-------- New Mexico State University Library (last revised 9/6/94)----- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN EDUCATION Compiled by Carol Withers Fall 1994 Conducting research in the field of education requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library Branson: A - H, HM - PZ HA - HJ, Q - Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science United States Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. New Mexico state documents are located in New Library. State publications are found in OLE by title, author (New Mexico Dept. of Education or New Mexico State Board of Education), subject, or keyword. ERIC OVERVIEW ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is an important source for education material. To use ERIC, it is advantageous to understand its components. ERIC is a collection of documents and journal articles of interest to educators. There are two main ways to find information in ERIC: through paper indexes or through the ERIC CD-ROM index. In both indexes, documents are designated by an ED number and are found in the ERIC microfiche collection in New Library periodicals by that number. Journal articles are designated by an EJ number. To locate journal articles, see instructions on page 7. There are two separate paper indexes for ERIC, one for journal articles and one for documents. The index for journal articles is called CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education) and can be found in New Library Reference. The index for documents is called RIE (Resources in Education) and can be found in Government Documents. The ERIC CD-ROM index includes references to journal articles and documents dating from 1966. It can be found on any of the CD-ROM Network Stations in Branson Hall or New Library. In addition, documents dating from 1966 are indexed on microfiche located near the ERIC collection in New Library Periodicals. ERIC Indexes of Documents and Journal Articles paper CD-ROM microfiche RIE (documents) Last 5 years 1966- 1966- CIJE (journals) 1969- 1966- N/A BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias >NewLib (Ref) GV558 D53 1991 Anshel, M. H. (Ed.). (1991). DICTIONARY OF THE SPORT AND EXERCISE SCIENCES. Champaign: Human Kinetics. As its title suggests, the 160-page source provides concise definitions from abduction to zero-order control system. >NewLib (Ref) L101 G8 W67 WORLD YEARBOOK OF EDUCATION (rev. ed.). London: Kogan Page. Annual. An in-depth look at specific topics is provided in each annual. The most recent 10 years are found in the reference area. Earlier years are found under the same call number on the third floor of New Library. Examples of recent topics: 1993 - Special Needs Education, 1992 - Urban Education, 1991 - International Schools and International Education, 1990 - Assessment and Evaluation. >NewLib (Ref) LB15 B29 1990 Barrow, R., & Milburn, G. (1990). A CRITICAL DICTIONARY OF EDUCATIONAL CONCEPTS: AN APPRAISAL OF SELECTED IDEAS AND ISSUES IN EDUCATIONAL THEORY AND PRACTICE (2nd ed.). New York: Teacher's College. Critical articles on some 120 important theoretical concepts in education. Most entries are one or two pages long. References at the end of each entry. >NewLib (Ref) LB15 D37 1991 Dejnozka, E. L., & Kapel, D. E. (1991). AMERICAN EDUCATOR'S ENCYCLOPEDIA. New York: Greenwood. Each entry is one or two paragraphs long, followed by a list of references. There are several appendices, including a list of past officers of associations and information on state and federal educational organizations as well as an index. >NewLib (Ref) LB15 I569 1994 Clark, B. R., & Neave, G. R. (Eds.). (1994). THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HIGHER EDUCATION (2nd ed.). Oxford: Pergamon. 4 vols. This set is divided into National Systems of Higher Education (arranged by country), Analytical Perspectives (in part concerned with the relationship between education and society), Faculty and Student Teaching and Learning, and Disciplinary Perspectives (academic disciplines). >NewLib (Ref) LB15 I569 1994 Husen, T., & Postlewaite, T. N. (Eds.). (1994). INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF EDUCATION. Oxford: Pergamon. 