------New Mexico State University Library (last revised 9/9/94)----- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN HISTORY Compiled by Don Barclay and Karen George, Fall 1994 Conducting research in the field of history requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: Branson: A - H, HM - PZ HA - HJ, Q - Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science United States Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias >NewLib (Ref) D9 C29 1984 Canby, Courtlandt. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HISTORIC PLACES. 2 vols. New York: Facts on File, 1984. Covers places of historic importance throughout the world. Includes place names no longer used by English speakers. Gives present-day locations for historic places. >NewLib (Ref) D11 G78 1991 Grun, Bernard. THE TIMETABLES OF HISTORY: A HORIZONTAL LINKAGE OF PEOPLE AND EVENTS. 3rd rev. ed. New York: Simon, 1991. Contains timetables of historical events from 5000 BCE to 1990. >NewLib (Ref) D25 A2 D8 1993 Dupuy, R. Ernest, and Trevor N. Dupuy. THE HARPER ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MILITARY HISTORY: FROM 3500 B.C. TO THE PRESENT. 4th ed. New York: Harper-Collins, 1993. The standard reference work for military history. Contains many maps and an extensive bibliography. Includes a General Index, an Index of Wars, and an Index of Battles and Sieges. >NewLib (Ref) D57 C252 CAMBRIDGE ANCIENT HISTORY. 3rd ed. 9 vols. New York: Cambridge UP, 1970. This eight-volume set covers earliest times to 133 BCE. The articles tend to be long and detailed. Bibliographies. Indexed. >NewLib (Ref) D114 D5 1982 Strayer, Joseph R., ed. DICTIONARY OF THE MIDDLE AGES. 13 vols. New York: Scribner's, 1982. Contains articles covering European, Near Asian, and Islamic history from the years 500 to 1500. Articles range from 50 to 10,000 words, plus bibliographies. Indexed. >NewLib (Ref) D410 F119 FACTS ON FILE YEARBOOK. New York: Facts on File, 1941 - . Each yearbook contains thousands of brief entries on the year's newsworthy events. The current year is updated weekly. Each yearbook includes its own index. >NewLib (Ref) D410 K258 KEESING'S RECORD OF WORLD EVENTS. London: Longman, 1987 - . Each volume contains thousands of brief entries on the year's international events. The current year is updated monthly. Older volumes extend coverage back to 1967. Continues KEESING'S CONTEMPORARY ARCHIVES. >NewLib (Ref) DE59 C55 1988 Grant, Michael, and Rachel Kitzinger, eds. CIVILIZATION OF THE ANCIENT MEDITERRANEAN: GREECE AND ROME. 3 vols. New York: Scribner's, 1988. Contains signed articles on the history of Ancient Greece and Rome. Articles include bibliographies. Indexed. >NewLib (Ref) DP56 H57 1991 Olson, James S., ed. HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF THE SPANISH EMPIRE, 1402-1975. New York: Greenwood, 1991. Signed articles ranging in length from one to several paragraphs cover all aspects of Spanish colonial history. Articles include short lists of references. Contains much information on Spanish New World colonies, including New Mexico. >NewLib (Ref) E45 E54 1993 Cooke, Jacob Ernest, ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE NORTH AMERICAN COLONIES. 3 vols. New York: Scribner's, 1993. Provides information on Spanish, French, British, and Dutch colonies in North America. Chapters cover a wide range of topics, including "Social Fabric," "Racial Interaction," "Folkways," and "Education." Indexed, with maps and substantial bibliographies for each article. Volume 1 includes a chronology of North American colonization. >Branson (DocRef) SI 1.20/2:4 - >NewLib (Ref) E77 H25 (Vol. 9 and 10 [Southwestern Indians] only) >Branson (SpC) E77 H25 (Vol. 9 and 10 [Southwestern Indians] only) Sturtevant, William C., ed. HANDBOOK OF NORTH AMERICAN INDIANS. Washington: Smithsonian Inst., 1978. Contains long, detailed articles on the histories and cultures of both prehistoric and modern North American Indians. Each volume is indexed and includes a bibliography. The HANDBOOK is an on-going project of the Smithsonian. >NewLib (Ref) E174 R43 1991 Foner, Eric, and John A. Garraty, eds. THE READER'S COMPANION TO AMERICAN HISTORY. Boston: Houghton, 1991. A handy, comprehensive, one-volume guide to American history. A combination of short descriptive articles and longer interpretive articles cover the key people, events, and ideas that shaped American history. >NewLib (Ref) E184 A1 E58 1993 Auerbach, Susan, ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MULTICULTURALISM. New York: Cavendish, 1994. Covers American history and culture from a multicultural perspective. Articles include suggestions for further reading. Indexed. >NewLib (Ref) F1204 D56 1965 DICCIONARIO PORRUA DE HISTORIA, BIOGRAFIA, Y GEOGRAFIA DE MEXICO. Segunda Edicion. Mexico City: Editorial Porrua, 1965. Though dated, this is a classic reference work on Mexican history. Most entries are a paragraph in length, though some run longer. In Spanish. >NewLib (Ref) HN57 E58 1993 Cayton, Mary Kupiec, et al., eds. