---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN BIOLOGY Compiled by Roger Steeb Spring, 1993 Conducting research in the field of biology requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > Branson (Ref) QH540.4 A44 1989 Allaby, Michael. DICTIONARY OF THE ENVIRONMENT. Washington: New York UP, 1989. Terms from the life sciences, technology, and public policy deal- ing with conservation and the environment are defined. Examples are often provided. > Branson (Ref) QH13 O9 1985 Allaby, Michael. OXFORD DICTIONARY OF NATURAL HISTORY. Oxford: Oxford UP, 1985. Brief entries define topics in the life, geologic, and atmospheric sciences. > Branson (Ref) QL84.2 A8 Chandler, William. AUDUBON WILDLIFE REPORT. San Diego: Academic, 1985-1990. Latest in reference. In addition to evaluating current issues that affect wildlife, this annual gives trends for a number of individual species, such as the desert tortoise. > Branson (Ref) QH314 E2 1984 Easton, Thomas. WORKING FOR LIFE. Medford: Plexus, 1984. Describes careers in biology in terms of the skills and preparation necessary in each field. > Branson (Ref) QH302.5 H34 1991 Hale, W. G., and J. P. Margham. THE HARPERCOLLINS DICTIONARY OF BIOLOGY. New York: Harper, 1991. Gives short definitions of biological terms as well as capsule biographies of famous researchers in the life sciences. > Branson (Ref) QL750.3 I4513 1989 Immelman, Klaus, and Colin Beer. DICTIONARY OF ETHOLOGY. Cambridge: Harvard UP, 1989. Gives long definitions of terms used in the biological study of animal behavior. > Branson (Ref) R121 I58 1986 INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY OF MEDICINE AND BIOLOGY. New York: Wiley, 1986. This three-volume dictionary defines 150,000 terms. > Branson (Ref) QH83 J3 1972 Jaeger, Edmund C. SOURCE-BOOK OF BIOLOGICAL NAMES AND TERMS. Springfield: Thomas, 1972. Alphabetical list of 12,000 Greek or Latin terms and fragments of terms used to create scientific names. > Branson (Ref) QH13 L56 1987 Lincoln, R. J. CAMBRIDGE ILLUSTRATED DICTIONARY OF NATURAL HISTORY. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1987. Major taxonomic groups of all living organisms, from microorganisms to mammals and flowering plants are listed under common and scientific names. Important fossil taxa are included. Entries include types of organisms contained in the group, the approximate number of species, their habitat and geographical distributions, and some characteristic morphological features. Coverage extends to the more important families, but not to genus or species. > Branson (Ref) QH427 M33 1987 Maclean, Norman. DICTIONARY OF GENETICS & CELL BIOLOGY. Washington Square: New York UP, 1987. Developments in molecular biology have linked these two fields so that most of the terms defined apply to both disciplines. Many ] helpful diagrams are included. > Branson (Ref) QH104.5 W4 M33 1985 MacMahon, James A., ed. DESERTS: AUDUBON SOCIETY NATURE GUIDES. New York: Knopf, 1985. A field guide to the animals and plants of the Chihuahuan, Sonoran, Mohave, and Great Basin deserts. Also covered are arid adapted organisms of the Colorado Plateau semidesert. > Branson (Ref) Q121 M3 1992 MCGRAW-HILL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1992. A 20-volume comprehensive scientific encylopedia that is updated by annual yearbook volumes. > Branson (Ref) QR9 S56 S73 1987 Singleton, Paul. DICTIONARY OF MICROBIOLOGY AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY. Chichester: Wiley, 1987. Provides information on pure and applied microbiology, biochemistry, immunology, genetics, virology, and bacteriology. Many entries include references for further reading. > Branson (Ref) QK9 F33 1984 Tootill, Elizabeth, ed. FACTS ON FILE DICTIONARY OF BOTANY. New York: Facts on File, 1984. All major fields of pure and applied plant science are covered in 3,000 entries. > Branson (Ref) QH104.5 W4 W48 1985 Whitney, Stephen, ed. WESTERN FORESTS: AUDUBON SOCIETY NATURE GUIDES. New York: Knopf, 1985. A field guide to trees, shrubs, mushrooms, wildflowers, insects and spiders, reptiles, amphibians, and mammals of the forests of the western United States. FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article, it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to which the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on biology topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM areanear the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) AGRICOLA Primarily an index to agricultural publications, it also has extensive coverage of genetics, physiology, and wildlife. This index is provided on microcomputer in the reference area. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as ECOLOGY and BIOSCIENCE. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. Updated monthly. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) Science Citation Index Over 3,000 journals in the physical, mathematical, and life sciences are searchable on CD-ROM by author, cited author, or title words. Both common and scientific names should be used. Terms can be truncated with the symbol *; for example, territor* will retrieve territory, territories, or territorial. Words or phrases can be combined with the operator ‘and’, for example, territor* and (wolf or wolves or canis lupus). Coverage on CD-ROM is from 1989 to the present. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) Wildlife Review Worldwide This international index on wildlife management is classified by author, subject, and systematic nomenclature. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of biology. > Branson (Ref) QH301 B521a BIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Philadelphia: BioSciences Information Service, 1927 - . Over 8,000 journals reporting original research are scanned. Foreign language materials are included. The abstracts are arranged by subject. Indexing is done by author, biosystematic groupings, genera-species names, concepts, and keywords. > Branson (Ref Index Area) BIOLOGICAL AND AGRICULTURAL INDEX. Bronx: Wilson, 1916 - . A cumulative subject index to English language periodicals in the fields of biology, agriculture, biochemistry, nutrition, and environmental sciences. > Branson (Ref) Z7991 Z96 ZOOLOGICAL RECORD. London: Zoological Society of London, 1864 - . Covers worldwide literature (books, conference proceedings, and journals) for the year to which it refers. Publication lags about two years behind current date. It is issued annually in 20 sections relating to a phylum or class. In additon to systematic indexes, there are subject, geographic, and paleontological indexes. Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of biology. Branson QK938 Am35 AMERICAN MIDLAND NATURALIST QK938 D4 D47 DESERT PLANTS QH1 So89 SOUTHWESTERN NATURALIST Review journals contain articles that summarize current research topics within subfields of biology. The vast size and rapid growth of the primary literature makes periodic assessment and summary essential. These secondary sources make it possible to follow trends in biological research. Branson QH573 A55 ANNUAL REVIEW OF CELL BIOLOGY QH540 A53 ANNUAL REVIEW OF ECOLOGY AND SYSTEMATICS QH461 An78a ANNUAL REVIEW OF ENTOMOLOGY QH431 A1 An78r ANNUAL REVIEW OF GENETICS QR1 An89 ANNUAL REVIEW OF MICROBIOLOGY QP1 An78 ANNUAL REVIEW OF PHYSIOLOGY QK710 An78rp ANNUAL REVIEW OF PLANT PHYSIOLOGY & PLANT MOLECULAR BIOLOGY QH301 Q28rb QUARTERLY REVIEW OF BIOLOGY FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term biology, some of the narrower terms listed are Chromosome abnormalities Genetic load Lethal mutation Nonsense mutation While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful in finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the sources mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of biology. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of biology. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Biology - Bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > Branson (Ref) Z6033 P2 K84 Kues, Barry S. BIBLIOGRAPHY OF NEW MEXICO PALEONTOLOGY. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 1981. Lists 2,000 published papers that date form 1844 to 1980 dealing with New Mexican fossils. > Branson (Ref) HQ307.2 M34 1991 Magill, Frank N., and Laura L. Mays Hoopes, eds. MAGILL'S SURVEY OF SCIENCES. LIFE SCIENCE SERIES. Central and Peripheral Nervous System Functions. Vol. 1. Pasadena: Salem, 1991. Written for the nonspecialist, this six-volume set covers all areas of the biological sciences. Emphasis is given to anatomy and physiology, ecology, animal behavior, and genetics. Articles average seven pages and define key terms. An annotated bibliography concludes each article. > Branson (Ref) Z5331 M54 1986 Miller, Melanie A. BIRDS: A GUIDE TO THE LITERATURE. New York: Garland, 1986. Over 2,000 books on birds are described. Biographies > Branson (Ref Biog) Q141 Am35 AMERICAN MEN & WOMEN OF SCIENCE: A BIOGRAPHICAL DIRECTORY OF TODAY'S LEADERS IN PHYSICAL, BIOLOGICAL AND RELATED SCIENCES. New York: Bowker, 1971 - . These biographies of living American scientists are limited to those who have made significant contributions in their field. > Branson (Ref Biog) QK96 R4 v.107 Ewan, Joseph. BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF ROCKY MOUNTAIN NATURALISTS. Utrecht, Netherlands: Stafleu, 1981. Biographical facts and notable publications of individuals who collected, sketched, or contributed to the botany, zoology or geology of the Rocky Mountains between 1682 and 1932. Library Guides > Branson (Ref) Z5351 D38 1987 Davis, Elisabeth B. GUIDE TO INFORMATION SOURCES IN THE BOTANICAL SCIENCES. Littleton: Libraries Unlimited, 1987. > Branson (Ref) QH303.6 I54 1987 Wyatt, H. V. INFORMATION SOURCES IN THE LIFE SCIENCES. London: Butterworths, 1987. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in the study of biology. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and sudoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bi-monthly. Selected U.S. Government Documents The following are examples of government documents of possible interest to biology students. > Branson (Doc) I29.21: W58/9 PLANTS AND ANIMALS OF WHITE SANDS. Washington: National Park Service, 1987. A checklist and a discussion of dunes ecology. > Branson (Doc) I29.91:3 Wauer, Roland, ed. TRANSACTIONS OF THE SYMPOSIUM ON THE BIOLOGICAL RESOURCES OF CHIHUAHUAN DESERT REGION. Transactions and Proceedings Series no 3. Washington: U.S. Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service, 1977. The papers presented deal with the past and present in the Chihuahuan desert in both the United States and Mexico.