---------New Mexico State University Library (last revised 8/5/94)--------- How To Do Library Research in Geology Compiled by Tim McKimmie Fall, 1993 Conducting research in the field of geology requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful tools as well as a basic strategy to follow when researching a topic. The University Library The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and dispersed between the buildings as follows: Beginning Your Research Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > Branson (Ref) GB10 F3 Fairbridge, Rhodes W., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF GEOMORPHOLOGY. New York: Reinhold, 1968. Signed articles, which include bibliographies, on features of the earth's surface and related topics. > Branson (Ref) QC854 F156e Fairbridge, Rhodes W., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES AND ASTROGEOLOGY. New York: Reinhold, 1967. Includes articles on planets, meteors, and climate with bibliographies. > Branson (Ref) QE5 E5 1984 Finkl, Charles W. Jr., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF APPLIED GEOLOGY. New York: Reinhold, 1984. Treats mainly the field of engineering geology. Signed articles, bibliographies. > Branson (Ref) QE5 E515 1988 Finkl, Charles W. Jr., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF FIELD AND GENERAL GEOLOGY. New York: Reinhold, 1988. Geared to the practical geologist, this book covers aspects of exploration surveys, geotechnical engineering, field techniques, mapping, prospecting, and mining. > Branson (Ref) QE5 F33 pt. 1 Fairbridge, Rhodes W., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WORLD REGIONAL GEOLOGY. Stroudsburg: Dowden, 1975. Part 1 is for the Western hemisphere. Gives geologic and geomorphic data by continent, region, country, and island group. Signed articles with bibliographies. > Branson (Ref) QE5 G37 1980 Bates, Robert L. and Julia A. Jackson, eds. GLOSSARY OF GEOLOGY. 2nd ed. Falls Church: American Geological Institute, 1980. A basic reference source. Gives a thorough list of geologic and related terms, their definitions and usage. > Branson (Ref) QE423 T65 1983 Tomkeieff, S. I. DICTIONARY OF PETROLOGY. Chichester: Wiley, 1983. Defines approximately 10,000 terms; many are referenced. > Branson (Ref) QE515 F24 Fairbridge, Rhodes W., ed. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF GEOCHEMISTRY AND ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES. New York: Reinhold, 1972. Treats elements, compounds, and physical processes. Articles have bibliographies. > Branson (Ref) QE703 E52 Fairbridge, Rhodes W. and David Jablonski, eds. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PALEONTOLOGY. Stroudsburg: Dowden, 1979. Covers individual organisms as well as geologic processes. > Branson (Ref) QE711.2 P5413 1990 Hyams, Jay. THE ILLUSTRATED ENCYCLOPEDIA OF FOSSILS. Stroudsburg: Dowden, 1979. Describes processes in fossilization, and classification of specimens; contains excellent photographs. Guides and Handbooks > Branson QE36 M33 1990 Maltman Alex. GEOLOGIC MAPS: AN INTRODUCTION. New York: Reinhold, 1990. Explains mapping basics as well as the features of geologic maps. > Branson (Ref) QE48.85 G44 1984 Cohran, Wendell et al., eds. GEOWRITING: A GUIDE TO WRITING, EDITING, AND PRINTING IN EARTH SCIENCE. 4th ed. Alexandria: American Geological Institute, 1984. > Branson (Ref) QE143 C47 1987 Chronic, Halka. ROADSIDE GEOLOGY OF NEW MEXICO. Missoula: Mountain, 1987. Presents a tour of the state and description of all major geological formations. > Branson (Ref) QE355 R6 Roberts, Willard L. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MINERALS. New York: Reinhold, 1990. Gives mineral occurrence, properties, and references. > Branson (Ref) QE390 P5313 1982 Picot, Paul and Zdenek Johan. ATLAS OF ORE MINERALS. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 1982. Detailed criteria for identifying over 350 ore minerals. Color photographs for most specimens. > Branson (Ref) QE431.6 P5 P48 Touloukian, Y. S. PHYSICAL PROPERTIES OF ROCKS AND MINERALS. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1981. Provides information on the physical, mechanical, electrical, magnetic, and thermophysical properties of rocks, with emphasis on data useful to geothermal applications. > Branson (Ref) QE515 W42 Wedepohl, Karl Hans, ed. HANDBOOK OF GEOCHEMISTRY. Berlin: Springer, 1969 - 1972. Volume 1 gives information on the fundamentals of geochemistry, geophysics, and cosmochemistry. Other volumes give detailed information on the chemical and physical properties of separate elements. > Branson (Ref) QE522 V92 Simkin, Tom et al. VOLCANOES OF THE WORLD. Stroudsburg: Hutchinson Ross, 1981. A regional directory, gazetteer, and chronology of volcanism during the last 10,000 years. Bibliography. > Branson (Ref) QE746 R3 Ransom, Jay