
Designers. Guy Julier. New York, N.Y.: Thames and Hudson, c1993.
Short articles describe hundreds of people, movements, and concepts of
importance to twentieth-century design. Includes a bibliography and
chronological chart. Illustrated.
Timelines Of The Arts And Literature. David M. Brownstone.
New York, NY: HarperCollins, c1994.
Timelines illustrate chronological links between visual arts,
literature, music, dance, theater and world events. Covers 100,00 B.C. to
1992 A.D. Indexed.
Artist's & Graphic Designer's Market. Cincinnati: Writer's
Digest.
This annual publication gives information on over 2,500 places to sell
art. Gives some marketing advice. The latest edition is kept in the
reference area.
The Artist's Handbook Of Materials And Techniques. Ralph Mayer.
5th ed. Updated by Steven Sheehan. New York: Viking, 1991.
Describes artists' tools and techniques, including types of
painting, pigments, and chemical compounds.
The Artist's Resource Handbook. Daniel Grant. New York:
Allworth Press, c1994.
Career information for the artist, with coverage of such topics as
"Public and Private Support for the Artists," "Artist in Residence
Programs," and "Health and Safety in the Arts." Bibliography and index.
Directory Of M.A. & Ph.D. Programs In Art And Art History. New
York, NY: College Art Association, c1995.
Information on programs at over 160 institutions in the U.S. and
Canada. Indexed by area of study and geographic area.
Directory Of MFA Programs In The Visual Arts. New York, NY:
College Art Association, c1992.
Information on M.F.A. programs at 180 institutions in the U.S. and
Canada. Indexed by area of study and geographic area.
Free Money For People In The Arts. Laurie Blum. New York:
Collier Books, 1991.
List funding sources for artists and others. Organized by subject and
state. Includes sample grant proposals. Indexed.
Guide To American Art Schools. Edited by John D. Werenko and
Borgna Brunner. Boston: Hall, 1987.
A geographical listing of American art schools with non-evaluative
information about each school. The introduction discusses art careers and
art schools. Includes bibliographic information and an index.
Legal Guide For The Visual Artist. Tad Crawford. Revised ed.
New York: Madison Square, 1986.
Contains information on copyright, artists' rights, taxes, contracts
and other legal topics relating to the artist. Includes sample forms for
various types of artistic contracts.
Money For Visual Artists. Ed. by Douglas Oxenhorn. New
expanded 2nd ed. New York: American Council for the Arts ; Allworth
Press, c1993.
"A guide to grants, awards, fellowships, artist residencies, loan
programs, technical assistance, and more." Includes a bibliography.
Indexed by supporting organization, geographical area, and type of
support.
The New Mexico Directory Of Hispanic Culture. Edited by Lenore
Lee, Lucero Miner, and Carol Guzmán. Albuquerque: Hispanic Culture
Foundation, 1992.
Directory information on New Mexico Hispanic artists, art
organizations, art businesses, and art events.
The Painter's Handbook. Mark David Gottsegen. New York:
Watson-Guptill Publications, c.1993.
A thorough guide to artist's materials with detailed instructions on
their use. Includes health and safety information. Includes a
bibliography, index, and list of suppliers.
Peterson's Professional Degree Programs In The Visual And
Performing Arts 1995. Princeton, NJ: Peterson's, 1995.
Provides information on hundreds of programs in the U.S. and Canada..
Each section (Art, Music, Theater, and Dance) has a helpful introduction
for the potential student. Indexed.
Picture Collections, Mexico: A Guide To Picture Sources In The
United Mexican States. Edited by Martha Davidson, Carlota Duarte, and
Raul Solano Nunez. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1988.
Provides access to over 570 Mexican collections belonging to museums,
archives, libraries, photographers, collectors, publishers, and others.
Thoroughly indexed.
Sculpture: Tools, Materials, And Techniques. Wilbert Verhelst.
Englewood Cliffs: Prentice-Hall, [1979].
Defines terms, tools, and processes of sculpture. Includes a
bibliography, illustrations, and a list of manufacturers and suppliers.
