---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN CAREERS Compiled by Sylvia Ortiz Fall, 1992 Conducting research in the field of careers requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > Branson (Ref) HF5381 E52 1990 Hopke, William E., ed. THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CAREERS AND VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE. 8th ed. Chicago: Ferguson, 1990. Reviews career fields and gives an overview of prospects in a chosen field. > Branson (Ref) HF5382 G85 1984 Harrington, Thomas F., and Arthur J. O’Shea, eds. GUIDE FOR OCCUPATIONAL EXPLORATION. 2nd ed. Circle Pines: National Forum Foundation, 1984. "Designed by the U.S. Employment Service as a tool in conducting an effective job search," it is arranged by interest areas and work groups. Includes the description of each work group plus physical demands, work settings, preparation needed, licenses and certificates required, and organizations to contact for further information. Guides and Handbooks > NewLib (Ref) LB2283 A58 1984 Anthony, Rebecca, and Gerald Roe. EDUCATOR'S PASSPORT TO INTERNATIONAL JOBS: HOW TO FIND AND ENJOY EMPLOYMENT ABROAD. Princeton: Peterson's Guides, 1984. Answers questions on finding overseas jobs, getting hired, and getting back. > Branson (Ref) HF5549.5 E45 A9 1985 Aulick, June L. LOOKING FOR EMPLOYMENT IN FOREIGN COUNTRIES. New York: World Trade Academy, 1985. Offers guidelines on how and where to apply for work outside of the U.S. Includes tips on adjusting to an unfamiliar setting plus sample resumes and cover letters. > Branson (Ref InfoDesk) Beatty, Richard H. THE RESUME KIT. 2nd ed. New York: Wiley, 1991. Gives valuable hints on resume writing. Includes different types of resume styles, sample cover letters, and a list of the top 50 executive search firms. > Branson (Ref) HF5383 B56 Bolles, Richard Nelson. WHAT COLOR IS YOUR PARACHUTE? A PRACTICAL MANUAL FOR JOB-HUNTERS & CAREER CHANGERS. Berkeley: Ten Speed, 1972 - . Annual. According to the author, this publication is especially for career changers. Designed to take users through a step-by-step progression in finding what careers best suit their needs and how to get to the top. > Branson (Ref) HD62.5 K35 1990 Kamaroff, Bernard. SMALL-TIME OPERATOR: HOW TO START YOUR OWN SMALL BUSINESS, KEEP YOUR BOOKS, PAY YOUR TAXES, AND STAY OUT OF TROUBLE. Laytonville: Bell Springs, 1990. This volume offers information for sole proprietors, partnerships, corporations, independent contractors, freelancers, employers, home businesses and other self-employed individuals. > Branson (Ref) HF5382.7 K62 1984 Kocher, Eric. INTERNATIONAL JOBS. Rev. ed. Reading: Addison, 1984. Part 1 is concerned with career planning and job strategy; Part 2 deals with the international job market. > Branson (Ref) HF5382.5 U5 L36 1987 Leape, Martha P. HARVARD GUIDE TO CAREERS. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Harvard UP, 1987. A basic step-by-step guide which leads the job seeker from career exploration to career decision making. Includes information on researching employers, writing letters, evaluating job offers, and considering graduate school. > Branson (Ref) HD2741 M65 1990 Moskowitz, Milton. EVERYBODY'S BUSINESS: A FIELD GUIDE TO THE 400 LEADING COMPANIES IN AMERICA. 1st ed. New York: Doubleday, 1990. Includes corporations in virtually every major industry. Within each industry, companies are ranked by size and sales. Also ranks each company by its workplace practices and labor relations, its social responsibility, its global presence, and other criteria. > Branson (Ref) HF5382.7 M86 1986 Munschauer, John L. JOBS FOR ENGLISH MAJORS AND OTHER SMART PEOPLE. Rev. ed. Princeton: Peterson's Guides, 1986. This volume lays out the basics of interviews and resume writing. It gives ideas on uncovering and taking advantage of hidden opportunities and on applying for unsolicited jobs when there is no advertised opening. > Branson (Ref) HF5382.5 U5 N25 1989 Nadler, Burton Jay. LIBERAL ARTS JOBS. 2nd ed. Princeton: Peterson's Guides, 1989. Includes guidelines for formulating a job search. Also included are worksheets and exercises for assessing skills and goals, tips on conducting interviews, and guidelines on writing want ads. It also gives a list of the top 15 fields for liberal arts graduates. > Branson (Ref) HF5382.75 U6 S27 1987 Salzman, Marian L., and Nancy Marx Better. WANTED: LIBERAL ARTS GRADUATES. New York: Anchor, 1987. Contains career and background information of some successful liberal arts graduates. Also included are checklists and exercises to help users discover their strengths and needs. > Branson (Ref Info Desk) U. S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. OCCUPATIONAL OUTLOOK HANDBOOK. Washington: The Bureau, 1949 - . For a description of this item see the same entry under Selected U.S. Government Documents, page 12. > Branson (Ref) HD8038 U5 W74 1984 Wright, John W. THE AMERICAN ALMANAC OF JOBS AND SALARIES. Rev. and updated ed. New York: Avon, 1984. Contains valuable information on job descriptions, salary ranges, and advancement opportunities in various professions. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on career topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as the JOURNAL OF COUNSELING AND DEVELOPMENT. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. Updated monthly. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CIJE and RIE indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) ABI/INFORM Gives citations and abstracts for articles in business journals. Many of these articles relate to careers, often from a business point of view. The appropriate subject for this database would be careers. Updated monthly. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) AGRICOLA Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes articles, reports, books and government documents in the areas of wildlife, biology, home economics, nutrition, and rural sociology. Updated quarterly. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of careers. > Branson (Index Area) BUSINESS PERIODICALS INDEX > NewLib (Index Area) CIJE EDUCATION INDEX READERS' GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term careers, some of the narrower terms listed are Professions Occupations Vocational Guidance While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of careers. Directories > Branson (Ref) HG4057 A145 AMERICA'S CORPORATE FAMILIES. Parsippany: Dun, 1985 - . Annual. Alphabetical listing of parent companies including geographical listings of businesses. > NewLib (Ref) L900 B34 1983 Bajkai, Louis A. TEACHERS' GUIDE TO OVERSEAS TEACHING. 3rd rev. ed. San Diego: Friends of World Teaching, 1983. "This publication is intended for teachers, administrators, and other qualified persons who wish to obtain a position with an overseas school or college." > Branson (Ref) HF5382.5 U5 S76 Brusterien, Pat. SUMMER EMPLOYMENT DIRECTORY OF THE UNITED STATES. Cincinnati: National Directory Service, 1979 - . Annual. This directory includes 50,000 summer job opportunities. It is an invaluable resource guide for the student in search of summer work in resorts/hotels; businesses, including expeditions, guide trips, tours; summer camps; national parks, amusement parks; and government offices. > Branson (Ref) HG4057 A16 CORPORATE TECHNOLOGY DIRECTORY. Wellesley Hills: Corporate Technology Information Services, 1986 - . Annual. A comprehensive reference on U.S. companies that manufacture or develop high-technology products. Company profiles are listed alphabetically in the three profile volumes, while the first volume contains indexes. > Branson (Ref) HF5382.5 U5 C6 CPC ANNUAL. Bethlehem: College Placement Council, 1959 - . Annual. This four-volume set offers information on career opportunities in various fields. Volume One covers career planning, the job search, graduate school, and work-related education. Volume Two is a directory of employment opportunities for college graduates in administration, business, and other non-technical fields. Volume Three contains a directory of employment opportunities for college graduates in engineering, sciences, the computer field and other technical options. Volume Four is a guide to employment in medical, nursing, and allied health career options. > Branson (Ref) HG4538 D5 DIRECTORY OF AMERICAN FIRMS OPERATING IN FOREIGN COUNTRIES. New York: World Trade Academy, 1979 - . Annual. This directory contains information about American business activities abroad. Volume One lists American firms which have operations overseas. Volumes Two and Three contain listings by country of the American firms' international operations. > Branson (Ref) HG4057 D5 1986 DIRECTORY OF FOREIGN FIRMS OPERATING IN THE UNITED STATES. 5th ed. New York: Uniworld, 1986. Foreign companies listed by country. > Branson (Ref) HF5828.4 F54 1990 Field, Shelly. CAREER OPPORTUNITIES IN ADVERTISING AND PUBLIC RELATIONS. New York: Facts on File, 1990. The 85 advertising and public relations jobs discussed in this book encompass careers not only in agencies but in the corporate world as well. The volume is divided into nine general employment sections. Within each section are descriptions of individual careers. > Branson (Ref) HD59.6 I58 1990 Fry, Ronald W., ed. INTERNSHIPS: ADVERTISING, MARKETING, PUBLIC RELATIONS & SALES. 