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN SOCIAL HISTORY. 3 vols. New York: Scribners, 1993. This is the first major reference work produced from the perspective of social history, the dominant form of historical discourse since the 1960s. All areas of American social history_from social change, to family history, to the history of science and technology_are covered. Articles include substantial bibliographies. Indexed. Guides and Handbooks >NewLib (Ref) AM1 H8 1981 Hudson, Kenneth, and Ann Nicholls, eds. THE DIRECTORY OF WORLD MUSEUMS. 2nd ed. New York: Facts on File, 1981. Though dated, this is still a useful source for addresses of museums around the world. >NewLib (Ref) AM10 A2 O4 OFFICIAL MUSEUM DIRECTORY. Washington: American Assn. of Museums, 1971 - . The definitive guide to all types of museums in the U.S. Includes indexes and a guide to museum products and services. Updated yearly, with the most recent volume kept in the reference area. >NewLib (Ref) D9 C67 1989 Cook, Chris. MACMILLAN DICTIONARY OF HISTORICAL TERMS. 2nd ed. London: Macmillan, 1989. Defines historical terms likely to be encountered by undergraduate students as well as by more advanced researchers. Coverage is world wide. >NewLib (Ref) D10 S73 1993 Steiner, Dale R., and Casey R. Phillips. HISTORICAL JOURNALS: A HANDBOOK FOR WRITERS AND REVIEWERS. 2nd ed. Jefferson: McFarland, 1993. Provides name, address, and submission information for 700 "historical periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain." The foreword gives advice on how to get published in a historical periodical. >NewLib (Ref) D20 F72 1990 Fritze, Ronald H., Brian E. Coutts, and Louis A. Vyhnanek. REFERENCE SOURCES IN HISTORY: AN INTRODUCTORY GUIDE. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1990. A thorough, fully annotated bibliography of print and electronic reference sources for the study of history. A good starting point before beginning a thesis or major paper. Indexed. >NewLib (Ref) E172 A466 14th 1990 Wheeler, Mary Bray, ed. DIRECTORY OF HISTORICAL ORGANIZATIONS IN THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA. 14th ed. Nashville: American Assn. for State and Local History, 1990. Contains entries for 13,000 historical organizations such as state and local historical societies, museums, and monuments. Also includes indexes and a guide to product/service vendors. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. Lists of references following journal articles can provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to print and electronic indexes. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on history topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) ABI/Inform Provides citations and abstracts for articles in business journals, including articles about economic and business history. A useful source for histories of specific companies. Updated monthly. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) AGRICOLA Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes many articles, reports, books and government documents in the areas of agricultural history, rural history, agricultural economic history, and the history of agricultural policy. Excellent international coverage. Updated quarterly. >Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) COMPENDEX The electronic version of ENGINEERING INDEX, this database indexes a surprising number of articles on the history of engineering and technology. Subjects covered range from ancient Egyptian building methods to the history of space travel and computers. Updated quarterly. Coverage from 1987 to the present. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) ERIC ERIC is an excellent source for articles on the teaching of history as well as on the history of education. ERIC provides bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. >Branson (Doc) >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO indexes publications of the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. GPO is a valuable tool for locating both primary and secondary source materials relating to U.S. history. Type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms to retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bimonthly. For U.S. government publications from before 1976, use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. >Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) Medline Excellent coverage of all aspects of the history of medicine. Coverage from 1992 to the present. Updated monthly. >NewLib (Ref CD-ROM Area) MLA International Bibliography A useful source for literary history, folklore, and popular culture, MLA on CD-ROM is the electronic version of the MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BOOKS AND ARTICLES ON THE MODERN LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES. This database includes bibliographic records pertaining to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 3,000 scholarly journals and series, bibliographies, book articles, dissertations, monographs, proceedings and working papers. Provides coverage from 1981 to the present, with quarterly updates. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) PAIS PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) indexes publications on public policy, government, foreign policy and related topics from 1972 to present. The disc contains over 300,000 citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents and documents of international organizations, some of which take historical approaches to their subjects or are themselves primary sources for historical research. Older issues are available in print form. >Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) >NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to popular and scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects, PAN provides citations to many articles of interest to historians. PAN contains information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals as well as information about newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. Updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the reference desk if you need any help. >Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) Science Citation Index Though primarily a citation database, title-word searching produces citations to articles on the history of science. Coverage from 1989 to the present. Updated quarterly. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) Sociofile Sociofile covers sociology and related disciplines, including international development, from 1974 to the present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1,600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. This database indexes thousands of articles that may be of interest to historians. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes are useful for the study of history. >NewLib (Ref) D299 H629 HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1955 - . Comprehensive coverage of publications in world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada). In two parts. Part A: Modern History Abstracts covers 1450-1914. Part B: Twentieth Century Abstracts covers 1914-present. Subject index supplements the classified arrangement. >NewLib (Ref) E31 A43 AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1964 - . The best source for articles on U.S. and Canadian history. Provides citations and abstracts to articles from over 2,000 history journals published in some 38 languages. Abstracts are in English. Indexes articles back to 1953. Also indexes book reviews. Subject index supplements the classified arrangement. >NewLib (Ref) E171 A58 RECENTLY PUBLISHED ARTICLES. Washington: American Historical Assn., 1976 - 1990. Groups citations to historical articles in broad geographic or time-period categories. >NewLib (Ref) F1401 H23 HANDBOOK OF LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES. Gainesville: U of Florida P, 1935 - . Extensively indexes materials on Latin America. Beginning in 1964, the handbook subdivided into Social Sciences and Humanities sections, now published in alternate years; i.e., vol. 51, Social Science and vol. 52, Humanities. History is covered in the Humanities volumes. >NewLib (Ref) F1408 H16 HISPANIC AMERICAN PERIODICALS INDEX: HAPI. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center, 1974 - . Annual index covers 200 academic journals and magazines from and about Latin America. HAPI provides coverage of periodical articles on the history of Latin America. The index is arranged by subject, with separate author and book review indexes. >NewLib (Ref) GN1 A15 ABSTRACTS IN ANTHROPOLOGY. Westport: Greenwood, 1970 - . Indexes and abstracts articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of archaeology, cultural and physical anthropology, and linguistics. Annual cumulations with quarterly updates. >NewLib (Ref) HQ1421 W65 WOMEN STUDIES ABSTRACTS. Rush: Rush, 1972 - . Indexes articles on the history of women and women's issues. Abstracts articles from a wide range of publications and includes listings of articles not abstracted. Indexes book reviews. Updated quarterly. Volume 1 (1972) through Volume 7 (1978/1979) are on microfilm. >NewLib (Ref Index Area) HUMANITIES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Indexes many articles on history and historiography. There is a book review index in the back of each volume. Quarterly, with annual cumulations. >NewLib (Ref Index Area) READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE. New York: Wilson, 1905 - . In conjunction with its predecessors (19TH CENTURY READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE and POOLE'S INDEX TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE), indexes English-language magazine articles dating back to 1802. A good source for identifying and locating contemporary accounts of historical events. >NewLib (Ref Index Tables) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974 - . Articles with historical perspectives can be found under specific subject headings such as "World War, 1914-1918," "France History," "Mao Zedong, 1893-1976." SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX continues in part SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1966-1974), INTERNATIONAL INDEX TO PERIODICALS (1920-1965), and READER'S GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE SUPPLEMENT (1907- 1919). Author and subject indexes. Separate book review section at the end of each issue. Covers over 350 English- language journals. Quarterly, with annual cumulations. >Branson (Ref) Z7405 H6 I2 ISIS CUMULATIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY. London: Mansell, 1913 - . A bibliography of writing on the history of science "formed from the ISIS CRITICAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES..." >Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A113 1911 CHECKLIST OF UNITED STATES PUBLIC DOCUMENTS, 1789-1909. 3rd ed., rev. and enl. Washington: GPO, 1911. This is a checklist of all public documents issued by the government during its first century. This set is invaluable in locating series by subjects or bureau. Detailed information of a historical nature on agencies themselves is provided along with classification numbers. Volume two is the index. >Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A13 U.S. PUBLIC DOCUMENT CATALOGUE, 1893-1940. Washington: GPO, 1893 - . An alphabetical listing by subject and author of all bureau reports. Provides congressional citations. >Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 A184 U.S. Superintendent of Documents. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1895 - . Title varies. A unique index to primary and secondary source materials on U.S. history. MONTHLY CATALOG is a bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the U.S. government. Includes Cumulative Subject Index (1900- 1970) and Cumulative Title Index (1789-1976). For U.S. government publications dating from after 1975, use GPO on CD-ROM. >Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 Z7 H2 pt. 1-3 INDEX TO UNITED STATES DOCUMENTS RELATING TO FOREIGN AFFAIRS, 1828-1861. Washington: Carnegie Inst., 1914. Alphabetical index which directs the researcher to the original source of the work. Many are congressional documents. >Branson (Doc Ref) Z1223 Z9 C65 1975 CIS U.S. SERIAL SET INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1975 - . Covers the period of time 1789-1969. Provides subject/keyword and document/report number access to the U.S. Serial Set, which is the "official" record of Congress. The earliest Serial Set volumes are in microcard numbers 01 to 4272, (1st to 57th Congress), next from 5217-13215, the 60th to 95th Congress are in paper and shelved numerically. Finally, from the 96th Congress forward they are in microfiche. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of history. New Library E171 Am35hr THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL REVIEW E169.1 M6215 AMERICAN STUDIES E11 Am35 THE AMERICAS D1 C161 CANADIAN JOURNAL OF HISTORY H1 C738s COMPARATIVE STUDIES IN SOCIETY AND HISTORY D410 C936h CURRENT HISTORY DA20 En36hr THE ENGLISH HISTORICAL REVIEW DE1 G681r GREECE & ROME F1401 H625 HISPANIC AMERICAN HISTORICAL REVIEW F1201 H269m HISTORIA MEXICANA D1 H22 THE HISTORIAN D1 H565 THE HISTORICAL JOURNAL D1 H6289 HISTORY DS501 J826a JOURNAL OF ASIAN STUDIES D1 J826m THE JOURNAL OF MODERN HISTORY J87 N6 F101.93 NEW MEXICO HISTORICAL REVIEW D1 R328h REVUE HISTORIQUE F591 H269m WESTERN HISTORICAL QUARTERLY Branson Library Q125 H63 HISTORY OF SCIENCE Q1 Is3 ISIS (history of science) Doc AE1.111: PROLOGUE FINDING BOOKS Books are generally not as current as journal articles but provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas and on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen indicates whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term history some of the narrower terms listed are: archaeology biography church history civilization ethnology genealogy military history political science revolutions social history world history While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of history. Archives The University Archives and Rio Grande Historical Collections, located on the 4th floor of Branson Hall Library (as of January 1995), house unpublished primary- source materials of value to the historian. The primary strengths of these collections are the history of New Mexico State University, Southern New Mexico, and the border region. Materials from the University Archives and Rio Grande Historical Collections cannot be found on the OLE computer, but printed finding aids are available in the Archives search room. Due to renovation of Branson Hall, access to archives is limited. Call 6-3839 for information. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of history. They will be listed in OLE under various topics. The following are examples of subject headings that will lead you to history bibliographies in the library: United States_history_bibliography New Mexico_history_bibliography Mexico_history_bibliography science_history_bibliography Census Information Censuses provide what is perhaps the most valuable primary- source information for the study of history. A few, but certainly not all, of the major sources of census information in NMSU Library are listed below. For more about what census information is available in the library, consult the library publications: A READER'S GUIDE TO U.S. GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE? LIBRARY RESOURCES IN GENEALOGY. U.S. Federal Census >Branson (Doc) C3.28/5: CENSUS OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1830 - . Reports begin with the 1830 Census (Fifth Census) and continue every ten years thereafter. Check oversize shelves for earliest. These volumes do not contain names, but do contain valuable statistical information on many subjects. >Branson (Ref) HA202 A385 1975 >Branson (Doc Ref) C3.134/2:H62 HISTORICAL STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES, COLONIAL TIMES TO 1970. 2 vols. Washington: GPO, 1975. A handy compilation of U.S. historical statistics covering a wide range of subjects and years. Indexed. >Branson (Doc) U.S. CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING (compiled every 10 years), THE ECONOMIC CENSUSES, THE CENSUS OF AGRICULTURE, and THE CENSUS OF GOVERNMENTS (compiled every 5 years). Washington: GPO. Check the "Spinner" in the documents room for classification numbers, holdings, and format. Census volumes contain tables with detailed primary statistical data on population, housing, business, industry, agriculture, and transportation. Read the preliminary explanatory matter to locate the table for your area of interest. The 1991 CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING AND THE 1987 ECONOMIC CENSUS are available on CD-ROM in the documents offic >Branson (Doc) Census Population Schedules Census population schedules containing the names of individuals and information about them are not released to the public until seventy years after the census was taken. The library has all the available census population schedules for New Mexico. (There is no 1890 Census because the entire 1890 U.S. Census was destroyed by fire.) NMSU students, staff, and faculty may borrow microfilms of census schedules for states other than New Mexico through Interlibrary Loan. >Branson (Microfilm) HA531.5 1920 C46 1992 T625 Census of Population (1920). New Mexico. 