Slide Buyers' Guide: An International Directory Of Slide Sources
For Art And Architecture. 6th ed. Norine D. Cashman. Englewood,
Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1990.
Entries for 308 slide dealers in the U.S. and abroad. Indexed by
dealer name and subject.
American Art From The National Gallery Of Art
Washington, D. C.: The Gallery: Distributed by The Voyager Company, 1993.
This laser videodisk has images "of over 2,600 works by American
artists over a span of three centuries." The disk may be checked out from
the New Library circulation desk. A machine for viewing the disk is
available on the first floor of New Library.
Microsoft Art Gallery: The Collection Of The National Gallery,
London. [Redmond, Wash.]: Microsoft, c1994.
"Multimedia information on artists represented in the National Gallery,
London, including 2,000 color reproductions of paintings, information
about the artists and their works, spoken names of artists, and
animations." The disk may be checked out from the New Library circulation
desk. A machine for viewing the disk is available on the first floor of
New Library.
Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use
of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts
(summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print and/or
electronic format (such as CD-ROM). The library doesn't subscribe to all
of the journals in these indexes. You can find out if the library has a
journal by accessing the OLE online catalog and typing t/ followed
by the title of the journal (not the title of the article).
PAN is an index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides
information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700
magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and
National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to
around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available from any
computer that can connect to OLE. Ask at the reference desk if you need
any help.
Provides citations to articles on the history of American art and
artists. Indexes articles published from 1982 to the present. Available
only on the first floor of New Library.
Includes articles about computer software, including computer art
software. Many articles are full-text.
ERIC, the electronic version of the Current Index To Journals In
Education (CIJE) and Resources In Education (RIE), gives
bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on
microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other
social sciences from over 775 periodicals. There is an online tutorial
available. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present, with quarterly
updates.
The Thesaurus Of Eric Descriptors, located in the reference areas,
may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in when researching the
educational aspects of art.
Full-text articles from U.S. ethnic newspapers. Include articles about
ethnic art and artists.
FirstSearch provides online access to approximately 50 databases on a
variety of subjects. For art research, Dissertation Abstracts
International, Art Index, and Arts and Humanities Search
are especially useful. It is available at either reference desk.
Indexes articles on the history of art and artists from outside of
North America. The period of history covered is from 1450 to the present,
and the articles indexed were published between 1982 and the present.
Available only on the first floor of New Library.
MLA is primarily a database on literature and linguistics, but it does
include citations to books, articles, and dissertations on the
relationship between art and literature. There is also some coverage of
art in popular culture. Coverage is from 1981 to the present. MLA is
available only on the first floor of New Library.
Compiled by a department of the American Psychological Association,
PsycLIT is the electronic version of Psychological Abstracts. Contains
citations with abstracts to over 1300 journals in psychology and the
behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all
psychological applications of art such as "art therapy." Online tutorial
available. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly
updates.
The Thesaurus Of Psychological Index Terms, located in the
reference area, may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching
the psychological aspects of art.
Art Index. New York: Wilson, 1929/32 - .
A quarterly index of periodical articles dealing with all periods and
forms of art, including cinema. Also indexes reviews of books and
exhibition catalogs. Library owns from 1929 to present.
BHA: Bibliography Of The History Of Art: Bibliographie D'Histoire
De L'Art. Santa Monica, CA: Getty Art Information Program, 1991-.
BHA indexes articles from more than 100 art periodicals. Exhibition
catalogs are listed under the city where the exhibition was held. For
coverage prior to 1991, use BHA's predecessor, RILA: Repertoire
International De La Litterature De L'art (New Ref N7510 R16).
RILA provides coverage from 1975 to 1990.
Bibliographic Index: A Cumulative Bibliography Of
Bibliographies. New York: Wilson, 1937 - .
Appearing twice a year with an annual cumulation, this timely source
includes entries under broad subject headings (e.g. "Art, French") or
individual artists (e.g. "Monet, Claude"). Lists bibliographies containing
more than fifty entries. Library owns from 1937 to present.
Humanities Index. New York: Wilson, 1974 - .