12 vols. The first 11 volumes are the alphabetical listings by subjects. Volume 12 provides useful indexes including a classified list of entries and a name and subject index. General Handbooks >NewLib (Ref) GV443 K687 1993 Kraemer, W. J., & Fleck, S. J. (1993). STRENGTH TRAINING FOR YOUNG ATHLETES. Champaign: Human Kinetics. Diagrams fill the six chapters: 1. Strength training for children, 2. Growth and development, 3. Developing and administering a strength training program for children, 4. Designing individualized strength training programs for children, 5. Teaching exercise techniques, 6. Strength training exercises, 7. Strength training programs for fitness and sports. Index and brief glossary are included. >NewLib (Ref) GV706.4 H37 1993 Singer, R. N., Murphy, M., & Tennant, L. K. (Eds.). (1993). HANDBOOK OF RESEARCH ON SPORTS PSYCHOLOGY. New York: Macmillan. Each of the 11 sections, including one on ethics and life-span development, is followed by a substantial bibliography. >New Lib (Ref) LB1027.55 C64 1993 Cohen, J.J., & Fish, M.C. (1993). HANDBOOK OF SCHOOL-BASED INTERVENTIONS. San Francisco: Jossey- Bass. "Offers an extended guide to assist in planning school-based intervention...a compilation of strategies with demonstrated or potential value for school settings" (from preface). >NewLib (Ref) LB1570 F83 1993 Fuchs, L. (1993). HUMANITIES IN THE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL: A HANDBOOK FOR TEACHERS. Springfield, IL: Thomas. This is a very practical book with explanations of how to integrate humanities into the classroom. Complete with resource list. >NewLib (Ref) LB2822.75 A54 1993 Angelo, T. A., & Cross, K. P. (1993). CLASSROOM ASSESSMENT TECHNIQUES: A HANDBOOK FOR COLLEGE TEACHERS (2nd ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. Though the sub-title suggests this is exclusively for higher education, it would be of use to those interested in assessment at any level. >NewLib (Ref) LC3981 O73 1993 Osborne, A. G., Jr., DiMattia, P., & Curran, F. X. (1993). EFFECTIVE MANAGEMENT OF SPECIAL EDUCATION PROGRAMS: A HANDBOOK FOR SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS. New York: Teacher's College. The intent of this book is to guide educators through the complexity of Public Law 94-142: The Education for All Handicapped Children Act. >NewLib (Ref) LC4704 W47 1990 Westman, J. C. (1990). HANDBOOK OF LEARNING DISABILITIES: A MULTI-SYSTEM APPROACH. Boston: Allyn and Bacon. Provides a comprehensive view of learning disabilities from the history of special education through the nature of learning, diagnosis and treatment. Includes a glossary, author index, subject index, and a substantial list of references. The list of suggested readings is divided by audience: students, clinicians, classroom teachers and parents, etc. >Branson (Doc) ED1.2:Am3/4 >NewLib LA217 A44 1991 Alexander, L. (1991). AMERICA 2000: AN EDUCATION STRATEGY. Washington, DC: Dept. of Education. >Branson (Doc) ED1.2:N21 National Commission on Excellence in Education. (1983). A NATION AT RISK: THE IMPERATIVE FOR EDUCATION REFORM. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. This landmark work discusses the indicators of risk and offers solutions to the predicted problems. Appendices include commissioned papers, hearing testimony, and notable programs among other things. It is referenced in ERIC as both a journal article and a document. >Branson (Doc) J28.23:In3 National Institute of Justice. (1992). ETHICAL USE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES IN EDUCATION: IMPORTANT ISSUES FOR AMERICAN SCHOOLS. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. Suggests that the same type of ethical questions that have challenged people for hundreds of years must now be applied to technology. Contents are: Impacts of Computer related Curriculum, Information Technology and the Law, Cost Effective Purchasing for Schools, Teaching Ideas from the Computer Learning Foundations Responsibility Computing Contest, and Scenarios to Stimulate Technology Ethics Classroom Discussion. Includes references, end-notes, and an appendix of associations and agencies. Research Handbooks >NewLib (Ref) H62 H2455 1994 Denzin, N. K., & Lincoln, Y. S. (Eds.). (1994). HANDBOOK OF QUALITATIVE RESEARCH. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage. This 634 page book is divided into six parts: Part I - Locating the field; Part II - Major Paradigms and Perspectives; Part III - Strategies of Inquiry; Part IV - Methods of Collecting and Analyzing Empirical Materials; Part V - The Art of Interpretation, Evaluation, and Presentation; Part VI - The Future of Qualitative Research. Also includes the name and subject index. Several articles appear in each chapter and are followed by a substantial reference list. >NewLib (Ref) LB15 E48 1992 Alkin, M. C. (Ed.). (1992). ENCYCLOPEDIA OF EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH (6th ed.). New York: Macmillan. 