14TH CENSUS OF POPULATION, 1920. Washington: National Archives, 1992. Reels 1074-1080. M1577 Census of Population (1920). New Mexico. INDEX TO THE POPULATION SCHEDULES OF THE 14TH CENSUS OF THE UNITED STATES, 1920. Washington: National Archives, 1992. Reels 1-31. >Branson (Microfilm) HA201 Un3cps United States. Bureau of the Census. Census Population Schedules - New Mexico. Washington: National Archives. T624 Thirteenth Census of the United States, 1910, New Mexico. Reels 913-9191. T623 Twelfth Census of the United States, 1900, New Mexico. Reels 999-1003. T9 Tenth Census of the United States, 1880, New Mexico. Reels 802-804. M593 Ninth Census of the United States, 1870, New Mexico. Reels 893-897. M653 Eighth Census of the United States, 1860, New Mexico. Reels 712-716. T6 Seventh Census of the United States, 1850, New Mexico. Reel 169. T764 Index (Soundex) to the 1880 Population Schedules for New Mexico Territory. Older New Mexico Census Reports >Branson (SpC) F795 O45 1981 Olmstead, Virginia. SPANISH AND MEXICAN CENSUSES OF NEW MEXICO, 1750-1830. Albuquerque: New Mexico Genealogical Soc., 1981. >NewLib (Ref) F795 S67 Olmstead, Virginia L. SPANISH AND MEXICAN COLONIAL CENSUSES OF NEW MEXICO: 1790, 1823, 1845. Albuquerque: New Mexico Genealogical Soc., 1975. Mexican Census Reports >Branson (SpC) F1204 M65 DIVISION TERRITORIAL DE LOS ESTADOS UNIDOS MEXICANOS. . . . Mexico City: Imprenta de la Secretaria de Formento, 1913? >Branson HA761.5 1960 D57 1963 VIII CENSO GENERAL DE POBLACION, 1960 . . . . Mexico City: La Direccion General de Estadistica, 1963. >Branson (Ref) HA761.5 1980c X CENSO GENERAL DE POBLACION Y VIVIENDA, 1980. . . . Mexico City: Secretaria de Programacion y Presupuesto. Historical Atlases Historical atlases are essential tools for the study of history. Below are only a few of the historical atlases available in the library. Some historical atlases are located in the Atlas Cases on the second floor of Branson Hall Library; others, in the New Library reference area. >NewLib G1030 T54 1989 >Branson (Atlas Case) G1030 T54 1989 Stone, Norman. THE TIMES ATLAS OF WORLD HISTORY. 3rd ed. Maplewood: Hammond, 1989. Hundreds of color maps illustrate everything from "Human Origins" to "The World in the 1980s." Includes a glossary, index, and bibliography. >NewLib (Ref Index Area) G1036 T5 1991 Fernandez-Armesto, Felipe, ed. TIMES ATLAS OF WORLD EXPLORATION. New York: Harper-Collins, 1991. Maps and illustrations cover "3000 years of exploring, explorers, and mapmaking." Includes many reproductions of antique maps. >NewLib (Ref Index Area) G1201 S1 N3 1988 >NewLib (Ref) G1201 S1 N3 1988 >Branson (Atlas Case) G1201 S1 N3 1988 HISTORICAL ATLAS OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: National Geographic Soc., 1988. Hundreds of color maps, plus timelines, illustrations, and photographs, cover all aspects of U.S. history. Includes index and bibliography. >NewLib (Ref) G1381 S1 B4 1989 >Branson (SpC) G1381 S1 B4 1989 Beck, Warren A., and Ynez D. Haase. HISTORICAL ATLAS OF THE AMERICAN WEST. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 1989. Contains 78 maps covering everything from early explorations to Japanese-American internment camps. Includes index and list of references. >NewLib (Ref) G1506 S1 B4 1969 >Branson (SpC) G1506 S1 B4 1969 Beck, Warren A., and Ynez D. Haase. HISTORICAL ATLAS OF NEW MEXICO. Norman: U of Oklahoma P, 1969. Sixty-eight maps illustrate the natural, social, and political history of New Mexico. Contains maps depicting old county boundaries, colonial land grants, and military posts, among other things. Includes index and list of references. >NewLib G1541 S1 L6 1993 >Branson (Atlas Case) G1541 S1 L6 1993 Lombardi, Cathryn, et al. LATIN AMERICAN HISTORY: A TEACHING