Published quarterly with annual cumulations. Provides timely access to
journal articles on various art topics. Library owns from 1974 to present.
New York Times Index. New York: New York Times, 1948 - .
Indexes articles from the New York Times, a newspaper which
provides notable coverage of the arts in New York City and around the
world. The index runs from 1851 to the present, as does the library's
microfilm holdings of the New York Times.
Women Studies Abstracts. Rush, NY: Rush Pub., 1972 - .
Subject index to articles from a wide range of periodicals. Includes
additional listings of articles not abstracted and a listing of books
reviews. Library owns from 1979 to present.
Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use
the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the
stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in
cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. For the most
part, back issues of art magazines and journals are bound, not on
microfiche or microfilm.
Selected List of Current Journals
Using OLE
The Card Catalog
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Location of Books
Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance
in locating a book.
Arntzen, Etta, and Robert Rainwater. Guide To The Literature Of Art
History. Chicago: ALA, 1980.
Besterman, Theodore. Old Art Books. London: Maggs, 1975.
Books By Artists. New York: Printed Matter, 1981.
Chamberlin, Mary W. Guide To Art Reference Books. Chicago: ALA,
1959.
Chiarmonte, Paula L. Women Artists In The United States: A
Selective Bibliography And Resource Guide On The Fine And Decorative Arts,
1750-1986. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, c1990.
Lists nearly 3,000 sources for information on U.S. women artists. Indexed.
Dykes, Jeff C. Fifty Great Western Illustrators: A Bibliographic
Checklist. [Flagstaff]: Northland, [1975].
Ehresmann Donald L. Applied And Decorative Arts: A Bibliographic Guide. 2nd ed.. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1993.
Ehresmann, Donald L. Architecture: A Bibliographic Guide To Basic
Reference Works, Histories, And Handbooks. Littleton: Libraries
Unlimited, 1984.
Ehresmann, Donald L. Fine Arts: A Bibliographic Guide To Basic
Reference Works, Histories, And Handbooks. 3rd ed. Littleton:
Libraries Unlimited, 1990.
From Museums, Galleries, And Studios: A Guide To Artists On Film
And Tape. Compiled by Susan P. Besemer and Christopher Crosman.
Westport: Greenwood Press, 1984.
Describes over 600 films, videocassettes, and audiocassettes featuring
artists discussing their work. Gives buying and/or borrowing information
for each film and tape. Indexed.
Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information: Research Methods And
Resources. 3rd ed. Dubuque: Kendall/Hunt, c.1990.
Besides extensive bibliographic information, contains some excellent
chapters describing how to do research in all areas of art. A good
starting point for any art researcher.
Keaveney, Sydney Starr. American Painting: A Guide To Information
Sources. Detroit: Gale, [1974].
Muehsam, Gerd. Guide To Basic Information Sources In The Visual
Arts. Santa Barbara.: J. Norton/ABC-Clio, [1977].
NMSU Theses and Dissertations are cataloged as books and may be
checked out. They can be found on OLE by author, title, keyword, or
subject. In addition, they can be located through a file at the end of the
card catalog, arranged by department.
FirstSearch provides online access to approximately 50 databases,
including Dissertation Abstracts International. It is available at
either reference desk.
Comprehensive Dissertation Index. Ann Arbor: UMI, 1979 - .
Annual. Cumulated author and subject indexes to Dissertation Abstracts
International (DAI, see below) and to the dissertations themselves.
Entries under subject or author include the title, author, university, DAI
citations number, and order number.
Dissertation Abstracts International. Ann Arbor: UMI, 1938 - .
Monthly. A compilation of the abstracts of doctoral dissertations
submitted to University Microfilms International (UMI). The dissertations
are available for purchase from UMI or generally can be borrowed from
other universities via interlibrary loan.
Dissertation Abstracts (formerly Microform Abstracts) are on
microfilm for the years 1938-1956, in print format for 1957-1976, and on
microfiche from 1977 to the present. Since 1966 they have been divided
into two main categories: Section A, the humanities and social sciences;
and Section B, the sciences and engineering. There are subject and author
indexes for each issue. Each June, cumulated indexes are issued on
microfiche for the previous twelve months. The printed Comprehensive
Dissertation Index (see above) also provides access to the abstracts,
but is less current.
