---------New Mexico State University Library (revised 5/30/94)--------- HOW TO DO LIBRARY RESEARCH IN ANTHROPOLOGY Compiled by Roger Steeb Fall, 1992 Conducting research in the field of anthropology requires the use of many different materials in the library. This guide provides a bibliography of useful sources as well as a basic approach to researching a topic. THE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY The NMSU Library is housed in two buildings: Branson Hall and New Library. Books and journals are arranged by call number and divided between the buildings as follows: Call Number Locations New Library: A-H, HM-PZ Branson: HA-HJ, Q-Z Arts Agriculture Education Business Social Sciences Engineering Humanities Science BEGINNING YOUR RESEARCH Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for research. They can provide general background information to help narrow or broaden the focus of a topic, define unfamiliar terms, and offer bibliographies of other sources. Some works include an index, which will provide the best access to a subject. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias > NewLib (Ref) CC165 A64213 1983 Charles-Picard, Gilbert, ed. LAROUSSE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ARCHAEOLOGY. New York: Larousse, 1983. The first set of essays covers archaeological methods; the second set is a region-by-region survey. > NewLib (Ref) GN11 E52 Hunter, David E., and Phillip Whitten, eds. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ANTHROPOLOGY. New York: Harper, 1976. Brief entries cover the concepts, theories, and leading figures of anthropology and related fields. > NewLib (Ref) GN11 D48 1986 Seymour-Smith, Charlotte. DICTIONARY OF ANTHROPOLOGY. Boston: Hall, 1986. Definitions of concepts and of theoretical and technical aspects of social and cultural anthropology are provided. Biographical entries are limited to those anthropologists born before 1920. > NewLib (Ref) GN281 E53 1988 Tattersall, Ian, Eric Delson, and John Van Couvering, eds. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HUMAN EVOLUTION AND PREHISTORY. New York: Garland, 1988. Systematics, evolutionary theory, genetics, primatology, primate paleontology, and Paleolithic archaeology are extensively discussed as context for describing the human fossil record. Handbooks > NewLib GN1 A623 ANNUAL REVIEW OF ANTHROPOLOGY. Palo Alto: Annual Reviews, 1960- . Each year this series describes and evaluates research on topics of current interest and contains extensive bibliographies. > NewLib (Ref) GT4803 F65 1987 Cohen, Hennig, and Tristram P. Coffin. FOLKLORE OF AMERICAN HOLIDAYS. Detroit: Gale, 1987. "A compilation of more than 400 beliefs, legends, superstitions, proverbs, riddles, poems, songs, dances, games, plays, pagaents, fairs, foods, and processions associated with over 100 American calendar customs and festivals." FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES Journals are the best source for current information on a topic. This is especially important if an area of study is new, currently being investigated, or subject to frequent change. If there is a list of references following a journal article it might provide leads to further sources. Indexes and Abstracts Journal articles on a specific subject can be identified through the use of a general or specialized index. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) of articles. The library subscribes to indexes in print format and on CD-ROM. The library doesn't subscribe to all of the journals in these indexes. A list of journals to whch the library does subscribe accompanies some of the indexes on the index and CD-ROM tables. Electronic Indexes Electronic indexes offer a computerized approach to the retrieval of citations to journal articles. A user can specify a combination of subject terms in order to find references to articles which contain those terms in their titles, in their abstracts, or as assigned descriptors. The following indexes may be useful for finding information on anthropology topics. New products may be added; check the CD-ROM area near the reference desk. > Branson (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) > NewLib (Cafe OLE terminals and Library Network) PAN An index to articles on a wide range of subjects. It provides information about articles published since January 1990 in over 1,700 magazines and journals, and newscasts from major television networks and National Public Radio. It is updated monthly. The library subscribes to around 65% of the magazines and journals in PAN. PAN is available on any Cafe OLE terminal. Ask at the desk if you need any help. > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) InfoTrac Academic Index Provides easy-to-use access to articles in periodicals of a popular nature (TIME, NEWSWEEK, etc.) as well as some specialized journals such as AMERICAN ANTHROPOLOGIST, ANTIQUITY, CURRENT ANTHROPOLOGY, and HUMAN ORGANIZATION. Gives access to stories in the news through references to the NEW YORK TIMES. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) PsycLIT Compiled by the American Psychological Association, this is the electronic version of PSYCHOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS. Contains citations with abstracts to over 1300 journals in psychology and the behavioral sciences. International in scope, topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as the behavioral aspects of education, medicine, nutrition, and sociology. Provides coverage from 1974 to the present, with quarterly updates. Anthropological journals include AMERICAN ETHNOLOGIST, ETHNOLOGY, and CURRENT ANTHROPOLOGY. The THESAURUS OF PSYCHOLOGICAL INDEX TERMS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use when researching the psychological aspects of anthropology. > NewLib (Library Network) > Branson (Library Network) ERIC This is the electronic version of the CURRENT INDEX TO JOURNALS IN EDUCATION (CIJE) and RESOURCES IN EDUCATION (RIE) indexes, giving bibliographic citations and abstracts for the ERIC document collection on microfiche and for journal articles in the fields of education and other social sciences from over 775 periodicals. Provides coverage from 1966 to the present with quarterly updates. Anthropo- logical journals include ANTHROPOLOGY AND EDUCATION JOURNAL, ANTHROPOLOGICAL LINGUISTICS, AMERICAN INDIAN JOURNAL, and JOURNAL OF COMPARATIVE LINGUISTICS. The THESAURUS OF ERIC DESCRIPTORS may be helpful in suggesting terms to use in searching ERIC. It lists standardized subject headings, with related terms, and gives brief definitions for many terms. > Branson (Ref CD-ROM Area) AGRICOLA Primarily a source for agricultural references, AGRICOLA also indexes articles, reports, books and government documents in the areas of wildlife, biology, home economics, nutrition, and rural sociology. There are citations to articles, for instance, on ethnobotany, pastoralism, and the invention/development of agriculture. Printed Indexes Indexes or abstracts in print form give subject and/or author access to journal articles. Some of the indexes are located on tables in the reference area; others can be found in the reference stacks by call number. The following indexes list references to journal articles in the field of anthropology. > NewLib (Ref Index Area) HUMANITIES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974- . Archaeology is covered under alphabetical subject headings in this quarterly index. Continues the INTERNATIONAL INDEX TO PERIODICALS (1923-1955), the INTERNATIONAL INDEX (1956-1965) and the SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1966-1974). > NewLib (Ref Index Area) SOCIAL SCIENCES INDEX. New York: Wilson, 1974- . Social and cultural anthropology, area studies, geography, and human environment are covered in this quarterly index. Continues the INTERNATIONAL INDEX TO PERIODICALS (1923-1955), the INTERNATIONAL INDEX (1955-1965) and the SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES INDEX (1966-1974). > NewLib (Ref) GN1 A15 ABSTRACTS IN ANTHROPOLOGY. Westport: Greenwood, 1970- . Abstracts are grouped in four sections: archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Specific tribal names are used in the subject index. Library owns V.5 - , 1974 - . > NewLib (Ref) GN1 A57 ANTHROPOLOGICAL LITERATURE. Cambridge: Harvard U, 1979- . A quarterly index to over 1,000 journals. Citations are arranged in five sections: archaeology, biological/physical anthropology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and research in related fields. A subject index is included at the back of each issue. On microfiche, 1984-1988. > NewLib (Ref) AM1 AR75a ART AND ARCHAEOLOGY TECHNICAL ABSTRACTS. London: Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works, 1966- . Issued twice a year, this index concentrates on the examination of