2nd ed. Hawthorne: Career, 1990. If you're interested in an internship in some area of advertising, public relations, marketing, sales or market research, this is a good place to start your search. This volume offers advice from professionals, internship listings, and an appendix of trade associations. > NewLib (Ref) L900 I83 ISS DIRECTORY OF OVERSEAS SCHOOLS. Princeton: International Schools Services, 1986 - . Annual. An alphabetical arrangement of overseas schools by country. > Branson (Ref) HF5382.5 U5 K47 1988 Kessinger, Roger A. RECESSION- AND DEPRESSION-PROOF CAREERS AND BUSINESSES. Boise: Kessinger, 1988. The list of careers is arranged in alphabetical order. Each position includes a job description and the appropriate trade associations to contact for additional information. > Branson (Ref) HD5724 L4275 1986 Lombardo, Joseph, and Amy Lombardo. THE JOB BELT. New York: Penguin, 1986. Lists 50 cities that offer prime opportunities for locating jobs. Included in the city's profile is information on major employers and industries, statistics on the city's’s economy, and quality of life information (including schools, hospitals, churches, housing, and recreational facilities). > NewLib (Ref) GV186 S85 Muirhead, Greg and John Wells, eds. SUMMER OPPORTUNITIES FOR KIDS AND TEENAGERS. Princeton: Peterson's Guides, 1985 - . Annual. This sourcebook covers information on recreational opportunities for children and teenagers. Possible source for summer employment. > Branson (Ref) HF5382.5 U5 B88 PETERSON'S JOB OPPORTUNITIES FOR BUSINESS & LIBERAL ARTS GRADUATES. Princeton: Peterson's Guides, 1990 - . Annual. Provides an overview of the various types of employment opportunities available with companies that plan to hire business and social science/humanities graduates. > Branson (Ref) HF5549.5 C67 P58 1985 Plunkett, Jack W. THE ALMANAC OF AMERICAN EMPLOYERS: A GUIDE TO AMERICA'S 500 MOST SUCCESSFUL LARGE CORPORATIONS. Chicago: Contemporary, 1985. This almanac is an alphabetical listing of 500 American employers. It gives specific information about a company's address, phone number, location, type of business, number of employees, sales and earnings. It also includes salaries and benefits, financial stability, and room-at-the-top information. > Branson (Ref) HD2346 U5 N34 TRY US: NATIONAL MINORITY BUSINESS DIRECTORY. Minneapolis: National Minority Business Campaign, 1972 - . Annual. A listing of minority-owned businesses organized into 84 business categories. In addition to the name of the company, address, and phone number, each entry includes their product, when they were established, number of employees, and sales in dollars. > Branson (Ref InfoDesk) Washington, Tom. RESUME POWER. Rev. and expanded ed. Bellevue: Mount Vernon, 1990. This is a step-by-step guide to writing effective resumes. Gives practical examples. > Branson (Ref InfoDesk) WORLD CHAMBER OF COMMERCE DIRECTORY. Loveland: Johnson, 1989 - . Annual. Includes the U.S. chambers of commerce, economic development organizations, American chambers abroad, and foreign chambers of commerce in the United States. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in the study of careers. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bi-monthly. A great deal of information on careers with the U. S. Government can be located by using GPO on CD-ROM. Enter the subject term with "Careers." For example, Nutrition and Careers, Forestry and Careers, Criminal Justice and Careers. Selected U. S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc Ref) PM 1.2:C18/8 CAREER AMERICA: FEDERAL CAREER DIRECTORY. Washington: Office of Personnel Management, 1990. This loose-leaf work is organized into 14 tabbed sections beginning with contents as the starting point and proceeding to agency and department profiles. Also included are sections on employee benefits, affirmative employment programs, federal pay systems, training opportunities, and other topics. > Branson (Doc Ref) L2.3/4:1990-91 U. S. Employment Service. SELECTED CHARACTERISTICS OF OCCUPATIONS DEFINED IN THE DICTIONARY OF OCCUPATIONAL TITLES. 4th ed. Washington: U. S. Dept. of Labor, 1991. Informally called the DICTIONARY OF OCCUPATIONAL TITLES, it comprises a system of classifying occupations into a numerical scheme. Each entry provides a detailed job description. "It details the tasks to be performed and the levels of education that must be achieved" for each occupation listed. > Branson (Doc Ref) L37.2:OC1/2/991, V.1-2 U. S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. OCCUPATIONAL OUTLOOK HANDBOOK. Washington: The Bureau, 1949 - . Annual. The HANDBOOK describes about 250 occupations. Each entry discusses the nature of the work for the specific occupation, working conditions, employment, training, job outlook, earnings, related occupations, and sources of additional information. NEW MEXICO INFORMATION State documents are located in New Library. State publications are found in OLE by title, author (New Mexico Dept. of Labor, New Mexico Employment Security Dept.), subject, or keyword. Use the Library of Congress subject headings. Selected New Mexico State Documents > NewLib J87 N6 V101.81, N81/1, 50 LAS CRUCES AREA NONAGRICULTURAL WAGE AND SALARY EMPLOYMENT ROUNDED TO FIFTIES. Albuquerque: Employment Security Dept., 1990. > NewLib J87 N6 V101.81, 015, 1995 NEW MEXICO OCCUPATIONAL OUTLOOK TO 1995. Albuquerque: Bureau of Economic Research and Analysis, 1988. > NewLib J87 N6 V101.81, 015/12 NEW MEXICO OCCUPATIONAL SUPPLY/DEMAND SUMMARY 1991. Albuquerque: Dept. of Labor, 1991. > NewLib (Ref Info) J87 N6 V110.81, J62 NEW MEXICO JOBS FOR GRADUATES: EMPLOYER HIRING PLANS. Albuquerque: New Mexico Occupational Information Coordinating Committee, 1991.