Apple, Marsha C. Illustration Index VII: 1987-1991. Metuchen:
Scarecrow, 1993.
The latest in a series of works indexing illustrations published in a
limited group of U.S. general-interest periodicals. The original
Illustration Index covers the 1950s, with later editions covering the
succeeding years. Access is by subject only.
Clapp, Jane. Sculpture Index. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1970.
Indexes picture reproductions of three-dimensional art from 950
publications. Volume 1 covers sculpture of Europe and the contemporary
Middle East. Volume 2, in two parts, covers sculpture of the Americas, the
Orient, Africa, the Pacific, and the Classical World.
General Index To Illustrations. Compiled by Jessie Croft
Ellis. Boston: Faxon, 1931.
Indexes 22,000 illustrations published in 200 books and periodicals.
A good source for illustrations published between 1900 and 1930. Also
indexes some illustrations published in the nineteenth century.
Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index. Metuchen:
Scarecrow, 1982.
The original two-volume set indexes reproductions of paintings from
1167 books published between 1940 and 1975. The two-volume "First
Supplement" indexes an additional 617 books, bringing coverage up through
1980. Both the original and supplement include bibliographic information.
Hewlett-Woodmere Public Library. Index To Art Reproductions In
Books. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1974.
Indexes art reproductions from sixty-five published books.
An Index To American Photographic Collections, Compiled At The
International Museum Of Photography At George Eastman House. 2nd
enl. ed. Edited by Andrew H. Eskind and Greg Drake. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1990.
The "Collections Listing" gives 540 photographic collections, listing
them geographically and by name of collection. The "Photographer Index"
links photographers to collections holding their works and is "the most
comprehensive listing of photographers and life dates available anywhere."
Korwing, Yala H. Index To Two-Dimensional Art Works. Metuchen:
Scarecrow, 1981.
Indexes art reproductions from over 250 books published between 1960
and 1970. The more than 35,000 entries do not include prints or
photographs.
Monro, Isabel Stevenson, and Kate R. Monro. Index To Reproductions
Of American Paintings. New York: Wilson, 1964.
The first edition indexes reproductions from over 800 books and
catalogs published before 1948. The supplement indexes reproductions from
400 books and catalogs published between 1948 and 1961.
Nature And Its Applications. Compiled by Jessie Croft Ellis.
Boston: Faxon, 1949.
Indexes over 200,000 nature illustrations from 130 books and
periodicals. A good source for illustrations published during the first
half of the twentieth century.
New York Graphic Society. Fine Art Reproductions Of Old & Modern
Masters: A Comprehensive Illustrated Catalog Of Art Through The Ages.
Greenwich: New York Graphic Society, 1978.
Gives information on where to obtain two-dimensional reproductions of
some 2500 paintings, prints, photographs, mosaics, and sculptures.
Excellent color illustrations accompany most entries. All price
information is out of date, but this is still a useful source.
Photography Index: A Guide To Reproductions. Compiled by
Pamela Jeffcott Parry. Westport: Greenwood, 1979.
Indexes reproductions of photographs from more than eighty major
books and exhibition catalogs. Dates of indexed photographs range from the
1820s to the 1970s. For anonymous photographs, access is by date of
photograph.
Picture Sources. Edited by Ernest H. Robl. 4th ed. New York:
Special Libraries Association, 1983.
The fourth edition in a series of directories of picture resources.
Arranged in broad subject categories, entries give information on where
and how to obtain reproductions of various art works. Indexed.
Smith, Lyn Wall, and Nancy Dustin Wall Moure. Index To
Reproductions Of American Paintings Appearing In More Than 400 Books
Mostly Published Since 1960. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1988.
Indexes some 30,000 paintings. Especially good for locating color
reproductions of pre-1900 American Art.
American Art Directory. 55th ed. New Providence, NJ: Bowker, 1995.
Published irregularly, latest edition located in Reference Area.