archaeological sites and assemblages by physical and chemical means. Dating techniques and archaeological conservation methods are included, but the results of excavations or site surveys are not included. > NewLib (Ref) GN1 R67 ANTHROPOLOGICAL INDEX. London: Royal Anthropological Inst., 1983- . Quarterly classified indexes are divided by region then grouped according to emphasis on archaeology, ethnography, or linguistics. Formerly known as ANTHROPOLOGICAL INDEX TO CURRENT PERIODICALS IN THE LIBRARY OF THE ROYAL ANTHROPOLOGICAL INSTITUTE (library owns 1973-1976) and ANTHROPOLOGICAL INDEX TO CURRENT PERIODICALS IN THE MUSEUM OF MANKIND LIBRARY (1977-1982). Location of Journals Journals are shelved in call number order. Use the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. Use OLE (the online catalog) to find the call number and format of a journal. Type T/ followed by the title of the journal. For assistance, ask a reference librarian. Current issues of most journals are shelved in the Periodicals areas. Use the location charts to find bound journals, which are shelved in the stacks with the books. Microfiche and microfilm journals are housed in cabinets in the microform areas of Branson and New Library. Selected List of Current Journals The following list is a sample of some of the journals the library carries in the field of anthropology. New Library GN1 Am35a AMERICAN ANTHROPOLOGIST GN1 A53 AMERICAN ETHNOLOGIST CC1 Am35ja AMERICAN JOURNAL OF ARCHAEOLOGY GN1 Am35p AMERICAN JOURNAL OF PHYSICAL ANTHROPOLOGY J87 N6 F701.1, L33 ANNUAL REPORT. MUSEUM OF NEW MEXICO. OFFICE OF ARCHAELOGICAL STUDIES P1 An86 ANTHROPOLOGICAL LINGUISTICS GN1 An86q ANTHROPOLOGICAL QUARTERLY GN700 Ar22 ARCHAEOLOGY GN1 C936a CURRENT ANTHROPOLOGY J87 N6 F701.91 EL PALACIO GN1 Et38 ETHNOLOGY CC21 H57 HISTORICAL ARCHAEOLOGY GR1 J826af JOURNAL OF AMERICAN FOLKLORE GN1 S64 JOURNAL OF ANTHROPOLOGICAL RESEARCH GN296 M42 MEDICAL ANTHROPOLOGY AM1 M972 MUSEUM CC1 W67 WORLD ARCHAEOLOGY FINDING BOOKS Books are not as current as journal articles but will provide more comprehensive coverage of a subject. Access to the book collection is through the online catalog (OLE). Terminals are located in the reference and periodical areas on each floor. Older materials not yet entered into the OLE system are listed in the card catalog in the reference area. For books that are on order or recently received, use the INNOVACQ terminals, located in the reference and current periodicals areas. Using OLE OLE may be accessed by author, title, subject, or keyword. Consult the printed instruction sheet, the help screens on the terminal, or ask a reference librarian for further assistance. For most items, the OLE screen will give circulation information, indicating whether the item is available or checked out and, if checked out, when it is due. The Card Catalog Materials acquired by the library before 1975 may not be entered into the OLE system yet. For such material, check the card catalog in the reference area. Author, title and subject entries are arranged in a single alphabetical order in each card catalog. The card catalog in each building contains only cards for books in that building. Library of Congress Subject Headings To determine the appropriate heading(s) for a topic, consult the multi-volume LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (LCSH). These large red books, located at the reference desk and also near the OLE terminals, are very useful for suggesting alternate or additional headings to search. UF means "used for" and indicates terms that are not used. BT means "broader term," RT means "related term," SA means "see also," and NT means "narrower term." For example, under the term anthropology, some of the narrower terms listed are Detribalization Diffusion of innovation Ethnic relations Indians of North America-First contact with Europeans While Library of Congress subject headings can be very useful finding books on a topic, the researcher should also explore keyword and Boolean (logical combinations of keywords using and, or, not) searching options on OLE. See the OLE handout, or use the OLE help screens for more information on keyword searching. Location of Books To locate a book in the library, first obtain the call number from the OLE screen or the card catalog, then consult one of the location charts found in the reference area or throughout each building. Books are shelved in call number