Ellis. FOSSILS IN AMERICA: THEIR NATURE, ORIGIN, IDENTIFICATION AND CLASSIFICATION, AND A RANGE GUIDE TO COLLECTING SITES. New York: Harper, 1964. Finding Journal Articles Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library cannot subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes; a list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies most of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of geology. > NewLib (Ref) G1 G293 GEO ABSTRACTS. Norwich: Geo Abstracts, 1972-88. Bi-monthly. Issues in 7 parts - A: Landforms and the quaternary; B: Climatology and hydrology; C: Economic geography; D: Social and historical geography; E: Sedimentology; F: Regional and community planning; G: Remote sensing, photogrammetry and cartography. Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and theses. Isse #6 contains an author and regional index for the year. Cumulative annual subject/keyword author indexes are issued in two volumes. Volume 1 covers parts A,B,E, and G and Volume 2 covers parts C,D, and F. Continued by GEOGRAPHICAL ABSTRACTS. > NewLib (Ref) G1 G295 GEOGRAPHICAL ABSTRACTS. Norwich: Geo Abstracts, 1989 - . Monthly. Continues Geo Abstracts (see above). Now issued in only two parts: Physical geography and Human geography. Physical geography combines the old parts A, B, E, and G. Human geography covers parts C, D, and F, but further subdivides these areas into such topics as urban studies, population, environmental resources, and transport and communications. Monthly issues have a regional index. Cumulative annual indexes will be subject/ keyword and regional. > Branson (Docs Ref) I 1.94/2 Water Resources Scientific Information Center. SELECTED WATER RESOURCES ABSTRACTS. Reston: USGS Water Resources Scientific Information Center, 1968 - . Monthly. Subject index to monographs, journal articles, reports, and other publications dealing with water. > Branson QC21.2 C87 CURRENT CONTENTS: PHYSICAL, CHEMICAL & EARTH SCIENCES. Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1974 - . Weekly. Reproduces the contents pages of over 800 international journals grouped within broad categories as well as articles from multi-authored books. Indexed by title keyword and author. Separate Current Contents publications cover other subject areas. Library retains current year only. > Branson QD1 C44 CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS. Columbus: American Chemical Society, 1907 - . Weekly. The most comprehensive abstracting service, it gives international coverage of over 14,000 serials and conferences. The subject index is divided into two parts: a chemical substance index and a general subject index. Also included are keyword, author, and numerical patent indexes and a patent concordance. > Branson (Ref) QE1 G293 Geological Society of America. ABSTRACTS WITH PROGRAMS. Boulder: CO, 1977 - . Issued 6 or 7 times per year. The different issues cover the annual meetings of the different sections of the GSA. The last issue covers the annual meeting of the Society as a whole. Only the abstracts of the papers are presented. Addresses are given for the authors if further information is desired. Author index. > Branson (Ref) Z6028 A5 American Geographic Society. Map Department. INDEX TO MAPS IN BOOKS AND PERIODICALS. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1968. 10 vols. Entries are arranged by subject, and within each subject they are chronological. Three supplement volumes update the set to 1986. > Branson (Ref) Z6031 G292b BIBLIOGRAPHY AND INDEX OF GEOLOGY EXCLUSIVE OF NORTH AMERICA. Boulder: American Geological Institute, 1934 - 1969. Comprehensive, international bibliography which complements the Bibliography of North American Geology (see below). Continued by the Bibliography and Index of Geology (see above). > Branson (Ref) Z6031 G2926 BIBLIOGRAPHY AND INDEX OF GEOLOGY. Boulder: Geological Society of America, 1969 - . Monthly. A comprehensive international bibliography on the geology of all parts of the world, this continues the set listed below. Each issued contains author and subject indexes. Annual cumulations. CD-ROM Indexes CD-ROM databases offer an exciting new approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. CD-ROM stands for Compact Disk-Read Only Memory. Several years of an index are stored on a small disk that is read by a laser reader. Through a computer keyboard the user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. CD-ROM offers the potential to search for very specific topics. The following CD-ROM systems may be useful for finding information on geology topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) AGRICOLA Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes articles, reports, books and government documents in the area of soil science. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) COMPENDEX PLUS The focus here is engineering. > Branson (Docs) Selected Water Resources Abstracts Subject index to monographs, journal articles, reports, and other publications. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) SCIENCE CITATION INDEX Intended as an author or citation index but can be searched by subject. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Check the INNOVACQ terminals in the reference or current periodical areas for the location, call number and format (microfiche, microfilm, or bound) of your journal. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Serials printouts and the online catalog (OLE) can also be used to find the call number and format of a journal. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the current periodicals area. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of geology. Branson QC801 G293 GEOPHYSICAL JOURNAL QE1 G2 GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA BULLETIN QE1 G528 GEOLOGY QE1 J8 JOURNAL OF GEOLOGY QE48.8 C62 COMPUTERS & GEOSCIENCES QE351 M662m MINERALOGICAL MAGAZINE QE420 J68 JOURNAL OF PETROLOGY QE471 J826s JOURNAL OF SEDIMENTARY PETROLOGY QE500 G4 GEOPHYSICS QE701 J6 JOURNAL OF PALEONTOLOGY TA705 En33ge ENGINEERING GEOLOGY TN860 Am34b A.A.P.G. BULLETIN (AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGISTS. TN860 O4 OIL & GAS JOURNAL TN941 C579m CLAY MINERALS Finding Books Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference area and on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodicals areas. OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term geology some of the narrower terms listed are: Archaelogical geology Coal - Geology Hydrogeology Oceanography Paleoclimatology Planets - Geology While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. Other Reference Source In addition to the tools mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of geology. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of geology. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Geology - Bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > Branson I19.3:127 Darton, Nelson H. CATALOGUE AND INDEX OF CONTRIBUTIONS TO NORTH AMERICAN GEOLOGY, 1732-1891. Washington: GPO, 1896. Issued as USGS Bulletin #127. By author with subject index. Located in Government Documents. > Branson (Ref) Z1002 B471 BIBLIOGRAPHIC INDEX: A CUMULATIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES. New York: Wilson, 1937 - . This is a good place to come if you want to find bibliographies on a particular subject. Arranged alphabetically by subject, this index lists bibliographies of over 50 citations which are published separately as books or appear as part of a book or periodical article. Issued in April and August, with bound cumulation in December. > Branson Z6031 C6 Corbin, John Boyd, comp. AN INDEX OF STATE GEOLOGICAL SURVEY PUBLICATIONS ISSUED IN SERIES. New York: Scarecrow, 1965. Geologic reviews from nearly every state. > Branson (Ref) Z6031 S28 1980. 5 vols. Sarjeant, William A. S. GEOLOGISTS AND THE HISTORY OF GEOLOGY: AN INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY FROM THE ORIGINS TO 1978. New York: Arno, 1980. The history of geology and related technology: biographies of geologists prospectors. > Branson (Ref) Z6031 W35 1981 Ward, Dederick C. ,. et. al. GEOLOGIC REFERENCE SOURCES. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1981. A subject and regional index to sources of information such as publications and maps in the geological sciences. > Branson Z6031 W67 Wood, D. N., ed. USE OF EARTH SCIENCES LITERATURE. Hamden: Archon, 1973. Describes the types of tools and literature available for geologic study and how to use them. > Branson (Ref) Z6033 P2 K84 Kues, Barry S. and Stuart A. Northrop. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF NEW MEXICO PALEONTOLOGY. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1981. More than 2,000 papers listed by author, with subject index. > Branson Z6034 U49 H39 Hazen, Robert M. and Margaret H. Hazen. AMERICAN GEOLOGICAL LITERATURE, 1669 TO 1850. Stroudsburg: Dowden, Hutchinson & Ross, 1980. Thousands of publications indexed by author and publication source. > Branson Z6738 O75 R5 Ridge, John D. ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF MINERAL DEPOSITS IN THE WESTERN HEMISPHERE. Boulder: Geological Society of America, 1972. Library also owns companion volumes for Africa, Asia, and Australia (Z6739/A3/R53/1976) and for Europe (Z6738/O75/R49/ 1984). > Branson (Ref) Z7935 G548 Gieffer, Gerald J. SOURCES OF INFORMATION IN WATER RESOURCES: AN ANNOTATED GUIDE TO PRINTED MATERIALS. Port Washington: Water Information Center, 1976. Includes geothermal, groundwater, sedimentation. Atlases > Branson (Atlas Case) E154 )45 1991 Abate, F. R. OMNI GAZETEER OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1991. > Branson (Atls) G1046 C2 A8 1984 Curran, H. Allen, ed. ATLAS OF LANDFORMS. New York: Wiley, 1984. > Branson (SpC) G1046 C5 D45 1980 Derry, Duncan R. WORLD ATLAS OF GEOLOGY AND MINERAL DEPOSITS. London: Mining Journal Books, 1980. > Branson (Ref) Info Desk Williams, Jerry L. NEW MEXICO IN MAPS. 2nd ed. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1986. Also copies in Reference, Atlas Cases, and the general collection. > Branson (Atls) G2800 R3 1977 Bramwell, Martyn, ed. ATLAS OF THE OCEANS. Chicago: McNally, 1977. > Branson (Doc Ref) I19.2 N21a U.S. Geological Survey. THE NATIONAL ATLAS OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. Washington: U.S. Geological Survey, 1970. > Branson (Atls) TJ163.25 U6 C83 1985 Cuff, David J. and William J. Young. THE UNITED STATES ENERGY ATLAS. 2nd ed. New York: Free Press, 1984. Maps The map collection is housed in Branson Hall. Many atlases are housed here as well. There is a small card catalog which may be used to locate a map on a specific subject or geographic area. OLE may also be used to search for maps. Maps are filed by call number in the map cases. You may request assistance with the maps in the Special Collections/Archives search room. Hours are 8-12, 1-5 M-F. > Branson (Map Area) New Mexico Topographic Maps 1:24,000, 7.5 minute series. These maps are filed alphabetically by quadrangle name in the flat map cases. To find the quadrangle name, eg., "Albuquerque west," use the index map posted on the bulletin board outside the office or the index book in the Special Collections search room. 1:62,500, 15 minute series. Both the maps and indexes to them are kept in Special Collections. These are not currently being published. Some may be useful for historic purposes. U.S. Topographic Maps 1:100,000, 30X60 minute series. This series of maps is filed by call number(G3700s/100/U5) in the main map cases and then alphabetically by name; eg., "Abilene." The map index is in the first drawer holding the series; a checkmark means that we have the map. 1:250,000, 1X2 degree series. These maps are separated into an east and west series. Each series is filed alphabetically by name; eg., "Las Cruces," within the general call number. The east series is under G3705s/250/U5. The west series in under G4050s/250/U5. The index map is mounted on cardboard and standing on top of the map case. A checkmark means that we have the map. USGS Geologic and Hydrologic Maps The maps must be requested from the Special Collections staff. The 1992 editionof the GUIDE TO U.S. GEOLOGIC AND HYDROLOGIC MAPS is kept in the Special Collections office. It has area, subject, and coordinate (latitude/longitude) indexes. Mapnames are the same as the quadrangle names of the 7.5 minute series. Dissertations > NewLib (Ref) AS30 C64 COMPREHENSIVE DISSERTATION INDEX. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1973 - . Annual. A computer-generated index, this set attempts to list all dissertations accepted at U.S. universities. Many Canadian and some other foreign dissertations are included, but it is not a complete list. The index currently comes in 5 annual volumes: an author index and two subject volumes each for the sciences and social sciences/humanities. Within each discipline, dissertations are arranged alphabetically by key word. Earth Science falls in Part 2 of the Sciences section. The years 1861- 1972 are cumulated into one 37-volume set. Geology is in Volume 16. 1973-1977 is covered in another cumulation with earth sciences in Volume 7. Used as an index for DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS. > NewLib (Ref) AS30 D63 (microfiche) DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1938 - . Monthly. An index to dissertations submitted to University Microfilms International. (Approximately 370 universities were submitting dissertations in 1984, including some European institution.) Beginning with Vol. 27, two separate sections are published: A. Humanities & Social Sciences, and B. Sciences & Engineering. Cumulative author and subject indexes are published each year. (Prior to vol. 38 in reference area). > NewLib (Ref) AS30 M393a MASTERS ABSTRACTS: ABSTRACTS OF SELECTED MASTERS THESES ON MICROFILM. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1962 - . Quarterly. Arranged by general subject categories. > Branson (Ref) Z5505 U4 M393m MASTERS THESES IN PURE AND APPLIED SCIENCES. New York: Plenum, 1955 - . Categories include geochemistry, geological sciences and geophysical engineering,geology and earth science, and geophysics. Government Documents The U.S. government publishes much information that may be of use in the study of geology. Current materials are found in OLE. The way to find older documents or information on a subject is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the call number represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (CD-ROM Network) > NewLib (CD-ROM Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bimonthly. GPO on CD-ROM is available in Government Documents Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and at the Branson reference desk after 5 p.m. and on weekends. > Branson (Doc Ref) GP3.8: U.S. Superintendent of Documents. MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS. Washington: GPO, 1895 - . Monthly. Title varies. A bibliography of publications issued by all branches of the U.S. government. The catalog consists of text and four indexes: author, title, subject, and series/report number. Information for ordering documents is given. The Monthly Catalog is available on CD-ROM in the Documents Reference area. A Cumulative Subject Index (1900-1971) and Cumulative Title Index (1789-1976) are located there also. > Branson (Doc Ref) I19.14: U.S. Geological Survey. PUBLICATIONS OF THE GEOLOGICAL SURVEY. Washington: GPO, 1879 - . 1879 - 1961 covered in one volume, supplemented by an annual listing. Entries arranged by series with subject, geographic, and author indexes. > Branson (Doc Ref) I28.5: LIST OF BUREAU OF MINES PUBLICATIONS AND ARTICLES. Washington: GPO, 1879 - . Provides subject and author access to written reports of mining and utilization of minerals. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual (monthly supplements). An index to all federal government publications which contain significant statistical data. Indexed by subject and name, title, agency report number, and categories (geographic, economic, standard classification systems, etc.). Library owns 1980 - . Selected U.S. Government Documents > Branson A57.38: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Soil Conservation Service. SOIL SURVEY REPORTS. Washington: GPO, 1938 - . By county. We own mainly NM, TX, UT, CO, AZ, and OK. Includes soil maps and interpretations, general information on climate and agriculture of an area, and descriptions of types of soil. Previously used call numbers for this series are: A55.514:, A19.32L:, A47.5:. > Branson C55.228:41-1/3 EARTHQUAKE HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES. rev. ed. Boulder: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, NOAA and U.S. Dept. of the Interior, USGS, 1982. Chronological lists of major, intermediate and minor earthquakes, arranged by region. Also has a state-by-state listing. Covers the period through 1980. > Branson (Docs) I19.3: U.S. Geological Survey. BULLETIN. Washington: GPO, 1884 - . More than 2,000 papers on single topics: eg., minerals, natural features, land use. > Branson I19.3:896 Wilmarth, Mary Grace. LEXICON OF GEOLOGIC NAMES OF THE UNITED STATES (INCLUDING ALASKA). Washington: GPO, 1938. (U.S. Geological Survey. Bulletin 896). Names are followed by definition, usually giving lithology, thickness, age, underlying and overlying formations, and type locality. Some updating provided by USGS Bulletin 1056, 1200, and 1350. > Branson (Docs) I19.16: U.S. Geological Survey. PROFESSIONAL PAPERS. Washington: GPO, 1902 - . More than 1500 papers on geology, minrals, regions. > Branson (Docs) I19.53/2:NM U.S. Geological Survey. WATER RESOURCES DATA. NEW MEXICO. Washington: GPO, 1953 - . Annual. Hydrologic data (eg., quality, quantity) from USGS data collection areas. > Branson (Docs) I19.65: U.S. Geological Survey. EARTHQUAKES AND VOLCANOES. Washington: GPO, 1953 - . Bimonthly. Current information on earthquakes, seismology, volcanoes, and related natural hazards. > Branson (Docs) I28.3/2: U.S. Mines Bureau. MINERAL FACTS AND PROBLEMS. Washington: GPO, 1953 - . Review and evaluation of minerals and fuels as commodities. > Branson I28.37: U.S. Bureau of Mines. MINERALS YEARBOOK. Washington: GPO 1933 - . Annual. Information provided mainly in tables. Gives worldwide performance of the industry for the year covered. New Mexico Information State documents are located in New Library. State publications are found in OLE by title, author; e.g., New Mexico Bureau of Mines and Mineral Resoources, subject, or keyword. Use the Library of Congress subject headings. Selected New Mexico State Documents > NewLib J87 N6 X701.41 New Mexico. BUREAU OF MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES. Bulletin: Socorro, The Bureau. 1951 - . > NewLib J87 N6 X701.44 SCENIC TRIPS TO THE GEOLOGIC PAST. Socorro: New Mexico Bureau of Mines and Mineral Resources, 1955 - . > NewLib J87 N6 X701.45 HYDROLOGIC REPORT. Socorro: New Mexico Bureau of Mines and Mineral Resources, 1971 - . > NewLib J87 N6 X701.91 NEW MEXICO GEOLOGY. Socorro: New Mexico Bureau of Mines and Mineral Resources, 1979 - . Current issues in the Periodicals Area. > Branson QE143 N42 New Mexico Geological Society. GUIDEBOOK OF THE NMGS FIELD CONFERENCE. Socorro: The Society, 1950 - .