4 vols. The fourth volume of this set contains an index to the entire set, listing such subjects as bilingual education, education of mobile (migrant) population, and hearing impairments. >NewLib (Ref) LB1119 H25 1993 Spodek, B. (Ed.). (1993). HANDBOOK OF RESEARCH ON THE EDUCATION OF YOUNG CHILDREN. New York: Macmillan. This substantial book is broken down into 4 main parts: Part I - Child Development and Early Education, Part II - Foundations of Early Childhood Educational Curriculum, Part III - Foundations of Early Childhood Educational Policy, Part IV - Research Strategies for Early Childhood Education. It also contains a name and subject index. >NewLib (Ref) LB1570 H264 1992 Jackson, P. W. (Ed.). (1992). HANDBOOK OF RESEARCH ON CURRICULUM: A PROJECT OF THE AMERICAN EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH ASSOCIATION. New York: Macmillan. Thirty-four sections are divided into four main parts: conceptual and methodological perspectives, how the curriculum is shaped, the curriculum as a shaping force, and topics and issues within curricular categories. Includes useful name and subject index and references. >NewLib (Ref) LB1584 H275 1991 Shaver, J. P. (Ed.). (1991). HANDBOOK OF RESEARCH ON SOCIAL STUDIES TEACHING AND LEARNING. New York: Macmillan. Contains eight main sections: Part I - Issues of Epistemology and Methodology, Part II - The Student in Social Studies Education, Part III - Teachers in Social Studies Education, Part IV - Contexts of Social Studies Education, Part V - Teaching for and Learning Social Studies Outcomes, Part VI - Components of Instruction, Part VII - Interrelations between Social Studies and other Curriculum Areas, Part VIII - International Perspectives on Research on Social Studies. Each section ends with a substantial reference list. Name and subject indexes. >NewLib (Ref) LC3993.9 C67 1991 Buchanan, N. K., & Feldhusen, J. F. (Eds.). (1991). CONDUCTING RESEARCH AND EVALUATION IN GIFTED EDUCATION: A HANDBOOK OF METHODS AND APPLICATIONS. New York: Teacher's College. Three detailed sections discuss the research process with specific applications to gifted programs and program evaluations. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. Lists of references following journal articles can provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to print and electronic indexes. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on education topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. Many of these articles relate to education, often from a business point of view. Appropriate subjects for this database would be corporate training, cooperative programs between corporations, and educational institutions, among others. Updated monthly. >Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) AGRICOLA Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes articles, reports, books and government documents in the areas of wildlife, biology, home economics, nutrition, and rural sociology. There are citations to articles, for instance, on truancy, school adjustment, and adolescent suicide. Type in terms such as juvenile, educations, or school. In general, however, this is not an education database. Updated quarterly. >Branson (Library Network >NewLib (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION (CIJE) and RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE) indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. A list of ERIC journals that are owned by the library is available on the CD-ROM Network tables. >Branson (Doc) >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bimonthly. >Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) >NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) NEWS NEWS is an index to recent articles in four major newspapers: the NEW YORK TIMES, the WALL STREET JOURNAL, the WASHINGTON POST and the CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR. NEWS covers articles published since January 1991. It is updated every 2-3 months. The library subscribes to all four of the newspapers in NEWS. >Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) >NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the reference desk if you need any help. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles and book chapters in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law, and management. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. A list of PsycLIT journals that are owned by the library is available on the CD-ROM Network tables. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of education. >Branson (Library Network) >NewLib (Library Network) Sociofile Sociofile covers sociology and related disciplines, including international development, from 1974 to present. It contains 200,000 citations and abstracts from over 1600 journals in 30 languages from about 55 countries. It also contains citations to dissertations in sociology, anthropology, social work and related fields taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in printed form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of education many of which are not in ERIC. >NewLib (Ref) L11 C87 CIJE (CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION). (1969 - ). Phoenix: Oryx. Monthly. A periodical index to educational publications in English. An author and subject index arranged in one alphabet. Book reviews listed separately. >NewLib (Ref Index Area) EDUCATION INDEX. (1929 - ). New York: Wilson. Monthly. A periodical index to educational publications in English. An author and subject index arranged in one alphabet. Book reviews listed separately. A list of EDUCATION INDEX journals that are owned by the library is available on the index table. >Bran (Doc Ref) ED1.310: RIE (RESOURCES IN EDUCATION). (1966 - ). Washington, DC: Dept. of Education, National Institute on Education. Monthly. Library has latest five years. Gives full information with abstracts for all ERIC documents. Arranged by ED number. Indexes provide access by subject, author, institution, and publication type. Cumulated semiannual index. This and CIJE are available on the ERIC CD-ROM on the Library Network. Cumulated subject, author and title indexes on microfiche cover the ERIC collection from 1966. In using these subject indexes, it is helpful to consult the THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS for the appropriate subject indexing terminology. The microfiche index is located near the ERIC collection in New Library Periodicals. >NewLib (Ref) HQ750 A1 C439 CHILD DEVELOPMENT ABSTRACTS AND BIBLIOGRAPHY. (1928 - ). Chicago: University of Chicago Press. Contains abstracts of articles and book reviews concerning the growth and development of children. >NewLib (Ref) L11 Ed83 EDUCATIONAL ADMINISTRATION ABSTRACTS. (1966 - ). Columbus: University Council for Educational Administration. Quarterly. Beginning with 1988, cumulative author and subject indexes. A list of EDUCATIONAL ADMINISTRATION ABSTRACTS journals that are owned by the library is available on the index tables. >NewLib (Ref Index Area) PHYSICAL EDUCATION INDEX. (1978 - ). Cape Girardeau, MO: BenOak. Quarterly. Covers dance, health, physical therapy, recreation, sports, and sports medicine. A list of PHYSICAL EDUCATION INDEX journals that are owned by the library is available on the index tables. >NewLib (Ref) L11 So13e SOCIOLOGY OF EDUCATION ABSTRACTS. (1965 - ). Liverpool, England: Sociology of Education Abstracts Service. Quarterly. Subject and author indexes. A list of SOCIOLOGY OF EDUCATION ABSTRACTS journals that are owned by the library are available on the index tables. >NewLib (Ref) LB2300 C686s HIGHER EDUCATION ABSTRACTS. (1965 - ). Claremont, CA: Claremont Graduate School. Quarterly. Subject and author indexes. Continues COLLEGE STUDENT PERSONNEL ABSTRACTS. A list of HIGHER EDUCATION ABSTRACTS journals that are owned by the library is available on the index tables. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of education. New Library N81 Ar752e ART EDUCATION L11 A39 ADVOCATES VOICE L11 S55 AMERICAN JOURNAL OF EDUCATION L11 A8 AMERICAN SCHOOL BOARD JOURNAL L11 A852 AMERICAN TEACHER LB45 C67a ANTHROPOLOGY AND EDUCATION QUARTERLY L10 I73 BULLETIN OF THE INTERNATIONAL BUREAU OF EDUCATION L10 U55 A3 BULLETIN OF THE UNESCO PRINCIPAL REGIONAL OFFICE LB1141 C5 CHILDHOOD EDUCATION LB2300 C49 CHRONICLE OF HIGHER EDUCATION LB2300 C6855j COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY JOURNAL LA132 C65 COMPARATIVE EDUCATION LB1028.5 C565 COMPUTING TEACHER L11 E265 EDUCATION DIGEST L11 E2 EDUCATION L11 Ed82u EDUCATION U.S.A. LB2805 ED82 EDUCATIONAL ADMINISTRATION QUARTERLY BF1 Ed83pm EDUCATIONAL AND PSYCHOLOGICAL MEASUREMENT L11 E29 EDUCATIONAL FORUM L11 P57 EDUCATIONAL HORIZONS L11 E443 EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP L11 Ed83r EDUCATIONAL RECORD L16 E47 EDUCATIONAL REVIEW L11 Ed83t EDUCATIONAL THEORY L11 E6 ELEMENTARY SCHOOL JOURNAL PE1 En36j ENGLISH JOURNAL LB3062 I48 EQUITY AND EXCELLENCE L11 H261e HARVARD