order; however, if a call number is preceded by "(SpC)," the book will be located in Special Collections (Branson). If the call number is preceded by "(Ref)," the book will be located in the reference area. Special Collections materials and reference books cannot be checked out. Remember, the reference staff can always give you further assistance in locating a book. OTHER REFERENCE SOURCES In addition to the tools mentioned above, there are many other helpful reference sources. The following resources may be particularly helpful for the study of anthropology. Bibliographies Specialized bibliographies can be a key to further information in the study of anthropology. They will be listed in OLE under various topics, for example "Ethnology-Bibliography." The following are examples of bibliographies in the NMSU Library: > Branson Z5118 F58 F73 Suppl. Freedman, Robert L. HUMAN FOOD USES: A CROSS-CULTURAL COMPREHENSIVE ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. Westport: Greenwood, 1983. > Branson Z5118 F44 G7 1988 Gravel, Pierre Bettez, and Robert B.M. Ridinger. ANTHROPOLOGICAL FIELDWORK: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY. New York: Garland, 1988. > Branson Z5118 F2 M54 Milden, James W. THE FAMILY IN PAST TIME: A GUIDE TO THE LITERATURE. New York: Garland, 1977. Directories > NewLib J87 N6 F700.71 C85 CULTURAL TREASURES: NEW MEXICO CULTURAL RESOURCES DIRECTORY. Santa Fe: New Mexico Office of Cultural Affairs, 1989. Arranged alphabetically by city, the directory lists community festivals, visual and performing arts centers, and historic sites. > NewLib (Ref) AM10 A2 O4 OFFICIAL MUSEUM DIRECTORY. Wilmette: National Register. Annual. The arrangement is by state and city, followed by alpha- betical listings by name, and a listing of institutions by category. Atlases > NewLib (Ref) G1046 E1 A86 THE ATLAS OF MANKIND. Chicago: Rand, 1982. Examples from many cultures are used in two-page essays covering topics such as marriage, death, and taboo. The rest of the atlas covers cultures of the world by region. > NewLib (Ref) G1046 E15 W6 1985 WORLD ATLAS OF ARCHAEOLOGY. London: Mitchell Beazley, 1985. Many diagrams and illustrations of artifacts accompany the maps. Biographies > NewLib (Ref Biog) GN20 W63 Gacs, Ute, Aisha Khan, Jerrie McIntyre, and Ruth Weinberg, eds. WOMEN ANTHROPOLOGISTS. Westport: Greenwood, 1988. Biographies and evaluations of accomplishments of 58 outstanding women anthropologists. GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS The U.S. government publishes information that may be of use in the study of anthropology. Many of these materials are found on OLE. The way to find older documents is to use the MONTHLY CATALOG OF UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, GPO on CD-ROM, or one of several indexes located in the documents area. Government documents do not have the same type of call number as other materials in the library. They are organized by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system. The first letters in the SuDoc represent the issuing agency. The Government Documents collection is located in Branson Hall. Documents reference service is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The collection is open to the public the same hours that the library is open. Indexes to Government Documents > Branson (Doc) > Branson (Library Network) > NewLib (Library Network) GPO GPO is a CD-ROM database that lists publications by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1976 to the present. The user can type in title, agency, subject, or a combination of subject terms and retrieve a listing of titles and SuDoc numbers of documents that may be available in the NMSU documents collection. Issued bi-monthly. Selected U. S. Government Documents > Branson (Doc) 153.22/9:6 Sebastian, Lynne, and Signa Larralde. LIVING ON THE LAND: 11,000 YEARS OF HUMAN ADAPTATION IN SOUTHEASTERN NEW MEXICO. Cultural Resources Series, no. 6. Washington: Bureau of Land Management, 1989. > Branson (Doc) D101.22 COUNTRY STUDIES - AREA HANDBOOK SERIES. Washington: GPO. A continuing series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. "Each book in the series deals with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its economic, national security, political, and social systems and institutions and examining the interrelationships of those systems and institutions and ways the they are shaped by cultural factors."