ATLAS. Madison: U of Wisconsin P, 1983. Over 100 black-and-white maps cover Latin American history from earliest times to 1980. Index. Microfilm/Microfiche Collections Microfilm/microfiche collections provide access to primary- source information that might otherwise be unavailable. NMSU Library owns many microfilm/microfiche collections of historical value. What follows is only a sampling of NMSU Library microfilm/microfiche collections. For more information on such collections, inquire at the reference/information desk. Most microfilm collections come with indexes. >NewLib (Film) AC1 E53 >NewLib (Film) AC1 E54 EARLY ENGLISH BOOKS, 1475-1640 EARLY ENGLISH BOOKS, 1641-1700 Complete microfilm reproductions of hundreds of early English books. >NewLib (Fiche) E169 A48 America, 1935-1946 the FSA/OWI Photographs. A collection of 87,000 captioned photographs. >NewLib (Film) E75 C65 Contemporary Newspapers of the North American Indians Reproduces 28,000 pages from Native American newspapers. Most articles are from the early 1970s, though some are older. >NewLib (Film) F1414.2 L382 Latin America: Special Studies, 1962-1980 Reproduces government and think-tank reports on Latin America. >NewLib (Film) HQ1101 H47 Herstory A collection of newspapers, journals, and newsletters from the Women's History Library, Berkeley, California. >NewLib (Film) J87 N6 F821.63, S73 New Mexico Records Center, SPANISH ARCHIVES, 1621- 1821. >NewLib (Film) J87 N6 F821.63, M61 New Mexico Records Center, MEXICAN ARCHIVES, 1821- 1846. >NewLib (Film) J87 N6 F821.63, T32 New Mexico Records Center, TERRITORIAL ARCHIVES, 1851- 1911. A collection of records of New Mexico from colonial times to statehood. >Branson (Film) QC733 A1 M35 Manhattan Project: Official History & Documents Contains documents covering everything from the early development of the atomic bomb to follow-up reports on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. >NewLib (Microfilm Cabinets) National Archives Microfilm The National Archives Microfilm Publications Program provides ready access to records of interest to historians and others. Since 1941, the National Archives has filmed federal records of high research interest. A complete listing of the National Archives microfilm holdings in the library is available at the New Library reference desk as well as in the library's U.S. Government Documents area. The library's holdings of National Archives micofilms include State Department Territorial Papers, Dispatches from U.S. Consuls in Mexico, assorted military records, and more. >NewLib (Periodicals) Sabin Collection Cabinets Sabin Collection Microform reproductions of early books from the U.S. colonial period, the early federal period, and westward expansion. Located in the Sabin cabinets in the New Library Periodicals Room. Some of the collection is on microcards; most is on microfiche. >NewLib (Reference Area) American Memory This pilot project from the Library of Congress contains a limited number of U.S. historical documents on laser disk. AMERICAN MEMORY contains photographs, films, congressional cartoons, recorded speeches, and documents of the Continental Congress. Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes The library owns several newspapers of historical value, such as THE LAS CRUCES SUN NEWS (1937- ), THE LAS CRUCES BULLETIN (1969 - ), THE LAS CRUCES CITIZEN (1902 - 1968 ), and THE NEW YORK TIMES (Sept. 1851 - ). The library also owns newspaper indexes and directories. Newspapers in microfilm format are filed by state in cabinets in the New Library Periodicals area. >NewLib (Periodicals) AI21 N489i NEW YORK TIMES INDEX. New York: New York Times, 1913 - . Indexes the New York Times from 1862 to the present. >NewLib (Ref) PN4867 A53 AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS, 1821-1936: A UNION LIST OF FILES AVAILABLE IN THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA. New York: Wilson, 1937. Access is by city of publication. A good source for verifying the existence of ethnic, small-town, and other hard-to-identify newspapers. Also provides (very dated) information on which libraries own particular newspapers. >NewLib (Ref) PN4897 N54 G75 1975 >Branson (SpC) PN4897 N54 G75 1975 Grove, Pearce S. NEW MEXICO NEWSPAPERS: a Comprehensive Guide to Biographical Entries and Locations. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1975. Similar in arrangement and function to AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS (see above). The focus, however, is entirely on New Mexico newspapers, past and present. Also copies in Special Collections and Archives. >Branson (Ref) Z6951 M635 NEWSPAPER AND SUBJECT GUIDE FOR RESEARCHERS. 3 vols. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1977. >Branson (SpC) Catalog of Newspapers Permanently Held by the NMSU Library, listed Under State, City, Title. 3x5 card file. Includes late 19th and early 20th century newspapers from Arizona, California, Colorado, New Mexico, New York, Texas, Mexico, and other foreign countries. Includes title and year indexes. >Branson (SpC) LAS CRUCES NEWSPAPER INDEX. A 3x5 card file provides subject and personal name access to late 19th and early -to mid-20th century Las Cruces newspaper articles. A computerized index covers the LAS CRUCES SUN NEWS from 1986 to the present. Inquire at the Special Collections office in Branson Hall Library. U.S. Government Documents for Historical Research In addition to U.S. government documents discussed in other parts of this guide, the following U.S. government documents may be of particular value to historians. >Branson (Doc) D101.1:J27 POLITICAL REORIENTATION OF JAPAN. Washington: GPO, 1945-48. Prepared by the Government Section of the General Headquarters, Supreme Commander of the Allied Powers. Consists of reports with detailed appendix. >Branson (Doc) D101.2: REPORTS OF GENERAL MACARTHUR. 4 vols. Washington: GPO. Reports prepared by MacArthur and released after his death. Details the conquest and invasion of Japan including reports of Japanese operations. >Branson (Doc) Microcard J33 UN3A AMERICAN STATE PAPERS. v.1-38. Washington: GPO. U.S. Congress. Executive and legislative documents of the first 14 Congresses, 1789-1823. >Branson (Doc Ref) J81.B97 THE MESSAGES AND PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS. Washington: U.S. Congress. 1897-1917. Covers American presidents from George Washington to Woodrow Wilson. Volumes 20 and 21 provide an encyclopedic index. >Branson (Doc) LC1.11: RECORDS OF THE VIRGINIA COMPANY OF LONDON. Washington: GPO, 1619-1626. Records of the Virginia Company of London as reproduced by the Library of Congress. >Branson (Doc) LC4.5: JOURNAL OF THE CONTINENTAL CONGRESS. Vols. 1-14. Washington: GPO. Proceedings of the Continental Congress. >Branson (Doc) LC17.2:C43/2 EMINENT CHINESE OF THE CH'ING PERIOD. 2 vols. Washington: GPO, 1943. A biographical dictionary of 800 Chinese personalities of 1644-1912. 2 vols. >Branson (Doc) PA1.6: PAN AMERICAN UNION BULLETIN. Washington: GPO, 1893- 1948. Monthly, containing articles about commerce, production, agriculture, and trade for Latin America. Indexed. >Branson (Doc) S1.1: FOREIGN RELATIONS OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1849 - . Official record of U.S. foreign policy with correspondence and papers on major policies and decisions. >Branson (Doc) S1.36: TERRITORIAL PAPERS OF THE UNITED STATES. 17 vols. Washington: GPO, 1787-1818. Contains correspondence, petitions, and documents related to the Northwest Territory and other frontier states such as Indiana, Mississippi, and Illinois. Continued at GS4.13: for volumes 18-28, 1817-1848. >Branson (Doc) S1.82: DOCUMENTS ON GERMAN FOREIGN POLICY. 18 vols. Washington: GPO. Documents from the captured archives of the German Foreign Ministry and the Reich Chancellery. Chronological order with an analytical list at the beginning of each volume. >Branson (Doc) SI2.1: AMERICAN ETHNOLOGY BUREAU. ANNUAL REPORT. Washington: GPO, 1880-1932. Each contains brief administrative reports and one or more specific monographs on the culture and customs of North American Indians and on Bureau explorations and archaeological investigations. The 48th report contains the index to the set. >Branson (Doc) SI2.3: 1-200 AMERICAN ETHNOLOGY BUREAU. BULLETIN. Washington: GPO. Provides the results of research in ethnology, archaeology, and general anthropology, particularly of the history, material culture, customs and religious practices of the American Indian. Volume 200 is the index. >Branson (Doc) W45.5: WAR OF THE REBELLION. OFFICIAL RECORDS OF THE UNION AND CONFEDERATE ARMIES. Washington: War Dept., 1880-1901. 130 vols, including index. Military records, reports, letters, orders on the Civil War, arranged by campaigns and theaters of operation.