Gives information on art organizations, art schools, and art information
sources in the U. S., Canada, and worldwide.
From Museums, Galleries, And Studios: A Guide To Artists On Film
And Tape. Compiled by Susan P. Besemer and Christopher Crosman.
Westport: Greenwood, 1984.
Describes over 600 films, videocassettes, and audiocassettes
featuring artists discussing their work. Gives buying and/or borrowing
information for each film and tape. Indexed.
International Directory Of Arts. 22nd ed. New Providence, NJ:
K. G. Saur, 1995/1996.
Published irregularly, latest edition in Reference Area. Gives names
and addresses of art museums, galleries, schools, artists, restorers,
periodicals, auctioneers, and more. Worldwide coverage.
Museums Of The World. 5th ed. New Providence, NJ: K.G. Saur,
1995.
Lists names and addresses of thousands of museums (art and otherwise)
from around the world. Very brief descriptions of each museum's
holdings. Indexed by geographic location, name of museum, and type of museum.
Official Museum Directory. Washington: American Association of
Museums, 1971 - .
Published annually, most-recent volume in Reference Area. The 1990
edition has information on 6,700 U.S. museums and on 1800 purveyors of
museum products and services. List institutions by state, by name, and by
category. Includes a list of museum directors and department heads.
World Of Learning. 40th ed. London: Europa, 1950 - .
Published annually, latest edition located in Reference Area. Among
other things, lists learned societies, museums, and art schools from
around the world. Gives addresses, telephone numbers, and other
descriptive information.
Allgemeines Lexikon Der Bildenden Kunstler Des XX.
Jahrhunderts. Hans Vollmer. Leipzig: Seeman, 1953-1962.
This work supplements the Thieme-Becker Allgemeines Lexikon by
covering artists born after 1870. Contains signed scholarly articles and
bibliographic information. The use of a bilingual dictionary will make
this work somewhat accessible to those w ho do not read German.
Allgemeines Lexikon Der Bildenden Kunstler Von Der Antike Bis Zur
Gegenwart. Ulrich Thieme and Felix Becker. Leipzig: Seeman, 1907-1950.
Signed scholarly articles give information on the lives and works of
thousands of artists born before 1870. Includes an excellent bibliography
of older art publications. The use of a bilingual dictionary will make
this work somewhat accessible to those who do not read German.
Artists Of The American West: A Biographical Dictionary. Doris
Ostrander Dawdy. 1st ed. Chicago: Sage, [1974].
Lists 1,350 artists, all born before 1900, who depicted the American
West. For 300 of these artists there are brief biographical entries.
The Biographical Directory Of Native American Painters.
Patrick D Lester. Tulsa, OK: SIR Publications, Norman, OK, 1995.
Brief biographical information on over 2,000 (mostly living) Native
American painters. Includes a bibliography and a tribal index.
Biography Index: A Cumulative Index To Biographical Material In
Books And Magazines. New York: Wilson, 1946 - .
An especially useful index for locating biographical information on
established artists who are not well known outside of the art world.
Includes a listing of biographees by subject or occupation (e.g. Artists,
American).
Contemporary Artists. Edited by Colin Naylor. 3rd ed. Chicago:
St. James, 1989.
Gives biographical information plus a detailed list of exhibitions
for over 1000 artists. No artists deceased before 1960 are included.
Cyclopedia Of Painters And Paintings. Edited by John Denison
Champlin. New York: Scribner's, 1900.
A dated but still useful biographical dictionary. Includes
biographical information, reproductions of some artists' signatures, and
lists of artists' works. The first volume contains an extensive
bibliography.
Dictionary Of Contemporary American Artists. Edited by Paul
Cummings. 5th ed. New York: St. Martin's, 1988.
Entries give essential biographical information on some 900 artists:
early training, memberships, awards, exhibitions, addresses, collections,
and more. Includes bibliographical information and some illustrations.
Dictionary Of Women Artists: An International Dictionary Of Women
Artists Born Before 1900. Chris Petteys. Boston: Hall, 1985.
Contains brief biographical entries on thousands of women artists.
Includes summaries of exhibition records and a bibliography.