EDUCATIONAL REVIEW L11 H5 HIGH SCHOOL JOURNAL LA1 H629e HISTORY OF EDUCATION QUARTERLY L11 I593 INSTRUCTOR L10 In8r INTERNATIONAL REVIEW OF EDUCATION L11 J826e JOURNAL OF EDUCATION L11 J826et JOURNAL OF EDUCATIONAL THOUGHT/REVUE DE LA PENSEE EDUCATIVE L11 J826ep JOURNAL OF EDUCATIONAL PSYCHOLOGY L11 J826er JOURNAL OF EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH L11 J77 JOURNAL OF EXPERIMENTAL EDUCATION L11 J826g JOURNAL OF GENERAL EDUCATION L11 J826he JOURNAL OF HIGHER EDUCATION LC4001 J826 JOURNAL OF LEARNING DISABILITIES LC2701 J826n JOURNAL OF NEGRO EDUCATION L45 E459 LA EDUCACION LB1576 A1 E6 LANGUAGE ARTS LB5 L43 LEARNING L11 P311je PEABODY JOURNAL OF EDUCATION LJ121 P4 PHI DELTA KAPPAN LB1101 P959i PSYCHOLOGY IN THE SCHOOLS L13 N46523 PRINCIPAL L10 P76 PROSPECTS LB1573 R28 READING TEACHER LB1050 J826r READING RESEARCH AND INSTRUCTION L11 R35 REVIEW OF EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH LB1027.5 Sch65c SCHOOL COUNSELOR L13 S38 SCHOOL AND COMMUNITY PE1128 A2 T454 TESOL QUARTERLY L11 T343 THEORY INTO PRACTICE L16 T6 TIMES EDUCATIONAL SUPPLEMENT L900 W53 WORLD EDUCATION REPORT Branson Hall QA135 A6 ARITHMETIC TEACHER QA1 M421t MATHEMATICS TEACHER Q181 Sci27 SCIENCE TEACHER T61 M28 TECHNOLOGY TEACHER FINDING BOOKS Books are generally not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through OLE, the online catalog. Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas and on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen indicates whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term education some of the narrower terms listed are: Curriculum change Area studies Proposed writing in education Folklore and education While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of education. Biographies >NewLib (Ref Biog) LA 2311 W47 4th 1994-1995 WHO'S WHO IN AMERICAN EDUCATION (4th ed.). (1993). New Providence, NJ: Marquis Who's Who. Includes nearly 28,000 educators from kindergarten through higher education, administrators and librarians. >NewLib (Ref Biog) LB14.7 C66 1993 Cooney, W., Cross, C., & Trunk. B. (1993). FROM PLATO TO PIAGET: THE GREATEST EDUCATIONAL THEORISTS FROM ACROSS THE CENTURIES AND AROUND THE WORLD. New York: UPA. Each chapter focuses on one specific contributor to the field of education: Plato, Confucius, Locke, Rousseau, Herbart, Mann, James, Washington, Dewey, Montessori, Rogers, Skinner, Suzuki, and Piaget. >NewLib (Ref Biog) LC 5219 T85 1991 Jarvis, P. (Ed.). (1991). TWENTIETH CENTURY THINKERS IN ADULT EDUCATION. London: Routledge. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of education. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Education bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: >NewLib (Ref) B1590.3 C37 1993 Cassel, J. F., & Congleton, R. J. (1993). CRITICAL THINKING: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow. "This annotated bibliography of 930 selected periodical articles, monographs, essays, conference papers, and chapters from anthologies provides an opportunity for individuals to explore critical thinking" (from introduction). Also includes a subject and author index. Chapters include: Theory, Teaching and Evaluation; Instructional Methods; and Teaching in Subject Areas. >NewLib (Ref) BF575 G7 B47 1993 Rudman, M. K., Gagne, K. D., & Bernstein, J. E. (1993). BOOKS TO HELP CHILDREN COPE WITH SEPARATION AND LOSS: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY (4TH ed.). New Providence: Bowker. This work is supplemented with essays by notables in the field. Subject, author, interest level and reading level indexes as well as an appendix of organizations and their addresses are included. >NewLib (Ref) LB17 B39 1990 Berry, D. M. (1990). A BIBLIOGRAPHIC GUIDE TO EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH (3rd ed.). Metuchen: Scarecrow. Discusses the uses and provides bibliographic information for government documents, state publications, and UNESCO documents among other things. ERIC and library use are also discussed. Arranged by type of material (i.e., government documents, periodical) and provides subject and author indexes. >NewLib (Ref) LC212.92 U5 G73 1991 Grambs, J. D., & Carr, J. C. (1991). SEX DIFFERENCES AND LEARNING: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH. New York: Garland. This work explores gender differences in learning and is arranged into 23 subjects such as cultural and cross-cultural studies, mathematics, and self-esteem, among others. Author and subject indexes are provided. >NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 