Skip Navigation.
New Mexico State University

Awards/Staff Recognition

Amazing Aggies Awards

The Amazing Aggies Award is a way for faculty, staff, alumni, outreach personnel, students and friends of the university to recognize fellow members of the NMSU family for activities and/or services - above and beyond the call of duty - on behalf of the University or the community.

Bonus Program Awards

The Library recognizes exceptional performance above and beyond a faculty/staff member’s normal scope of assigned duties and responsibilities with Bonus Program Awards

Carl Faubion Awards

The Carl Faubion Outstanding Library Staff Employee of the Year Award is given annually to a library staff employee who has shown excellence in customer service, innovation and creative thinking in problem solving, and exceptional contributions to the NMSU Library.

John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award (2001)

This is the most prestigious award offered by the American Library Association (ALA), in 2001. Sponsored by the H.W. Wilson Company and the ALA Library Administration and Management Association Public Relations Section, the award honored the Library for its "Dino-mite campaign, which capitalized on the public relations power of the dinosaur skull 'Stan,' the most popular attraction on campus, by celebrating a $3 million naming gift for Zuhl Library and by honoring the donors." More about this award.

NMSU Golden Star Award (2008)

NMSU’s Executive Vice President and Provost Waded Cruzado-Salas has established a Golden Star Award to recognize the contributions of campus units. The first-ever recipient of this award is the University Library and was presented during a meeting of NMSU’s Administrative Council.

The Provost commended the Library for its leadership on three particular projects:

  • Establishing the Caroline E. Stras Endowment to enhance the women’s studies collections
  • Securing the Esther Chávez Cano Papers
  • Securing the Pete V. Domenici Papers

Also recognized was the Library's ongoing contribution to Accreditation and other campus projects.

"This achievement acknowledges the generosity of our donors as well as the dedicated work of the Library staff." (Elizabeth Titus, NMSU Library Dean)

Outstanding Outcomes Assessment Award, 2009

New Mexico State University's Outcomes Assessment II committee, which focuses on student life, recently awarded the Outstanding Outcomes Assessment Award to the NMSU Library.

The NMSU Library has consistently performed assessments that focus on the needs of students and faculty. Library reports reveal that assessment is an important part of the fabric of the unit's yearly planning and implementation of services.

The award was presented to Library Dean Elizabeth A. Titus at NMSU's Fall 2009 convocation ceremony.

2013 ALA Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship

Jeanette C. Smith, the Grants/University Relations Officer at the NMSU Library in Las Cruces, was selected by the American Library Association (ALA), Chicago to receive the 2013 ALA Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship. This special honor is given annually to an individual for "significant contribution to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching and/or writing." More about this award.

Years of Service Awards

Service awards are given for recognition and appreciation of service to the university. Recognized anniversary years are: ten, fifteen, twenty, twenty-five, thirty, and thirty-five.

back to top