Unillustrated.
Dictionnaire Critique Et Documentaire Des Peintres, Sculpteurs,
Dessinateurs, Et Graveurs. Emmanuel Benezit. [Paris]: Librairie
Grund, 1966.
This biographical dictionary covers the period from 5 B.C. to the
1960s and contains entries on over 300,000 Eastern and Western artists.
The use of a bilingual dictionary will make this work somewhat accessible
to those who do not read French.
Encyclopedia Of Painting: Painters And Painting Of The World From
Prehistoric Times To The Present Day. Edited by Bernard S. Myers and
Shirley D. Myers. 4th rev. ed. New York: Crown, 1979.
Gives brief biographical information on the painters covered.
Contains over 1000 illustrations, many in color.
A History Of African-American Artists: From 1792 To The
Present. Romare Bearden & Harry Henderson. New York: Pantheon Books,
c1993.
Long articles cover approximately 40 African-American artists.
Lavishly illustrated. Indexed. Includes bibliographies.
The Illustrated Dictionary Of Art And Artists. Edited by David
Piper. New York: Random, 1984.
Contains over 3000 entries ranging from 100 to 500 words. Many
biographical entries include black-and-white artists' portraits, and many
of these are self-portraits. There are chronological reproductions of key
masterpieces of painting and sculpture, most in color.
North American Women Artists Of The Twentieth Century: A
Biographical Dictionary. Edited by Jules Heller and Nancy G. Heller.
New York: Garland, 1995.
Biographical information on hundreds of women artists from Canada,
Mexico, and the U.S. Includes bibliographies and illustrations. Indexed.
Our Hidden Heritage: Five Centuries Of Women
Artists. Elanor Tufts. [New York]: Paddington, [1974].
Biographical and bibliographical information on 22 women artists from
the sixteenth to the twentieth century. Well illustrated.
Phaidon Encyclopedia Of Art And Artists. Oxford: Phaidon,
1978.
This is an updated abridgment of the five-volume Pall Mall
Encyclopedia Of Art. Includes artists' biographies as well as articles
on periods, styles, schools, and movements. Also surveys arts of
civilizations whose individual artists are unknown. Illustrated.
Pronunciation Dictionary Of Artists' Names. 3rd rev. ed. Debra
Edelstein. Boston: Little, Brown, c1993.
Pronunciations for the names of approximately 5000 artists.
Samuel's Encyclopedia Of Artists Of The American West. Peggy
Samuels and Harold Samuels. Secaucus: Castle, 1985.
Contains thousands of short biographies of artists of the American
West as well as eighty pages of black-and-white reproductions. Includes
entries for Native American artists and women artists. The list of
sources serves as a bibliography.
Who's Who In American Art. Washington: American Federation of
Arts, 1940/74 - .
The most-recent volume in this irregularly-published series is located
in the first floor Reference-Bibliography Area. Contains biographical
sketches of leading North American artists, art educators, and art
administrators.
Who Was Who In American Art: Compiled From The Original Thirty-Four
Volumes Of American Art Annual. Edited by Peter Hastings Falk.
Madison: Sound View, 1985.
Brief entries for approximately 25,000 American artists give
information on lives, exhibition records, early training, and where
artists' works can be found. Not illustrated.
Women In The Fine Arts, From The Seventh Century B.C. To The
Twentieth Century A.D. Clara Erskine Clement Waters. Williamstown:
Corner House, 1977.
Brief biographical information. No bibliographic information.
World Artists 1980-1990: An H. W. Wilson Biographical
Dictionary. Edited by Claude Marks. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1991.
Directory-type information on 900 contemporary artists. Lists the
exhibitions of each artist. Bibliography.
Both the catalog raisonne and the oeuvre catalog are
studies of either a single artist's entire output or of a single artist's
entire output in one medium. Researchers studying a particular artist
should make every effort to determine if a catalog raisonne or an
oeuvre catalog exists for that artist. Such catalogs are often
cited in art bibliographies and in reviews. Raisonne and
oeuvre catalogs are often cited in periodical indexes such as
Art Index. Also try searching OLE using the artist's name as a
subject heading (i.e. s/picasso pablo).