D67825 1992 Dreyer, S. S. (1992). BEST OF Bookfinder: A GUIDE TO CHILDREN'S LITERATURE ABOUT INTERESTS AND CONCERNS OF YOUTH AGED 2-18. Circle Pines, MN: American Guidance Service. This annotated bibliography is one of several the library has for children's literature. Includes subject, author, and title index. >NewLib (Ref) PN1009 A1 S57 1992 Sinclair, P. K. (1992). E IS FOR ENVIRONMENT: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF CHILDREN'S BOOKS WITH ENVIRONMENTAL THEMES. New Providence: Bowker. Covers over 500 books and includes a title, author, and subject index. Directories >NewLib (Ref) E97 E75 1993 ERIC Clearinghouse on Rural Education and Small Schools. NATIVE EDUCATION DIRECTORY: ORGANIZATIONS AND RESOURCES FOR EDUCATORS OF NATIVE PEOPLES OF THE UNITED STATES AND TERRITORIES. (1993). Charleston, WV: Author. In addition to the expected entries for international associations and federal agencies, this resource also includes relevant congressional committees and a list of periodicals. >NewLib (Ref) HV741 N3157 THE NATIONAL DIRECTORY OF CHILDREN, YOUTH, & FAMILIES SERVICES. (1991 - ). Longmont, CO: Peterson. This directory provides phone numbers and addresses for various agencies in the 50 states as well as numbers for federal agencies. >NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 F401.71 Dept. of Education. NEW MEXICO EDUCATIONAL PERSONNEL DIRECTORY. Santa Fe: Author. Annual. Provides names, addresses and telephone numbers for persons and educational institutions throughout New Mexico. >NewLib (Ref) L901 N23 National Association of Secondary School Principals. (1994 - ). NASSP NETWORK DIRECTORY. Reston, VA: Author. LAW >Branson (Doc Ref) AE2.106/2 CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS. (1993). Washington, DC: National Archives of the United States. Annual. Title 34 provides latest revisions to federal education regulations. >NewLib (Ref) KF4102.5 Y4 THE YEARBOOK OF EDUCATION LAW. (1988 - ). Topeka, KS: National Organization of Legal Problems of Education. Latest in reference. Its nine chapters discuss the current legal issues in education and has numerous citations from the UNITED STATES CODE and the UNITED STATES REPORTS (court cases). >NewLib (Ref) KF4110.3 U15 1991 U.S. SUPREME COURT EDUCATION CASES (2nd ed.). (1991). Rosemont, MN: Data Research. Organized chronologically within subject matter such as desegregation, private schools, student rights, employment, school district operations and special education. An appendix cites provisions in the U.S. Constitution of interest to educators. A glossary, index and table of contents is also provided. >NewLib (Ref) KF4119 V28 1994 Valente, W. D. LAW IN THE SCHOOLS (3rd ed.). (1994). New York: Macmillan. Each of the 13 chapters considers both case law and legislative law pertaining to their particular topics which include issues such as collective bargaining, equal opportunity, and religion. Glossary, table of contents and index provided. >NewLib (Ref) KF4155 R46 1993 Whitman, M. (Ed.). (1993). REMOVING A BADGE OF SLAVERY: THE RECORD OF Brown v. Board of Education. Princeton: Wiener. This well-documented chronicle traces the court cases from 1849 leading to the landmark 1954 decision in the case of BROWN V. BOARD OF EDUCATION. STATISTICS >Branson (Doc) ED1.109:yr. National Center for Education Statistics. (1975 - ). THE CONDITION OF EDUCATION. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. Annual. The dates covered vary with each table. Some go back as far as 1950. >Branson (Doc) ED1.120:992-2003 Gerald, D. E., Horn, P. J., Hussar, W. J., (et al.). (1992). PROJECTION OF EDUCATION STATISTICS TO 2000. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. Past and projected statistics concerning education such as student/teacher ratio, expenditures, and enrollment in private and public schools among other topics. This can also be found in the ERIC microfiche collection in New Library Periodicals (ED312793). >Branson (Doc) ED1.326:yr. Department of Education. (1972 - ). DIGEST OF EDUCATION STATISTICS. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. This annual is a significant source of statistics for all levels of education and includes international, national, state and some district level information. Both private and public school figures are included. A subject index provides useful access. To find it in the ERIC microfiche collection, type Digest of Education Statistics into the ERIC CD-ROM and obtain the appropriate fiche number for the desired year. >Branson (Doc) HE20.8202:Sm7/2/v.1-2 National Institute on Drug Abuse. (1992). SMOKING, DRINKING, AND ILLICIT DRUG USE AMONG AMERICAN SECONDARY SCHOOL STUDENTS, COLLEGE STUDENTS, AND YOUNG ADULTS, 1975-1991. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. >NewLib (Ref) LA227.3 A44a FACT BOOK ON HIGHER EDUCATION. (1985-1990). New York: American Council on Education. Latest in reference. A compilation of data pertinent to trends in higher education such as demographics, economics, enrollments, degrees, etc. Presented in tables and graphs. EDUCATIONAL TESTS AND MEASUREMENTS >Branson (Doc) ED1.2:R27/2 Advisory Committee on Testing. (1993). REINFORCING THE PROMISE, REFORMING THE PARADIGM. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. >Branson (Doc) ED1.302:ED8/9 Educational Research and Improvement Office. (1992). NATIONAL EDUCATION GOALS. AMERICA'S SCHOOL BOARDS' RESPONSE. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office. This work is concerned with the involvement of local school boards in converting national education goals into reality. Presented in outline form, this summarizes each goal (such as readiness for school and high school completion) providing objectives, actions needed, and examples of appropriate school board rules. >NewLib (Ref) BF698.5 B85 MENTAL MEASUREMENTS YEARBOOK. (1938 - ). Highland Park, NJ: Author. Commonly referred to as Buros or MMY. Issued periodically since 1938. Provides critical reviews of the construction, validity and use of commercially available tests. Among the many indexes are a classified subject index (i.e., fine arts, intellectual and scholastic aptitude, speech and hearing) and a score index referring to variables measured in a test. Costs and where to purchase the tests are included with each entry. >NewLib (Ref) LB3051 O94 1992 Overton, T. (1992). ASSESSMENT IN SPECIAL EDUCATION: AN APPLIED APPROACH. New York: Merrill. This work deals with assessing problems and student achievement, pertinent laws, and reliability and validity of assessments and tests in special education. A name and subject index is included. >NewLib LB3060.65 H66 1989 Hopkins, C. D., & Antes, R. L. (1989). CLASSROOM TESTING: CONSTRUCTION (2nd ed.). Itasca, IL: Peacock. Intended to aid classroom teachers in the construction and evaluation of different kinds of tests such as problem items and selected response item tests. An index and glossary are included. NEW MEXICO INFORMATION >NewLib J87 N6 F401.19 State Board of Education. (1979 - ). MINUTES, MEETING OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION. Santa Fe: Author. Annual. >NewLib (Ref Info Desk) J87 N6 F401.21, S73 State Board of Education. EDUCATIONAL STANDARDS FOR NEW MEXICO SCHOOLS. Santa Fe: Author. Annual. Latest volume at the Reference Information Desk. >NewLib (Ref) J87 N6 F401.81 A17/2 New Mexico State Dept. of Education. NEW MEXICO ACCOUNTABILITY REPORT . Santa Fe: Author. Annual. This is a "state level report card... providing narrative and statistical information on an array of educational indicators," such as dropout rate, administrative costs per student, high school competency exam, ACT scores, etc. Latest volume in Reference. >NewLib (Ref Info Desk) J87 N6 F401.81 A18 New Mexico State Dept. of Education. NEW MEXICO ACT AND SAT RESULTS. Santa Fe: Author. Annual. Latest volume at the Reference Information Desk. >NewLib (Ref Info Desk) J87 N6 F401.81 D78/2 New Mexico State Dept. of Education. NEW MEXICO DROPOUT STUDY. Santa Fe: Author. Annual. Latest volume at the Reference Information Desk. >NewLib J87 N6 F401.81 N53/5 State Board of Education. CONSOLIDATING INITIATIVES FOR TOMORROW'S EDUCATION (CITE) PLAN UPDATE. Santa Fe: Author. Annual. Discusses the expectations for school programs, students, educational leaders, and state leaders among other topics. >NewLib J87 N6 F401.81, R33 New Mexico State Dept. of Education. (1990). GUIDE FOR DISTRICT READING ASSESSMENT, GRADES 1 AND 2. Santa Fe: Author. Includes a brief history of how to report reading assessment compliance in New Mexico schools. >NewLib (Ref) LB3055 L27 L37 1994 Las Cruces Public Schools. (1994). COMPETENCIES K-LAS CRUCES PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT 8. Las Cruces: Author. These abbreviated competencies provide very little information for kindergarten. Six to eight pages of subject-specific competencies are provided for grades 1 through 8. For detailed competencies, visit the Las Cruces School Administration in Loretto Center, 505 South Main, Phone: 527-5889.