---------New Mexico State University Library (last revised 8/11/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN GEOGRAPHY Compiled by Tim McKimmie Summer, 1994 Conducting research in the field of geography requires the use of many different materials the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A - H, HM - PZ Branson: HA - HJ, Q - Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science United States Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) G63 C56 1985 Clark, Audrey N. LONGMAN DICTIONARY OF GEOGRAPHY. London: Longman, 1985. Definitions of terms in modern geography. > NewLib (Ref) G63 W67 1988 WORLDMARK ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE NATIONS. 7th ed. New York: Worldmark, 1988. Five volumes, divided by continent and by country. Bibliographies included for each country. Volume 1 discusses the organization and operation of the United Nations. >NewLib (Ref) G70.2 M354 1991 Maguire, David J., ed. GEOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION SYSTEMS: PRINCIPLES AND APPLICATIONS. New York: Wiley, 1991. Discusses GIS technology and data representation in volume 1 and applications, eg., environmental or land planning uses, in volume 2. >NewLib (Ref) G105 N36 1987 Urdang, Laurence, ed. NAMES & NICKNAMES OF PLACES & THINGS. Boston: Hall, 1987. Locations and definitions of names considered universal or, at least, important; eg., Lloyds, Persia, etc. >NewLib (Ref) GA139 P73 1994 Arlinghaus, Sandra Lach, ed. PRACTICAL HANDBOOK OF DIGITAL MAPPING: TERMS & CONCEPTS. Boca Raton: CRC, 1994. Dictionary of terms used in digital mapping. > NewLib (Ref) GB10 E53 1985 Goudie, Andrew, ed. THE ENCYCLOPEDIC DICTIONARY OF PHYSICAL GEOGRAPHY. Oxford: Basil Blackwell, 1985. Detailed dictionary listing more than 2,000 terms. > NewLib (Ref) GB10 M64 Monkhouse, Francis J. and Ronald J. Small. A DICTIONARY OF THE NATURAL ENVIRONMENT. New York: Wiley, 1978. Emphasizes terms used by physical geographers and environmental scientists. > NewLib (Ref) GF4 D52 1981 Johnston, R. J., ed. DICTIONARY OF HUMAN GEOGRAPHY. New York: Free Press, 1981. Contains about 500 signed essays and definitions of basic concepts in human geography. Includes bibliographies. > NewLib H41 E19 1968 INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES. 18 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1968. Signed articles covering concepts, principles, theories, and methods in all the social sciences. Emphasis is on the analytical and comparative aspects of a topic rather than the historical or descriptive. Arranged alphabetically, but includes a comprehensive index as well as cross-references. > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) JN1 Eu74y EUROPA WORLD YEAR BOOK. 2 vols. London: Europa Publications, 1959 - . Annual. Information on international organizations followed by detailed information and statistics on every country in the world, arranged alphabetically. > Branson (Ref) Q121 M3 1992 MCGRAW-HILL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY. 7th ed. 20 vols. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1992. A comprehensive encyclopedia, written in a readable style for both professionals and non-professionals. Alphabetically arranged, but includes an index volume and many cross- references. Bibliographies are included for many of the longer articles. Does not include biographical or historical articles. Kept up-to-date between editions by a series of yearbooks. > Branson (Ref) QC854 E525 1987 Oliver, John E. and Rhodes W. Fairbridge. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CLIMATOLOGY. New York: Reinhold, 1987. Treats the various aspects of climate, including recent advances in the field. Written by authorities for both professional climatologists and non- professionals. Alphabetical order with both index and cross-references. > Branson (Ref) QC983 C56 1985 CLIMATES OF THE STATES: NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION NARRATIVE SUMMARIES< TABLES< AND MAPS FOR EACH STATE, WITH OVERVIEW OF STATE CLIMATOLOGIST PROGRAMS. 3rd ed. 2 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1985. The title says it all! Includes temperature, precipitation, and other climate information from major weather stations in each state. > Branson (Ref) QE5 G37 1980 Bates, Roberts L. and Julia A. Jackson, eds. GLOSSARY OF GEOLOGY. 2nd ed. Falls Church: American Geological Inst., 1980. Useful basic reference source. Gives a thorough list of geologic and related terms, their definitions and usage. > Branson (Ref) TJ16316 D5 1988 Slesser, Malcolm. DICTIONARY OF ENERGY. New York: Nichols, 1988. Includes terms related to all aspects of energy. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to print and electronic indexes. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes; a list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the periodical area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of geography. >NewLib (Ref Index Area) AI3 S62 SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. Bronx: Wilson, 1979 - . Quarterly with annual cumulations. Covers all fields of social science. Indexed by subject and author. Title varies: International Index (1916 - 1973); Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1973); split into two indexes, the Social Sciences Index and the Humanities Index (1974 - ). > NewLib (Ref) G1 G293 GEO ABSTRACTS. Norwich: Geo Abstracts, 1972-1988. Bi-monthly. Issued in 7 parts: A. Landforms and the quaternary; B. Climatology and hydrology; C. Economic geography; D. Social and historical geography; E. Sedimentology; F. Regional and community planning; G. Remote sensing, photo-grammetry and cartography. Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and theses. Basic subject arrangement within each part. Issue #6 contains an author and regional index for the year. Cumulative annual subject/keyword and author indexes are issued in two volumes. Volume 1 covers part A, B, E, and G and volume 2 covers part C, D, and F. > NewLib (Ref) G1 G294 GEOPHYSICAL ABSTRACTS. Norwich: Elsevier/Geo Abstracts, 1989 - . Monthly. Continues Geo Abstracts (see above). Now issued in only two parts: Physical Geography and Human Geography. Physical Geography combines the old parts A, B, E, and G. Human Geography covers parts C, D, and F, but further subdivides these areas into such topics as urban studies, population, environmental resources, and transport and communications. Monthly issues have a regional index. Cumulative annual indexes are subject/ keyword and regional. > NewLib (Per) H1 C87 CURRENT CONTENTS: SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES. Philadelphia: ISI, 1974 - . Weekly. Reproduces the table of contents pages of approximately 1,300 international journals grouped within broad categories as well as articles from multi-authored books. Indexed by title keyword and author. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) H96 P96 PAIS INTERNATIONAL IN PRINT. New York: Public Affairs Information Service, 1991 - . Subject index to periodicals, pamphlets, some books, and some U.S. and foreign government publications in the areas of social and economic conditions and public policy. > Branson Periodicals HB881 P819 POPULATION INDEX. Princeton: Office of Population Research, Princeton U and Population Assn. of America, 1935 - . Quarterly. Comprehensive coverage of the literature on all aspects of demography and related fields. Includes some review articles, statistics, and professional news items. Annual author and geographic indexes. > Branson (Ref) QE36 V36 1985 Van Balen, John. INDEX TO MAPS IN EARTH SCIENCE PUBLICATIONS, 1963-1983. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. Indexes more than 4,900 maps from selected earth science journals (1981- 82) and monographs (1963-83). Geographic, source, and author indexes. > Branson (Ref) Z6028 A5 American Geographic Society. Map Department. INDEX TO MAPS IN BOOKS AND PERIODICALS. 10 vols. Boston: Hall, 1968. Entries are arranged by subject, and within each subject they are chronological. Three supplement volumes update the set to 1986. > Branson (Ref) Z6031 G292b BIBLIOGRAPHY AND INDEX OF GEOLOGY. Boulder: Geological Soc. of America, 1969 - . Monthly. Comprehensive international bibliography on the geology of all parts of the world. Each issue contains author and subject indexes. Annual cumulations. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on geography topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. The library network terminals are located in the reference areas in Branson and New Library. > AGRICOLA (Branson Ref CD-ROM Area) Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes articles, reports, books, and government documents in the areas of soil science. >Enviroline (Library Network, Branson only) Indexes literature of environmental sciences. > ERIC (Library Network) Index to the literature of education. > GPO (Library Network) Indexes literature published by the Federal Government. > National Trade Data Bank (Branson Ref CD-ROM Area) Database of trade information with some demographic and political coverage as well. > PAIS (NewLib Ref CD-ROM Area) Indexes worldwide literature on social and economic conditions and public policy. >PAN (Library Network and Cafe Ole terminals) An index to wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. >Sociofile(Library Network) Indexes literature of sociology and related literature such as anthropology and economics. >TIGER/Line (Doc Office) Coordinate-based digital map information including physical and manmade features (such as roads), and census geographic area codes. Allow users to generate maps at different scales for any geographic area of the country. > Water Resources Abstracts (Branson Ref CD-ROM Area) Index to literature of water quality, pollution, watershed management, etc. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. The online catalog (OLE) can be used to find the call number and format of a journal. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of geography. Branson HD87.5 A46a Journal of the American Planning Association HF1021 Ec74g Economic Geography QE601 J68 Journal of Structural Geology TA1 R42 Remote Sensing of Environment NewLib G1 G292r Geographical Review G1 N213 National Geographic G3 As78a Annals of the Association of American Geographers G3 P7 Professional Geographer G7 G292j Geographical Journal GA101 A49 Cartography and Geographic Information Systems GB611 J68 Journal of Arid Environments GF1 J68 Journal of Cultural Geography FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas and on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi- volume Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term geography some of the narrower terms listed are: Biogeography Geographic Information Systems Local Geography Maps Surveying Voyages and Travels While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of geography. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of geography. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Geography - bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: >NewLib (Ref) G70 B5814 1989 Brown, Catherine, and James O. Wheeler. A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF GEOGRAPHIC THOUGHT. New York: Greenwood, 1989. Sections on philosophy, application, the profession, subdisciplines, and techniques. > Branson (Doc Ref) I19.14:yr. U.S. Geological Survey. PUBLICATIONS OF THE GEOLOGICAL SURVEY. Washington: GPO, 1879 - . 1879-1961 covered in one volume, supplemented by an annual listing. Entries arranged by series with subject, geographic, and author indexes. > Branson (Ref) Z1002 B471 BIBLIOGRAPHIC INDEX: A CUMULATIVE BIBLIOGRAPHY OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES. New York: Wilson, 1937 - Good for bibliographies on a particular subject. Arranged by subject, this index lists bibliographies of more than 50 citations published separately as books or as part of a book or periodical article. Issued in April and August, with bound cumulation in December. > Branson Z6001 B74 1978 Brewer, James G. THE LITERATURE OF GEOGRAPHY: A GUIDE TO ITS ORGANIZATION AND USE. 2nd ed. Hamden: Linnet, 1978. > Branson Z6001 G44 1985 Harris, Chauncy D., ed. A GEOGRAPHICAL BIBLIOGRAPHY FOR AMERICAN LIBRARIES. Washington: Assn. of American Geographers, 1985. > Branson Z6001 M36 Martinson, Tom L. INTRODUCTION TO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN GEOGRAPHY: AN INSTRUCTION MANUAL AND SHORT BIBLIOGRAPHY. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1972. > Branson Z6004 A7 H66 1983 Hopkins, Stephen T. and Douglas E. Jones. RESEARCH GUIDE TO THE ARID LANDS OF THE WORLD. Phoenix: Oryx, 1983. > Branson (Ref) Z6021 H6 1986 Hodgkiss, A. G. KEYGUIDE TO INFORMATION SOURCES IN CARTOGRAPHY. New York: Facts on File, 1986. > Branson Z6031 W67 Wood, D. N., ed. USE OF EARTH SCIENCES LITERATURE. Hamden: Archon Books, 1973. Gazetteers and Atlases >Branson (Doc) C3.62/5:yr./no. U.S. Census Bureau. CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT ATLAS. Washington: GPO. >Branson (Atlas Case) E154 O45 1991 Abate, Frank R, ed. OMNI GAZETEER OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. Detroit, Omnigraphics, 1991. > NewLib (Ref) G103 F5 1967 Fisher, Morris. PROVINCES AND PROVINCIAL CAPITALS OF THE WORLD. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1967. Arranged alphabetically by country, gives the number, type, and name of major administrative units and their capitals. Index of all names. > NewLib (Ref) G103 L666 1952 Seltzer, Leon E., ed. THE COLUMBIA LIPPINCOTT GAZETEER OF THE WORLD. New York: Columbia UP, 1952. One of the best and most detailed single volume gazetteers in the English language. Lists both political subdivisions and geographic features in one alphabet, giving such information as pronunciation, variant spellings, location, altitude, population (with date), economic and political data. > NewLib (Ref) G103.5 P38 1991 Paxton, John. THE STATESMAN'S YEAR-BOOK WORLD GAZETEER. 2nd ed. New York: St. Martin's, 1991. Intended as a companion volume to The Statesman’s Year-Book ((Ref) JA51 S29 125th 1988/89), this gazetteer gives brief information on places of size and importance. The Year-book itself is an excellent source of up- to-date information on countries of the world. > NewLib (Ref) G103.5 R66 Room, Adrian. PLACE-NAME CHANGES SINCE 1900: A WORLD GAZETEER. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1979. Entries provide present name, former names(s), and year(s) of renaming, as well as location information. Majority of changes are Chinese or Russian. > NewLib (Ref) G103.5 W42 1984 WEBSTER'S NEW GEOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY. Springfield: Merriam, 1984. Contains information on over 47,000 places. Includes many maps. Population figures from 1980 or 1981 censuses. > NewLib (Ref) G105 I57 INTERNATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC ENCYCLOPEDIA AND ATLAS. Boston: Houghton, 1979. Approximately 25,000 places and terms are defined. Includes a 64-page atlas of color maps, as well as many small maps interspersed throughout the text. >NewLib (Ref) G1201 N6 1988 ACCESS AMERICA: AN ATLAS AND GUIDE TO TE NATIONAL PARKS FOR VISITORS WITH DISABILITIES. Burlington: Northern Cartographic, 1988. > Branson (Ref Index Area) G1505 N4 1986 Williams, Jerry L. NEW MEXICO IN MAPS. 2nd ed. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1986. Includes population, economics, climate, physical features, cultural topic maps, etc. > Branson (Atlas Case) G2800 R3 1977 Bramwell, Martyn, ed. ATLAS OF THE OCEANS. Chicago: Rand McNally, 1977. > Branson (Doc) I19.2 N21a U.S. Geological Survey. THE NATIONAL ATLAS OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. Washington: U.S. Geological Survey, 1970. > Branson (Atlas Case) TJ163.25 U6 C83 1985 Cuff, David J. and William J. Young. THE UNITED STATES ENERGY ATLAS. 2nd ed. New York: Free Press, 1984. Maps The map collection is housed in Branson Hall. Many atlases are housed here as well. There is a small card catalog which may be used to locate a map on a specific subject or geographic area. OLE may also be used to search for maps. Maps are filed by call number in the map cases. You may request assistance with the maps in the Special Collections search room. Hours are 8-12, 1-5 M-F. >Branson (Map area) New Mexico Topographic Maps 1:24,000, 7.5 minute series. These maps are filed alphabetically by quadrangle name in the flat map cases. To find the quadrangle name, eg., 'Albuquerque west,' use the index map posted on the bulletin board outside the office or the index book in the Special Collections search room. 1:62,500, 15 minute series. Both the maps and indexes to them are kept in Special Collections. These are not currently being published. Some may be useful for historic purposes. U.S. Topographic Maps 1:100,000, 30X60 minute series. This series of maps is filed by call number (G3700s/100/U5) in the main map cases and then alphabetically by name; eg., 'Abilene.' The index map is in the first drawer holding the series; a checkmark means that we have the map. 1:250,000, 1X2 degree series. These maps are separated into an east and west series. Each series is filed alphabetically by name; eg. 'Las Cruces,' within the general call number. The east series is under G3705s/250/U5. The west series is under G4050s/250/U5. The index map is mounted on cardboard and standing on top of the map case. A checkmark means that we have the map. USGS Geologic and Hydrologic The maps must be requested from the Special Collections staff. The 1992 edition of the Guide to U.S. Geologic and Hydrologic Maps is kept in the Special Collections office. It has area, subject, and coordinate (latitude/longitude) indexes. Map names are the same as the quadrangle names of the 7.5 minute series. Statistics, Demography, Climate > Branson (Docs) C3.223/11:yr. U.S. Bureau of the Census. CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING: CENSUS TRACTS. Washington: GPO, 1960 - . Great quantities of census information are published in various series. This particular series includes maps of census tracts as well as numerous statistics. Check the surrounding shelves or ask for assistance in the Documents Office. > Branson (Docs) C55.211:yr. U.S. Environmental Data Service. MONTHLY CLIMATIC DATA FOR THE WORLD. Asheville: National Climatic Center, Environmental Data Service, 1973 - . Monthly summaries of climate data worldwide. > Branson (Docs) C55.214/28:yr. U.S. Environmental Data Service. CLIMATOLOGICAL DATA: NEW MEXICO. Washington: U.S. Weather Bureau, 1971 - . Weather Station data. This series exists for other states, also. Older issues have call number C30.18/27:. > Branson (Ref) HA12.5 Un35 United Nations. Statistical Office. STATISTICAL YEARBOOK. New York: United Nations Publications, 1948 - . Covers many characteristics of the population and economies of the world's nations. > Branson (Ref) HA17 D396 United Nations. Statistical Office. DEMOGRAPHIC YEARBOOK. New York: United Nations Publications, 1948 - . Population characteristics by country. > Branson (Ref Info Desk)HA202 A36 > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 A36 > Branson (Doc Office) C3.134/2:C83/2 U.S. Bureau of the Census. COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOK, 1988. Washington: GPO, 1988. Great variety of information presented in tables for states, counties, and cities. > Branson (Ref) HA202 A385 1975 > Branson (Doc Ref) C3.134/2:H62/970/pt.1-2 U.S. Bureau of the Census. HISTORICAL STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES: COLONIAL TIMES TO 1970. 3rd ed. Washington: GPO, 1975. Covers social and economic development of the U.S. from 1610 to 1970. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) HA202 S72 1991 > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 S72 1991 > Branson (Doc) C3.134/5:yr U.S. Bureau of the Census. STATE AND METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. 3rd ed. Washington: GPO, 1991. Detailed data on MSA's across the country in tables. > Branson (Ref Info Desk)HA202 Un3s > NewLib (Ref Info Desk) HA202 Un3s > Branson (Doc) C3.134:yr. STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1879 - . A single volume giving quantitative summary statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United States. References given for the sources of all tables. Statistics given cover a period of several years, usually 15 or 20. Latest edition at reference desks and Government Documents. > Branson (Docs) HE20.6210:yr. VITAL STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, 1970 - . Contains data on natality, marriage, divorce, and mortality. Older issues under different title. > Branson (Doc Ref) Z7554 U5 A46 AMERICAN STATISTICS INDEX. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973 - . Annual (monthly supplement). An index to all federal government publications which contain significant statistical data. Indexed by subject and name, title, agency report number, and categories (geographic, economic, standard classification systems, etc.). Library owns 1980 - . Dissertations and Theses > NewLib (Ref) AS30 C64 COMPREHENSIVE DISSERTATION INDEX. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1973 - . Annual. A computer-generated index, this set attempts to list all dissertations accepted at U.S. universities. Many Canadian and some other foreign dissertations are included, but it is not a complete list. The index currently comes in 5 annual volumes: an author index and two subject volumes each for the sciences and social sciences/humanities. Within each discipline, dissertations are arranged alphabetically by keyword. Geography falls in Part 2 of the Social Sciences and Humanities section. The years 1861-1972 are cumulated into one 37 volume set. Geography is in volume 16. 1973-1977 is covered in another cumulation with geography in volume 14. Use as an index for DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS. > NewLib (Periodicals) AS30 D63 (microfiche) DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS INTERNATIONAL. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1948 - . Monthly. An index to dissertations submitted to University Microfilms International. (Approximately 370 universities were submitting dissertations in 1984, including some European institutions.) Beginning with vol. 27, two separate sections are published: A. Humanities & Social Sciences, and B. Sciences & Engineering. Cumulative author and subject indexes are published each year. V. 38 - , 1977 - on microfiche. Prior to vol. 38 in reference area. > NewLib (Ref) AS30 M393a MASTERS ABSTRACTS: ABSTRACTS OF MASTERS THESES ON MICROFILM. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1962 - . Quarterly. Arranged by general subject categories. > Branson Z1601 D28 Davidson, William V., comp. GEOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH ON LATIN AMERICA: A CARTOGRAPHIC GUIDE AND BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THESES AND DISSERTATIONS, 1909-1978. Muncie: Conference of Latin Americanist Geographers, 1980. > Branson Z6001 S78 Stuart, Merrill M. A BIBLIOGRAPHY OF MASTER'S THESES IN GEOGRAPHY: AMERICAN AND CANADIAN UNIVERSITIES. Tualatin: Geographic and Area Study Publications, 1973. Theses are arranged by subject fields, then alphabetically by author. Includes regional index. Selected Government Documents > Branson (Doc) A57.38:yr. U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Soil Conservation Service. SOIL SURVEY REPORTS. Washington: GPO, 1938 - . By county. We own mainly NM, TX, UT, CO, AZ, and OK. Includes soil maps and interpretations, general information on climate and agriculture of an area, and descriptions of types of soil. Previously used call numbers for this series are: A77.514:, A19.32:, A47.5:. >Branson (Doc) C3.6/2:G29/3 U.S. Census Bureau. A GUIDE TO STATE & LOCAL CENSUS GEOGRAPHY, 1993. Washington: GPO. Explains census conceps and definitions in relation to geographical entities used by the census bureau. >Branson (Doc) D101.22:yr. Library of Congress, Federal Research Division. AREA HANDBOOK SERIES. Washington, GPO. Detailed descriptions of individual countries' political, economic, social, historical, and military environments with bibliographies. > Branson (Doc) I33.5/2:yr. U.S. Board on Geographic Names. DECISIONS ON GEOGRAPHIC NAMES IN THE UNITED STATES. Washington: GPO, 1936 - . Issued at irregular intervals. > Branson (Doc Ref) PREX3.15:yr. > NewLib (Ref) G122 U56a Central Intelligence Agency. THE WORLD FACTBOOK. Washington: GPO. Annual. Provides worldwide information on geography, people, government, economy, communication, and defense forces.