Museum catalogs are published for both permanent and traveling exhibitions
and can range from mere lists of works exhibited to lavishly illustrated
scholarly productions. Locate museum catalogs in OLE by using the name of
a museum as an author (i.e. a/museum of new mexico) or by using the name
of an artist as a subject. Museum catalogs may be listed in art
bibliographies.
![[Library Logo]](/images/logolib.gif)
Compiled by Donald A. Barclay
New Mexico State University Library
Summer, 1996
HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN ART
The University Library
Beginning Your Research
Finding Journal Articles
Finding Books
Other
Reference Sources
Art on the Internet
THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
Call Number Locations:
New Library: A-H, HM-PZ
BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
NewLib (Ref) N8353 D83 1994
NewLib (Ref) N33 Q5 1977
NewLib
(Ref) N31 B6
NewLib (Ref) N6505 B73
NewLib
(Ref) NK1125 R343 1975
NewLib (Ref) NA31 H32 1993
Branson
(Ref) Z118 M56
NewLib (Ref) N7560 H34 1974
NewLib (Ref) NK30 F54 1977
NewLib (Ref) NA31 E59 1988
Branson (Ref) TR9 I24 1984
NewLib (Ref) N31 E4833
Branson (Ref) TR9 F6 1993
NewLib (Ref) N34 W34 1992
Branson (Ref) Z118.S82 1979
NewLib (Ref) NA40 I48 1993
NewLib (Ref) NK1390 H44 1993
NewLib (Ref) N33 M23
NewLib (Ref) N33 O9
NewLib (Ref) NK1165 O85
NewLib (Ref) NX650 M9 R45 1993
NewLib (Ref) NK1390 J85 1993
NewLib (Ref) NX447.5 B76 1994
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Handbooks
NewLib
(Ref) N8600 A76
NewLib (Ref) ND1500 M3 1970
NewLib (Ref) N8600 G69 1994
NewLib (Ref) N328 D567 1995
NewLib N328 D567 1995
NewLib (Ref) N328 D57 1992
NewLib N328 D57 1992
NewLib (Ref) NX398 B58 1991
NewLib (Ref) N328 W47 1987
NewLib (Ref) KF390 A7 C73 1986
NewLib (Ref) N347 M59 1993
NewLib (Ref) NX510 N6 N42 2nd 1992
NewLib (Ref) ND1500 G6155 1993
NewLib (Ref) NX303 P52 1995
NewLib (Ref) N4015 M6 D38 1988
NewLib NB1140 V47
NewLib (Ref) N4040 V57 C3 1990
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Electronic Resources
NewLib (Reserve) N6505 N28 1993
NewLib (Reserve) N1070 A76 1994
FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Indexes and Abstracts
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Electronic Indexes
Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of
citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject
terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in
their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The
following indexes may be useful for finding information on art topics. New
products may be added at any time; check at the reference desk or consult
the free publication Electronic Information Retrieval Systems in the
NMSU Library.
New
Library, Branson Library, Campus Computing Labs, Any Computer with a modem
PAN
New
Library CD-ROM Area
America: History and Life
Library Network
Computer Select
Library Network
ERIC
Library Network
Ethnic Newswatch
New
Library Reference Desk
Branson
Reference Desk
FirstSearch
New
Library CD-ROM Area
Historical Abstracts
New
Library CD-ROM Area
MLA
Library Network
PsycLIT
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Printed Indexes
Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to
journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the
reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call
number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the
field of art.
NewLib (Ref Index Area)
NewLib (Ref) N7510 B53
Branson (Ref) Z1002 B471
NewLib (Ref Index Area)
NewLib (Ref Newspaper Index Area)
NewLib
(Ref) HQ1421 W65
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Location of Journals
Journals are shelved in call number order. Use OLE (the online catalog)
to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed
by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference
librarian.
The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries
in the field of art.
FINDING BOOKS
OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the
printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a
reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen
will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is
available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due.
Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the
OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference
area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single
alphabetical order in each card catalog.
The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that
building.
To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the
multi-volume Library Of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). These
large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE
terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings
to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT
means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT
means "narrower term." For example, under the term art, some of the
narrower terms listed are:
While Library of Congress headings can be very useful in finding books on
a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical
combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on
OLE. See the OLE handout or use the OLE help screens for more information
on keyword searching.
To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE
screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found
in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in
call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the
book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number
is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area.
Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out.
OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Bibliographies
Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the
study of art. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example
Painting, American-bibliography. The following are examples of art
bibliographies in the NMSU Libraries:
NewLib (Ref) N380 A67 1980
Branson (SpC) Z5939 B43
Branson (SpC) Z1217 P72
Branson Z5931 .C45
NewLib (RefBiog) N6536 W65 1990
Branson (Ref) Z5956 W45 D94
NewLib (Ref) NK1110 E47 1993
Branson Z5941 E38 1984
NewLib (Ref) N5300 E47 1990
NewLib (Ref) N368 B47 1984
NewLib (Ref) N85 J64 1990
Branson Z5949 A45 K4
NewLib
N7425 M88
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Theses and Dissertations
Recent dissertations represent current research, and their literature
reviews are a good source for references on a specific topic. Abstracts of
theses and dissertations from other universities can be found in the NMSU
Libraries, but not the actual dissertations.
New
Library Reference Desk
Branson
Reference Desk
Dissertation Abstracts on FirstSearch
NewLib
(Ref) AS30 C64
NewLib
(Ref) AS30 D63
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Picture Indexes
Picture indexes allow researchers to locate reproductions of works
of art in one of two ways: 1) by listing books or magazines in which
a work of art has been reproduced; or, 2) by giving information on
where researchers may order reproductions.
NewLib (Ref) N7525 A66 1988
NewLib (Ref) NB36 C55
NewLib (Ref) NC996 E6 1931
NewLib (Ref) ND45 H38
NewLib
(Ref) ND45 H38 Suppl.
NewLib (Ref) N7525 H48 1974
NewLib (Ref) N4010 A1 I5 1990
NewLib (Ref) N7525 K67
NewLib (Ref) ND205 M757i
NewLib (Ref) ND205 M757i 1st Suppl.
Branson Z5965 D3 E3
NewLib (Ref) N4035 N48 1978
Branson TR199 P37
NewLib (Ref) N4000 N68 1983
NewLib
(Ref) ND205 S575
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Directories
NewLib
(Ref) N50 Am35a 55th 1995/96
NewLib (Ref) N368 B47 1984
NewLib (Ref) N50 I6
NewLib (Ref) AM1 M76 1995
NewLib (Ref) AM10 A204
NewLib (Ref) L101 W893
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Biographical Sources
NewLib
(Ref Biog) N40 V6
NewLib (Ref Biog) N40 T4
NewLib (Ref Biog) N6536 D38
NewLib (RefBiog) N6536 L47 1995
NewLib (Ref Biog) LT100 B56
NewLib (Ref Biog) N6490 C6567 1989
NewLib (Ref Biog) ND30 C4 1900
NewLib
(Ref Biog) N6536 C8 1988
NewLib (Ref Biog) N43 P47 1985
NewLib
(Ref Biog) N40 B47
NewLib ND30 E5 1979
NewLib (RefBiog) N6538 N5 B38 1993
NewLib (Ref) N5300 I45 1984
NewLib (RefBiog) N6503 N67 1995
NewLib N6536 T93
NewLib (Ref Biog) N31 P48
NewLib (Ref) N40 K3 1993
NewLib (Ref Biog) N8214.5 U6 S25 1985
NewLib (Ref Biog) N6536 W5
NewLib (Ref Biog) N6512 F26 1985
NewLib
(Ref Biog) N43 W3 1977b
NewLib (RefBiog) N6489 W67 1991
![[LINE]](/image.maps/smbluline.gif)
Catalogs
Art on the Internet
Return to the beginning of How
to Do Library Research in Art
Return to NMSU Library's
Art Information Via the Internet
answers@lib.nmsu.edu
Last revised June 19, 1996